DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 16, 18, and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 6 recites “…,thenylchlor and xylachlor, or agriculturally acceptable esters thereof, and combinations thereof”. This is grammatically incorrect and should be amended to read “…,thenylchlor, xylachlor, or agriculturally acceptable esters and combinations thereof”.
Claim 16 recites “(1) providing…(b-1) mesotrione solid particles have an average particle size of from…”. This is grammatically incorrect and should be amendment to read “(1) providing…(b-1) mesotrione solid particles having an average particle size of from…”
Claim 19 recites “potatoe”. This is a clear typographical error and should be amended to read “potato” or “potatoes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a chelate of mesotrione and a divalent transition metal ion”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the divalent transition metal is included with the chelate of mesotrione or if the divalent transition metal ion in included in addition to the chelate of mesotrione.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “based on the total amount of the herbicide composition”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear to which value to total amount refers (i.e. moles, volume, weight, etc.). Furthermore, it is unclear how a ratio between two components in a composition can be based on a total amount of the composition.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the total amount of (b) mesotrione on an acid equivalent basis…”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the total amount refers only to mesotrione or the chelate of mesotrione.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the solid particles" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein mesotrione is chelated by a divalent transition metal ion is present in solid form”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the mesotrione, the divalent metal ion, or both should be in solid form.
Regarding claims 13, 14, 15, 19, and 20, the phrases "preferably” and “more preferably” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 2-7, 10, 12, and 16-18 claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, Nelson teaches an herbicide formulation comprising an aqueous phase, an HPPD inhibitor in suspension in the aqueous phase, and an encapsulated chloroacetamide herbicide in suspension in the aqueous phase [0010-0014]. The HPPD inhibitor may be mesotrione [0097] and may be present in its acid or chelate form [0102]. The preferred metal ions for chelation are divalent metal ions [0102]. The chloroacetamide is contained within a discreet barrier of polyurea [0105]. Nelson also teaches that chloroacetamide is water immiscible [0008]. Nelson teaches a chloroacetamide capsule suspension prepared by mixing 2.1 g Toximul 3465 F, 7.8 g Reax 105M, and 332.6 g water [0143]. In a separate vessel 445.5 g chloroacetamide is combined with 26.5 g Rubinate M, and 8.8. g Luprinate T80 [0144]. The latter organic solution is then added to the aqueous solution and an emulsion is formed. The emulsion is heated to 70oC and held for 4 hours to allow for the formation of microcapsules [0145]. Hence, the total weight of the microcapsules is 823.3 g and the weight percentage of chloroacetamide in the microcapsule is 445.5/823.3, or 54.11%.
Regarding claim 2, Nelson teaches an herbicide formulation in which an aqueous solution of choroacetamide capsules are mixed with and aqueous solution of mesotrione millbase [0148]. The instant specification defines a ZC formulation to be a mixed formulation of capsule suspension and suspension concentrate and is a stable aqueous suspension of microcapsules and solid fine particles [0029 instant specification]; the Examiner therefore considers the teachings of Nelson to read on the limitations of the instant claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Nelson teaches a chloroacetamide capsule suspension prepared by mixing 2.1 g Toximul 3465 F, 7.8 g Reax 105M, and 332.6 g water [0143]. In a separate vessel 445.5 g chloroacetamide is combined with 26.5 g Rubinate M, and 8.8. g Luprinate T80 [0144]. The latter organic solution is then added to the aqueous solution and an emulsion is formed. The emulsion is heated to 70oC and held for 4 hours to allow for the formation of microcapsules [0145]. Hence, the total weight of the microcapsules is 823.3 g and the weight percentage of chloroacetamide in the microcapsule is 445.5/823.3, or 54.11%.
Regarding claim 4, Nelson teaches that the chloroacetamide may be selected from acetochlor, alachlor, butachlor, dimethachlor, dimethenamid, metazachlor, metolachlor, S-metolachlor, pethoxamid, pretilachlor, propachlor and thenylchlor [0104].
Regarding claim 5, Nelson teaches that the particles size that can range from about 1 µm to about 100µm in diameter [0107].
Regarding claim 6, Nelson teaches that the final formulation is prepared by 134.4g of S-metolachlor CS with 22.9 g of water and 15.2 g of mesotrione millbase [0148]. The weight percentage of chloroacetamide in the microcapsules is 54.11%, therefore 72.72 g of chloroacetamide is added to the formulation. Hence, the weight percentage of chloroacetamide in the formulation is 72.77g/172.5g, or 42.2%.
Regarding claim 7, Nelson teaches the relevant limitations of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Nelson teaches that mesotrione makes up 298.3g/362.9g, or 82.2 wt. % of the mesotrione millbase [0146]. The final formulation is prepared by 134.4g of S-metolachlor CS with 22.9 g of water and 15.2 g of mesotrione millbase [0148]. Therefore, 12.29g of mesotrione is added to the formulation. Hence, the weight percentage of mesotrione in the formulation is 12.29g/172.5g, or 7.1%. Nelson also teaches that the herbicide formulation may contain 10-600g/l HPPD inhibitor in the aqueous phase [0018]. Nelson also teaches that agricultural pesticide manufactures have identified the need for broad-spectrum, long-lasting pesticidal products. Single active ingredient formulations rarely meet such requirements, and thus combination products, perhaps, containing up to four complementary biologically active ingredients, have been developed [0008].
Regarding claim 9, Nelson teaches that the mesotrione mill base is milled in an attritor mill to a fine particle size [0146].
Regarding claim 10, Nelson teaches that the preferred chelating divalent metal ions include Cu2+ [0102].
Regarding claim 11, Nelson teaches a chloroacetamide capsule suspension prepared by mixing 2.1 g Toximul 3465 F, 7.8 g Reax 105M, and 332.6 g water [0143]. Thus, the chloroacetamide capsule suspension contains 332.6g/823.3g, or 40.4% water. The mesotrione millbase contains 64.6g/362.9g, or 17.8 wt. % water [0146]. The final formulation is prepared by 134.4g of S-metolachlor CS with 22.9 g of water and 15.2 g of mesotrione millbase [0148]. Therefore, the final formulation contains 79.9g/172.5g, or 46.3% water.
Regarding claim 12, Nelson teaches that the final pH of the composition is adjusted to about 4.2 [0149]. Nelson does not disclose the temperature and pressure conditions under which the pH was measured as recited in claim 12. However, the invention as claimed is not structurally distinguishable from the disclosure of Nelson and therefore, the Examiner has a reasonable basis to believe that the properties claimed in the present invention are inherent in the composition taught by the prior art. Since the Patent and Trademark Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing the claimed composition with that of the prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to the Applicants to show an unobvious distinction between the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art; i.e., to prove that the properties are not inherent. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 U.S.P.Q. 430 (CCPA 197) and Ex parte Gray, USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int.). As recited in MPEP §2112.01 (II): “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable.
Regarding claim 17, Nelson teaches that application is generally made by spraying the composition [0135] and that before use, the concentrate formulation is suitably first diluted, preferably with water, by between 2 and 500 times [0128].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Nelson teaches that the herbicide composition may be used on crops including barley, wheat, cotton, oilseed, rape, maize, rice, soybeans, sugar beet, and sugar cane [0136]. The composition can be used to control unwanted plants including grasses [0142].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Nelson does not teach a molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent transition metal ion. However, this deficiency is cured by Reynolds.
Reynolds teaches that for divalent metals, the stoichiometric molar ratio of 2-(2-nitro 4'-methylsulphonylbenzoyl)-1,3-cyclohexanedione to metal ion is 2:1. Amounts in excess of the stoichiometric amount may enhance the chemical stability of mesotrione [0023]. Reynolds also teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020].
Regarding claim 8, Nelson does not teach a weight percentage of mesotrione within the range embraced by the instant claims.
Regarding claim 9, Nelson does not teach a particle size of mesotrione granules present in the composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Reynolds.
Reynolds teaches that the use of a smaller particle size of chelated mesotrione particle can provide herbicidal results that are comparable to that obtained using liquid spray application [0060].
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent metal ion is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal molar ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous stabilization effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Reynolds teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the molar ratio of mesotrione: divalent metal ion, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent metal ion would have a direct effect on the stability of mesotrione and therefore the release rate of mesotrione from the granular composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Regarding the weight percentage of mesotrione as specified in claim 8, MPEP 2144.05 states:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Nelson teaches the herbicide formulation may contain 10-600g/l HPPD inhibitor in the aqueous phase [0018] and that complementary biologically active ingredients can work together to form broad-spectrum, long-lasting pesticidal products [0008]. The Applicants' specification provides no evidence that the selected weight percentage range in claim 8 was not due to routine optimization and/or that the results should be considered unexpected compared to the prior art. Due to the pesticidal action of HPPD along and in cooperation with the other ingredients present in the composition, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine these teachings and alter the weight percentage. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the weight percentage as this could be expected to be advantageous for the desired pesticidal effect rendered in combination with the other ingredients present in the composition.
Regarding claim 9, the particle size of chelated mesotrione is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal particle in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Reynolds teaches that a smaller particle size of chelated mesotrione can provide a higher percentage of weed control [0060]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the particle size of chelated mesotrione, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the particle sizer would have a direct effect on the percentage of weed control rendered by the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-12, 16-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Hopkinson (U.S. Patent No. 8,563,471, issue year: 2013, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Nelson, in view of Reynolds, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Nelson teaches that the herbicide formulation may further comprise one or more additional pesticides or herbicides [0112].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Nelson does not teach the inclusion of an auxin herbicide, an additional HPPD inhibitor herbicide, or carotenoid biosynthesis inhibitor herbicides. However, this deficiency is cured by Hopkinson.
Hopkinson teaches a suspo-emulsion comprising a continuous aqueous phase, a dispersed emulsion phase comprising at least one liquid, water-insoluble active ingredient, and mesotrione (col. 1 line 65-col. 2 line 5). The suspension concentrates and suspo-emulsion formulations may further comprise additional active ingredients that are soluble in the aqueous phase (col. 4 line2 62-64), including 2,4-D (col. 5 line 3) and amitrole (col. 4 line 66).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional herbicides used in suspo-emulsion herbicide formulations comprising mesotrione particles. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-12, 16-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Hemminghaus (U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0163331, publication date: 5/28/2020, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Nelson, in view of Reynolds, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claim 1 above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Nelson does not teach the inclusion of a C1-C4 monocarboxylic acid in the composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Hemminghaus.
Hemminghaus teaches herbicidal microcapsules containing a combination of herbicides [0015], including acetamide herbicides [0024], PS II inhibitors, PPO inhibitors, and HPPD inhibitors [0028]. The compositions can include an additive to control or reduce potential herbicide volatility, such as formic acid, acetic acid, sodium acetate and potassium acetate [0107].
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to include a monocarboxylic acid such as formic acid in the composition taught by Nelson. One would have understood in view of Hemminghaus that a monocarboxylic acid may be added to an herbicide formulation to control or reduce herbicide volatility. It would have been obvious to include such an additive in the composition taught by Nelson. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a monocarboxylic acid in the composition taught by Nelson in order to control or reduce the volatility of the herbicides. The artisan of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because Hemminghaus teaches that a monocarboxylic acid such a formic acid may be an additive in compositions comprising an herbicide microcapsule.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-12, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Hopkinson (U.S. Patent No. 8,563,471, issue year: 2013, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Nelson, in view of Reynolds, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claims 1 and 17 above. Nelson also teaches that the final formulation may be made by mixing S-metolachlor CS with water and then adding the mesotrione millbase under agitation [0148].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
All of the limitation have been rendered obvious as set forth above except the addition of a salt of a divalent transition metal ion. Nelson does not teach the addition of a divalent transition metal ion. However, this deficiency is cured by Hopkinson.
Hopkinson teaches a method of preparation of mesotrione millbase in which water, acetic acid, non-ionic surfactant, and mesotrione are mixed together. Copper hydroxide is added, followed by an antifoaming agent and xanthan gum. The mixture is then mixed and milled to the desired particle size before mixing with S-metolachlor EW and other components of the final herbicidal composition (col. 12, Example 3). Copper hydroxide acts as a stabilizing salt (col. 9 line 59).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include a salt of a divalent transition metal ion in the method of manufacturing taught by Nelson. One would have understood in view of Hopkinson that copper hydroxide may be added when manufacturing a mesotrione millbase. It would have been obvious to include copper hydroxide when manufacturing the mesotrione millbase taught by Nelson. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a copper hydroxide salt in the method of manufacture in order to provide copper as a stabilizing chelate for the mesotrione present in the composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches that mesotrione may be present in its acid or chelate form [0102] and Hopkinson teaches that copper hydroxide may be added during manufacture of a mesotrione millbase (col. 12, Example 3).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-12, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Purdue Extension (Avoid Tank Mixing Errors, available 9/2018).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Nelson, in view of Reynolds, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claims 1 and 17 above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Nelson does not teach that the spray application mixture may be made by pouring the concentrate and any further additives into a water containing vessel under agitation. However, this deficiency is cured by Purdue Extension.
Purdue Extension teaches that when you use water as a tank-mix carrier, the tank should first be filled with 50% of the required water volume. Agitation should start before addition of the first product and continue through the mixing process. The products should then be added to the tank in order (pg. 16, General Mixing Steps-Water as a Carrier). Purdue Extension also teaches that if a tank mixture is not agitated, then products with dispersed active ingredients will settle out over time (pg. 13, Agitate Properly). If there is less than a minimum amount of water present in the tank before adding the first product, this can create a very concentrated mixture that completely saturates the water (pg. 11, Use the Right Water Volume).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to add the herbicide concentrate of Nelson to a water containing vessel under agitation when diluting to form a spray application mixture. One would have understood in view of Purdue Extension that herbicide products should be added to a mix tank with agitation and with a sufficient volume of water already in the mix tank. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to add the concentrate composition to water under agitation in a mix tank in order to avoid over saturating the water and the settling of the dispersed ingredients. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Purdue Extension teaches that these are the typical steps for mixing an herbicide for spray application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-45 of U.S. Patent No. 9,877,478,
claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 9,913,469,
claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,352,
claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,129,381,
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,730,
and claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,550,896;
in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents embrace an herbicidal composition comprising a microencapsulated acetamide herbicide dispersed in an aqueous liquid. The particulate microencapsulated acetamide herbicide comprises a water-immiscible core material comprising acetochlor and a polyurea shell wall. The microcapsules have a mean particle size within the range embrace by the instant claims. The aqueous mixture may contain one or more co-herbicides including auxins such as salts of 2,4-D and dicamba and carotenoid biosynthesis inhibitors or HPPD inhibitors such as mesotrione. The instant specification defines a ZC formulation to be a mixed formulation of capsule suspension and suspension concentrate and is a stable aqueous suspension of microcapsules and solid fine particles [0029 instant specification]; the Examiner therefore considers the claims of the ‘352 patent to read on the limitations of the instant claim 2.
The specification of the ‘478 patent teaches that carotenoid biosynthesis inhibitors include mesotrione and acifluorfen (col. 37 lines 42-45) and that auxin herbicides includes salts of 2,4-D and dicamba (col. 37 lines 6-9). The specification of the ’469 patent teaches that synthetic auxin herbicides include salts of 2,4-D and dicamba (col. 34 lines 63-66) and carotenoid biosynthesis inhibitors include aclonifen, amitrole, beflubutamid, and clomazone (col. 35 lines 37-42). The specification of the ‘381 patent teaches that HPPD inhibitors include mesotrione and acifluorfen (col. 15 lines 29-36). The specification of the ‘730 patent teaches that HPPD inhibitors include mesotrione and acifluorfen (col. 15 lines 43-50). The Examiner has relied upon the specification to delineate the scope of the invention embraced by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘381, and ‘730 patents, consistent with the decision in Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 95 USPQ2d 1797.
The claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents do not embrace a chelate of mesotrione, a specific water content, a pH value of the concentrate composition, or a weight percentage of auxin herbicide or acetochlor present in the composition, a spray application mixture, or a method for controlling undesired vegetation. The claims of the ‘478 patent also do not embrace a method of making or using the herbicide composition. However, these deficiencies are cured by Nelson and Reynolds.
Nelson teaches an herbicide formulation comprising an aqueous phase, an HPPD inhibitor in suspension in the aqueous phase, and an encapsulated chloroacetamide herbicide in suspension in the aqueous phase [0010-0014]. The HPPD inhibitor may be mesotrione [0097] and may be present in its acid or chelate form [0102]. The preferred metal ions for chelation are divalent metal ions including Cu2+ [0102]. Nelson teaches an herbicide formulation in which an aqueous solution of choroacetamide capsules are mixed with and aqueous solution of mesotrione millbase [0148]. Nelson also teaches that the pH of the herbicide composition is from about 3 to about 7 and that and that preferred pH adjusters phosphoric acid or toluene sulfonic acid provide extremely good stability of the HPPD inhibitor in the formulation [0114]. Reynolds teaches that for divalent metals, the stoichiometric molar ratio of 2-(2-nitro 4'-methylsulphonylbenzoyl)-1,3-cyclohexanedione to metal ion is 2:1. Amounts in excess of the stoichiometric amount may enhance the chemical stability of mesotrione [0023]. Nelson teaches that application is generally made by spraying the composition [0135] and that before use, the concentrate formulation is suitably first diluted, preferably with water, by between 2 and 500 times [0128]. The composition may be used on crops including barley, wheat, cotton, oilseed, rape, maize, rice, soybeans, sugar beet, and sugar cane [0136]. The composition can be used to control unwanted plants including grasses [0142]. Reynolds also teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. Reynolds teaches that the use of a smaller particle size of chelated mesotrione particle can provide herbicidal results that are comparable to that obtained using liquid spray application [0060].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include a chelated mesotrione in the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents. One would have understood in view of Reynolds that for divalent metals, the stoichiometric molar ratio of 2-(2-nitro 4'-methylsulphonylbenzoyl)-1,3-cyclohexanedione to metal ion is 2:1. Amounts in excess of the stoichiometric amount may enhance the chemical stability of mesotrione [0023]. Reynolds also teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. It would have been obvious to include a chelate of mesotrione in the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a chelate of mesotrione in order to enhance the chemical stability of the mesotrione present in the composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches a nearly identical herbicide formulation comprising chelated mesotrione.
The molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent metal ion is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal molar ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous stabilization effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Reynolds teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the molar ratio of mesotrione: divalent metal ion, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent metal ion would have a direct effect on the stability of mesotrione and therefore the release rate of mesotrione from the granular composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The weight percentages of mesotrione, auxin, and acetamide herbicide present in the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal weight percentage in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Nelson teaches that herbicidal formulations containing up to four complementary biologically active ingredients may satisfy the need for broad-spectrum, long-lasting pesticidal products [0008]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the amounts of herbicides present in the formulation, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of mesotrione and auxin herbicide present in the composition would have a direct effect on the broad-spectrum activity of the herbicide composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The particle size of chelated mesotrione is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal particle in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Reynolds teaches that a smaller particle size of chelated mesotrione can provide a higher percentage of weed control [0060]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the particle size of chelated mesotrione, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the particle sizer would have a direct effect on the percentage of weed control rendered by the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The weight percentage of water present in the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal particle in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the claims of the ‘478 patent teach that the aqueous mixture may be in the form of a diluted spray application mixture. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the weight percentage of water, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that weight percentage of water would have a direct effect on the herbicidal strength of the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The pH of the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal pH in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous stabilization effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, teaches that the pH of the herbicide composition is from about 3 to about 7 and that and that preferred pH adjusters phosphoric acid or toluene sulfonic acid provide extremely good stability of the HPPD inhibitor in the formulation [0114]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the pH of the composition, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the pH would have a direct effect on the HPPD inhibitor and therefore be an optimizable variable.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include the herbicidal composition embraced by the claims of the ‘352 patent in a spray application. One would have understood in view of Nelson that application of a nearly identical composition is generally made by spraying the composition [0135] and that before use, the concentrate formulation is suitably first diluted, preferably with water, by between 2 and 500 times [0128]. It would have been obvious to use the herbicidal composition embraced by the claims of the ‘352 patent in a spray application. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to utilize the herbicidal composition embraced by the claims of the ‘352 patent in a spray application in order to facilitate application to crops. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches that a nearly identical composition may be used in a spray application obtained by diluting the concentrated composition with water.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to use the herbicidal composition embraced by the claims of the ‘352 patent in a method of controlled undesired vegetation. One would have understood in view of Nelson that application of a nearly identical composition is generally made by spraying the composition [0135] and that that the herbicide composition may be used on crops including barley, wheat, cotton, oilseed, rape, maize, rice, soybeans, sugar beet, and sugar cane [0136]. The composition can be used to control unwanted plants including grasses [0142]. It would have been obvious to use the herbicidal composition embraced by the claims of the ‘352 patent in a method of controlling undesired vegetation in a field of a crop plant. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to utilize the herbicidal composition embraced by the claims of the ‘352 patent in such a method in order to utilize the herbicidal properties of the composition on undesired vegetation present in a field of a crop plant. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches that a nearly identical composition may be used in a spray application on crops to control unwanted plants.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-45 of U.S. Patent No. 9,877,478,
claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 9,913,469,
claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,352,
claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,129,381,
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,730,
and claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,550,896;
in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Hemminghaus (U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0163331, publication date: 5/28/2020, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents do not teach a C1-C4 monocarboxylic acid present in the composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Hemminghaus. Hemminghaus teaches herbicidal microcapsules containing a combination of herbicides [0015], including acetamide herbicides [0024], PS II inhibitors, PPO inhibitors, and HPPD inhibitors [0028]. The compositions can include an additive to control or reduce potential herbicide volatility, such as formic acid, acetic acid, sodium acetate and potassium acetate [0107].
It would have been prima facie obvious to include a monocarboxylic acid such as formic acid in the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents. One would have understood in view of Hemminghaus that a monocarboxylic acid may be added to an herbicide formulation to control or reduce herbicide volatility. It would have been obvious to include such an additive in the composition taught by the claims of the ‘352 patent. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a monocarboxylic acid in the composition taught by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents in order to control or reduce the volatility of the herbicides. The artisan of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because Hemminghaus teaches that a monocarboxylic acid such a formic acid may be an additive in compositions comprising an herbicide microcapsule.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-45 of U.S. Patent No. 9,877,478,
claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 9,913,469,
claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,352,
claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,129,381,
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,730,
and claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,550,896;
in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Hopkinson (U.S. Patent No. 8,563,471, issue year: 2013, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents do not teach a method of manufacturing an herbicide concentrate composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Nelson and Hopkinson. Nelson also teaches that the final formulation may be made by mixing S-metolachlor CS with water and then adding the mesotrione millbase under agitation [0148]. Hopkinson teaches a method of preparation of mesotrione millbase in which water, acetic acid, non-ionic surfactant, and mesotrione are mixed together. Copper hydroxide is added, followed by an antifoaming agent and xanthan gum. The mixture is then mixed and milled to the desired particle size before mixing with S-metolachlor EW and other components of the final herbicidal composition (col. 12, Example 3). Copper hydroxide acts as a stabilizing salt (col. 9 line 59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to manufacture the herbicide composition embraced by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents via the method taught by Nelson. One would have understood in view of Nelson that an herbicide composition comprising a microencapsulated acetamide herbicide, mesotrione, and water, may be prepared by mixing the components together and in view of Hopkinson that copper hydroxide may be added to mesotrione to manufacture a mesotrione chelate before adding to S-metolachlor EW in an herbicide composition. It would have been obvious to mix the components to form an herbicide composition. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to manufacture the herbicide composition via the method embraced by Nelson, in view of Hopkinson, in order to form the concentrate composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because the composition taught by Nelson is nearly identical to the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include a salt of a divalent transition metal ion in the method of manufacturing taught by Nelson. One would have understood in view of Hopkinson that copper hydroxide may be added when manufacturing a mesotrione millbase. It would have been obvious to include copper hydroxide when manufacturing the mesotrione millbase taught by Nelson. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a copper hydroxide salt in the method of manufacture in order to provide copper as a stabilizing chelate for the mesotrione present in the composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches that mesotrione may be present in its acid or chelate form [0102] and Hopkinson teaches that copper hydroxide may be added during manufacture of a mesotrione millbase (col. 12, Example 3).
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-45 of U.S. Patent No. 9,877,478,
claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 9,913,469,
claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,352,
claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,129,381,
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,730,
and claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,550,896;
in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Purdue Extension (Avoid Tank Mixing Errors, available 9/2018).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents do not teach that the spray application mixture may be made by pouring the concentrate and any further additives into a water containing vessel under agitation. However, this deficiency is cured by Purdue Extension. Purdue Extension teaches that when you use water as a tank-mix carrier, the tank should first be filled with 50% of the required water volume. Agitation should start before addition of the first product and continue through the mixing process. The products should then be added to the tank in order (pg. 16, General Mixing Steps-Water as a Carrier). Purdue Extension also teaches that if a tank mixture is not agitated, then products with dispersed active ingredients will settle out over time (pg. 13, Agitate Properly). If there is less than a minimum amount of water present in the tank before adding the first product, this can create a very concentrated mixture that completely saturates the water (pg. 11, Use the Right Water Volume).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to add the herbicide concentrate of the claims of the ‘478, ‘469, ‘352, ‘381, ‘730, and ‘896 patents to a water containing vessel under agitation when diluting to form a spray application mixture. One would have understood in view of Purdue Extension that herbicide products should be added to a mix tank with agitation and with a sufficient volume of water already in the mix tank. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to add the concentrate composition to water under agitation in a mix tank in order to avoid over saturating the water and the settling of the dispersed ingredients. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Purdue Extension teaches that these are the typical steps for mixing an herbicide for spray application.
Claims 1-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,419,331 in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘331 patent embrace a stable herbicidal concentrate composition comprising microcapsules dispersed in an aqueous liquid medium. The microcapsules comprise a chloroacetanilide herbicide and a polyurea shell wall encapsulating the chloroacetanilide herbicide. The chloroacetanilide herbicide is present in a concentration of 42-60 wt.%. The chloroacetanilide herbicide may comprise acetochlor. The composition also comprises at least one co-herbicide including salts of 2,4-D and dicamba, HPPD inhibitors, and carotenoid biosynthesis inhibitors such as mesotrione. The microcapsules have a mean particle size from 4 to about 15µm. The composition may include a monocarboxylic acid such as formic acid or acetic acid. The claims of the ‘331 patent also embrace a method for controlling weeds in a field of a crop plant, the method comprising applying to the field an application mixture comprising the aqueous herbicidal composition or a dilution thereof. The instant specification defines a ZC formulation to be a mixed formulation of capsule suspension and suspension concentrate and is a stable aqueous suspension of microcapsules and solid fine particles [0029 instant specification]; the Examiner therefore considers the claims of the ‘331 patent to read on the limitations of the instant claim 2.
The claims of the ‘331 patent do not embrace a chelate of mesotrione, a specific water content, a pH value of the concentrate composition, or a weight percentage of auxin herbicide present in the composition. The claims of the ‘331 patent also do not embrace a method of making the spray application mixture. However, these deficiencies are cured by Nelson and Reynolds.
Nelson teaches an herbicide formulation comprising an aqueous phase, an HPPD inhibitor in suspension in the aqueous phase, and an encapsulated chloroacetamide herbicide in suspension in the aqueous phase [0010-0014]. The HPPD inhibitor may be mesotrione [0097] and may be present in its acid or chelate form [0102]. The preferred metal ions for chelation are divalent metal ions including Cu2+ [0102]. Nelson teaches an herbicide formulation in which an aqueous solution of choroacetamide capsules are mixed with and aqueous solution of mesotrione millbase [0148]. Nelson also teaches that the pH of the herbicide composition is from about 3 to about 7 and that and that preferred pH adjusters phosphoric acid or toluene sulfonic acid provide extremely good stability of the HPPD inhibitor in the formulation [0114]. Reynolds teaches that for divalent metals, the stoichiometric molar ratio of 2-(2-nitro 4'-methylsulphonylbenzoyl)-1,3-cyclohexanedione to metal ion is 2:1. Amounts in excess of the stoichiometric amount may enhance the chemical stability of mesotrione [0023]. Reynolds also teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. Reynolds teaches that the use of a smaller particle size of chelated mesotrione particle can provide herbicidal results that are comparable to that obtained using liquid spray application [0060].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include a chelated mesotrione in the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘331 patent. One would have understood in view of Reynolds that for divalent metals, the stoichiometric molar ratio of 2-(2-nitro 4'-methylsulphonylbenzoyl)-1,3-cyclohexanedione to metal ion is 2:1. Amounts in excess of the stoichiometric amount may enhance the chemical stability of mesotrione [0023]. Reynolds also teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. It would have been obvious to include a chelate of mesotrione in the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘331 patent. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a chelate of mesotrione in order to enhance the chemical stability of the mesotrione present in the composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches a nearly identical herbicide formulation comprising chelated mesotrione.
The molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent metal ion is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal molar ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous stabilization effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Reynolds teaches that the strength of the metal chelate complex is directly related to the release rate of mesotrione from the metal chelate complex, which is in turn related to the stability of the metal chelate within granular pesticidal compositions [0020]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the molar ratio of mesotrione: divalent metal ion, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the molar ratio of mesotrione to divalent metal ion would have a direct effect on the stability of mesotrione and therefore the release rate of mesotrione from the granular composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The weight percentages of mesotrione and auxin herbicide present in the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal weight percentage in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Nelson teaches that herbicidal formulations containing up to four complementary biologically active ingredients may satisfy the need for broad-spectrum, long-lasting pesticidal products [0008]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the amounts of herbicides present in the formulation, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of mesotrione and auxin herbicide present in the composition would have a direct effect on the broad-spectrum activity of the herbicide composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The particle size of chelated mesotrione is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal particle in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Reynolds teaches that a smaller particle size of chelated mesotrione can provide a higher percentage of weed control [0060]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the particle size of chelated mesotrione, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the particle sizer would have a direct effect on the percentage of weed control rendered by the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The weight percentage of water present in the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal particle in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous herbicidal effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the claims of the ‘331 patent teach that the aqueous mixture may be in the form of a diluted spray application mixture. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the weight percentage of water, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that weight percentage of water would have a direct effect on the herbicidal strength of the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
The pH of the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal pH in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous stabilization effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, teaches that the pH of the herbicide composition is from about 3 to about 7 and that and that preferred pH adjusters phosphoric acid or toluene sulfonic acid provide extremely good stability of the HPPD inhibitor in the formulation [0114]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the pH of the composition, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the pH would have a direct effect on the HPPD inhibitor and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,419,331, in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-15, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Hopkinson (U.S. Patent No. 8,563,471, issue year: 2013, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘331 patent embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘331 patent do not teach a method of manufacturing an herbicide concentrate composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Nelson and Hopkinson. Nelson also teaches that the final formulation may be made by mixing S-metolachlor CS with water and then adding the mesotrione millbase under agitation [0148]. Hopkinson teaches a method of preparation of mesotrione millbase in which water, acetic acid, non-ionic surfactant, and mesotrione are mixed together. Copper hydroxide is added, followed by an antifoaming agent and xanthan gum. The mixture is then mixed and milled to the desired particle size before mixing with S-metolachlor EW and other components of the final herbicidal composition (col. 12, Example 3). Copper hydroxide acts as a stabilizing salt (col. 9 line 59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to manufacture the herbicide composition embraced by the claims of the ‘331 patent via the method taught by Nelson. One would have understood in view of Nelson that an herbicide composition comprising a microencapsulated acetamide herbicide, mesotrione, and water, may be prepared by mixing the components together and in view of Hopkinson that copper hydroxide may be added to mesotrione to manufacture a mesotrione chelate before adding to S-metolachlor EW in an herbicide composition. It would have been obvious to mix the components to form an herbicide composition. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to manufacture the herbicide composition via the method embraced by Nelson, in view of Hopkinson, in order to form the concentrate composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because the composition taught by Nelson is nearly identical to the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘331 patent.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include a salt of a divalent transition metal ion in the method of manufacturing taught by Nelson. One would have understood in view of Hopkinson that copper hydroxide may be added when manufacturing a mesotrione millbase. It would have been obvious to include copper hydroxide when manufacturing the mesotrione millbase taught by Nelson. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a copper hydroxide salt in the method of manufacture in order to provide copper as a stabilizing chelate for the mesotrione present in the composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Nelson teaches that mesotrione may be present in its acid or chelate form [0102] and Hopkinson teaches that copper hydroxide may be added during manufacture of a mesotrione millbase (col. 12, Example 3).
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,419,331, in view of Nelson (U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0213450, publication year: 2014, cited in the IDS filed 1/17/2024) and Reynolds (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0207929, publication year: 2007), as applied to claims 1-15, 17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Purdue Extension (Avoid Tank Mixing Errors, available 9/2018).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the pending claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘331 patent embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘331 patent do not teach that the spray application mixture may be made by pouring the concentrate and any further additives into a water containing vessel under agitation. However, this deficiency is cured by Purdue Extension. Purdue Extension teaches that when you use water as a tank-mix carrier, the tank should first be filled with 50% of the required water volume. Agitation should start before addition of the first product and continue through the mixing process. The products should then be added to the tank in order (pg. 16, General Mixing Steps-Water as a Carrier). Purdue Extension also teaches that if a tank mixture is not agitated, then products with dispersed active ingredients will settle out over time (pg. 13, Agitate Properly). If there is less than a minimum amount of water present in the tank before adding the first product, this can create a very concentrated mixture that completely saturates the water (pg. 11, Use the Right Water Volume).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to add the herbicide concentrate of the claims of the ‘331 patent to a water containing vessel under agitation when diluting to form a spray application mixture. One would have understood in view of Purdue Extension that herbicide products should be added to a mix tank with agitation and with a sufficient volume of water already in the mix tank. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to add the concentrate composition to water under agitation in a mix tank in order to avoid over saturating the water and the settling of the dispersed ingredients. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Purdue Extension teaches that these are the typical steps for mixing an herbicide for spray application.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614