DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/580,108 filed 01/17/2024 in which claims 1-8, 11-20, 23 and 24 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 13-20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 2024/0171962 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a communication method, applied to a first communication node, comprising:
determining execution time information of a certain operation, wherein the certain operation is an operation of disabling a cell search; and executing the certain operation based on the execution time information (Li: Figs. 2-3; [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0048] UE/communication node receives indication not to perform cell search under a given time condition/execution time information).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches a communication method, the method being applied to a second communication node and comprising: determining execution time information of a certain operation, wherein the certain operation is an operation of disabling a cell search; and sending the execution time information to a first communication node (Li: Figs. 2-3; [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0048] UE/first communication node receives indication not to perform cell search under a given time condition/execution time information from a base station/second communication node).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches wherein the certain operation comprises one of deactivating an access stratum (AS); stopping a measurement operation; stopping a cell selection or reselection operation; stopping a public land mobile network (PLMN) selection operation; stopping a radio resource control (RRC) procedure initiation operation; or stopping listening to a paging message (Li: [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches wherein the execution time information comprises at least one of: a start time of the certain operation and an end time of the certain operation, a start time of the certain operation and a duration of the certain operation, or a time interval of the certain operation, wherein a left end point of the time interval and a right end point of the time interval of the certain operation are a start time of the certain operation and an end time of the certain operation respectively (Li: [0041], [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches receiving an RRC message carrying the execution time information or system information carrying the execution time information indicated by a second communication node; or receiving a NAS message carrying the execution time information indicated by a core network (Li: Figs. 2-3; [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0048] UE/communication node receives indication not to perform cell search under a given time condition/execution time information).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches determining a discontinuous-listening cycle parameter, wherein the discontinuous- listening cycle parameter comprises at least one of a discontinuous-listening start time, a discontinuous-listening start time offset value, a discontinuous-listening duration, a length of a discontinuous-listening cycle, or PTW parameters, wherein each PTW parameter of the PTW parameters comprises at least one of: a PTW start time and a PTW duration; or a PTW start time and a PTW end time (Li: Fig. 5; [0042], [0047]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches wherein determining the discontinuous- listening cycle parameter comprises at least one of: negotiating with a core network about the discontinuous-listening cycle parameter, wherein a cycle corresponding to the discontinuous-listening cycle parameter contains at least two PTWs; negotiating with a core network about at least two discontinuous-listening cycle parameters and listening cyclically based on a cycle corresponding to each discontinuous- listening cycle parameter of the at least two discontinuous-listening cycle parameters, wherein each discontinuous-listening cycle contains one PTW; negotiating with a core network about at least two discontinuous-listening cycle parameters and listening cyclically based on a cycle corresponding to each discontinuous- listening cycle parameter of the at least two discontinuous-listening cycle parameters, wherein each discontinuous-listening cycle contains one PTW, and each discontinuous listening cycle corresponds to one time period; or negotiating with a core network about at least two discontinuous-listening cycle parameters and listening cyclically based on a cycle corresponding to each discontinuous- listening cycle parameter of the at least two discontinuous-listening cycle parameters, wherein each discontinuous-listening cycle contains one PTW, and each discontinuous-listening cycle parameter is associated with one area (Li: Fig. 5; [0070]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches configuring a relaxed-measurement cycle or a spaced-detection cycle and configuring a detection time period in each relaxed-measurement cycle or each spaced-detection cycle, wherein the detection time period is a time period in which the first communication node performs the cell search (Li: Fig. 5; [0047]-[0049], [0070]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches switching a current state of the first communication node based on the execution time information of the certain operation (Li: Fig. 6; [0043]-[0046]; [0073]-[0075] switching between PSM mode/inactive and active mode).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches wherein in a case where the first communication node is in an inactive state, switching the current state of the first communication node based on the execution time information of the certain operation comprises at least one of: in a case where a current time is greater than or equal to a difference between a start time of the certain operation and a first preset threshold, switching the inactive state of the first communication node to an idle state of the first communication node; in a case where the first communication node is in a cell selection state or in a case where a duration of the cell search reaches a preset duration, switching the inactive state of the first communication node to an idle state of the first communication node; in a case where a duration in which the first communication node executes the certain operation reaches a second preset threshold, switching the inactive state of the first communication node to an idle state of the first communication node; or instructing the first communication node to switch from the inactive state to an idle state based on configuration information of a second communication node in system information or an RRC message (Li: Fig. 6; [0043]-[0046]; [0073]-[0075] switching between PSM mode/inactive and active mode).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches wherein in a case where the first communication node is in a connected state, switching the current state of the first communication node based on the execution time information of the certain operation comprises at least one of: in a case where a current time is greater than or equal to a start time of the certain operation, executing, by an RRC layer of the first communication node, an operation of exiting the connected state and returning to an idle state; in a case where a current time is greater than or equal to a start time of the certain operation, initiating, by an RRC layer of the first communication node, an RRC release procedure, executing, by the RRC layer of the first communication node, an operation of exiting the connected state, and returning to an idle state; or in a case where a current time is greater than or equal to a start time of the certain operation, executing, by an RRC layer of the first communication node, an operation of exiting the connected state, returning to an idle state, and executing, by the RRC layer of the first communication node, the certain operation (Li: Fig. 6; [0043]-[0046]; [0073]-[0075] switching between PSM mode/inactive and active mode).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches in a case where the first communication node is in an inactive state, further comprising at least one of: at a start time of the certain operation, executing, by an RRC layer of the first communication node, an operation of deactivating an AS; at a start time of the certain operation, instructing, by a NAS of the first communication node, an RRC layer of the first communication node to execute an operation of deactivating an AS; or at a start time of the certain operation, executing, by an RRC layer of the first communication node, a reply operation of a NAS failure (Li: Fig. 6; [0043]-[0046]; [0073]-[0075] switching between PSM mode/inactive and active mode).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches a communication device (Li: Figs. 1-3, UE), comprising a communication module, a memory, and at least one processor, wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication interaction between a first communication node, a second communication node, and a core network; the memory is configured to store at least one program; and the at least one processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 when executing the at least one program (see rejection of claim 1; Fig. 1; management device 13/core network).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2024/0171962 A1) in view of Skeba et al (US 2014/0179279 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li wherein determining the execution time information of the certain operation comprises at least one of determining the execution time information of the certain operation based on time information of a coverage hole (Li: [0048], [0060]); determining the execution time information of the certain operation based on time information of coverage holes associated with at least two cells with strongest signal-receiving strength; or determining the execution time information of the certain operation based on time information of coverage holes associated with at least two cells that are top ranked in terms of cell reselection priority and signal-receiving strength.
Li does not explicitly disclose a coverage hole associated with a history camping cell.
Skeba teaches associated with a history camping cell (Skeba: Figs. 1-2; [0019]-[0020] coverage hole associated with route history/history of camping cell).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li wherein the coverage hole is associated with a history camping cell as disclosed by Skeba to provide a system for preventing dropped calls (Skeba: Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Skeba teaches wherein in a case where an overlap exists among the time information of the coverage holes associated with the at least two cells, the execution time information of the certain operation is determined based on a minimum value of start time of time information of coverage holes associated with the at least two cells and a maximum value of end time of the time information of the coverage holes associated with the at least two cells; or in a case where no overlap exists among the time information of the coverage holes associated with the at least two cells, a union of time information of coverage holes associated with the at least two cells is determined as the execution time information of the certain operation (This limitation has no patentable weight as it refers to the non-selected limitation of “at least two cells” of claim 4).
Claims 6, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2024/0171962 A1) in view of Skeba et al (US 2014/0179279 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Li does not explicitly disclose reporting, through an RRC layer of the first communication node, the execution time information of the certain operation to a non-access stratum (NAS) of the first communication node, a second communication node, or a core network.
Da Silva teaches reporting, through an RRC layer of the first communication node, the execution time information of the certain operation to a non-access stratum (NAS) of the first communication node, a second communication node, or a core network (Da Silva: Fig. 3; UE sending/reporting the execution of RRC setup via RRCSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li reporting, through an RRC layer of the first communication node, the execution time information of the certain operation to a non-access stratum (NAS) of the first communication node, a second communication node, or a core network as disclosed by Da Silva to provide a system for resuming paging (Da Silva: Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Da Silva teaches reporting a certain-operation start indication, a data transmission pause indication, or an access forbidden indication to a NAS of the first communication node in a case where an RRC layer of the first communication node detects that the first communication node is about to enter or has entered a coverage hole; or reporting a certain-operation end indication, a data transmission resume indication, or an access admitted indication to a NAS of the first communication node in a case where an RRC layer of the first communication node detects that the first communication node is about to leave or has left a coverage hole (Da Silva: Figs. 4-5; RRS resume operation).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Da Silva teaches reporting the execution time information of the certain operation to a second communication node or a core network; or reporting the execution time information of the certain operation acquired by the first communication node to a second communication node or a core network (Da Silva: Fig. 3; UE sending/reporting the execution of RRC setup via RRCSetupComplete).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478