DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 7/17/2026. Status of claims are:
** Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 11-13, 15-21, 24, 26-27 and 30 are pending.
** Claims: 1, 3, 6, 11, 17, 21, 24, and 27 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed in the amendment filed 7/17/2026, have all been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Prior Art
U. S. Patent Pub No. US 20240205784 A1 issued to Kanneath Abraham et al., (hereinafter Kanneath).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 11-13, 15-19, 21, 24, 26, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240188174 A1 to Jung (hereinafter Jung) in view of US 20240205784 A1 to Kanneath Abraham et al., (hereinafter Kanneath).
Claim 1. A communication method, applied by a user equipment (UE), wherein the UE comprises a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs), the plurality of SIMs comprise a first SIM and a second SIM, (Jung: Fig. 1G, UE 1g-01, having a first SIM, USIM1 and a second SIM, USIM2), the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in a first network node corresponding to the first SIM, (Jung: See Fig. 1F, USIM1 is in RRC connected state) and the method comprises:
receiving information of a timer; (Jung: para[0249], and Fig. 1G, #1g-20, NW1 transmitting to USIM1 of UE, “long-time switching configuration”, that includes “a new timer”) in response to (Jung: See Fig. 1G, UE USIM1 (i.e., first SIM) is in “RRC_CONNECTED” with the “NW1” (i.e., the first network node)) (Jung: See para[0241] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, # 1g-02, receives message from UE USIM2, #1g-03, indicating USIM2 wants to change its current RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTVE mode, after which, it establishes “RRC CONNECTION” with the NW2 (i.e., a second network node)); the method further comprises:
sending indication information to the first network node; (Jung: See para[0232] and Fig. 1G, # 1g-35, USIM1 of UE transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., indication information) to NW1 (i.e., first network node))
starting the timer, (Jung: See para[0234] and Fig. 1G, # 1g-31, UE USIM1 starting a timer) where the timer is started at a same moment when the indication information is sent; (i.e., timer is started when “UEAssistanceInformation” (i.e., the indication information) is sent) and
(Jung: See para[0249] and Fig. 1G, #1g-35, UE USIM1 starting a timer 1g-31, when sending “UEAssitanceInformation” (i.e., indication information) to NW1)
receiving network resource information (i.e., receiving “RRCRelease” #1g-40) configured by the first network node (i.e., NW1) according to the indication information. (i.e., based on “UEAssitanceInformation, 1g-35” (i.e., indication information) sent, USIM1 receives RRCRelease (i.e., network resource information))
(Jung: See para[0240] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, receiving “RRCRelease, (i.e., network resource information) 1g-40”, received from NW1(i.e., first network node) after transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., the indication information) includes suspension configuration information allowing USIM1 of UE to transition to RRC inactive mode)
Although Jung teaches UEAssistanceInformation (i.e., an indication information) is sent by Network to UE, however, Jung does not explicitly disclose that such indication information is “capability limitation configuration” which reflects or is based on a limitation with respect to communication capability of the UE, wherein UE sends a UE capability configuration request to network and network transmits the capability limitation configuration to UE before UE enters the RRC connected state, (i.e., UE is in non-connected state when it receives it), as understood by:
wherein in response to the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state, the indication information comprises capability limited indication information, and the capability limited indication information is used for indicating a limitation, with respect to a device communication capability of the UE before the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state occurs, in the device communication capability of the UE.
However, in a similar field, Kanneath in para[0061]-[0063] and Fig. 3, #3-4, teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sends that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Jung teaches methods related to a multi-USIM UE switching its RRC connection state by starting a timer and transitioning to an RRC idle state. (Jung: See para[0220] and Fig. 1G)
Kanneath teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sending that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill before the time of effective filing to have included capability limitation techniques, as taught by Kanneath, with the teachings of Jung, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of a network that can determine capability limitations of a UE-A and transmitting to UE-A a capability limitation configuration when UE-A is in non-connected state. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the UE is in a carrier aggregation mode or a dual-connectivity mode. (Jung: See para[0242] and Fig. 1G, UE is a dual-USIM UE able to transmit and receive data from different BSs associated with USIMs)
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping the timer before expiration of the timer at a same moment when the network resource information is received. (Jung: See para[0249] and Fig. 1G, #1g-41, USIM1 of UE stops the timer when it receives RRCRelease (i.e., when the network resource information is received))
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein in response to the change in the connection state being exiting the RRC connected state, the indication information (i.e., UEAssistanceInformation) comprises capability recovered indication information (i.e., its preference as being RRC IDLE/INACTIVE mode), and the capability recovered indication information is used for indicating a recovery (i.e., move to idle state/inactive mode from the connected state mode), with respect to the device communication capability of the UE before the change in the connection state, (i.e., before exiting RRC connection state indicating wanting to exit RRC connection state and move to idle state instead) being exiting the RRC connected state occurs, in the device communication capability of the UE.
(Jung: See para[0293] RRC message sent in uplink may be UEAssistanceInformation, that indicates a UE’s preference to release and leave the RRC connection mode, as well as its preference state after leaving connection mode, as being either RRC IDL/INACTIVE mode)
Claim 8. The method of claim 6, wherein the capability limited indication information comprises at least one of:
capability change information, (i.e., preference to leave RRC CONNECTION)
(Jung: See para[0293] RRC message sent in uplink may be UEAssistanceInformation, that indicates a UE’s preference to release and leave the RRC connection mode, (i.e., capability change information) as well as its preference state, after leaving the RRC connection mode, as being either RRC IDL/INACTIVE mode)
cell release information or configuration resource deactivation information.
wherein the capability recovered indication information comprises at least one of:
the capability change information (i.e., UEAssitanceInformation that indicates preference to leave RRC CONNECTION)
(Jung: See para[0293] RRC message sent in uplink may be UEAssistanceInformation, that indicates a UE’s preference to release and leave the RRC connection mode, as well as its preference state after leaving connection mode, as being either RRC IDL/INACTIVE mode)
or configuration resource activation information; and
wherein the capability change information (i.e., UEAssistanceInformation that indicates preference to leave RRC CONNECTION) is indicated through a bitmap (i.e., a message mapped with attributes) and is carried through an uplink RRC signaling.
(Jung: See para[0293] RRC message sent in uplink may be UEAssistanceInformation, that indicates a UE’s preference to release and leave the RRC connection mode, as well as its preference state after leaving connection mode, as being either RRC IDL/INACTIVE mode)
Claim 11. The method of claim 1, wherein in response to the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state, the indication information (i.e., UEAssistanceInformation) further comprises interval request information (i.e., STS-GapConfig) and the interval request information (i.e., STS-GapConfig) is used for indicating an interval configuration supported by the UE. (i.e., UEAssistanceInformation transmitted by UE, includes “STS-GapConfig”, which is a time period during which, the USIM1 of UE, is requested to be released from RRC connection mode by NW1)
(Jung: See para[0192] UEAssitanceInformation includes “STS-GapConfig”, and para[0230], for STS-GAP period is the time that USIM 1 needs to release RRC connection.)
Claim 12. The method of claim 11, further comprising: establishing, in an interval resource configured by the first network node according to indication information, a connection with the second network node, and maintaining the connected state in the first network node.
(Jung: See para[0398] and Fig.1L, #1l-40, for UEAssistanceInformation indicates that USIM1 UE wants to remain in RRC_Connected mode with NW1, while USIM2 wants to get change to “RRC_Connected” mode with NW2, as shown in Fig. 1G)
Claim 13. The method of claim 11, wherein the interval configuration comprises at least one of:
an interval type
(Jung: See para[0192] UEAssitanceInformation includes “STS-GapConfig”, and para[0230], for “STS-GAP period” is the time interval that USIM 1 needs to release its RRC connection mode.)
or an interval length; and
wherein the interval configuration (i.e., STS-GapConfig) further comprises at least one of:
an interval period, (Jung: See para[0192] UEAssitanceInformation includes “STS-GapConfig”, and para[0230], for “STS-GAP period” is the time interval that USIM 1 needs to release its RRC connection mode.) an interval subframe offset, a start radio frame number of an aperiodic interval or a radio subframe number.
Claim 15. The method of claim 1, wherein the indication information is not sent repeatedly before expiration of the timer.
(Jung: See Fig. 1G, #1g-41, wherein the timer is stopped before expiration of timer, while only one UEAssistanceInformation #1g-35, is sent/transmitted. See para[0239] for timer will expire if timer is not stopped)
Claim 16. The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to receiving an RRC connection reconfiguration signaling (i.e., RRCRelease), stopping the timer before expiration of the timer.
(Jung: See Fig. 1G, #1g-41, after reception of RRCRelease (i.e., RRC connection reconfiguration signaling) wherein the timer is stopped before expiration of timer, while only one UEAssistanceInformation #1g-35, is sent/transmitted. See para[0239] for timer will expire if timer is not stopped. See para[0249, RRC message may indicate RRCReconfiguration message)
Claim 17. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to having released an RRC connection with the first network node (i.e., USIM1 of UE is in RRC_Connected mode with NW1 receives RRCRelease from NW1) and entering an RRC connected state in the second network node, (i.e., USIM2 of UE enters RRC_connected mode with NW2) sending capability updated indication information (i.e., UECapailityInformation) to the second network node, wherein the capability updated indication information is used for indicating an update, with respect to a device communication capability of the UE before the RRC connection is released, in the device communication capability of the UE.
(Jung: See Fig. 1G, UECapabilityInformation that is being sent from USIM1 of UE to NW1 (i.e., NW2))
Claim 18. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to being in the connected state in the first network node (i.e., USIM1 of UE is in RRC_Connected mode with NW1 receives RRCRelease from NW1) and exiting a connected state in the second network node, communicating with the first network node according to the network resource information configured by the first network node. (i.e., NW1 communicate with USIM1 of UE while in RRC_Connected mode)
(Jung: See Fig. 1G NW1 communicating with USIM1 of UE while in RRC_Connected mode)
Claim 19. The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to having released an RRC connection with the first network node and exiting an RRC connected state in the second network node, selecting or reselecting a suitable cell to camp in the first network node or the second network node.
(Jung: See para[0205] USIM1 of UE, based on STS-gapConfig, determines a cell such as PCell, based on refServCellIndicator of the STS-gapConfig)
Claim 21. A resource configuration method, applied by a first network node, comprising:
sending information of a timer to a user equipment (UE); (Jung: para[0249], and Fig. 1G, #1g-20, NW1 transmitting to USIM1 of UE, “long-time switching configuration”, that includes “a new timer”) wherein the UE comprises a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs), and the plurality of SIMs comprises a first SIM and a second SIM; (Jung: Fig. 1F, Multi-USIM capable UE having SIM1 and SIM2)
receiving indication information sent by the UE (Jung: See para[0249] and Fig. 1G, #1g-35, UE USIM1 starting a timer 1g-31, when sending “UEAssitanceInformation” (i.e., indication information) to NW1) wherein the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state first network node corresponding to the first SIM (Jung: See Fig. 1G, UE USIM1 (i.e., first SIM) is in “RRC_CONNECTED” with the “NW1” (i.e., the first network node)) and
(Jung: See para[0241] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, # 1g-02, receives message from UE USIM2, #1g-03, indicating USIM2 wants to change its current RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTVE mode, after which, it establishes “RRC CONNECTION” with the NW2 (i.e., a second network node));
and configuring a network resource (i.e., configuring/transmitting “RRCRelease” #1g-40 to UE based on UEAssistanceInformation received from UE) for the UE according to the indication information. (i.e., UEAssitanceInformation)
(Jung: See para[0240] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, receiving “RRCRelease, (i.e., network resource information) 1g-40”, received from NW1(i.e., first network node) after transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., the indication information) includes suspension configuration information allowing USIM1 of UE to transition to RRC inactive mode)
Although Jung teaches UEAssistanceInformation (i.e., an indication information) is sent by Network to UE, however, Jung does not explicitly disclose that such indication information is “capability limitation configuration” which reflects or is based on a limitation with respect to communication capability of the UE, wherein UE sends a UE capability configuration request to network and network transmits the capability limitation configuration to UE before UE enters the RRC connected state, (i.e., UE is in non-connected state when it receives it), as understood by:
wherein in response to the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state, the indication information comprises capability limited indication information, and the capability limited indication information is used for indicating a limitation, with respect to a device communication capability of the UE before the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state occurs, in the device communication capability of the UE.
However, in a similar field, Kanneath in para[0061]-[0063] and Fig. 3, #3-4, teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sends that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Jung teaches methods related to a multi-USIM UE switching its RRC connection state by starting a timer and transitioning to an RRC idle state. (Jung: See para[0220] and Fig. 1G)
Kanneath teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sending that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill before the time of effective filing to have included capability limitation techniques, as taught by Kanneath, with the teachings of Jung, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of a network that can determine capability limitations of a UE-A and transmitting to UE-A a capability limitation configuration when UE-A is in non-connected state. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Claim 24. The method of claim 21, wherein in response to the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state, (Jung: See Fig. 1G, #1g-45, and para[0241] USIM2 transitioning to RRC connection mode by performing RRC connection configuration procedure with NW2 1g-05)
the indication information (i.e., UEAssitanceInformation) further comprises interval request information (i.e., STS-GapConfig), and the interval request information (i.e., STS-GapConfig) is used for indicating an interval configuration supported by the UE; and (i.e., UEAssistanceInformation transmitted by UE, includes “STS-GapConfig”, which is a time period during which, the USIM1 of UE, is requested to be released from RRC connection mode by NW1)
(Jung: See para[0192] UEAssitanceInformation includes “STS-GapConfig”, and para[0230], for STS-GAP period is the time that USIM 1 needs to relase RRC connection.)
wherein configuring the network resource for the UE according to the indication information comprises:
configuring an interval resource of the UE according to the interval request information. (i.e., UEAssistanceInformation includes “STS-GapConfig” that is a time period, wherein during such time period, the USIM1 of UE is requested to be released from RRC connection mode by NW1)
(Jung: See para[0192] UEAssitanceInformation includes “STS-GapConfig”, and para[0230], for STS-GAP period is the time that USIM 1 needs to release RRC connection.)
Claim 26. The method of claim 21, further comprising: instructing the UE to stop the timer through an RRC connection reconfiguration signalling. (Jung: See Fig. 1G, #1g-41, after reception of RRCRelease (i.e., RRC connection reconfiguration signaling) wherein the timer is stopped before expiration of timer, while only one UEAssistanceInformation #1g-35, is sent/transmitted. See para[0239] for timer will expire if timer is not stopped. See para[0249, RRC message may indicate RRCReconfiguration message)
Claim 27. An electrical device, being a user equipment (UE) or a first network node, comprising wherein in a case where the electrical device is the UE, the electrical device comprises a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs), (Jung: Fig. 1G, UE 1g-01, having a first SIM, USIM1 and a second SIM, USIM2) a memory, and at least one processor, (Jung: See Fig. 2, UE having processor and memory) the plurality of SIMs comprise a first SIM and a second SIM, and the electrical device is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in a first network node corresponding to the first SIM (Jung: Fig. 1G, UE 1g-01, having a first SIM, USIM1 and a second SIM, USIM2) wherein the memory is configured to store at least one program; and the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to implement:
receiving information of a timer; (Jung: para[0249], and Fig. 1G, #1g-20, NW1 transmitting to USIM1 of UE, “long-time switching configuration”, that includes “a new timer”) in response to a change in a connection state in a second network node corresponding to the second SIM, (Jung: See para[0241] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, # 1g-02, receives message from UE USIM2, #1g-03, indicating USIM2 wants to change its current RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTVE mode, after which, it establishes “RRC CONNECTION” with the NW2 (i.e., a second network node)); sending indication information to the first network node; (Jung: See para[0232] and Fig. 1G, # 1g-35, USIM1 of UE transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., indication information) to NW1 (i.e., first network node))
starting the timer, (Jung: See para[0234] and Fig. 1G, # 1g-31, UE USIM1 starting a timer) where the timer is started at a same moment when the indication information is sent; (i.e., timer is started when “UEAssistanceInformation” (i.e., the indication information) is sent) and
(Jung: See para[0249] and Fig. 1G, #1g-35, UE USIM1 starting a timer 1g-31, when sending “UEAssitanceInformation” (i.e., indication information) to NW1)
receiving network resource information (i.e., receiving “RRCRelease” #1g-40) configured by the first network node (i.e., NW1) according to the indication information; (i.e., based on “UEAssitanceInformation, 1g-35” (i.e., indication information) sent, USIM1 receives RRCRelease (i.e., network resource information))
(Jung: See para[0240] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, receiving “RRCRelease, (i.e., network resource information) 1g-40”, received from NW1(i.e., first network node) after transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., the indication information) includes suspension configuration information allowing USIM1 of UE to transition to RRC inactive mode)
and wherein in a case where the electrical device is the first network node, (i.e., NW1) the electrical device (i.e., NW1) comprises a memory and at least one processor; (Jung: See Fig. 3, for BS having processor, memory and processor) wherein the memory is configured to store at least one program; and the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to implement:
sending information of a timer to a UE wherein the UE comprises a plurality of SIMs, and the plurality of SIMs comprise a first SIM and a second SIM;(Jung: para[0249], and Fig. 1G, #1g-20, NW1 transmitting to USIM1 of UE, “long-time switching configuration”, that includes “a new timer”) receiving indication information sent by the UE in response to a change in a connection state of the UE in a second network node corresponding to the second SIM (Jung: See para[0232] and Fig. 1G, # 1g-35, USIM1 of UE transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., indication information) to NW1 (i.e., first network node))
wherein the UE is in an RRC connected state in a first network node corresponding to the first SIM (Jung: See Fig. 1G, UE USIM1 (i.e., first SIM) is in “RRC_CONNECTED” with the “NW1” (i.e., the first network node). See para[0241] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, # 1g-02, receives message from UE USIM2, #1g-03, indicating USIM2 wants to change its current RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTVE mode, after which, it establishes “RRC CONNECTION” with the NW2 (i.e., a second network node)) and configuring a network resource (i.e., transmitting “RRCRelease” #1g-40 to UE) for the UE according to the indication information. (i.e., based on “UEAssitanceInformation, 1g-35” (i.e., indication information) sent, USIM1 receives RRCRelease (i.e., network resource information))
(Jung: See para[0240] and Fig. 1G, UE USIM1, receiving “RRCRelease, (i.e., network resource information) 1g-40”, received from NW1(i.e., first network node) after transmitting UEAssitanceInformation (i.e., the indication information) includes suspension configuration information allowing USIM1 of UE to transition to RRC inactive mode)
Although Jung teaches UEAssistanceInformation (i.e., an indication information) is sent by Network to UE, however, Jung does not explicitly disclose that such indication information is “capability limitation configuration” which reflects or is based on a limitation with respect to communication capability of the UE, wherein UE sends a UE capability configuration request to network and network transmits the capability limitation configuration to UE before UE enters the RRC connected state, (i.e., UE is in non-connected state when it receives it), as understood by:
wherein in response to the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state, the indication information comprises capability limited indication information, and the capability limited indication information is used for indicating a limitation, with respect to a device communication capability of the UE before the change in the connection state being entering the RRC connected state occurs, in the device communication capability of the UE.
However, in a similar field, Kanneath in para[0061]-[0063] and Fig. 3, #3-4, teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sends that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Jung teaches methods related to a multi-USIM UE switching its RRC connection state by starting a timer and transitioning to an RRC idle state. (Jung: See para[0220] and Fig. 1G)
Kanneath teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sending that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill before the time of effective filing to have included capability limitation techniques, as taught by Kanneath, with the teachings of Jung, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of a network that can determine capability limitations of a UE-A and transmitting to UE-A a capability limitation configuration when UE-A is in non-connected state. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Claim 30. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium is configured to store a computer program, and the computer program, when executed by a processor, is used for implementing the communication method of claim 1.
(Jung: See Fig. 2, UE having memory #220. See Fig. 3, NW1/BS having memory #320. See para[0027] computer program instructions that perform the fuctions. See para[0441] and para[0434])
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240188174 A1 to Jung (hereinafter Jung) in view of Kanneath and in further in view of US 20200396633 A1 to Tseng et al., (hereinafter Tseng).
Claim 4. Jung teaches the method of claim 1, however it does not explicitly disclose
wherein the network resource information (i.e., RRCRelease) comprises at least one of:
beam information, slot information or bandwidth part (BWP) information; wherein the beam information and the slot information are indicated through a downlink RRC signalling and transmitted through a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and the BWP information is indicated through downlink control information (DCI) and transmitted through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, in a similar field, Tseng in para[0045] teaches a serving cell of a UE, transmits a msgB such as RRCRelease (i.e., network resource information) wherein such msgB (i.e., RRCRelease/ network resource information) is transmitted by DCI via PDCCH
Jung teaches methods related to a multi-USIM UE switching its RRC connection state by starting a timer and transitioning to an RRC idle state. (Jung: See para[0220] and Fig. 1G)
Kanneath teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sending that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Tseng teaches msgB or RRCRelease message, is transmitted by DCI via PDCCH from a serving cell to a UE. (Tseng: See para[0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill before the time of effective filing to have included RRCRelease transmission, as taught by Tseng in view of Kanneath, with the teachings of Jung, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of serving cell transmitting a msgB such as RRCRelease message, to a UE in DCI and via PDCCH. (Tseng: See para[0045])
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240188174 A1 to Jung (hereinafter Jung) in view of Kanneath and in further view of US 20240089704 A1 to Shrivastava et al., (hereinafter Shrivastava).
Claim 20. Jung in view of Kanneath teaches the method of claim 1, however, it does not explicitly disclose that the UEAssitanceInformation is transmitted via PUSCH to the network, as understood by:
wherein the indication information is carried through an uplink RRC signaling and transmitted through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, in a similar field, Shrivastava, in para[0111] teaches “UE Assistance Information” is transmitted via PUSCH.
Jung teaches methods related to a multi-USIM UE switching its RRC connection state by starting a timer and transitioning to an RRC idle state. (Jung: See para[0220] and Fig. 1G)
Kanneath teaches the network can determines “capability limitation configuration” for UE-A based on services supported by the UE-A, and sending that “capability limitation” (i.e., capability limited indication information) to the UE-A which can be either in RRC “non-connected state” or in RRC “connected state”. (Kanneath: see para[0061]-[0063] and Fig 3, #3-4)
Shrivastava teaches resource allocation methods wherein UE Assitance Information is carried via PUSCH on the uplink. (Shrivastava: See para[0111])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill before the time of effective filing to have included UE Assistance Information transmission methods, as taught by Shrivastava, with the teachings of Jung in view of kanneth in order to benefit from the ability of a UE that can transmit the Assistance Information transmission via PUSCH. (Shrivastava: See para[0111])
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477