DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/580,055 filed 01/17/2024 in which claims 1-19 and 30 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tripathi et al (US 2022/0070811 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tripathi teaches a method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising,
acquiring information on a service time for a serving cell (Tripathi: [0354], UE acquires remaining serving time RST of a current cell);
receiving, from the serving cell, a measurement configuration including a first type of a measurement target and a second type of a measurement target, wherein the first type of a measurement target includes (i) a Terrestrial Network (TN) cell or (ii) a frequency including one or more TN cells, and wherein the second type of a measurement target includes (i) a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) cell or (ii) a frequency including NTN cells only (Tripathi: [0004], [0254] UE configured for RSRP measurement for TN and NTN cells);
performing measurements on the first type of the measurement target (Tripathi: [0215], performing RSRP measurement); and
determining whether to perform measurements on the second type of the measurement target, based on the information on the service time of the serving cell (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is less than a threshold, perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claim 14, Tripathi teaches a wireless device in a wireless communication system comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to:
acquire information on a service time for a serving cell (Tripathi: [0354], UE acquires remaining serving time RST of a current cell);
control the transceiver to receive, from the serving cell, a measurement configuration including a first type of a measurement target and a second type of a measurement target, wherein the first type of a measurement target includes (i) a Terrestrial Network (TN) cell or (ii) a frequency including one or more TN cells, and wherein the second type of a measurement target includes (i) a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) cell or (ii) a frequency including NTN cells only (Tripathi: [0004], [0254] UE configured for RSRP measurement for TN and NTN cells);
perform measurements on the first type of the measurement target (Tripathi: [0215], performing RSRP measurement); and
determine whether to perform measurements on the second type of the measurement target, based on the information on the service time of the serving cell (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is less than a threshold, perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claim 30, Tripathi teaches a base station in a wireless communication system comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to: generate information on a service time for a serving cell; and control the transceiver to provide the information on the service time for the serving cell to one or more wireless devices (Tripathi: [0354], UE acquires remaining serving time RST of a current cell).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Tripathi teaches wherein method further comprises, calculating a remaining service time based on the information on the service time for the serving cell (Tripathi: [0354], UE acquires remaining serving time RST of a current cell).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Tripathi teaches wherein the method further comprises, skipping measurements on the second type of the measurement target, based on a remaining service time of the serving cell being larger than a threshold (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is greater than a threshold, do not perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Tripathi teaches wherein the method further comprises, performing measurements on the second type of the measurement target, based on a remaining service time of the serving cell being smaller than or equal to a threshold (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is less than a threshold, perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Tripathi teaches wherein the threshold is configured by a network as a fixed value (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358]).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Tripathi teaches wherein the serving cell is an NTN cell (Tripathi: Fig. 6; [0354]-[0359]).
Regarding claim 7, Tripathi teaches wherein the serving cell is an earth fixed NTN cell (Tripathi: Fig. 6; [0214]-[0215]; [0354]-[0359]).
Regarding claim 8, Tripathi teaches wherein the measurement configuration includes (i) one or more measurement targets and (ii) one or more indications informing each type of one or more measurement targets (Tripathi: Figs. 16-19; [0004], [0254] UE configured for RSRP, RSRQ/types measurement for TN and NTN cells).
Regarding claim 9, Tripathi teaches wherein the measurement configuration includes information informing whether to perform the measurements on the second type of the measurement target while the remaining service time of the serving cell is larger than a threshold (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is less than a threshold, perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claim 10, Tripathi teaches wherein the method further comprises, acquiring information on a remaining service time of the serving cell from a network (Tripathi: [0354]-[0355]).
Regarding claim 11, Tripathi teaches wherein the method further comprises, skipping measurements on the second type of the measurement target, based on a remaining service time of the serving cell being larger than or equal to a threshold (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is less than a threshold, perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claim 12, Tripathi teaches wherein the method further comprises performing measurements on the second type of the measurement target, based on a remaining service time of the serving cell being smaller than a threshold (Tripathi: [0354]-[0358], when RST is less than a threshold, perform cell reselection/measurement for NTN).
Regarding claim 13, Tripathi teaches wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (Tripathi: Figs. 6 and 16; [0354]-[0355]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478