DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on August 25, 2026
Claims 1-18, 22 and 23 are under examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113bis Electronic R2-2103470 hereinafter “(R2-2103470).”in view of Park et al. (US: 2024/0357618 A1).
As per Claim 1 R2-2103470 teaches an auxiliary configuration method, performed by a terminal device, comprising: sending sidelink Discontinuous Reception (DRX) information to a network device, wherein the sidelink DRX information comprises at least one of sidelink DRX information of a designated sidelink address or sidelink DRX information of a designated sending mode (proposal 2, 4 and 5: UE provides assistance information to gNB on DRX configuration/ActiveTime information per SL destination/service. In order to allow gNB to efficiently schedule SL resources (mode 1) to the Tx UE, the gNB should be aware of the time slots the Tx UE is in ActiveTime for a specific destination, e.g. SL service.gNB aligning UE's Uu DRX DRX ActiveTime UE should provide to the gNB information on its SL
DRX configuration, i.e. information on the SL ActiveTime. To ensure that UE is in DRX ActiveTime on Uu and monitoring PDCCH for SL DCI(s) while UE is receiving/transmitting SL data on the PC5 interface, some coordination between the time periods where UE is active (transmit/receive) on the PC5 interface and UE's Uu DRX settings/configurations is required. Therefore it should be discussed further whether UE should report within the UE assistance information (UAI) or Sidelink UE information (SUI) to the gNB timing information
indicating when UE is in ActiveTime on the PC5 interface, i.e. transmission/receiving SL data, e.g. SL DRX ),wherein the designated sidelink address satisfies following condition:
the terminal device receiving information sent via the designated sidelink address and the information being received using a sidelink DRX mechanism (Page 2 Proposal 2; DRX related timers/states for controlling the DRX ActiveTime on the Uu interface should be updated based on SL data/control transmission/reception on the PCS interface. In order to ensure that the UE is in ActiveTime on the Uu interface and monitor PDCCH for SL grants when SL data ransmissions/reception occurs on the PCS interface, some linkage between the ActiveTime on Uu and the sidelink data activity on the PCS interface should be introduced. );
wherein the sidelink DRX information further comprises at least one of: first indication information for indicating whether the designated sidelink address uses a sidelink DRX mechanism; or Quality of Service (QoS) characteristic information of a transmission service on the designated sidelink address (Page 2 Proposal 3, 4; UE providing assistance information to gNB on timing information indicating when UE is active on the PCS interface, i.e. transmission/receiving SL data, for aligning DRX configuration on Uu should be considered. the UE assistance information (UAI) or Sidelink UE information (SUI) to the gNB timing information indicating when UE is in ActiveTime on the PCS interface, i.e. transmission/receiving SL data, e.g. SL DRX configuration(s));
wherein the QoS characteristic information comprises at least one of:
QoS requirement information; or an index number in a PC5 QoS Identifier (PQI) list (Page 2 Proposal 2,3, 6;Based on the received information the gNB may configure the PCS DRX configuration or the Uu DRX configuration for the Tx UE thereby aligning the Uu DRX and PCS/SL DRX. the UE is in ActiveTime on the Uu interface and monitor PDCCH for SL grants when SL data transmissions/reception occurs on the PCS interface, some linkage between the ActiveTime on Uu and the sidelink data activity on the PCS interface should be introduced. DRX related timers/states controlling the DRX ActiveTime on the Uu interface should be updated based on SL data/control transmission/reception on the PCS interface.).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 2 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the designated sidelink address comprises at least one of: a broadcast address, a groupcast address, or a unicast address (Parge2 Proposal 7: For Unicast, Rx UE could send its preferred PC5 DRX configuration to Tx UE, which is further propagated to the gNB. gNB can configure PC5/Uu DRX configuration for Tx UE, which considers the alignment ).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 3 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the designated sidelink address further satisfies at least one of following conditions:
the terminal device not sending the designated sidelink address to the network device; or the terminal device receiving information sent by the designated sidelink address, the information being received using the sidelink DRX mechanism, and the terminal device not sending the designated sidelink address to the network device (Page 2 Proposal 5 and 7: For cases when SL data transmission/reception activity, e.g. also referred to as SL DRX ActiveTime, is not coordinated with the DRX operation on Uu interface, there may be cases where Tx UE (using mode 1 resource allocation mode) is in sleep mode (DRX) on the Uu interface, i.e. not monitoring PDCCH, even though the UE is expected to receive SL resource allocations by the gNB for SL data transmission on the PC5 interface. Further for cases when the SL data transmission/reception activity on the PC5 interface is not aligned with the DRX operation on Uu interface, The ActiveTime on Uu interface may be unnecessarily extended, leading to some increased battery power consumption).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 4 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the terminal device determines whether to send the designated sidelink address to the network device according to at least one of: whether the terminal device carries the designated sidelink address in a sidelink terminal device message sent to the network device; or whether the terminal device carries the sidelink address in a sidelink sending resource request sent to the network device (Page 2 Proposal 4, 5 and 6: Tx UE provides assistance information to gNB on DRX configuration/ActiveTime information per SL destination/service. In order to allow gNB to efficiently schedule SL resources (mode 1) to the Tx UE, the gNB For example if Tx UE reports a certain amount of data available for transmission for a specific destination, the gNB needs to know when the peer receiving UE(s) associated with this destination is in ActiveTime in order to allocate SL resources correspondingly. It should be noted that the sidelink BSR signalled to the gNB also reports the buffer status per destination. From a SL UE perspective there may be only one "common" ActiveTime which is basically the superposition of the ).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 5 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink DRX information further comprises at least one of:
sidelink DRX configuration information on the designated sidelink address; first indication information for indicating whether the designated sidelink address uses a sidelink DRX mechanism; or second indication information for indicating whether a designated terminal device exists, wherein the designated terminal device receives information sent by the designated sidelink address and conforms to an R16 standard (Page 2 Proposal 3, 4: UE providing assistance information to gNB on timing information indicating when UE is active on the PC5 interface, i.e. transmission/receiving SL data, for aligning DRX configuration on Uu should be considered. Therefore it should be discussed further whether UE should report within the UE assistance information (UAI) or Sidelink UE information (SUI) to the gNB timing information indicating when UE is in ActiveTime on the PC5 interface, i.e. transmission/receiving SL data, e.g. SL DRX ).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 6 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the index number has corresponding QoS requirement information (Page 2 Proposal 2 and 3: DRX related timers/states for controlling the DRX ActiveTime on the Uu interface should be updated based on SL data/control transmission/reception on the PC5 interface. In order to ensure that the UE is in ActiveTime on the Uu interface and monitor PDCCH for SL grants when SL data transmissions/reception occurs on the PC5 interface, some linkage between the ActiveTime on Uu and the sidelink data activity on the PC5 interface should be introduced. DRX related timers/states controlling the DRX ActiveTime on the Uu interface should be updated based on SL data/control transmission/reception on the PC5 interface.).
As per Claim 7 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the designated sending mode comprises at least one of: a broadcast sending mode, a groupcast sending mode, or a unicast sending mode (Page 2 Proposal 6 and 7: Sidelink DRX for broadcast, groupcast, and unicast RAN2 Define on- and off-durations in sidelink and specify the corresponding UE procedure Specify mechanism aiming to align sidelink DRX wake-up time among the UEs communicating with each other Specify mechanism aiming to align sidelink DRX wake-up time with Uu DRX wake-up time in an in-coverage UE. ).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 8 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink DRX information of the designated sending mode is determined according to sidelink DRX information of a designated sidelink address having the designated sending mode (Page 2 Proposal 3 and 4: In order to allow gNB aligning UE's Uu DRX DRX ActiveTime UE should provide to the gNB information on its SL DRX configuration, i.e. information on the SL ActiveTime. To ensure that UE is in DRX ActiveTime on Uu and monitoring PDCCH for SL DCI(s) while UE is receiving/transmitting SL data on the PC5 interface, some coordination between the time periods where UE is active (transmit/receive) on the PC5 interface and UE's Uu DRX settings/configurations is required. Therefore it should be discussed further whether UE should report within the UE assistance information (UAI) or Sidelink UE information (SUI) to the gNB timing information indicating when UE is in ActiveTime on the PC5 interface, i.e. transmission/receiving SL data, e.g. SL DRX configuration(s) ).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
As per Claim 9 R2-2103470-Park teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the sidelink DRX information of the designated sending mode is a collection of the sidelink DRX information of the designated sidelink address having the designated sending mode (Page 2 Proposal 4 Introduction: Sidelink DRX for broadcast, groupcast, and unicast RAN2 Define on- and off-durations in sidelink and specify the corresponding UE procedure Specify mechanism aiming to align sidelink DRX wake-up time among the UEs communicating with each other Specify mechanism aiming to align sidelink DRX wake-up time with Uu DRX wake-up time in an in-coverage UE).
R2-2103470 does not explicitly disclose wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information
However, Park from an analogous art similarly teaches wherein the designated sidelink address wherein the QoS characteristic information (Paragraph 0135, 0156, 0163, 0242 the UE may deliver the QoS requirement information (PFI, PDB) for the V2X service of the UE and the preferred default/common SL DRX configuration to a base station. For example, if steps 1 and 2 are omitted, only the QoS requirement information for the V2X service may be delivered to the base station, and the base station may generate and inform UEs of the common SL DRX configuration information to be used by the UEs based on that information. A first device may obtain information regarding a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to at least one quality of service (QoS) profile and information regarding a default SL DRX configuration);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2-2103470 to include the teaching of Park, so a common SL DRX configuration or a UE service specific SL DRX configuration may be configured per destination L2 ID, since the destination L2 ID may be used as an identifier to differentiate between groupcast/broadcast services. (See Park Paragraph 0163).
Claims 10-18,22 and 23 are the device claims corresponding to the terminal device claims 1-9 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-9. Claims 10-18,22 and 23 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 10 and 22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463