DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed January 17, 2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZAGARS et al. US-20200014025-A1.
With respect to claim 1, teaches an electrode sheet processing method (systems and methods for continuously and/or semi-continuously manufacturing semi-solid electrodes; See the Abstract), comprising: of, preparing an electrode sheet depositing an electrode mixture layer on at least one surface of an electrode current collector (the method can include continuously dispensing a semi-solid electrode slurry onto a current collector, separating the semi-solid electrode slurry into discrete portions, and cutting the current collector to form a finished electrode; [0018]); removing a part of the electrode mixture layer in a thickness direction of the electrode sheet by physical processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into the discrete portions on the current collector 12 by removing a portion of the continuously deposited semi-solid electrode slurry; [0044]; thicken direction Fig. 5); and cutting a region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed (method 10 further includes cutting the current collector between the discrete portions of semi-solid electrode slurry to form a finished electrode 13; [0047]).
With respect to claim 2, the physical processing is performed with a blade (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into discrete portions on the current collector 12 by any of ultrasonication, laser ablation, doctor blade, irradiation, high-precision cutting, or combinations thereof; [0045]).
With respect to claim 3, the cutting is performed by a laser processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into discrete portions on the current collector 12 by any of ultrasonication, laser ablation, doctor blade, irradiation, high-precision cutting, or combinations thereof; [0045]).
With respect to claim 7, the electrode sheet is configured to be used as a positive electrode (semi-solid electrode slurry can be electrochemically configured to be used in the anode and/or the cathode; [0039]).
With respect to claim 8, electrode sheet processing apparatus, comprising: a conveying portion configured to convey an electrode sheet having an electrode mixture layer disposed on at least one surface of an electrode current collector (the current collector can be transported past the dispensing mechanism using a transmission belt, a vacuum pallet, a vacuum conveyor, a belt conveyor, rollers, moving pan, a pneumatic conveyor, a hydraulic conveyor, a vibrating conveyor, a vertical conveyor; [0043]; the method can include continuously dispensing a semi-solid electrode slurry onto a current collector, separating the semi-solid electrode slurry into discrete portions, and cutting the current collector to form a finished electrode; [0018]); a first processing portion configured to remove a part of the electrode mixture layer in a thickness direction of the electrode sheet by physical processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into discrete portions on the current collector 12 by doctor blade; [0045] ); and a second processing portion configured to cut a region from which the electrode mixture layer of the electrode sheet has been removed (method 10 further includes cutting the current collector between the discrete portions of semi-solid electrode slurry to form a finished electrode 13; [0047]). See Fig. 7 (See also Figs 8-11) for apparatus implementing the method:
With respect to claim 9, the physical processing is performed with a blade (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into discrete portions on the current collector 12 by any of laser ablation, doctor blade, irradiation, high-precision cutting, or combinations thereof; [0045]).
With respect to claim 10, the cutting is performed by a laser processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into discrete portions on the current collector 12 by laser ablation, doctor blade, irradiation, high-precision cutting, or combinations thereof; [0045]).
With respect to claim 13, the electrode sheet is configured to be used as a positive electrode (semi-solid electrode slurry can be electrochemically configured to be used in the anode and/or the cathode; [0039]).
Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by ZAGARS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ZAGARS et al. US-20200014025-A1.
ZAGARS teaches an electrode sheet processing method (systems and methods for continuously and/or semi-continuously manufacturing semi-solid electrodes; See the Abstract), comprising: of, preparing an electrode sheet depositing an electrode mixture layer on at least one surface of an electrode current collector (the method can include continuously dispensing a semi-solid electrode slurry onto a current collector, separating the semi-solid electrode slurry into discrete portions, and cutting the current collector to form a finished electrode; [0018]); removing a part of the electrode mixture layer in a thickness direction of the electrode sheet by physical processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into the discrete portions on the current collector 12 by removing a portion of the continuously deposited semi-solid electrode slurry; [0044]; thicken direction Fig. 5); and cutting a region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed (method 10 further includes cutting the current collector between the discrete portions of semi-solid electrode slurry to form a finished electrode 13; [0047]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
However, ZAGARS does not teach or suggest: the at least one surface is disposed first and second opposite surfaces of the electrode current collector; and the step of removing of the part of the electrode mixture layer removes a part of the electrode mixture layer disposed on each of the first and second surfaces of the electrode current collector (claim 6); the at least one surface is disposed on first and second opposite surfaces of the electrode current collector, and the blade comprises a first blade and a second blade together configured to remove a part of the electrode mixture layer disposed on each of the first and second surfaces of the electrode current collector (claim 12).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the at least one surface is disposed first and second opposite surfaces of the electrode current collector, in the electrode sheet of ZAGARS, in order to increase power output. The skilled artisan recognizes thar more electrode active mater in the cell increases power output, which can be achieved by coating both sides of the current collector. ZAGARS teaches the method can include continuously dispensing a semi-solid electrode slurry onto a current collector; [0018]. An additional coating on the opposing surface is a duplication of parts. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). With respect to the step of removing of the part of the electrode mixture layer removes a part of the electrode mixture layer disposed on each of the first and second surfaces of the electrode current collector; it would have been obvious in the electrode sheet of ZAGARS, to improve cutting. Duplicating method steps is obvious unless there are unexpected ameliorative results.
With respect to the at least one surface being disposed on first and second opposite surfaces of the electrode current collector (see above), and the blade comprising a first blade and a second blade together configured to remove a part of the electrode mixture layer disposed on each of the first and second surfaces of the electrode current collector (claim 12); it would have been obvious in the electrode sheet processing apparatus of ZAGARS, since ZAGARS teaches a doctor blade removing active material (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into discrete portions on the current collector 12 by any of laser ablation, doctor blade, irradiation, high-precision cutting, or combinations thereof; [0045]). An additional blade on the opposing surface is a duplication of parts. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ZAGARS et al. US-20200014025-A1 in view of Li et al. US-20080263855-A1.
ZAGARS teaches an electrode sheet processing method (systems and methods for continuously and/or semi-continuously manufacturing semi-solid electrodes; See the Abstract), comprising: of, preparing an electrode sheet depositing an electrode mixture layer on at least one surface of an electrode current collector (the method can include continuously dispensing a semi-solid electrode slurry onto a current collector, separating the semi-solid electrode slurry into discrete portions, and cutting the current collector to form a finished electrode; [0018]); removing a part of the electrode mixture layer in a thickness direction of the electrode sheet by physical processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into the discrete portions on the current collector 12 by removing a portion of the continuously deposited semi-solid electrode slurry; [0044]; thicken direction Fig. 5); and cutting a region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed (method 10 further includes cutting the current collector between the discrete portions of semi-solid electrode slurry to form a finished electrode 13; [0047]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
ZAGARS does not teach or suggest: sensing the region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed; generating position information of the region that has been sensed; and then transmitting the position information to a controller for controlling a laser that performs the laser processing (claim 4); a vision portion configured to sense the region from which the electrode mixture layer of the electrode sheet is-has been removed, configured to generate position information of the region that has been sensed, and configured to transmit the position information to a controller for controlling the laser (claim 11).
Li teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: sensing the region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed; generating position information of the region that has been sensed (pulsed laser cutter 80 comprises a pulsed laser source 82, a movable stage 84, a laser optical system 86, and a programmable controller 88; [0031]); and then transmitting the position information to a controller for controlling a laser that performs the laser processing (pulsed laser cutter 80 comprises a pulsed laser source 82, a movable stage 84, a laser optical system 86, and a programmable controller 88; [0031]; claim 4); a vision portion configured to sense the region from which the electrode mixture layer of the electrode sheet is-has been removed, configured to generate position information of the region that has been sensed, and configured to transmit the position information to a controller for controlling the laser (pulsed laser cutter 80 comprises a pulsed laser source 82, a movable stage 84, a laser optical system 86, and a programmable controller 88; [0031; claim 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ sensing the region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed; generating position information of the region that has been sensed; and then transmitting the position information to a controller for controlling a laser that performs the laser processing, in the electrode sheet of ZAGARS, in order to automate the citing process and improve manufacturing ease. The skilled artisan recognizes that programable controllers ,may control sensors, and cutters for automation implementation improving manufacturing efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ZAGARS et al. US-20200014025-A1 in view of Li et al. CN-114242952-A (hereinafter referred to as Li ‘952).
ZAGARS teaches an electrode sheet processing method (systems and methods for continuously and/or semi-continuously manufacturing semi-solid electrodes; See the Abstract), comprising: of, preparing an electrode sheet depositing an electrode mixture layer on at least one surface of an electrode current collector (the method can include continuously dispensing a semi-solid electrode slurry onto a current collector, separating the semi-solid electrode slurry into discrete portions, and cutting the current collector to form a finished electrode; [0018]); removing a part of the electrode mixture layer in a thickness direction of the electrode sheet by physical processing (the semi-solid electrode slurry can be separated into the discrete portions on the current collector 12 by removing a portion of the continuously deposited semi-solid electrode slurry; [0044]; thicken direction Fig. 5); and cutting a region of the electrode sheet from which the electrode mixture layer has been removed (method 10 further includes cutting the current collector between the discrete portions of semi-solid electrode slurry to form a finished electrode 13; [0047]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
ZAGARS does not teach or suggest: the cutting is a notching (claim 5).
Li ‘952 that it is well known in the art to employ: the cutting is a notching (cutting is notched; Fig, 2; claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the notching of Li ‘952, in the electrode sheet of ZAGARS, to expose the tab and prevent delamination.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723