DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a stabilized organic material”. The limiting effect of the recitation is unclear. Components ii and iii are understood to be stabilizers in the context of the instant application. It is not clear whether the “stabilized organic material” is a material that has been pre-stabilized prior to being included in the claimed composition (e.g. components ii and iii provide further stabilization to an already stabilized material) or whether the stabilization recited in the claim is the stabilization provided by components ii and iii. Appropriate correction and clarification is required. Further claims 2-4 recite the stabilized material includes certain polymers. It is not clear whether the polymers by themselves are sufficient to read upon the claimed “stabilized organic material” or whether the polymers need additional stabilization beyond components ii and iii. Even further, in view of the breadth of “organic material”, it is not clear what would or would not reasonably be understood to be a “stabilized” organic material. For example, it is not clear whether intrinsically stable materials are within the scope of the claim or what is necessarily required for something to be considered stabilized in the broader context. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “the polyvinylchloride”. The recitation lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “the stabilized organic material comprises at least one plasticizer, at least one heat stabilizer, and mixtures thereof”. As recited, it appears that a plasticizer, a heat stabilizer and a mixture of a plasticizer and a heat stabilizer is required. It is not clear whether this is the intended scope or whether a Markush limitation is intended. Further, it is not clear whether the presence of both a plasticizer and a heat stabilizer necessarily reads upon a mixture or whether a third distinct component is required or intended. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
As to claim 9, the claim includes a period after “(A-5)” at line 3. However, this does not appear to be the end of the claim. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
The other claims are rejected as dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braig et al. (WO 2004/031294).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 9, 12, 14 and 15, Braig et al. teach a composition comprising a stabilized organic material (Abstract; pages 1-10), at least one compound as set forth in formula (A) (A1-A16), and at least one UV absorber (page 1, page 10, pages 21-24). The additives i) and ii) are added to a stabilized organic material (e.g. thermoplastic polymers – page 59) to further stabilize the material. (Also see the Examples and claims 1-17).
As to claims 2-4, Braig et al. teach polymers as claimed (page 59).
As to claims 5-7, Braig et al. teach plasticizers and heat stabilizers as claimed (pages 16-27)
As to claim 10, Braig et al. teach the UV absorber as claimed (claims 1-17).
As to claims 11 and 13, teach the materials in ratios as claimed (pages 81-83)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Herbst et al. (US 2008/0194731), Ishima et al. (US 2018/0042217), Mitamura et al. (US 2018/0030243) and Ishima et al. (US 2017/0327475) are understood to disclose applicable mixtures and compositions and should be considered prior to replying to this Office Action.
Additionally, the teachings of WO 2005/047384, WO 03/060001, WO 2018/177846, WO 2011/020760 and WO 2005/103345 as set forth in the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority should be considered prior to replying to this Office Action as they are also understood by the examiner to be applicable.
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742