DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not in the proper format. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification amendment submitted on 01/17/2024 which added the related application has been accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites a machine claim, “An apparatus”, and a list of devices (i.e., at least one processor and at least one memory) in the preamble. The body of the claim recites the action steps: “obtain…; receive…; identify…; and determine…” performed by the apparatus.
For clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim, it is suggested to replace “An apparatus comprising” with “An apparatus comprising:” so that the aforementioned list of devices, comprised by the apparatus, which are performing these actions/steps.
(see MPEP 2106.03, section I; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II).
Claims 16-22 are also objected since they are depended on the objected claim 15 set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the current synchronization source" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites “a sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 15.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the coverage of a network synchronization source" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites “a synchronization source” in lines 7-8. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a synchronization source” in claim 15.
Claim 18 recites “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 15.
Claim 18 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 4. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 15.
Claim 19 recites “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 15.
Claim 19 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 6. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 15.
Claim 20 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in lines 2-3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 15.
Claim 21 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 15.
Claim 22 recites “sidelink shared channel transmissions” in line 1. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “sidelink shared channel transmissions” in claim 15.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the current synchronization source" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites “a sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 23.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the coverage of a network synchronization source" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites “a synchronization source” in lines 7-8. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a synchronization source” in claim 23.
Claim 26 recites “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 23.
Claim 26 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 4. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 23.
Claim 27 recites “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 23.
Claim 27 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 6. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 23.
Claim 28 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in lines 2-3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 23.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the current synchronization source" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites “a sidelink shared channel transmission” in lines 2-3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 29.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the coverage of a network synchronization source" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites “a synchronization source” in lines 7-8. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a synchronization source” in claim 29.
Claim 32 recites “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 29.
Claim 32 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 5. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 29.
Claim 33 recites “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in line 3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “at least one sidelink shared channel transmission” in claim 29.
Claim 33 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in line 7. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 29.
Claim 34 recites “a search for a new synchronization source” in lines 3-4. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a search for a new synchronization source” in claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-18, 20-26, 28-32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CASTAÑEDA GARCIA et al. (US 2023/0319748 A1, hereinafter “CASTAÑEDA GARCIA”).
Regarding claims 15, 23 and 29, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to [see ¶ [0121]: the method 100B is executed by the processor 106 of the UE 102 by using a computer-readable medium carrying computer instructions]:
obtain first sidelink synchronization information from a first terminal device acting as a synchronization source [see ¶ [0090]: The obtained set of SLSS IDs may also include the SLSS IDs of nearby SyncRef UEs; ¶ [0120]: the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal];
receive sidelink shared channel transmissions from another terminal device [see ¶ [0090]: The obtained set of SLSS IDs may also include the SLSS IDs of nearby SyncRef UEs; ¶ [0120]: the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal];
identify the other terminal device as a candidate synchronization source [see ¶ [0106]: The RSRP measurement of the SyncRef UE is already performed in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) for procedures, such as (re)selection of synchronization references; ¶ [0183]: selecting a SyncRef UE as a synchronization source of the UE 102 and determining whether the highest RSRP of all nearby SyncRef UEs is associated with the selected SyncRef UE] based on second sidelink synchronization information included in a sidelink shared channel transmission received from the other terminal device [see ¶ [0090]: The obtained set of SLSS IDs may also include the SLSS IDs of nearby SyncRef UEs; ¶ [0120]: the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal); Note: “sidelink shared channel transmission” is interpreted as any sidelink transmission that shares resources among UEs]; and
determine whether to perform a search for a new synchronization source or to retain the first terminal device as the current synchronization source based on at least one of the first sidelink synchronization information, the second sidelink synchronization information, or measurement of at least one sidelink shared channel transmission received from the other terminal device [see ¶ [0106]: The RSRP measurement of the SyncRef UE is already performed in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) for procedures, such as (re)selection of synchronization references; ¶ [0183]: selecting a SyncRef UE as a synchronization source of the UE 102 and determining whether the highest RSRP of all nearby SyncRef UEs is associated with the selected SyncRef UE].
Regarding claims 16, 24 and 30, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses wherein the second sidelink synchronization information is included in sidelink control information of a sidelink shared channel transmission received from the other terminal device [see ¶ [0090]: The obtained set of SLSS IDs may also include the SLSS IDs of nearby SyncRef UEs; ¶ [0120]: the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal); Note: “sidelink shared channel transmission” is interpreted as any sidelink transmission that shares resources among UEs].
Regarding claims 17, 25 and 31, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses wherein the second sidelink synchronization information comprises at least one of: a sidelink synchronization signal identifier; a coverage indicator indicative of whether the other terminal device is within the coverage of a network synchronization source or a Global Navigation Satellite System synchronization source; or a capability indicator indicative of whether the other terminal acts as a synchronization source [see ¶ [0090]: The obtained set of SLSS IDs may also include the SLSS IDs of nearby SyncRef UEs; ¶ [0120]: the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal); Note: “sidelink shared channel transmission” is interpreted as any sidelink transmission that shares resources among UEs].
Regarding claims 18, 25 and 32, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine a signal strength of at least one sidelink shared channel transmission received from the other terminal device; and perform a search for a new synchronization source if the signal strength is greater than a threshold, and if the other terminal device belongs to a higher synchronization priority group than the first terminal device [see ¶ [0098] In accordance with an embodiment, the processor 106 may be further configured to obtain a priority of the synchronization reference (SyncRef), UE. The processor 106 may be further configured to include the SLSS ID of the synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE in the set of SLSS IDs when the priority of the synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE is higher than or equal to the priority of the UE 102. The processor 106 of the UE 102 may be configured to determine the priority of the SyncRef UE. If the SyncRef UE provides the same timing (that is, the transmission of synchronization signal is performed on certain resources) and same (equal) or higher priority as that of the UE 102, then the set of SLSS IDs of the UE 102 is configured to include the SLSS ID of the SyncRef UE plus 336; ¶ [0106]: The RSRP measurement of the SyncRef UE is already performed in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) for procedures, such as (re)selection of synchronization references; ¶ [0108] In accordance with an embodiment, the processor 106 may be further configured to compare the Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first signal with a threshold value and operate the power control based on the comparison. The RSRP of the SyncRef UE received in the first signal may be compared with the threshold value at the UE 102. If the RSRP of the SyncRef UE is above the threshold value then, the UE 102 is configured to consider this SyncRef UE for determining the power level of the synchronization signal transmission; ¶ [0183]: selecting a SyncRef UE as a synchronization source of the UE 102 and determining whether the highest RSRP of all nearby SyncRef UEs is associated with the selected SyncRef UE].
Regarding claims 20, 28 and 34, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive a trigger from the first terminal device to perform a search for a new synchronization source, the trigger being included in the first sidelink synchronization information [see ¶ [0090]: The obtained set of SLSS IDs may also include the SLSS IDs of nearby SyncRef UEs; ¶ [0120]: the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal; see ¶ [0183]: selecting a SyncRef UE as a synchronization source of the UE 102 and determining whether the highest RSRP of all nearby SyncRef UEs is associated with the selected SyncRef UE].
Regarding claim 21, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: perform a search for a new synchronization source if the priority group of the first terminal device has changed to a lower synchronization priority group [see ¶ [0098] In accordance with an embodiment, the processor 106 may be further configured to obtain a priority of the synchronization reference (SyncRef), UE. The processor 106 may be further configured to include the SLSS ID of the synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE in the set of SLSS IDs when the priority of the synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE is higher than or equal to the priority of the UE 102. The processor 106 of the UE 102 may be configured to determine the priority of the SyncRef UE. If the SyncRef UE provides the same timing (that is, the transmission of synchronization signal is performed on certain resources) and same (equal) or higher priority as that of the UE 102, then the set of SLSS IDs of the UE 102 is configured to include the SLSS ID of the SyncRef UE plus 336; ¶ [0120]: In a case, the first synchronization source 108 may be a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE which may have same timing and same or higher priority as the UE 102. In such a case, the received first signal may include a SLSS ID and/or a resource (e.g. time or frequency) on which the SyncRef UE is transmitting the synchronization signal; see ¶ [0183]: selecting a SyncRef UE as a synchronization source of the UE 102 and determining whether the highest RSRP of all nearby SyncRef UEs is associated with the selected SyncRef UE].
Regarding claim 22, CASTAÑEDA GARCIA discloses wherein sidelink shared channel transmissions are transmissions through at least one of a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel and a Physical Sidelink Control Channel [see ¶ [0195] physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ko et al. (US 2023/0171719 A1), see Fig. 11, para. 7-10, discloses a method for a first device and a second device to perform sidelink communication based on synchronization information received from a synchronization source.
Hwang et al. (US 11,477,765 B2), see Fig. 13-14, col. 19 to col. 22, discloses performing synchronization with a synchronization source; determining a sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication; transmitting modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information to a second apparatus through sidelink control information (SCI) on physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmitted on the sidelink resource pool; and transmitting physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) related to the PSCCH to the second apparatus, wherein an MCS table related to the MCS information is configured for the first apparatus per resource pool, and wherein based on the first apparatus does not receive user equipment (UE) capability information of the second apparatus from the second apparatus, a candidate of the MCS table does not include an MCS table based on a 256 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM).
Khoryaev et al. (US 2021/0377893 A1), see Fig. 4, para. 48-52, discloses in response to losing a sidelink synchronization reference, sidelink synchronization tracking or performing an initial sidelink synchronization, data-aided sidelink synchronization can be performed by deriving or maintaining a sidelink synchronization from a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission of another network device, UE or vehicle to everything (V2X) based on data of another reference signal that is with the PSCCH or the PSSCH transmission.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469