DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 16-19 under 35 USC 102 in view of Yuasa et al (PGPub 2005/0242454) have been fully considered and are persuasive as Yuasa does not fairly teach or suggest the combination of NiP and the specific nickel/titanium alloys. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chiu (PGPub 2003/0025226) as evidenced by cited property tables in view of Toyoshima (EP3730269 cited in IDS with references to related PGPub 2021/0387430).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (PGPub 2003/0025226) as evidenced by cited property tables in view of Toyoshima (EP3730269 cited in IDS with references to related PGPub 2021/0387430).
Regarding Claim 1, Chiu teaches a mold insert (Abstract), comprising:
a bulk portion (Fig. 1- composite insert 2, 2’ comprising bases 3, 3’ and layers 4, 4’), a material of the bulk portion being a metal alloy ([0035]- suitable materials for layers 4, 4’ are listed in table I; [0037]- The materials mentioned in table I above are suitable for forming the bases 3, 3′ of the insert pieces 2, 2′), and
a functional surface coated on the bulk portion ([0042]- the mold cavity may be coated with one or several thin property enhancing coatings),
wherein the metal alloy is selected from a nickel alloy hastelloy r-235, nickel alloy invar, titanium alloy Ti-Al6-V4, titanium alloy Ti-Al8-Mo1-V1, titanium alloy Ti-Al4-V4-Cr10, and titanium alloy imi 679 Ti-A12-Sn11-Zr5 (Table I),
the metal alloy has a thermal conductivity between 1 and 50 W/m-K (Table I), and the metal alloy has a modulus of between 100 GPa and 1000 GPa (See cited property tables).
Chiu does not teach a material of the functional surface is NiP or a plurality of microstructures being formed on the functional surface.
Toyoshima teaches an alternative mold insert (Abstract) comprising a functional surface plated on the bulk portion (Fig. 3c; Fig. 4a- coating layer 28; Fig. 5- coating layer 52), wherein a material of the functional surface is NiP [0046]; [0051]; [0069]; [0073] and a plurality of microstructures are formed on the functional surface (Fig. 3d; Fig. 4a- recesses 28B; Fig. 5- recesses 52B; [0052]; [0074]) in order to form a lens mold having a minute recesses with high accuracy as a result of the ductile nature of nickel alloy avoiding chipping and the like [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chiu to include a functional surface plated on the bulk portion, wherein a material of the functional surface is NiP and a plurality of microstructures being formed on the functional surface as taught by Toyoshima with reasonable expectation of success to form a lens mold having a minute recesses with high accuracy as a result of the ductile nature of nickel alloy avoiding chipping and the like [0012].
Regarding Claim 4, “an optical power of a lens resulting from use of the mold insert is between and inclusive of -8.00 to +6.00 Diopter” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of “an optical power of a lens resulting from use of the mold insert is between and inclusive of -8.00 to +6.00 Diopter” is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 7, Chiu further teaches the thermal conductivity of the metal alloy is between 5 and 12 W/m-K (Table I).
Regarding Claim 8, Chiu further teaches a thickness of the functional surface is between 5 and 1000 µm [0043].
Regarding Claim 9, Chiu further teaches a thickness of the bulk portion is between 5 and 100 mm (In general, the whole thickness of the composite inserts will range from 3 to 5 cm (30-50 mm)).
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 8/5/26
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748