DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not describe “the selected photon energy is tunable by controlling, at least, by changing an azimuthal collection angle of the extracted portion of the X-ray emission about an axis parallel to the beam of free electrons, and/or by rotating the crystalline material azimuthally about the axis parallel”. Figures 30A-C only describes Coulomb field of an electron scatters, energy and momentum and theoretical prediction of the x-ray output.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminer et al. (US 20230369004) in view of Maalej et al. (US 20200069271).
Regarding claim 1, Kaminer teaches a method of generating X-ray emission, comprising the steps of:
generating a beam of free electrons 110 using an electron source;
directing the beam of free electrons onto a crystalline material 100 having a periodic material structure;
generating X-ray emission 120 as a result of the interaction between the free electrons and the crystalline material; and
extracting a portion of the X-ray emission for providing an X-ray beam having a selected photon energy (certain spectral content at certain spatial distribution, para 44-45);
wherein the selected photon energy is tunable by controlling, at least, a tilt angle of the crystalline material relative to the beam of free electrons (para 46).
However Kaminer fails to teach changing an azimuthal collection angle of the extracted portion of the X-ray emission about an axis parallel to the beam of free electrons, and/or by rotating the crystalline material azimuthally about the axis parallel.
Maalej teaches changing an azimuthal collection angle of the extracted portion of the X-ray emission about an axis parallel to the beam of free electrons, and/or by rotating the crystalline material 102 azimuthally about the axis parallel 104 (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the changing of Kaminer with the rotation as taught by Maalej, since it would prolong the anode life.
Regarding claim 2, Kaminer teaches tuning the selected photon energy by controlling one or more of a group consisting of a collection angle for extracting the X-ray beam relative to the beam of free electrons, the crystalline material and its atomic composition, and an energy of the beam of free electrons (para 46).
Regarding claim 3, Kaminer teaches tuning the selected photon energy by simultaneously controlling at least two of a group consisting of the tilt angle of the crystalline material relative to the beam of free electrons, the collection angle for extracting the X-ray beam relative to the beam of free electrons, the crystalline material and its atomic composition, and the energy of the beam of free electrons (para 49).
Regarding claim 4, Kaminer teaches the tilt angle is controllable in a range from a channelling configuration in which the periodic structure extends substantially parallel to the beam of free electrons and a perpendicular configuration in which the periodic structure extends substantially perpendicular to the beam of free electrons (para 45+).
Regarding claim 5, Kaminer teaches directing the beam of free electrons onto a stack of two or more crystalline materials with different periodic structures and extracting two or more X-rays beams of different energy from respective ones of the two or more crystalline materials (para 47).
Regarding claim 8, Kaminer teaches the selected energy of the extracted X-ray beam or beams is determined based on consideration of quantum recoil in the interaction between the free electrons and the crystalline material or materials (para 79).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminer in view of Safai (US 20120321046) and Maalej et al. (US 20200069271).
Regarding claim 6, Kaminer teaches extracting the X-ray beam comprises disposing one or more windows having respective selected dimensions and collection angle at respective selected distances from the crystalline material such that only the X-ray beams passing through the respective one or more windows are extracted while a remaining portion of the generated X-ray emission is blocked.
Safai teaches extracting the X-ray beam comprises disposing one or more windows 512 having respective selected dimensions and collection angle at respective selected distances from the crystalline material such that only the X-ray beams 500 passing through the respective one or more windows are extracted while a remaining portion of the generated X-ray emission is blocked (figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the x-ray source of Kaminer with the window as taught by Safai, since it would better beam positioning.
Regarding claim 7, Safai teaches controlling the dimensions of the respective one or more windows by changing apertures of the respective one or more windows (figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Kaminer teaches a system for generating X-ray emission, comprising:
an electron source for generating a beam of free electrons;
a crystalline material 100 and having a periodic material structure, whereby X-ray emission is generated as a result of the interaction between the free electrons and the crystalline material; and providing an X-ray beam having a selected photon energy, wherein the selected photon energy is tunable by controlling, at least, a tilt angle of the crystalline material relative to the beam of free electrons.
However Kaminer fails to teach vacuum chamber containing the electron source nor electron optics for directing the beam of free electrons nor one or more windows in a wall structure of the vacuum chamber for extracting a portion of the X- ray emission nor the one or more windows having respective selected dimensions and collection angles at respective selected distances from the crystalline material such that only the X-ray beams passing through the respective one or more windows are extracted while a remaining portion of the generated X-ray emission is blocked.
Safai teaches vacuum chamber 122 containing the electron source, electron optics 128 for directing the beam of free electrons, one or more windows 512 in a wall structure 204 of the vacuum chamber for extracting a portion of the X- ray emission nor the one or more windows having respective selected dimensions and collection angles at respective selected distances from the crystalline material such that only the X-ray beams passing through the respective one or more windows are extracted while a remaining portion of the generated X-ray emission is blocked (figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the x-ray source of Kaminer with the window as taught by Safai, since it would better beam positioning.
Furthermore, Kaminer fails to teach changing an azimuthal collection angle of the extracted portion of the X-ray emission about an axis parallel to the beam of free electrons, and/or by rotating the crystalline material azimuthally about the axis parallel.
Maalej teaches changing an azimuthal collection angle of the extracted portion of the X-ray emission about an axis parallel to the beam of free electrons, and/or by rotating the crystalline material 102 azimuthally about the axis parallel 104 (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the changing of Kaminer with the rotation as taught by Maalej, since it would prolong the anode life.
Regarding claim 12, Kaminer teaches the selected photon energy is further tunable by controlling one or more of a group consisting of a collection angle for extracting the X-ray beam relative to the beam of free electrons, the crystalline material and its atomic composition, and an energy of the beam of free electrons (para 46).
Regarding claim 13, Kaminer teaches the selected photon energy is tunable by simultaneously controlling at least two of a group consisting of the tilt angle of the crystalline material relative to the beam of free electrons, the collection angle for extracting the X-ray beam relative to the beam of free electrons, the crystalline material and its atomic composition, and the energy of the beam of free electrons (para 49).
Regarding claim 14, Kaminer teaches the tilt angle is controllable in a range from a channelling configuration in which the periodic structure extends substantially parallel to the beam of free electrons and a perpendicular configuration in which the period structure extends substantially perpendicular to the beam of free electrons (para 45+).
Regarding claim 15, Kaminer teaches a stack of two or more crystalline materials with different periodic structures and wherein the windows in the wall structure of the vacuum chamber are disposed for extracting two or more X- rays beams of different energy from respective ones of the two or more crystalline materials as a result of the interaction between the free electrons and the two or more crystalline materials (para 47+).
Regarding claim 16, Safai teaches the dimensions of the respective one or more windows are controllable by changing apertures of the respective one or more windows (figure 5).
Regarding claim 17, Kaminer teaches the selected energy of the extracted X-ray beam or beams is determined based on consideration of quantum recoil in the interaction between the free electrons and the crystalline material or materials (para 79).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim9-10 and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the prior art fails to teach the selected energy of the extracted X-ray beam or beams is determined based on:
'
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884