Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2022/0256553 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0020105 to Shin et al. (hereinafter Shin)
As to claims 8 and 9, Lin discloses a User Equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory machine-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to:
remove a first resource from a selected sidelink grant in response to determining that the first resource is indicated for pre-emption by a physical layer to a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (Lin; [0008]; [0040] discloses when the first UE (e.g. a lower layer of the first UE, such as the physical layer) determine that one or more SL resources of SL resources already reserved by the first UE are pre-empted by a second UE, as indicated by the SCI, and a priority of the first UE is lower than a priority of the second UE, e.g. the second UE has a higher transmission priority than the first UE, then a re-selection process is triggered (e.g. by a higher layer of the first UE, such as the MAC layer) to select replacement SL resources that may be used instead of the SL resources which had been reserved by the first UE but are reserved/pre-empted by the second UE. Reserved SL resources by the first UE are pre-empted by a second UE and since the second UE is using the reserved resource that means the first UE is not using (=removing) the reserved resource and reselect another resource),
Lin discloses first UE (e.g. a lower layer of the first UE, such as the physical layer) determine that one or more SL resources of SL resources already reserved by the first UE are pre-empted by a second UE, as indicated by the SCI, and a priority of the first UE is lower than a priority of the second UE, e.g. the second UE has a higher transmission priority than the first UE, then a re-selection process is triggered. Lin fails to disclose the first resource being indicated by prior sidelink control information (SCI). However, Shin discloses
the first resource being indicated by prior sidelink control information (SCI) (Shin; Abstract; [0222] discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system may include identifying a first candidate resource set for sidelink communication in a first resource selection window, through sensing based on first sidelink control information (SCI) received in a first sensing window, reporting the first candidate resource set to a higher layer of the terminal, so that the higher layer of the terminal selects a first resource in the first candidate resource set, identifying a second candidate resource set for sidelink communication in a second resource selection window, through sensing based on second SCI received in a second sensing window, determining whether to perform pre-emption or re-evaluation for the first resource, based on the second SCI, and when it is determined to perform the pre-emption or the re-evaluation for the first resource, triggering re-selection of resources for sidelink communication, and reporting the first resource for which the pre-emption or the re-evaluation has been performed, and the second candidate resource set to the higher layer of the terminal, so that the higher layer of the terminal performs re-selection of resources based on the first resource for which the pre-emption or the re-evaluation has been performed and the second candidate resource set);
re-select a second resource from a resource set indicated by the physical layer to the MAC layer (Shin; Abstract; [0222] discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system may include identifying a first candidate resource set for sidelink communication in a first resource selection window, through sensing based on first sidelink control information (SCI) received in a first sensing window, reporting the first candidate resource set to a higher layer of the terminal, so that the higher layer of the terminal selects a first resource in the first candidate resource set, identifying a second candidate resource set for sidelink communication in a second resource selection window, through sensing based on second SCI received in a second sensing window, determining whether to perform pre-emption or re-evaluation for the first resource, based on the second SCI, and when it is determined to perform the pre-emption or the re-evaluation for the first resource, triggering re-selection of resources for sidelink communication, and reporting the first resource for which the pre-emption or the re-evaluation has been performed, and the second candidate resource set to the higher layer of the terminal, so that the higher layer of the terminal performs re-selection of resources based on the first resource for which the pre-emption or the re-evaluation has been performed and the second candidate resource set); and
replace the first resource with the second resource, wherein the second resource is later than the first resource (Shin; Abstract; [0222] discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system may include identifying a first candidate resource set for sidelink communication in a first resource selection window, through sensing based on first sidelink control information (SCI) received in a first sensing window, reporting the first candidate resource set to a higher layer of the terminal, so that the higher layer of the terminal selects a first resource in the first candidate resource set, identifying a second candidate resource set for sidelink communication in a second resource selection window, through sensing based on second SCI received in a second sensing window, determining whether to perform pre-emption or re-evaluation for the first resource, based on the second SCI, and when it is determined to perform the pre-emption or the re-evaluation for the first resource, triggering re-selection of resources for sidelink communication, and reporting the first resource for which the pre-emption or the re-evaluation has been performed, and the second candidate resource set to the higher layer of the terminal, so that the higher layer of the terminal performs re-selection of resources based on the first resource for which the pre-emption or the re-evaluation has been performed and the second candidate resource set).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478