DETAILED ACTION
1a. Claims 4-5 and 15 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-3, 6-14 and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 20230171771 A1) in view of Jang (US 20220353698 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Guo discloses a method for managing TCI, CoreSet index in uplink transmission.
Jang discloses a method for cooperative repeat uplink transmission.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Guo discloses:
A method, comprising (Fig 5):
receiving (Fig 5, Steps 510-520) a plurality of joint or uplink (Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580, PUCCH) common transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (Fig 5, Steps 510-520; see: UE receives configuration of one or more TCI states, in [0059]) associated with a plurality of CORESETPoolIndex values (Fig 5. Step 530; see: gNB indicates a first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the gNB indicates a second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, in [0059);
wherein each TCI state (Fig 5, Steps 510-520) of the plurality of joint or uplink (Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580, PUCCH) common TCI states is separately indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET) associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value of the plurality of CORESETPoolIndex values; and (see: when the UE receives a PDCCH, associated with the CORESETPoolIndex with a value of 1, the UE applies a QCL configuration included in the second TCI state, in [0044]; Examiner’s Note: PDCCH is transmitted separately during the configuration steps);
for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource associated with a corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value of the plurality of CORESETPoolIndex values (Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580; see: in each TCI state, the UE can be provided with one or more of the following parameters: PUCCH or the SRS resource, in [0051]),
transmitting the PUCCH resource according to a joint or uplink common TCI state indicated by the PDCCH transmitted in the CORESET associated with the corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value (Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580; see when transmitting PUCCH that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, the UE can apply the spatial filter and pathloss RS included in the first TCI state, …., when transmitting PUCCH associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, the UE can apply the spatial filter and pathloss RS included in the second TCI state, in [0059]; Examiner’s Note: the CORESETPoolIndex values are indicated in PDCCH).
Guo does not elaborate about CORESET.
However, Jang discloses:
wherein each TCI state (see: a tci-StatesPDCCH (hereinafter, TCI state) configuration information … transmitted in the corresponding CORESET, in [0095]) of the plurality of joint or uplink common TCI states is separately indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig 16, PDCCH and PUCCH transmit separately) transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET) (Fig 16; see: the UE may receive configuration information on a search space and a control resource set (CORESET) in which a PDCCH may be transmitted, in [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Guo’s method for managing TCI, CoreSet index in uplink transmission with Jang’s method for cooperative repeat uplink transmission with the motivation being to improv data transfer rates (Jang [0057]).
Regarding Claim 2, Guo discloses:
wherein the corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value (Fig 5. Step 530) is associated with the PUCCH resource (Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580, Examiner’s Note: PUCCH resources are associated with CORESETPoolIndex value, that are also based on TCI states) by a radio resource control (RRC) parameter configured in configuration information of the PUCCH resource (see: the TCI state can be configured in RRC semi-statically, in [0026]; Examiner’s Note, RRC configures TCI state, that is associated with CORESETPoolIndex value and PUCCH)
or is associated with the PUCCH resource ((Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580, PUCCH) by the RRC parameter configured in configuration information (see: the TCI state can be configured in RRC semi-statically, in [0026]; Examiner’s Note, RRC configures TCI state, that is associated with CORESETPoolIndex value and PUCCH) of a PUCCH resource group at least comprising the PUCCH resource (see: the system can use a single MAC CE to indicate one spatial relation information for a group of PUCCH resources, in [0028]).
Regarding Claim 3, Guo discloses:
wherein the PUCCH resource (Fig 5, Steps 560 and 580, PUCCH) and the corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value (see: a PUCCH transmission associated with the CORESETPoolIndex with the value of 1, in [0048]) are associated via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (see: the UE can be indicated with one PUCCH spatial relation information through a MAC CE activation command, in [0028]; Examiner;s Note: CORESETPoolIndex value is associated with PUCCH, and PUCCH is associated with MAC CE), and
the MAC CE indicates an identity of a serving cell (see: the MAC CE comprises at least one of following fields: a serving cell ID, a TCI state ID, in [0050]) for which the MAC CE is applied and an identity of a bandwidth part (BWP) for which the MAC CE is applied (Examiner’s Note: MAC CE comprises TCI state ID, and TCI state comprises BWP-Id, see [0053]:
)
Regarding Claim 6, Guo discloses:
wherein the MAC CE (see: the UE can be indicated with one PUCCH spatial relation information through a MAC CE activation command, in [0028]) indicates the corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value (see: a PUCCH transmission associated with the CORESETPoolIndex with the value of 1, in [0048]; Examiner’s Note: CORESETPoolIndex value is associated with PUCCH, and PUCCH is associated with MAC CE), and an identity (see: one of following information transmitted by the DCI format X1, …., a PUCCH resource indicator, in [0050]; Examiner’s Note: PUCCH resource indicator implies a PUCCH identifier) of a PUCCH resource group at least comprising the PUCCH resource (see: the system can use a single MAC CE to indicate one spatial relation information for a group of PUCCH resources, in [0028]).
Regarding Claim 7, Guo discloses:
wherein the PUCCH resource and the corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value (see: a PUCCH transmission associated with the CORESETPoolIndex with the value of 1, in [0048]) are associated via a predefined association between an identity (see: one of following information transmitted by the DCI format X1, …., a PUCCH resource indicator, in [0050]; Examiner’s Note: PUCCH resource indicator implies a PUCCH identifier) of a PUCCH resource group (see: the system can use a single MAC CE to indicate one spatial relation information for a group of PUCCH resources, in [0028]) at least comprising the PUCCH resource and the corresponding CORESETPoolIndex value (see: a PUCCH transmission associated with the CORESETPoolIndex with the value of 1, in [0048]).
Regarding Claims 8-14, the transmitter claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-3, 6, 6, 3 and 7, and are rejected accordingly. Further, He discloses memory, processor and baseband in Fig 6.
Regarding Claims 16-22, the receiver claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-3, 6, 6, 6 and 7, and are rejected accordingly. Further, He discloses memory, processor and baseband in Fig 6.
Regarding Claim 23, the processor claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly. Further, He discloses memory, processor and baseband in Fig 6.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473