Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allef et al (US2014/0349902) in view of Kleinen et al (US2018/0133133).
Allef et al teaches an aqueous skin cleaning compositions comprising comprising water, at least one biosurfactant and at least one fatty acid [0023] and sum of all surfactants in the compositions is from 5 to 20% by weight, and that the fraction of fatty acid, based on the sum of fatty acid and surfactants, is from 0.1 to 20% by weight [0016]. Allef et al further teaches the composition contains thickeners [0047]. Allef gives specific examples with compositions containing 1.5% cocamidopropyl betaine and glyceryl laurate, 1.5% sodium chloride, 2.0% capryl/capramidopropyl betaine coco-betaine [Table 45]. Allef et al teaches compositions containing glyceryl oleate and coco betaine [Table 41, 50].
Allef et al does not explicitly teach the ratio being 1:1.5 to 1:8.
Kleinen et al teaches cosmetic cleaning composition [0003] comprising water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, glyceryl laurate, wherein the ratio of glycerol fatty acid ester to betaines is 1.5:3.5 and 1:3 [examples 103c and 103j]. Keling teaches an advantage of the composition is milder for skin and eye irritation [0027] and storage stable at elevated and reduced temperatures [0028].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. One would modify the ratio of fatty acid to betaine taught by Allef to match the ratio taught Kleinen in order to create a superior cleaning composition. Based on the teachings of Kleinen, the changes in ratio can be determined through routine optimization. It is not inventive to discover such regimens by routine experimentation when general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP §2144.05(11). Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761