DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
control unit in claims 1-6 and 13-16, interpreted as a processor and memory according to ¶19
time measurement unit (claims 1-6 and 13-16), machining time calculation unit (claims 1-6 and 13-16), consumption amount calculation unit (claims 5, 13, and 15), cost calculation unit (claims 6, 14, and 16) are all interpreted as embodied in the control unit, which is disclosed as a processor and memory according to ¶19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “an interruption request is made again.” The word “again” makes this unclear, as well as how the interruption request related to the previously recited request. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted as and may be corrected to –a second interruption request is made--.
Claim 9 recites “an interruption request is made again.” The word “again” makes this unclear, as well as how the interruption request related to the previously recited request. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted as and may be corrected to –a second interruption request is made--.
The remaining rejected claims are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mathematical calculations without significantly more.
Step 1: claim 1 recites an apparatus and claim 7 recites a method. These are within the four statutory categories, and so analysis proceeds to step 2.
Step 2A, Prong 1: See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.C. The claim(s) recite(s) “calculate, using the first time period and the second time period, a first total time period that has been required for the first machining.” This is mathematical calculation, which is an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2: See MPEP 2106.05(g).This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because: The following limitations amount to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering. That is, the outcome of these limitations in the claim is “to obtain input for an equation.” Put another way, it is not possible to perform the recited mathematical calculation without this data gathering:
a machining control unit configured to: control the wire electric discharge machine to thereby carry out a first machining on a first workpiece; and in a case that an interruption request is made during the first machining, control the wire electric discharge machine to thereby interrupt the first machining, carry out a second machining on a second workpiece that differs from the first workpiece, and resume the first machining after the second machining has been completed;
a time measurement unit configured to measure a first time period that has been required for the first machining from starting of the first machining until interruption of the first machining, and a second time period that has been required for the first machining from resuming of the first machining until ending of the first machining; and .
Step 2B: See MPEP 2106.05.I.A. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because:
There is no improvement to the functioning of a computer.
There is no improvement to the functioning of the wire electric discharge machine.
The wire electric discharge machine has no particular improved arrangement.
No article is transformed to a different state or thing as a result/application of the abstract idea.
The components of the wire electric discharge machine do not have a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement.
The abstract idea is not a basis for any further method step, action, operation, or arrangement of parts.
Claims 1 and 7 correspond substantially and are rejected for the same reasons. Further, as claimed, all calculations in claim 7 and its dependents may be performed mentally or by hand. Thus, the mathematical calculations in these claims are also mental processes, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.B.
The dependent claims recite additional data gathering and additional calculations, and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (JP H11212617 A).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses:
A control device configured to control a wire electric discharge machine (¶2), the control device comprising:
a machining control unit (control device 100, ¶26) configured to: control the wire electric discharge machine (¶2 “wire-cut electrical discharge machines”) to thereby carry out a first machining on a first workpiece (A, ¶30); and in a case that an interruption request is made during the first machining, control the wire electric discharge machine to thereby interrupt the first machining (¶44 “the interruption means 10, upon receiving that determination, performs a process to interrupt the machining process for the machining program execution means 2”), carry out a second machining on a second workpiece (B) that differs from the first workpiece (¶46 “The machining program selection means 20 selects a machining program to resume or start from among a plurality of machining programs.”), and resume the first machining after the second machining has been completed (¶48 “execute the machining from the point of interruption of the selected machining program, thereby performing the machining restart process (steps S19, 20).”);
a time measurement unit configured to measure a first time period (Ta1) that has been required for the first machining from starting of the first machining until interruption of the first machining (¶33 “This timer 13 is a timing means that calculates the total machining time of a workpiece being machined by a machining program by accumulating the machining time of the currently running machining program.” ¶34), and a second time period (Ta2) that has been required for the first machining from resuming of the first machining until ending of the first machining (¶45 “reads the measured machining time and adds it to the already stored accumulated machining time”); and
a machining time calculation unit configured to calculate, using the first time period and the second time period, a first total time period (Ta1 + Ta2, see Fig 6) that has been required for the first machining (¶45 “reads the measured machining time and adds it to the already stored accumulated machining time).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue discloses:
the time measurement unit measures a second total time period (Tb) that has been required for the second machining from starting of the second machining until ending of the second machining (¶47 “The machining cumulative times Tb1 and Tc1+Tc2”).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue discloses:
in a case that an interruption request is made again after having resumed the first machining (Inoue explicitly shows ABCBCA in Fig 3, ¶20, but does not explicitly show ABAC. However, this scenario may arise from ¶47 “This selection can be made based on selection criteria such as the temperature of each workpiece and the total processing time”), the machining control unit controls the wire electric discharge machine to thereby interrupt the first machining, carry out a third machining on a third workpiece (C) that differs from the first workpiece (A) and the second workpiece (B), and resume the first machining after the third machining has been completed (see A in Fig 3, ¶20);
the time measurement unit measures, as a third time period (Ta2, in the case that A is interrupted again), a time period that has been required for the first machining from a first resuming of the first machining until a second interruption of the first machining, and measures, as the second time period (Ta3, not explicitly disclosed, but implied by the general disclosure and conditions for interruption described by Inoue, and suggest by Tc3 in Fig 6.), a time period that has been required for the first machining from a second resuming of the first machining until the ending of the first machining; and
the machining time calculation unit calculates the first total time period that has been required for the first machining, by using the first time period, the second time period, and the third time period (¶40 “The timer 13 starts timing the processing time at the same time as the processing begins and accumulates the processing time for each workpiece”).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue discloses:
the time measurement unit measures a third total time period (Tc) that has been required for the third machining from starting of the third machining until ending of the third machining (¶40).
Claims 7-10 correspond substantially to claims 1-4 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Inoue (JP H11212617 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Aureli (EP 1202143 A2) and Uchiyama (JP H07178622 A).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue does not disclose:
a consumption amount calculation unit configured to calculate a consumption amount of a consumable consumed by machining, based on the first total time period.
Inoue is described as applicable to a wire-cut electrical discharge machine (¶2). Inoue relates to machining processes that are interrupted because continuing does not meet the constraints of the process; for example, continuing machining might exceed a maximum temperature (¶41). Inoue tracks the accumulated machining time of each workpiece (1) as a possible selection criterion of which workpiece to resume (¶12) and (2) to allow resuming the process appropriately, i.e. where it left off (¶11). Calculations are performed by a processor and memory that can perform calculations and store data (¶26).
Aureli teaches an automated machining tool, specifically a CNC for woodworking, that tracks tool wear, which “is defined as the value of the working tool transferred to the product during machining. To calculate it, one must know the actual machining time of the tool (measured by the CNC unit)” (¶56).
Uchiyama teaches “Conventionally, in order to manage the service life of the components of this wire feed mechanism, the cumulative usage time of the wire-cut electric discharge machine is monitored, and these consumable parts are empirically replaced based on this cumulative usage time” (¶2). The consumable parts include “components such as the brake and brake shoe, the upper electrode pin, the upper guide, the lower electrode pin, and the bearing of the lower guide roller” (¶2).
Thus, Uchiyama teaches that an electro discharge machine has consumable parts the require replacement based on the machining time, and thus have an associated cost, or “value…transferred to the product during machining.”
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device of Inoue to include a consumption amount calculation unit configured to calculate a consumption amount attributed to each part based on the machining time of each part because Uchiyama teaches that an electro discharge machine has consumable parts and Aureli teaches that is desirable to calculate machining cost of individual parts. In this combination, since the first total time period is the time to machine one part, the corresponding consumption amount is attributed to the same part.
Claims 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claims 6, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Inoue (JP H11212617 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Murakawa (US 20170205779).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue does not disclose:
a cost calculation unit configured to calculate a machining cost based on the first total time period.
Inoue is described as applicable to a wire-cut electrical discharge machine (¶2). Inoue relates to machining processes that are interrupted because continuing does not meet the constraints of the process; for example, continuing machining might exceed a maximum temperature (¶41). Inoue tracks the accumulated machining time of each workpiece (1) as a possible selection criterion of which workpiece to resume (¶12) and (2) to allow resuming the process appropriately, i.e. where it left off (¶11). Calculations are performed by a processor and memory that can perform calculations and store data (¶26).
Murakawa teaches, for electro discharge machining, “since the machining time is long, a predicted machining time is information necessary for estimating work cost” (¶4). Thus, Murakawa teaches that machining cost is dependent on machining time. Although Murakawa relates to predicted time and cost before machining takes place, the relationship between time and cost is equally applicable to actual time and cost.
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device of Inoue to include a cost calculation unit configured to calculate a machining cost for each part based on the machining time of each part, as taught by Murakawa, to obtain the benefit of determining machining cost. In this combination, since the first total time period is the time to machine one part, the corresponding cost is the cost to machine the same part.
Claims 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 correspond to claim 6 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inukai (WO 2022038672 A1) teaches “the timing information creating unit 12 calculates the consumption amount indicating the consumption amount of the wire based on the wire feed rate during processing, and calculates the consumable life prediction time 31 of the wire based on the consumption amount.”
Matsuzaki (US 20050033469) teaches “The server 10 adds up the working time periods for the sub-processes for each process, thereby obtaining the working time period for that process.”
Boccadoro (US 20040222195) teaches that boundary conditions related to removal rate and surface finish “determine the machining time and thus the cost of completing a workpiece” (¶2).
Conclusion
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761