DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadamori et al. US 20200048785 A1.
In reference to claim 1, Sadamori teaches an electrical contact (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts) material comprising: an electroconductive substrate ([0016], lines 3-4 mention a base material. This is seen as an electroconductive substrate); and a silver-containing layer (see [0016], line 3) including silver provided to at least part of a surface of the electroconductive substrate ([0016], lines 1-4), wherein an average KAM value of the silver-containing layer is 0.20° or more and 2.00°or less in a cross section of the electrical contact material (see TABLE 3-2, where on the first row, fourth column the value is .217 degrees).
In reference to claim 3, Sadamori teaches wherein the silver-containing layer is a pure silver layer (see TABLE 5, Ex. 1, where under the fourth column shows the Purity of Ag is 99.9 or more. This is seen as encompassing pure silver).
In reference to claim 5, Sadamori teaches further comprising an intermediate layer consisting of nickel (see Sadamori claim 6) or nickel alloy between the electroconductive substrate and the silver-containing layer.
In reference to claim 7, Sadamori teaches a contact made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a contact”).
In reference to claim 8, Sadamori teaches a terminal made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a terminal ”).
In reference to claim 9, Sadamori teaches a connector made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a connector made using the electrical contact material ”).
In reference to claim 17, Sadamori teaches further comprising an intermediate layer consisting of nickel (see Sadamori claim 6) or nickel alloy between the electroconductive substrate and the silver-containing layer.
In reference to claim 18, Sadamori teaches a contact made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a contact”).
In reference to claim 19, Sadamori teaches a terminal made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a terminal ”).
In reference to claim 20, Sadamori teaches a connector made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a connector made using the electrical contact material ”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 10, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadamori et al. US 20200048785 A1.
In reference to claim 2, Sadamori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Sadamori does not teach wherein a proportion of KAM value of 1.00° or more in the silver-containing layer is 20% or more in the cross section of the electrical contact material.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Sadamori’s product is formed by electroplating a copper or copper alloy base material (see Sadamori Claim 5). Because Sadamori involves electroplating, the surface roughness of the base material can affect the KAM value. Therefore, through experimentation, choosing a base material that will produce a KAM value of 1.00° or more in the silver-containing layer is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the base material. The silver-containing layer will still form on the base material , therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 4, Sadamori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Sadamori does not teach wherein an average thickness of the silver-containing layer is 0.5 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the thickness of the silver-containing layer to be 0.5 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the thickness of the silver-containing layer to arrive at the results of claim 4 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the thickness of the silver-containing layer to arrive at the results of claim 4 is seen as an obvious modification. Silver is still formed as a layer on the product, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 6, Sadamori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Sadamori does not teach wherein an average thickness of the intermediate layer is 0.01 µm or more and 3.00 µm or less.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the average thickness of the intermediate layer is 0.01 µm or more and 3.00 µm or less, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the average thickness of the intermediate layer to arrive at the results of claim 6 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the average thickness of the intermediate layer to arrive at the results of claim 6 is seen as an obvious modification. The intermediate layer is still formed between the base material and the silver-containing layer on the product, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 10, Sadamori teaches wherein the silver-containing layer is a pure silver layer (see TABLE 5, Ex. 1, where under the fourth column shows the Purity of Ag is 99.9 or more. This is seen as encompassing pure silver).
In reference to claim 11, Sadamori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Sadamori does not teach wherein an average thickness of the silver-containing layer is 0.5 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the thickness of the silver-containing layer to be 0.5 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the thickness of the silver-containing layer to arrive at the results of claim 11 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the thickness of the silver-containing layer to arrive at the results of claim 11 is seen as an obvious modification. Silver is still formed as a layer on the product, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 12, Sadamori teaches further comprising an intermediate layer consisting of nickel (see Sadamori claim 6) or nickel alloy between the electroconductive substrate and the silver-containing layer.
In reference to claim 13, Sadamori teaches a contact made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a contact”).
In reference to claim 14, Sadamori teaches a terminal made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a terminal ”).
In reference to claim 15, Sadamori teaches a connector made using the electrical contact material according to claim 1 (see [0001], lines 4-7 which mentions examples of contact and terminal parts. This is seen to be broad enough to encompass the claimed “a connector made using the electrical contact material ”).
In reference to claim 16, Sadamori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Sadamori does not teach wherein an average thickness of the silver-containing layer is 0.5 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the thickness of the silver-containing layer to be 0.5 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the thickness of the silver-containing layer to arrive at the results of claim 16 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the thickness of the silver-containing layer to arrive at the results of claim 16 is seen as an obvious modification. Silver is still formed as a layer on the product, therefore new results are not produced.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 06/03/2026