DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 3, 2026, with respect to the rejection in view of Toyoshima (EP3730269) have been fully considered and are persuasive as the base material of Toyoshima is stainless steel. The rejection in view of Toyoshima (EP3730269) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed February 3, 2026 with respect to the rejection in view of Yuasa (PGPub 2005/0242454) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Yuasa teaches the bulk portion of the base material is only steel or stainless steel [0114] or contains iron [0130]; [0131].
Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion noting Yuasa teaches “the material of the base material 10 is not particularly limited, however, commonly used die material such as steel or stainless steel is preferable” [0114] and also teaches the amorphous alloy used in the master die (or metallic mold) “is not questioned” and can include “publicly known metallic glasses such as Pd series, Mg series, Ti series, Fe series, Zr series” [0031]. Thus, Yuasa teaches a bulk portion, a material of the bulk portion being a metal alloy wherein the metal alloy is selected from a titanium alloy and a nickel alloy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the units of thermal diffusivity. For examination purposes, it will be assumed that the unit for the recited thermal diffusivities is mm2/s.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuasa (PGPub 2005/0242454 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Yuasa teaches a mold insert (Abstract), comprising:
a bulk portion (Fig. 1g- master die 1; [0031]; [0042]), a material of the bulk portion being a metal alloy [0031]; [0042],
a functional surface plated on the bulk portion [0054],
a plurality of microstructures (Fig. 1g- amorphous alloy MG; [0030]) being formed on the functional surface (Fig. 1g- amorphous alloy MG on master die 1),
wherein the metal alloy is selected from a titanium alloy and a nickel alloy ([0031]- listing titanium alloy as an acceptable alloy in the master die),
the metal alloy has a thermal conductivity between 1 and 50 W/m-K ([0031]; [0042]- discussing acceptable metal alloys including titanium alloy; Examiner notes titanium alloy has a thermal conductivity of 6-22 W/m-K), and the metal alloy has a modulus of between 100 GPa and 1000 GPa ([0031]; [0042]- discussing acceptable metal alloys including titanium alloy; Examiner notes titanium alloy has a modulus of elasticity of 80-125 GPa).
Regarding Claim 4, “an optical power of a lens resulting from use of the mold insert is between and inclusive of -8.00 to +6.00 Diopter” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of “an optical power of a lens resulting from use of the mold insert is between and inclusive of -8.00 to +6.00 Diopter” is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 7, Yuasa further teaches the thermal conductivity of the metal alloy is between 5 and 12 W/m-K ([0031]; [0042]- discussing acceptable metal alloys including titanium alloy; Examiner notes titanium alloy has a thermal conductivity of 6-22 W/m-K).
Regarding Claim 8, Yuasa further teaches a thickness of the functional surface is between 5 and 1000 µm [0112].
Regarding Claim 16, Yuasa teaches nickel as appropriate material for the function films [0042]-[0043] thus meeting the instant limitation of a material of the functional surface is NiP.
Regarding Claim 19, Yuasa teaches the material of the bulk portion may selected from various titanium alloys [0031] thus meeting the instant limitation of the material of the bulk portion is selected from nickel alloy hastelloy r-235, nickel alloy invar, titanium alloy Ti-A16-V4, titanium alloy Ti-A18-Mol-V1, titanium alloy Ti-A14-V4-Cr10, and titanium alloy imi 679 Ti-A12-Sn11-Zr5.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuasa (PGPub 2005/0242454 cited in IDS) as evidenced by Materials Thermal Properties Database.
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Yuasa teaches titanium alloys as acceptable material for the bulk portion and the functional surface [0031]; [0042]. Materials Thermal Properties Database teaches several titanium alloys possess a thermal diffusivity of less than or equal to 3.1 m2/s (3.1E-6 mm2/s) (see table) thus meeting the instant limitations of the material of the bulk portion (and the functional surface) has a thermal diffusivity of less than or equal to 3.1E-6 (Examiner assumes the units for these limitations should be mm2/s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa (PGPub 2005/0242454 cited in IDS) in view of Hirota et al (PGPub 2005/0218538).
Regarding Claim 9, Yuasa does not specify a thickness of the bulk portion is between 5 and 100 mm.
Hirota teaches an alternative press molding device for molding optical lenses (Abstract) wherein a thickness of the bulk portion is between 5 and 100 mm (Table 1) in order to avoid warpage of the mother mold [0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuasa to include a thickness of the bulk portion is between 5 and 100 mm as taught by Hirota with reasonable expectation of success to avoid warpage of the mother mold [0097].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 2/25/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748