DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-30 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 16-29, in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that prior art references Mironov and Deng are not combinable and therefore the inventive concept is not taught by the prior art. Specifically, the Applicant argues that Mironov is directed to a heat-not-burn article and Deng is directed to a conventional cigarette, and the resulting difference in form and function would yield an unexpected result that the layer of Deng may interact with the inductive heating of Mironov. The Applicant further states that Mironov does not burn/combust and would therefore not have a need to apply the sheet of Deng. This is not found persuasive because even if aluminum were to have inductive properties, this would not preclude its application to Mironov, as it may be expected to additionally heat the article from the outside in addition to the susceptor heating within the article. The claimed invention does not exclude this as a possible configuration. Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a layer to contain the substrate would be beneficial to carrying the substrate and to cleaning the device. Whether or not ash is formed, the metal layer would help contain stray particles of the substrate.
The Examiner further notes that claim 16 is similarly taught by prior art references Campitelli et al. (WO 2020127116 A2) and Mohseni (WO 2019048361 A1), as cited in the below rejection. These prior art references further evidence that the inventive feature does not make a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 30 is withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campitelli et al. (WO 2020127116 A2; hereinafter referring to US 20220007710 A1) in view of Mohseni (WO 2019048361 A1; referring to corresponding US document US 20200221760 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Campitelli teaches an aerosol-generating article (aerosol generating article 100; [0405]), comprising:
a rod of aerosol-forming substrate (tubular element 500 comprising gel 124; [0406]),
the rod comprising a susceptor element within the aerosol-forming substrate ([0031], [0364-0376], [0484]);
and a wrapper (wrapper 110, 850; [0405], [0484]) wrapped around the rod of aerosol-forming substrate,
wherein the wrapper comprises a metal layer ([0319]).
Campitelli is silent as to the thickness of the metal layer.
Mohseni, directed to an article (aerosol-generating article 2; [0274]) comprising a rod of aerosol-forming substrate (aerosol-forming substrate 10; [0274]) and a wrapper (outermost wrapper 20; [0274]) comprising a metal layer ([0283]), teaches that a thickness of a metal layer may be less than 100nm ([0011], [0039-0044], [0283]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Campitelli by making the metal layer have a thickness of less than 100 nanometers as taught by Mohseni because Campitelli is silent to the thickness of the metal layer and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable metal layer thickness, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, Mohseni teaches that the metal layer has a thickness of between 25 nanometres and 60 nanometres ([0044] teaches between about 15 nanometers and about 60 nanometers The claimed range overlaps the range taught by the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 18, Campitelli teaches that the wrapper is wrapped around at least 50 percent of a length of the rod of aerosol-forming substrate (Figs. 13, 24; [0439]).
Regarding claim 19, Campitelli teaches that the susceptor element has a diameter of between 2 millimetres and 4 millimetres ([0370] teaches 1-5mm. The claimed range overlaps the range taught by the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 20, Campitelli teaches an upstream element (end plug 600; Fig. 13; [0174], [0412]) located upstream of the rod of aerosol-forming substrate.
Regarding claim 21, Campitelli teaches that the wrapper is wrapped around at least a portion of the upstream element (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 22, Campitelli is silent as to the composition of the metal layer.
Mohseni teaches that the metal layer may comprise aluminum ([0046]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Campitelli by making the metal layer comprise aluminum as taught by Mohseni because Campitelli is silent to the composition of the metal layer and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable metal layer composition, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 23, Campitelli teaches that the wrapper further comprises a paper layer ([0172], [0345]).
Regarding claim 24, Mohseni teaches that the wrapper further comprises the metal layer deposited on the paper layer (Mohseni [0033-0034], [0055], [0289]).
Regarding claim 25, Campitelli teaches that the paper layer has a thickness of between 40 micrometres and 80 micrometres ([0345] teaches a paper layer thickness of 30 to 70 micrometers. The claimed range overlaps the range taught by the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 26, Campitelli teaches that the aerosol- forming substrate has an aerosol former content of greater than or equal 5 percent by weight ([0248] teaches between 60 and 90 percent. The claimed range overlaps the range taught by the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 27, modified Campitelli teaches that a ratio of a thickness of the susceptor element to a thickness of the metal layer is less than 2500 (Campitelli [0370] teaches that the thickness of the susceptor is 10-500 micrometers; Mohseni [0011], [0039-0044], [0283] teaches that the thickness of the metal layer less than 100nm; the claimed ratio overlaps with the resulting ratio of the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 28, Campitelli teaches that a ratio of a thickness of the susceptor element to a thickness of the metal layer is greater than or equal to 1500 (Campitelli [0370] teaches that the thickness of the susceptor is 10-500 micrometers; Mohseni [0011], [0039-0044], [0283] teaches that the thickness of the metal layer less than 100nm; the claimed ratio overlaps with the resulting ratio of the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 29, Campitelli teaches that a ratio of a thickness of the susceptor element to a thickness of the metal layer is between 1500 and 2500 (Campitelli [0370] teaches that the thickness of the susceptor is 10-500 micrometers; Mohseni [0011], [0039-0044], [0283] teaches that the thickness of the metal layer less than 100nm; the claimed ratio overlaps with the resulting ratio of the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious).
Double Patenting
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 and 29 of copending Application No. 18/580,068 in view of Campitelli et al. (WO 2020127116 A2; hereinafter referring to US 20220007710 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 16, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to an aerosol-generating article, comprising: a rod of aerosol-forming substrate; and a wrapper wrapped around the rod of aerosol-forming substrate, wherein the wrapper comprises a metal layer, and wherein the metal layer has a thickness of less than 100 nanometres.
The claims differ in that conflicting claim 16 does not teach that the rod comprises a susceptor element, however, claim 29 of the conflicting claims teaches this limitation.
The claims further differ in that conflicting claim 29 does not specify that the susceptor element is within the aerosol forming substrate.
Campitelli, directed to an aerosol-generating article (aerosol generating article 100; [0405]), comprising: a rod of aerosol-forming substrate (tubular element 500 comprising gel 124; [0406]), the rod comprising a susceptor element ([0031], [0364-0376], [0484]); and a wrapper (wrapper 110, 850; [0405], [0484]) wrapped around the rod of aerosol-forming substrate, wherein the wrapper comprises a metal layer ([0319]), teaches that a susceptor element may be located within the aerosol-forming substrate ([0031], [0364-0376], [0484]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the conflicting claims by locating the susceptor element within the aerosol-forming substrate as taught by Campitelli because the conflicting claims are silent as to the location of the susceptor element, Campitelli teaches that this is a known placement for a susceptor element, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar article to yield predictable results.
The claims further differ in that conflicting claims 16 and 29 include additional limitations directed to an aerosol former content of the article. However, conflicting claims 16 and 29 still include all required components of rejected claim 16 in view of Campitelli. Therefore, all elements are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Conclusion
/C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755