DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the amendments overcome the 112b rejections. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. The 112b rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the amendments “a first descriptor that includes a multicast_stream_id as multicast stream identification information for uniquely identifying a multicast stream including the multicast service data.” are not taught by prior art Kwon. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. An updated search was conducted and a prior art was discovered to read on the amendment: US 2007 /0070970 Al (Collins)
Kwon teaches on most of the limitations of Claims 1, 10. Kwon teaches on multicast stream information provided in the control data ([0110][0111]). However, Kwon is silent on a first descriptor that includes a multicast_stream_id as multicast stream identification information for uniquely identifying a multicast stream including the multicast service data.
Collins teaches a first descriptor that includes a multicast_stream_id as multicast stream identification information for uniquely identifying a multicast stream including the multicast service data. See Collins, [0057] The service offered by the FLO network consists of multicasting data flows provided by the upper layers. The role of the Control layer is to provide the device with the information needed to receive particular flow(s). Fig 7, each flow is addressed by a unique, 20-bit identifier called a FlowID 700. The Flow ID comprises two parts: FlowID_bits_ 4_thru_19 702 and FlowID_bits_0_thru_3 704.
It would have been obvious to modify Kwon per Collins as it would allow the modified system to provide a reference/label to the flow, along with the multicast stream information, which allows for easier correlation/analysis of flow parameters.
Please see updated rejection below:
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0186624 Al (Kwon, 6/11/2020) in view of US 2007/0070970 Al (Collins)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0186624 Al (Kwon, 6/11/2020) in view of US 2007/0070970 Al (Collins).
Regarding Claims 1, 10:
Kwon teaches A method and A multicast transmitting signal system for transmitting a multicast signal, (Fig 17, [0326) The link layer block 1200 generates one or more ALP streams from one or more multicasts input from the upper layer block 1100 and then delivers the generated ALP streams to one or more PLPs of the physical layer block 1300.) the multicast transmitting signal system comprising: a memory; and at least one processor connected to the memory, ([0554] The internal components of the apparatus may be processors that execute consecutive processes stored in a memory or other hardware components. These may be located inside/outside the apparatus.) the at least one processor to:
perform header compression on an IP (Internet Protocol) stream made up of IP packets including multicast service data for a multicast service and output a header-compressed IP stream; ([0332] The RoHC module of the IP header compressor performs header compression by receiving IP packets in one or more multicasts. If IP packets input for header compression are fragmented packets, after the pre-processing module performs IP de-fragmentation and restores IP packets prior to fragmentation, the RoHC module performs header compression.) and outputting a header-compressed IP stream; ([0327] At this time, one ALP stream is delivered to only one PLP. Therefore, in order to deliver the plurality of ALP streams, the link layer block 1200 should include a plurality of ALP streams generators, and the physical layer block 1300 should process data of a plurality of PLPs. For example, in order to generate and deliver k number of ALP streams (k is 2 or more), k number ALP stream generators and k number of PLPs are required.)
generate network control data including information related to the multicast service and link control data including information related to a physical layer; ([0110] A receiver may detect a broadcast signal while a tuner tunes to frequencies. The receiver may extract and send an SLT to a processing module (i.e., SLT parser). The SLT parser may parse the SLT and acquire data and generate or update a channel map based on the acquired data. The receiver may acquire and deliver bootstrap information of the SLT to a ROUTE or MMT client.)
encapsulate the header-compressed IP stream into a first GSE (Generic Stream Encapsulation) stream; ([0096] Data processed according to MMTP or ROUTE protocol may be processed into IP packets through a User Datagram Protocol/Internet Protocol (UDP/IP) layer by adding a UDP header to a UDP payload including data processed according to MMTP or ROUTE protocol and an IP/UDP packet is made by adding an IP header to the UDP packet. [0097] The link layer may encapsulate various formats of data delivered from a higher layer into link layer packets and then deliver the packets to a physical layer.)
encapsulate the network control data and the link control data into a second GSE stream; ([0110][0111] A broadcast stream delivered by a broadcast signal frame of a physical layer may carry low level signaling (LLS). LLS data may be carried through payload of IP packets delivered to a well-known IP address/port. This LLS may include an SLT. [0112] The SLT includes bootstrap information which may include destination IP address, source IP address, and destination port information of an LCT channel carrying the SLS or a ROUTE session including the LCT channel. When the SLS is delivered through the MMT, the bootstrap information may include destination IP address and destination port information of an MMTP session carrying the SLS. [0097] The link layer may encapsulate various formats of data delivered from a higher layer into link layer packets and then deliver the packets to a physical layer.)
and transmit the first GSE stream (ie. encapsulated IP packets according to SLS information from the SLT) and the second GSE stream (ie. encapsulated SLT), ([0096] In service data delivery over the broadcast network, a service list table (SLT) may also be delivered over the broadcast network through a UDP/IP layer. The SLT may be delivered in a low level signaling (LLS) table. [0097] IP packets may be processed into link layer packets in a link layer. The link layer may encapsulate various formats of data delivered from a higher layer into link layer packets and then deliver the packets to a physical layer. [0113] The SLS of service #1 described in the SLT is delivered through ROUTE and The SLS of service #2 described in the SLT is delivered through MMT.)
wherein the network control data includes interactive network identification information for identifying an interactive network ([0112] LCT channel, ROUTE, MMTP), a first descriptor conveying a list of multicasts ([280]-[0283] Fig 15, LMT), ([0283] Fig 15, the LMT may also be transmitted through the same PLP along with the LLS. Each instance of the LMT may describe mappings between PLPs and IP addresses/ports for any IP address/port associated with any multicast referenced in the identified PLP carrying the LLS tables and the LLS may include an SLT. [0112] The SLT includes bootstrap information which may include destination IP address, source IP address, and destination port information of an LCT channel carrying the SLS or a ROUTE session including the LCT channel. When the SLS is delivered through the MMT, the bootstrap information may include destination IP address and destination port information of an MMTP session carrying the SLS.)
and a second descriptor including information related to the header compression, ([0293] Fig 15, LMT, signaling table: The compressed_flag field may indicate whether header compression is applied to the link layer packet.)
wherein the first descriptor includes ([0110][0111] A broadcast stream delivered by a broadcast signal frame of a physical layer may carry low level signaling (LLS). LLS data may be carried through payload of IP packets delivered to a well-known IP address/port. This LLS may include an SLT. [0112] The SLT includes bootstrap information which may include destination IP address, source IP address, and destination port information of an LCT channel carrying the SLS or a ROUTE session including the LCT channel. When the SLS is delivered through the MMT, the bootstrap information may include destination IP address and destination port information of an MMTP session carrying the SLS.)
and wherein the link control data further includes the interactive network identification information and link identification information for identifying a physical link (ie. PLP identified). ([0283] Fig 15, The LMT may be transmitted through the PLP identified to deliver the LLS. Here, the PLP for delivering the LLS may be identified by an L1B_lls_flag field of L1 basic signaling data and an L1D_plp_lls_flag field of L1 detail signaling data of a physical layer.)
Kwon teaches on multicast stream information provided in the control data ([0110][0111]). However, Kwon is silent on a first descriptor that includes a multicast_stream_id as multicast stream identification information for uniquely identifying a multicast stream including the multicast service data.
Collins teaches, in the same field of endeavor, Systems and methods are provided for processing forward control messages., Abstract.
Collins teaches a first descriptor that includes a multicast_stream_id as multicast stream identification information for uniquely identifying a multicast stream including the multicast service data. ([0057] The service offered by the FLO network consists of multicasting data flows provided by the upper layers. The role of the Control layer is to provide the device with the information needed to receive particular flow(s). Fig 7, each flow is addressed by a unique, 20-bit identifier called a FlowID 700. The Flow ID comprises two parts: FlowID_bits_ 4_thru_19 702 and FlowID_bits_0_thru_3 704.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kwon per Collins to include a first descriptor that includes a multicast_stream_id as multicast stream identification information for uniquely identifying a multicast stream including the multicast service data. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a reference/label to the flow, along with the multicast stream information, which allows for easier correlation/analysis of flow parameters.
Regarding Claim 2:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Kwon teaches further comprising: extracting context information from the header-compressed IP stream which is generated by performing the header compression on the IP stream, wherein the second descriptor further includes the extracted context information. ([0332] The RoHC module of the IP header compressor performs header compression by receiving IP packets in one or more multicasts. If IP packets input for header compression are fragmented packets, after the pre-processing module performs IP de-fragmentation and restores IP packets prior to fragmentation, the RoHC module performs header compression. [0337] In case of the adaptation mode 3, context information (that is, static chain information and dynamic chain information from IR packet and dynamic chain information from IR-DYN packet) is extracted from the IR packet and the IR-DYN packet of the RoHC packets. The IR packet and the IR-DYN packet, from which the context information is extracted, are converted to the compressed packets.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 2 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein the header-compressed IP stream includes at least one IR(Initialization and Refresh) packet, at least one IR-DYN(IR-Dynamic) packet, and compressed packets, and wherein the context information is static chain information included in a header of the at least one IR packet. ([0010] Each RoHC stream in the RoHC channel includes RoHC packets, when the RoHC packets include an Initialization and Refresh (IR) packet, an IR-Dynamic (IR-DYN) packet and compressed packets. [0024] The IP header compressor includes: a context management module for classifying an IP stream by parsing a header of an input IP packet, generating a new context when there is no context of the classified IP stream, updating a context by detecting whether the context is updated when there is the context of the classified IP stream. [0336] In case of the adaptation mode 2, context information (that is, static chain information) is extracted from the header of the IR packet of the RoHC packets, and the IR packet from which the context information is extracted is converted to the IR-DYN packet. The converted IR-DYN packet is replaced from the original IR packet and transmitted to the encapsulation module in the same order within the RoHC streams. That is, the RoHC streams output to the encapsulation module include at least IR-DYN packet generated by the header compression, the converted IR-DYN packet, and the compressed packets. See Figs. 7, 10a, 10b, 17)
Regarding Claim 6:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Kwon teaches generating information related to system operation, wherein the information related to system operation includes a plurality of signaling files (ie. signaling tables), ([0017] generating signaling information related to the RoHC stream in accordance with the determined packet type, the context information of the classified IP stream and the adaptation mode. [0019] The signaling table is an RoHC-U Description Table (RDT), and is categorized into a catalog RDT and a discrete RDT in accordance with a delivery type, when the catalog RDT includes a plurality of signaling tables, the plurality of signaling tables are continuously included in a payload of the at least one second link layer packet, and a number of signaling tables included in the payload is signaled to a header of the at least one second link layer packet.)
and is included in at least one IP packet having a fixed (ie. static) IP address and a fixed (ie. static) port number. ([0204] IP version, source IP address, destination IP address, IP fragment flag, source port number, destination port number of information included in an IP header and a UDP header of IP packets are little changed during IP streaming. Fields for transmitting information which is little changed during streaming will be referred to as static fields. [0207] FIG. 8 illustrates one example of static chain information included in the IP header and the UDP header. The static chain information may include an IP version field, a protocol field, a source IP address field, a destination IP address field, a source port number field, and a destination port number field.)
Regarding Claim 7:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 6 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein a header of the at least one IP packet further includes a signaling header, and wherein the signaling header includes information (ie. header includes number of signaling tables) for identifying each of the plurality of signaling files (ie. signaling tables). ([0019] The signaling table is an RoHC-U Description Table (RDT), and is categorized into a catalog RDT and a discrete RDT in accordance with a delivery type, when the catalog RDT includes a plurality of signaling tables, the plurality of signaling tables are continuously included in a payload of the at least one second link layer packet, and a number of signaling tables included in the payload is signaled to a header of the at least one second link layer packet. [0252] The encapsulation module encapsulates packets in the RoHC packet flow into at least one link layer packet, and encapsulates the link layer signaling information into at least one link layer packet and transmits the encapsulated information to the physical layer. [0253] In this case, the RDT may be signaling information including information (or header compression information) related to header compression and/or context information (static chain and/or dynamic chain).)
Regarding Claim 9:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein the first GSE stream and the second GSE stream are transmitted through a different physical link ([0018] different PLPs). (Fig 17, ALP stream #0, #1, #2 are separate links where the encapsulated data is transmitted separately from each ALP Gen. #0 through #k to respective PLP #0 through #k and PLP = Physical Layer Pipes. [0018] A PLP for transmitting the at least one first link layer packet that includes the RoHC channel is different from a PLP for transmitting the signaling table. [0326] The link layer block 1200 generates one or more ALP streams from one or more multicasts input from the upper layer block 1100 and then delivers the generated ALP streams to one or more PLPs of the physical layer block 1300. Each ALP stream includes one or more link layer packets. [0255] Each network layer packet or input packet is modified to payload of a generic link layer packet in the encapsulation module.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 10 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: extract context information from the header-compressed IP stream which is generated by performing the header compression on the IP stream, wherein the second descriptor further includes the extracted context information. ([0332] The RoHC module of the IP header compressor performs header compression by receiving IP packets in one or more multicasts. If IP packets input for header compression are fragmented packets, after the pre-processing module performs IP de-fragmentation and restores IP packets prior to fragmentation, the RoHC module performs header compression. [0337] In case of the adaptation mode 3, context information (that is, static chain information and dynamic chain information from IR packet and dynamic chain information from IR-DYN packet) is extracted from the IR packet and the IR-DYN packet of the RoHC packets. The IR packet and the IR-DYN packet, from which the context information is extracted, are converted to the compressed packets.)
Regarding Claim 12:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein the header-compressed IP stream includes at least one IR(Initialization and Refresh) packet, at least one IR-DYN(IR-Dynamic) packet, and compressed packets, and wherein the context information is static chain information included in a header of the at least one IR packet. ([0010] Each RoHC stream in the RoHC channel includes RoHC packets, when the RoHC packets include an Initialization and Refresh (IR) packet, an IR-Dynamic (IR-DYN) packet and compressed packets. [0024] The IP header compressor includes: a context management module for classifying an IP stream by parsing a header of an input IP packet, generating a new context when there is no context of the classified IP stream, updating a context by detecting whether the context is updated when there is the context of the classified IP stream. [0336] In case of the adaptation mode 2, context information (that is, static chain information) is extracted from the header of the IR packet of the RoHC packets, and the IR packet from which the context information is extracted is converted to the IR-DYN packet. The converted IR-DYN packet is replaced from the original IR packet and transmitted to the encapsulation module in the same order within the RoHC streams. That is, the RoHC streams output to the encapsulation module include at least IR-DYN packet generated by the header compression, the converted IR-DYN packet, and the compressed packets. See Figs. 7, 10a, 10b, 17)
Regarding Claim 14:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 10 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate information related to system operation, wherein the information includes a plurality of signaling files (ie. signaling tables), ([0017] generating signaling information related to the RoHC stream in accordance with the determined packet type, the context information of the classified IP stream and the adaptation mode. [0019] The signaling table is an RoHC-U Description Table (RDT), and is categorized into a catalog RDT and a discrete RDT in accordance with a delivery type, when the catalog RDT includes a plurality of signaling tables, the plurality of signaling tables are continuously included in a payload of the at least one second link layer packet, and a number of signaling tables included in the payload is signaled to a header of the at least one second link layer packet.)
and is included in at least one IP packet having a fixed (ie. static) IP address and a fixed (ie. static) port number. ([0204] IP version, source IP address, destination IP address, IP fragment flag, source port number, destination port number of information included in an IP header and a UDP header of IP packets are little changed during IP streaming. Fields for transmitting information which is little changed during streaming will be referred to as static fields. [0207] FIG. 8 illustrates one example of static chain information included in the IP header and the UDP header. The static chain information may include an IP version field, a protocol field, a source IP address field, a destination IP address field, a source port number field, and a destination port number field.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Kwon (as modified by Collins) teaches the invention of Claim 14 as described.
Kwon teaches wherein a header of the at least one IP packet further includes a signaling header, and wherein the signaling header includes information (ie. header includes number of signaling tables) for identifying each of the plurality of signaling files (ie. signaling tables). ([0019] The signaling table is an RoHC-U Description Table (RDT), and is categorized into a catalog RDT and a discrete RDT in accordance with a delivery type, when the catalog RDT includes a plurality of signaling tables, the plurality of signaling tables are continuously included in a payload of the at least one second link layer packet, and a number of signaling tables included in the payload is signaled to a header of the at least one second link layer packet. [0252] The encapsulation module encapsulates packets in the RoHC packet flow into at least one link layer packet, and encapsulates the link layer signaling information into at least one link layer packet and transmits the encapsulated information to the physical layer. [0253] In this case, the RDT may be signaling information including information (or header compression information) related to header compression and/or context information (static chain and/or dynamic chain).)
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454