DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority Documents
The Korean foreign priority document(s) 10-2023-0070826 & 10-2022-0078213, submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on January 17, 2024 and placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed January 17, 2024, February 13, 2025, March 5, 2025, April 17, 2025 & October 16, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The instant claim would be allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art is silent to: an edge of the upper pack housing is coupled on the sidewall frame of the lower pack housing, wherein a first venting hole communicating with the first gas channel is disposed in a lower portion of the edge, and wherein a second venting hole, communicating with the first venting hole and the second gas channel is disposed in an upper portion of the sidewall frame.
The prior art, such as Boecker et al . US-11316230-B1, teaches a battery pack (200; Fig. 5, below), comprising: a plurality of battery assemblies (304; Fig. 5); a lower pack housing that has an open upper surface and accommodates the plurality of battery assemblies (lower pack housing; Fig. 5; The lower pack housing that has an opening because: the battery module may include a battery module housing. The battery module housing may include a cover (or top), one or more sidewalls, and a base (or bottom); Col. 3, lines 4-10); and an upper pack housing coupled to the open upper surface of the lower pack housing (upper pack housing; Fig. 5), wherein the upper pack housing includes at least one gas inlet through which gas generated in the battery pack is introduced (gas generated is ejected gas 516; Fig. 5 & Col. 12, lines 50-55; gas inlet; Fig. 5); and a first gas channel communicating with the at least one gas inlet (first gas channel; Fig. 5); and wherein the lower pack housing includes a sidewall frame (sidewall frame; Fig. 5) that includes a second gas channel (trough 412; Col. 12, lines 5-25; Figs. 4 & 5) communicating with the first gas channel (trough 412 may be disposed along a side wall of the battery modules 202, extending at least partially along a length of the respective battery module 202. In some examples, trough 412 may take the form of a moat, channel, gutter, trench, or combinations thereof, among others. In some examples, in the event of a thermal runaway of one or more cells of a battery module 202, gases & active material generated from the thermal runaway may exit the battery module via the trough 412; Col. 12, lines 5-25; Figs. 4 & 5; Examiners Note: the gas exits from the batteries through the first gas channel, and for the gas to exit the battery module housing through channel 412, both channels must be fluidly connected) and at least one gas outlet communicating with the second gas channel to discharge the gas to an outside of the battery pack (gas outlet 408; Fig. 5). However, the reference does not teach or suggest: a second venting hole, communicating with the first venting hole and the second gas channel is disposed in an upper portion of the sidewall frame
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boecker et al . US-11316230-B1.
With respect to claim 1, Boecker battery pack (200; Fig. 5, below), comprising: a plurality of battery assemblies (304; Fig. 5); a lower pack housing that has an open upper surface and accommodates the plurality of battery assemblies (lower pack housing; Fig. 5; The lower pack housing that has an opening because: the battery module may include a battery module housing. The battery module housing may include a cover (or top), one or more sidewalls, and a base (or bottom); Col. 3, lines 4-10); and an upper pack housing coupled to the open upper surface of the lower pack housing (upper pack housing; Fig. 5), wherein the upper pack housing includes at least one gas inlet through which gas generated in the battery pack is introduced (gas generated is ejected gas 516; Fig. 5 & Col. 12, lines 50-55; gas inlet; Fig. 5); and a first gas channel communicating with the at least one gas inlet (first gas channel; Fig. 5); and wherein the lower pack housing includes a sidewall frame (sidewall frame; Fig. 5) that includes a second gas channel (trough 412; Col. 12, lines 5-25; Figs. 4 & 5) communicating with the first gas channel (trough 412 may be disposed along a side wall of the battery modules 202, extending at least partially along a length of the respective battery module 202. In some examples, trough 412 may take the form of a moat, channel, gutter, trench, or combinations thereof, among others. In some examples, in the event of a thermal runaway of one or more cells of a battery module 202, gases & active material generated from the thermal runaway may exit the battery module via the trough 412; Col. 12, lines 5-25; Figs. 4 & 5; Examiners Note: the gas exits from the batteries through the first gas channel, and for the gas to exit the battery module housing through channel 412, both channels must be fluidly connected) and at least one gas outlet communicating with the second gas channel to discharge the gas to an outside of the battery pack (gas outlet 408; Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 3, the upper pack housing includes a lower plate frame (520; Fig. 5) in which the at least one gas inlet is disposed (gas inlet; 520; Fig. 5) , and an upper plate frame (514; Fig. 5) coupled on the lower plate frame to form the first gas channel between the upper plate frame and the lower plate frame (514 & 520 form first gas channel; Fig. 5; Examiner’s Note: this configuration is also at the very top of 200; Fig. 4) .
With respect to claim 4, the upper pack housing has a hollow structure having the first gas channel disposed therein (first gas channel is a hollow structure; Figs. 4 & 5), and wherein the at least one gas inlet is a plurality of gas inlets (Fig. 5 shows plurality of gas inlets) communicating with the first gas channel are disposed in a lower surface of the upper pack housing (plurality of gas inlets communicating with the first gas channel; Fig. 5; in a lower surface of the upper pack housing; Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 5, wherein the sidewall frame has a hollow structure in which the second gas channel is disposed (trough 412 may be disposed along a side wall of the battery modules 202, extending at least partially along a length of the respective battery module 202. In some examples, trough 412 may take the form of a moat, channel, gutter, trench, or combinations thereof, among others. In some examples, in the event of a thermal runaway of one or more cells of a battery module 202, gases & active material generated from the thermal runaway may exit the battery module via the trough 412; Col. 12, lines 5-25; Figs. 4 & 5;), and wherein the at least one gas outlet is disposed along an outer wall of the sidewall frame (Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 6, the first gas channel and the second gas channel are oriented in different directions (first and second gas channel are not parallel because gas exists vent 408 lower than the first gas channel; Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 7, a venting mechanism part including a gas seal member (the battery modules 202 may be configured with one or more vents 408 to vent gases out of respective battery modules 202; Col. 11, lines 65-68), which is deformed at a predetermined pressure and/or temperature to open the at least one gas outlet to the outside, is installed at the sidewall frame (the casing vent(s) may be configured to be sealed during normal operation and to “blow out” (i.e., release pressure) such as when subjected to a threshold pressure differential between the battery module bay and the atmosphere outside the vehicle; Col. 8, lines 55-65).
With respect to claim 9, a plurality of partition walls each disposed between adjacent battery assemblies are installed on a bottom portion of the lower pack housing (522; Fig. 5), and wherein the sidewall frame is coupled along a perimeter of the bottom portion (sidewall frame; Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 11, a distance between adjacent partition walls of the plurality of partition walls is less than a width of each of the plurality of battery assemblies (two adjacent partition walls 522 around a single battery 304 is narrower than the plurality of battery assemblies containing 6 batteries in Fig. 5).
Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by Boecker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al . US-11316230-B1 in view of SHINODA et al. US-20210167451-A1.
Boecker teaches a battery pack (200; Fig. 5, below), comprising: a plurality of battery assemblies (304; Fig. 5) as described in the rejection above.
However, Boecker does not teach or suggest: the upper pack housing and the sidewall frame are made of different materials, and wherein a material of the upper pack housing has higher thermal resistance than the a material of the sidewall frame (claim 8).
SHINODA teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the upper pack housing and the sidewall frame are made of different materials, and wherein a material of the upper pack housing has higher thermal resistance than the a material of the sidewall frame (The outer case 312 is formed of, for example, a plate made of a metal. For example, aluminum, an aluminum alloy, iron, stainless steel, or the like may be used as the metal. The lid 12 of the lid assembly 10 is preferably made of the same material as that of the outer case 312, but may be made of a different material; [0054]; Examiner’s Note: when the upper pack housing is stainless steel, and the sidewall frame is any of the other materials, the claim is satisfied because stainless-steel has the thermal resistance; claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the upper pack housing and the sidewall frame made of different materials, and wherein a material of the upper pack housing has higher thermal resistance than the a material of the sidewall frame, as suggested by SHINODA by disclosing different materials may be used for lids and casings of battery containers, in the battery pack of Boecker, to control the direction of heat dissipation. The skilled artisan recognizes that batteries overheat and materials are chosen for thermal management.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al . US-11316230-B1.
Boecker teaches a battery pack (200; Fig. 5, below), comprising: a plurality of battery assemblies (304; Fig. 5) as described in the rejection above.
Boecker does not teach or suggest: a height of the plurality of partition walls is greater than or equal to a height of the plurality of battery assemblies (claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a height of the plurality of partition walls being greater than or equal to a height of the plurality of battery assemblies, in the battery pack of Boecker, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the partition walls component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al . US-11316230-B1 in view of JP-2022515552-A (hereinafter referred to as JP ‘552).
Boecker teaches a battery pack (200; Fig. 5, below), comprising: a plurality of battery assemblies (304; Fig. 5) as described in the rejection above.
Boecker does not teach or suggest: the plurality of battery assemblies are arranged in two or more columns between adjacent partition walls of the plurality of partition walls in an extending direction of the partition wall, wherein two or more partition walls of the plurality of partition walls are installed to be spaced a predetermined interval apart from each other in an arrangement direction of the battery assemblies to correspond to a number of columns of the plurality of battery assemblies, and wherein a center frame which extends in a direction perpendicular to the arrangement direction of the plurality of battery assemblies and is installed in the predetermined interval between the two or more partition walls (claim 12); a unit frame assembly which is comprising an assembly of a plurality of unit frames, each unit frame including the partition wall and a base plate extending in a first direction from a lower end portion of the partition wall, wherein an end portion of the base plate wall in one unit frame is coupled to an end portion of the base plate in a subsequent unit frame to sequentially couple the plurality of unit frames and form the unit frame assembly, and the sidewall frame is coupled along a perimeter of the unit frame assembly (claim 15).
JP ‘552 teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the plurality of battery assemblies are arranged in two or more columns between adjacent partition walls of the plurality of partition walls in an extending direction of the partition wall (Fig, 3C, below),
wherein two or more partition walls of the plurality of partition walls are installed to be spaced a predetermined interval apart from each other in an arrangement direction of the battery assemblies to correspond to a number of columns of the plurality of battery assemblies (Figs 3C & 6), and wherein a center frame which extends in a direction perpendicular to the arrangement direction of the plurality of battery assemblies and is installed in the predetermined interval between the two or more partition walls (center frame; Figs 3C & 6 claim 12); a unit frame assembly which is comprising an assembly of a plurality of unit frames (each unit frame is at the intersection of the center frame and to partition walls; Fig. 6), each unit frame including the partition wall and a base plate extending in a first direction from a lower end portion of the partition wall (Fig. 6), and the sidewall frame is coupled along a perimeter of the unit frame assembly (Fig. 6; claim 15).
Boecker and JP ‘552 are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the plurality of battery assemblies being arranged in two or more columns between adjacent partition walls of the plurality of partition walls in an extending direction of the partition wall, wherein two or more partition walls of the plurality of partition walls are installed to be spaced a predetermined interval apart from each other in an arrangement direction of the battery assemblies to correspond to a number of columns of the plurality of battery assemblies, and wherein a center frame which extends in a direction perpendicular to the arrangement direction of the plurality of battery assemblies and is installed in the predetermined interval between the two or more partition walls as taught by JP ‘552, in the battery pack of Boecker, to securely arranged the battery assembly in the pack. Furthermore, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to claim 15, it would have been obvious to employ an end portion of the base plate wall in one unit frame being coupled to an end portion of the base plate in a subsequent unit frame to sequentially couple the plurality of unit frames and form the unit frame assembly, in the battery pack of Boecker in view of JP ‘552, as making essential working parts of a device integral is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2s 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al . US-11316230-B1 in view of YOON et al. KR-20210129773-A.
Boecker teaches a battery pack (200; Fig. 5, below), comprising: a plurality of battery assemblies (304; Fig. 5) as described in the rejection above. With respect to claim 14, the at least one gas inlet is disposed in each portion of a lower surface of the upper pack housing which is positioned above each isolated battery assembly (Fig. 5 above).
Boecker does not teach or suggest: a gasket coupled on an upper surface of the sidewall frame of the lower pack housing and the plurality of partition walls to isolate each battery assembly of the plurality of battery assemblies accommodated in the lower pack housing (claim 13).
YOON teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a gasket coupled on an upper surface of the sidewall frame of the lower pack housing and the plurality of partition walls to isolate each battery assembly of the plurality of battery assemblies accommodated in the lower pack housing (gasket 130; Fig. 3; claim 13).
Boecker and YOON are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the gasket coupled on an upper surface of the sidewall frame of the lower pack housing and the plurality of partition walls to isolate each battery assembly of the plurality of battery assemblies accommodated in the lower pack housing of YOON, in the battery pack of Boecker, to improve sealing of the assembly/ Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723