DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/2024 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2020/0199354 A1) to Dalibey et al. (hereinafter Dalibey).
Dailbey is directed toward preparing a masterbatch of enzymatically degraded polyesters. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0333] that the first step in forming the masterbatch is mixing. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0335] that step b is at a temperature in which the polyester is in a partially or totally molten state. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0009] that the masterbatch is a support polymer, such as PLA, a polysaccharide and a biological entity for degrading PLA. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0383] that a gum Arabic may be included. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0180] that the enzymes may be in an aqueous solution. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0013] that the enzymes may be 0.1% to 10%, which reads on Applicants range of 0.01 to 70%. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0174] that the enzymes may be a depolymerase, esterase, lipase, cutinase, carboxylesterase, protease, or polyesterase. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0288] that mixing time is 5 seconds to 2 minutes, which reads on Applicants range of 10 to 35 seconds. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0030] that calcium carbonate may be added as a filler. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0185] that mixing is in an extruder that inherently has 3 sections, mixes in a molten state and has enzymes added and a pellet collection area. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0323] that the masterbatch may be made into granules that are dried. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0081] that a PCL polymer may be used. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0009] that the composition reads on Applicants range of masterbatch components. Dailbey discloses each and every element as arranged in claims 1-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0199354 A1) to Dalibey et al. (hereinafter Dalibey).
Dailbey is directed toward preparing a masterbatch of enzymatically degraded polyesters. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0333] that the first step in forming the masterbatch is mixing. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0335] that step b is at a temperature in which the polyester is in a partially or totally molten state. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0009] that the masterbatch is a support polymer, such as PLA, a polysaccharide and a biological entity for degrading PLA. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0383] that a gum Arabic may be included. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0180] that the enzymes may be in an aqueous solution. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0013] that the enzymes may be 0.1% to 10%, which reads on Applicants range of 0.01 to 70%. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0174] that the enzymes may be a depolymerase, esterase, lipase, cutinase, carboxylesterase, protease, or polyesterase. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0288] that mixing time is 5 seconds to 2 minutes, which reads on Applicants range of 10 to 35 seconds. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0030] that calcium carbonate may be added as a filler. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0185] that mixing is in an extruder that inherently has 3 sections, mixes in a molten state and has enzymes added and a pellet collection area. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0323] that the masterbatch may be made into granules that are dried. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0081] that a PCL polymer may be used. Dailbey discloses at paragraph [0009] that the composition reads on Applicants range of masterbatch components.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Dailbey to select each and every element as arranged in claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-19.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766