DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 01/24/2024 (wherein claims 1-38 are canceled, and claims 39-58 are added) is received prior to the examination of the instant application and has not introduced any new matter, thus, has been entered and is examined on the merits.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The title recites, “Network configuration method and apparatus”. The title of invention is “technically inaccurate and non-descriptive”. [See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606]. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Network configuration method and apparatus for sending a probe response frame at a first power” or equivalent thereof.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-46 and 51-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0229930 A1 to Akay et al. (hereafter refers as Akay) in view of US 2015/0223047 A1 to Abraham et al. (hereafter refers as Abraham).
Regarding claim 39, Akay teaches a method (a method for establishing wireless connection, abstract and paragraphs [11, 36]), wherein the method is applied to a system comprising an electronic device and a wireless access device (applied to a system comprising a second WLAN device and an first WLAN device, Fig. 1-5 and paragraph [36], wherein the first WLAN device 102 is an access point, paragraph [14] and the second WLAN device 112 is an client station, paragraph [14]), and the method comprises:
sending, by the electronic device, a probe request frame (the second WLAN device/client station sends a request frame/RF signal(s), paragraphs [20, 30, 31, 45] and Fig. 2, steps 201, Fig. 4, step 402);
receiving, by the wireless access device, the probe request frame sent by the electronic device (the first WLAN device/access point receives, the request frame sent by the second WLAN device/client station, paragraphs [20, 30, 31, 45] and Fig. 2, steps 201, Fig. 4, step 402);
sending, by the wireless access device, a response frame to the electronic device at first power (the first WLAN device sends a response frame, including device credentials, to the client station/second WLAN device, at a low transmit power level, paragraphs [28, 30-31, 46-47] and Fig. 3, steps 216-218 and Fig. 5, steps 414-416) by using a first antenna (by using an antenna 110, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]);
establishing, by the electronic device, a wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device after receiving the response frame (the client station/second WLAN device establishes a wireless connection, i.e. WLAN connection, to the AP/access point, after receiving the response frame, i.e. using the device credentials, paragraphs [33, 48-50], and Fig. 3, step 224, Fig. 5, step 418); and
after the electronic device establishes the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, sending, by the wireless access device, a data frame to the electronic device at second power (after the client station/second WLAN device establishes the WLAN connection with the AP, the AP/first WLAN communicates with the second WLAN/client station at a normal/higher power level, i.e. being able to communicate at further distance, paragraphs [32-35, 48-49, 51]) by using a second antenna (by using the same antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]), wherein
the first antenna and the second antenna are a same antenna (by using the same antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]), and the first power is less than the second power (the AP/first WLAN communicates with the second WLAN/client station over the WLAN at a normal/higher power level, i.e. being able to communicate at further distance, after the WLAN is established, paragraphs [32-35, 48-49, 51]).
However, Akay does not explicitly teach the response frame is a “probe” response frame.
Abraham teaches a method, wherein the method is applied to a system comprising an electronic device and a wireless access device (a method is applied to a system comprising a mobile device and an access point, Fig. 1-3 and paragraph [25]), and the method comprises:
sending, by the electronic device, a probe request frame (the mobile device sends a probe request frame, paragraphs [9, 29-30, 38]);
receiving, by the wireless access device, the probe request frame sent by the electronic device (the AP receives the probe request frame sent by the mobile device, paragraphs [9, 10, 29-30, 38]);
sending, by the wireless access device, a probe response frame to the electronic device at first power (the AP sends a probe response frame to the mobile device using a low power protocol, paragraphs [10, 42-43]) by using a first antenna (using an antenna, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [93-95]);
establishing, by the electronic device, a wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device after receiving the probe response frame (the mobile device establishes a wlan connection with the AP after receiving the probe response frame, paragraphs [66-68, 76, 86-87]); and
after the electronic device establishes the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, sending, by the wireless access device, a data frame to the electronic device (after established the wlan connection with the AP, the AP sends a data frame to the mobile device using WLAN protocol, Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [78, 88-89]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of sending, by the wireless access device, the probe response frame to the electronic device at first power and establishing, by the electronic device, a wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device after receiving the probe response frame as taught by Abraham, with the teachings of sending, by the wireless access device, the response frame to the electronic device at first power as taught by Akay, for a purpose of increase compatibility of the system by using probe messages to establish the wireless local area network connection (see paragraphs [4, 7, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a first coverage area of a first signal that is sent by the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna is less than a second coverage area of a second signal that is sent by the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna (wherein the power level of the signal(s) indicating a range/coverage area of the AP, in which a lower power level has a smaller range/coverage area of the AP, see Akay, paragraphs [27-28, 48-49], see Abraham, paragraphs [5-6]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a distance between the electronic device, the wireless access device is less than a first distance, and the electronic device is at a first location at which the probe response frame and the data frame can be received (when the second WLAN device/client station at an proximate location, i.e. location close to the AP/first WLAN device, the client station/second WLAN device is able to receive the probe response frame and the data frame, see Akay, paragraphs [27-28, 48-49], see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]), or
wherein the distance between the electronic device, the wireless access device is greater than the first distance, and the electronic device is at a second location at which the probe response frame cannot be received by the data frame can be received (when the second WLAN device/client station is not within a threshold detection distance of the first WLAN device/AP, the client station/second WLAN device is able to receive the data frame and not able to receive the probe response frame, see Akay, paragraphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein the distance between the electronic device and the wireless access device is less than the first distance, a location of the electronic device is not moved, and power of the probe response frame received by the electronic device is lower than power of the data frame received by the electronic device (when a distance between the AP/first WLAN device and the client station/second WLAN device is within the threshold detection distance of the first WLAN device/AP, the probe response frame is received at the low power level, which is lower than received power level of the data frame, see Akay, paragraphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 43, Akay teaches a method (a method for establishing wireless connection, abstract and paragraphs [11, 36]), wherein the method is applied to an electronic device (applied to a second WLAN device 112, which is an client station, paragraph [14]), and the method comprises:
sending a probe request frame (the second WLAN device/client station sends a request frame/RF signal(s), paragraphs [20, 30, 31, 45] and Fig. 2, steps 201, Fig. 4, step 402);
receiving a response frame from a wireless access device at first power (the second WLAN device/client station receives a response frame, including device credentials, from a AP/first WLAN device, at a low transmit power level, paragraphs [28, 30-31, 46-47] and Fig. 3, steps 216-218 and Fig. 5, steps 414-416) by using a first antenna (using an antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraph [14]);
establishing a wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device after receiving the response frame (the client station/second WLAN device establishes a wireless connection, i.e. WLAN connection, to the AP/first WLAN device, after receiving the response frame, i.e. using the device credentials, paragraphs [33, 48-50], and Fig. 3, step 224, Fig. 5, step 418); and
after the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, receiving a data frame from the wireless access device at second power (after the client station/second WLAN device establishes the WLAN connection with the AP, the AP/first WLAN device communicates with the second WLAN device/client station at a normal/higher power level, i.e. being able to communicate at further distance, paragraphs [32-35, 48-49, 51]) by using a second antenna (using the same antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraph [14]), wherein
the first antenna and the second antenna are a same antenna (by using the same antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]), and the first power is less than the second power (the AP/first WLAN DEVICE communicates with the second WLAN DEVICE/client station over the WLAN at a normal/higher power level, i.e. being able to communicate at further distance, after the WLAN is established, paragraphs [32-35, 48-49, 51]).
However, Akay does not explicitly teach the response frame is a “probe” response frame.
Abraham teaches a method, wherein the method is applied to an electronic device (a method is applied to a mobile device, Fig. 1-3 and paragraph [25]), and the method comprises:
sending a probe request frame (the mobile device sends a probe request frame, paragraphs [9, 29-30, 38]);
receiving a probe response frame from a wireless access device at first power (the mobile device receives a probe response frame from the AP via a low power protocol, paragraphs [10, 42-43]);
establishing a wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device after receiving the probe response frame (the mobile device establishes a wlan connection with the AP after receiving the probe response frame, paragraphs [66-68, 76, 86-87]); and
after the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, receiving a data frame from the wireless access device (after established the wlan connection with the AP, receives a data frame from the AP using WLAN protocol, Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [78, 88-89]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the probe response frame from a wireless access device at first power as taught by Abraham, with the teachings of receiving the response frame from a wireless access device at first power as taught by Akay, for a purpose of increase compatibility of the system by using probe messages to establish the wireless local area network connection (see paragraphs [4, 7, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a first coverage area of a first signal that is sent by the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna is less than a second coverage area of a second signal that is sent by the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna (wherein the range/coverage area of the low power signal is smaller than the range/coverage area of high/normal power signal, see Akay, paragraphs [27-28, 48-49], see Abraham, paragraphs [5-6]).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a distance between the electronic device, the wireless access device is less than a first distance, and the electronic device is at a first location at which the probe response frame and the data frame can be received (when the second WLAN device/client station at an proximate location, i.e. location close to the AP/first WLAN device, the client station/second WLAN device is able to receive the probe response frame and the data frame, see Akay, paragraphs [27-28, 48-49], see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]), or
wherein the distance between the electronic device, the wireless access device is greater than the first distance, and the electronic device is at a second location at which the probe response frame cannot be received by the data frame can be received (when the second WLAN device/client station is not within a threshold detection distance of the first WLAN device/AP, the client station/second WLAN device is able to receive the data frame and not able to receive the probe response frame, see Akay, paragraphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein the distance between the electronic device and the wireless access device is less than the first distance, a location of the electronic device is not moved, and power of the probe response frame received by the electronic device is lower than power of the data frame received by the electronic device (when a distance between the AP/first WLAN device and the client station/second WLAN device is within the threshold detection distance of the first WLAN device/AP, the probe response frame is received at the low power level, which is lower than received power level of the data frame, see Akay, paragraphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 51, Akay teaches a method (a method for establishing wireless connection, abstract and paragraphs [11, 36]), wherein the method is applied to a wireless access device (applied to an first WLAN device, Fig. 1-5 and paragraph [36], wherein the first WLAN device 102 is an access point, paragraph [14]), and the method comprises:
receiving a probe request frame from an electronic device (the first WLAN/access point receives, the request frame sent by the second WLAN/client station, paragraphs [20, 30, 31, 45] and Fig. 2, steps 201, Fig. 4, step 402);
sending a response frame to the electronic device at first power (the first WLAN device sends a response frame, including device credentials, to the client station/second WLAN device, at a low transmit power level, paragraphs [28, 30-31, 46-47] and Fig. 3, steps 216-218 and Fig. 5, steps 414-416) by using a first antenna (by using an antenna 110, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]);
establishing a wireless local area network connection to the electronic device (establishes a wireless connection, i.e. WLAN connection, with the client station/second WLAN device, by using the device credentials, paragraphs [33, 48-50], and Fig. 3, step 224, Fig. 5, step 418); and
after the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the electronic device,
sending a data frame to the electronic device at second power (after the client station/second WLAN device establishes the WLAN connection with the AP, the AP/first WLAN communicates with the second WLAN/client station at a normal/higher power level, i.e. being able to communicate at further distance, paragraphs [32-35, 48-49, 51]) by using a second antenna (by using the same antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]),
wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are a same antenna (by using the same antenna, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [14, 15, 21, 22]), and the first power is less than the second power (the AP/first WLAN communicates with the second WLAN/client station over the WLAN at a normal/higher power level, i.e. being able to communicate at further distance, after the WLAN is established, paragraphs [32-35, 48-49, 51]).
However, Akay does not explicitly teach the response frame is a “probe” response frame.
Abraham teaches a method, wherein the method is applied to a wireless access device (a method is applied to an access point, Fig. 1-3 and paragraph [25]), and the method comprises:
receiving a probe request frame from an electronic device (the AP receives the probe request frame sent by the mobile device, paragraphs [9, 10, 29-30, 38]);
sending a probe response frame to the electronic device at first power (the AP sends a probe response frame to the mobile device using a low power protocol, paragraphs [10, 42-43]) by using a first antenna (using an antenna, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [93-95]);
establishing a wireless local area network connection to the electronic device (the AP establishes a wlan connection with the mobile device, paragraphs [66-68, 76, 86-87]); and
after the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the electronic device, sending a data frame to the electronic device (after established the wlan connection with the AP, the AP sends a data frame to the mobile device using WLAN protocol, Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [78, 88-89]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of sending, by the wireless access device, the probe response frame to the electronic device at first power and establishing, by the electronic device, a wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device after receiving the probe response frame as taught by Abraham, with the teachings of sending, by the wireless access device, the response frame to the electronic device at first power as taught by Akay, for a purpose of increase compatibility of the system by using probe messages to establish the wireless local area network connection (see paragraphs [4, 7, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a first coverage area of a first signal that is sent by the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna is less than a second coverage area of a second signal that is sent by the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna (wherein the power level of the signal(s) indicating a range/coverage area of the AP, in which a lower power level has a smaller range/coverage area of the AP, see Akay, paragraphs [27-28, 48-49], see Abraham, paragraphs [5-6]).
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a distance between the electronic device, the wireless access device is less than a first distance, and the electronic device is at a first location at which the probe response frame and the data frame can be received (when the second WLAN device/client station at an proximate location, i.e. location close to the AP/first WLAN device, the client station/second WLAN device is able to receive the probe response frame and the data frame, see Akay, paragraphs [27-28, 48-49], see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]), or
wherein the distance between the electronic device, the wireless access device is greater than the first distance, and the electronic device is at a second location at which the probe response frame cannot be received by the data frame can be received (when the second WLAN device/client station is not within a threshold detection distance of the first WLAN device/AP, the client station/second WLAN device is able to receive the data frame and not able to receive the probe response frame, see Akay, paragraphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
graphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein the distance between the electronic device and the wireless access device is less than the first distance, a location of the electronic device is not moved, and power of the probe response frame received by the electronic device is lower than power of the data frame received by the electronic device (when a distance between the AP/first WLAN device and the client station/second WLAN device is within the threshold detection distance of the first WLAN device/AP, the probe response frame is received at the low power level, which is lower than received power level of the data frame, see Akay, paragraphs [25, 27-28, 48-49] and Fig. 2-5, see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
Claims 47, 55 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0229930 A1 to Akay et al. (hereafter refers as Akay) in view of US 2015/0223047 A1 to Abraham et al. (hereafter refers as Abraham) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2019/0306702 A1 to Yoon.
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein the probe request frame comprises a first probe request frame and a second probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame and a second probe response frame;
the sending the probe request frame comprises:
sending the first probe request frame (the second WLAN device/client station sends the request frame/RF signal(s), see Akay, paragraphs [20, 30, 31, 45] and Fig. 2, steps 201, Fig. 4, step 402, see Abraham, paragraphs [9, 29-30, 38]);
the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
receiving the first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power using the first antenna (the second WLAN device/client station receives the response frame, including device credentials, from a AP/first WLAN device, at a low transmit power level, paragraphs [28, 30-31, 46-47] and Fig. 3, steps 216-218 and Fig. 5, steps 414-416, using an antenna, see Akay, Fig. 1 and paragraph [14], see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
However, the combination of Akay and Abraham does not explicitly teach “sending the second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame from the wireless access device; and receiving the second probe response frame from the wireless access device” at the first power using the first antenna.
Yoon teaches a sending the probe request frame comprises:
sending the first probe request frame (sending a probe request, Fig. 3, step s301 and paragraph [45]);
receiving the first probe response frame from the wireless access device (receiving the probe response, Fig. 9, step s303 and paragraph [46]);
the second the probe request frame further comprises:
sending the second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame from the wireless access device (sending a second probe request frame after receiving the probe response 303, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [46, 48]); and
the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device comprises:
receiving the second probe response frame from the wireless access device (receiving a second probe response frame from the AP, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [46, 48]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of sending the second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame from the wireless access device and receiving the second probe response frame from the wireless access device as taught by Yoon, with the teachings of receiving the response frame from a wireless access device at first power as taught by combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the wireless local area network communication by repeating the steps of transmitting the probe request frame and receiving the probe response frame at the first power by using the first antenna, with additional information (see Yoon, paragraphs [47-50]).
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein the probe request frame comprises a first probe request frame and a second probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame and a second probe response frame;
the receiving the probe request frame from the electronic device comprises:
receiving the first probe request frame from the electronic device (the first WLAN device receives from the second WLAN device/client station, the request frame/RF signal(s), see Akay, paragraphs [20, 30, 31, 45] and Fig. 2, steps 201, Fig. 4, step 402, see Abraham, paragraphs [9, 29-30, 38]);
the sending the probe response frame from to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
sending the first probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power using the first antenna (the AP/first WLAN device sends to the second WLAN device/client station, the response frame including device credentials, at a low transmit power level, paragraphs [28, 30-31, 46-47] and Fig. 3, steps 216-218 and Fig. 5, steps 414-416, using an antenna, see Akay, Fig. 1 and paragraph [14], see Abraham, paragraphs [10, 42-43]).
However, the combination of Akay and Abraham does not explicitly teach “receiving the second probe request frame from the electronic device; and sending the second probe response frame to the electronic device” at the first power by using the first antenna.
Yoon teaches receiving the first probe request frame from the electronic device (receiving a probe request, Fig. 3, step s301 and paragraph [45]);
sending a first probe response frame to the electronic device (sending the probe response, Fig. 9, step s303 and paragraph [46]);
receiving a second probe request frame from the electronic device (receiving a second probe request frame after receiving the probe response 303, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [46, 48]); and
sending the second probe response frame to the electronic device (receiving a second probe response frame from the AP, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [46, 48]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the second probe request frame from the electronic device and sending the second probe response frame to the electronic device as taught by Yoon, with the teachings of sending the probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna as taught by combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the wireless local area network communication by repeating the steps of transmitting the probe request frame and receiving the probe response frame at the first power by using the first antenna, with additional information (see Yoon, paragraphs [47-50]).
Regarding claim 57, the combination of Akay and Abraham further does not explicitly teach wherein the probe request frame comprises “a second probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a second probe response frame;
before the receiving the probe request frame from the electronic device, the method further comprises:
receiving a first probe request frame from the electronic device; and
sending a first probe response frame to the electronic device” at the first power by using the first antenna;
the receiving the probe request frame from the electronic device comprises:
“receiving and responding to the second probe request frame from the electronic device”; and
the sending the probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
“sending the second probe response frame to the electronic device” at the first power by using the first antenna.
Yoon teaches a method comprising:
before receiving the probe request frame from an electronic device, the method further comprises:
receiving a first probe request frame from the electronic device (before receiving a second probe request frame from an UE/user device, receiving a first probe request, Fig. 3, step s301 and paragraph [45]); and
sending a first probe response frame to the electronic device (sending the probe response, Fig. 9, step s303 and paragraph [46]);
the receiving the probe request frame from the electronic device comprises:
receiving and responding to the second probe request frame from the electronic device (receiving and response to a second probe request frame, from the UE/user after receiving the probe response 303, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [46, 48]); and
the sending the probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
sending the second probe response frame to the electronic device (sending a second probe response frame from the AP, to the electronic device/UE, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [46, 48]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of before receiving the probe request frame from an electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving a first probe request frame from the electronic device and sending a first probe response frame to the electronic device, receiving and responding to the second probe request frame from the electronic device and sending the second probe response frame to the electronic device as taught by Yoon, with the teachings of receiving the response frame from a wireless access device at first power as taught by combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the wireless local area network communication by repeating the steps of transmitting the probe request frame and receiving the probe response frame at the first power by using the first antenna, with additional information (see Yoon, paragraphs [47-50]).
Claims 48 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0229930 A1 to Akay et al. (hereafter refers as Akay) in view of US 2015/0223047 A1 to Abraham et al. (hereafter refers as Abraham) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2015/0264514 A1 to Qi et al. (hereafter refers as Qi).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Akay and Abraham does not explicitly teach wherein the probe request frame comprises “a first probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame;
the sending the probe request frame comprises:
sending the first probe request frame;
the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
receiving the first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna; and
before the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, the method further comprises:
sending a second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame from the wireless access device; and
receiving a second probe response frame from the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna”.
Qi teaches a probe request frame comprises a first probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame;
the sending the probe request frame comprises:
sending the first probe request frame (sending a probe request frame associated with a probe response at a lower power level, Fig. 4, step 402, Fig. 5, step 542, and paragraphs [33, 40-41]);
the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
receiving the first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna (receives the probe response at a lower power level, Fig. 4, step 402, Fig. 5, step 546, and paragraphs [33, 40-41]); and
before the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, the method further comprises:
sending a second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame from the wireless access device (before establishing a wireless LAN connection with an access point/ASP/DE, sends a second probe request frame to the ASP/DE, Fig. 4, step 404, Fig. 5, step 552, and paragraphs [34, 43]); and
receiving a second probe response frame from the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna (receives a probe response from the ASP/DE, at a higher power level, Fig. 4, step 404, Fig. 5, step 556, and paragraphs [34, 43]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a first probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame; the sending the probe request frame comprises: sending the first probe request frame; the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises: receiving the first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna; and before the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, the method further comprises: sending a second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame from the wireless access device; and receiving a second probe response frame from the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna as taught by Qi, with the teachings of receiving the response frame from a wireless access device at first power as taught by combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the wireless local area network connection by obtaining additional information using the second probe response frame at the second/high power (see Qi, paragraphs [34-35, 43-44]).
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Akay and Abraham does not explicitly teach wherein the probe request frame comprises “a first probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame;
the receiving the probe request frame from the electronic device comprises:
receiving the first probe request frame from the electronic device;
the sending the probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
sending the first probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna; and
before the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the electronic device, the method further comprises:
receiving second probe request frame to the electronic device, and sending a second probe response frame to the electronic device at the second power by using the second antenna”.
Qi teaches a method comprising:
receiving a first probe request frame from an electronic device (receiving a probe request frame associated with a probe response at a lower power level, Fig. 4, step 402, Fig. 5, step 542, and paragraphs [33, 40-41]);
sending a first probe response frame to the electronic device at a first power by using a first antenna (sending a probe response at a lower power level, Fig. 4, step 402, Fig. 5, step 546, and paragraphs [33, 40-41]); and
before the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the electronic device, the method further comprises:
receiving a second probe request frame from the electronic device (before establishing a wireless LAN connection with a user device, receiving a second probe request frame from the user device, Fig. 4, step 404, Fig. 5, step 552, and paragraphs [34, 43]), and
sending a second probe response frame to the electronic device at the second power by using the second antenna (sending a probe response to the user device, at a higher power level, Fig. 4, step 404, Fig. 5, step 556, and paragraphs [34, 43]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a first probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a first probe response frame; the receiving the probe request frame from the electronic device comprises: receiving the first probe request frame from the electronic device; the sending the probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises: sending the first probe response frame to the electronic device at the first power by using the first antenna; and before the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving second probe request frame to the electronic device, and sending a second probe response frame to the electronic device at the second power by using the second antenna as taught by Qi, with the teachings of sending the response frame at the first power as taught by combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the wireless local area network connection by obtaining additional information using the second probe response frame at the second/high power (see Qi, paragraphs [34-35, 43-44]).
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0229930 A1 to Akay et al. (hereafter refers as Akay) in view of US 2015/0223047 A1 to Abraham et al. (hereafter refers as Abraham) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Patent No. 9,819,901 B1 to Zhu et al. (hereafter refers as Zhu).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Akay and Abraham does not explicitly teach wherein the probe request frame comprises “a second probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a second probe response frame;
before the sending the probe request frame, the method further comprises:
sending the first probe request frame;
receiving a first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna;
the sending the probe request frame comprises:
sending the second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame sent by the wireless access device; and
the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
receiving the second probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna”.
Zhu teaches a probe request frame comprises a second probe request frame (a probe request associated with a probe response with a reduced power level, col. 7, lines 10-21, col. 12, lines 5-45, col. 14, lines 35-65, Fig. 6A, steps 614-616, Fig. 6D, steps 652-616), and the probe response frame comprises a second probe response frame (a probe response with the reduced power level, col. 7, lines 10-21, col. 12, lines 5-45, col. 14, lines 35-65, Fig. 6A, steps 614-616, Fig. 6D, steps 652-616);
before the sending the probe request frame, the method further comprises:
sending the first probe request frame (before the sending of the probe request frame associated with the probe response with the reduced power level, sending a probe request frame, col. 7, lines 10-21, col. 11, lines 40-60, col. 14, lines 35-65, Fig. 6A, step 610, Fig. 6D, steps 610-612);
receiving a first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna (receives a first probe response frame from a device 102/AP, Fig. 5A, at a normal/higher power level, col. 7, lines 10-21, col. 12, lines 5-45, col. 14, lines 35-65, Fig. 6A, steps 614-616, Fig. 6D, steps 652-616);
the sending the probe request frame comprises:
sending the second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame sent by the wireless access device (sending the probe request associated with the probe response with a reduced power level, after receiving the probe response at the normal power level, col. 7, lines 10-21, col. 12, lines 5-45, col. 14, lines 35-65, Fig. 6A, steps 614-616, Fig. 6D, steps 652-616); and
the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises:
receiving the second probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna (receives the probe response with the reduced power level from the AP, col. 7, lines 10-21, col. 12, lines 5-45, col. 14, lines 35-65, Fig. 6A, steps 614-616, Fig. 6D, steps 652-616).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the probe request frame comprises a second probe request frame, and the probe response frame comprises a second probe response frame; before the sending the probe request frame, the method further comprises: sending the first probe request frame; receiving a first probe response frame from the wireless access device at the second power by using the second antenna; the sending the probe request frame comprises: sending the second probe request frame to the wireless access device in response to the first probe response frame sent by the wireless access device; and the receiving the probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna comprises: receiving the second probe response frame from the wireless access device at the first power by using the first antenna as taught by with the teachings of Zhu, receiving the response frame from a wireless access device at first power as taught by combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of reducing processing load of the wireless access device by reducing power level of the probe response frame (see Zhu, col. 11, lines 30-40, col. 13, lines 26-36).
Claims 50 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0229930 A1 to Akay et al. (hereafter refers as Akay) in view of US 2015/0223047 A1 to Abraham et al. (hereafter refers as Abraham) as set forth above, and further in view of US 2021/0014732 A1 to Chen et al. (hereafter refers as Chen).
Regarding claims 50 and 58, the combination of Akay and Abraham further teaches wherein a device type of the electronic device is a router (wherein the second WLAN device is an access point, see Akay, paragraph [14]).
However, the combination of Akay and Abraham does not explicitly teach wherein, after the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device, the method further comprises: “synchronizing parameter information with the wireless access device through negotiation, wherein the parameter information comprises one or more of: a frequency band of the wireless access device, a channel type of the wireless access device, or a data transmission rate of the wireless access device”.
Chen teaches a device type of the electronic device is a router (connecting to another/neighbor access point(s), paragraphs [45-46, 61-62], wherein the access point is a router, paragraph [91]), and
wherein, after the establishing the wireless local area network connection to the wireless access device (after another/neighbor access point(s) is connected to an access point in an WLAN network, paragraphs [6, 8, 39, 45]), the method further comprises:
synchronizing parameter information with the wireless access device through negotiation, wherein the parameter information comprises one or more of: a frequency band of the wireless access device, a channel type of the wireless access device, or a data transmission rate of the wireless access device (synchronizing data rate(s) supported by the AP, frequency band/spectrum of the AP, and type of channel, i.e. 5GHz, with the AP, paragraphs [5, 10, 47, 75, 331, 444, 448]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of synchronizing parameter information with the wireless access device through negotiation, wherein the parameter information comprises one or more of: a frequency band of the wireless access device, a channel type of the wireless access device, or a data transmission rate of the wireless access device as taught by with the teachings of Hue, with the teachings of combination of Akay and Abraham, for a purpose of improve service by using multiple access devices while synchronizing parameter information with the wireless access device through negotiation, thus, able to provide improved service to electronic devices (see Chen, paragraphs [5, 34] and abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2001/0024953 A1 discloses an MS sends a probe requests to local access points, receives a probe response from the access points and thereby establishes an WLAN connection with the access point (see paragraphs [31-34]).
US 2016/0353382 A1 discloses transmitting a probe request and receiving a probe response over a low energy protocol (paragraph [111]) and communicating data frame over Wi-Fi channel (Fig. 6).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 December 23, 2025