DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2024 and 3/29/2024 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2019/0390061 A1) to Cheng et al. (hereinafter Cheng).
Cheng is directed toward a crosslinked PPE composite. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0004] that a resin coating of 1.0 to 20.0 (100) parts by weight of a PPE resin with 1.0 (5) parts by weight of a crosslinkable monomer with a biphenyl group, which is adjusted to 100 parts resin reads Applicants range. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0006] that the crosslinkable monomer has the following formula:
Cheng discloses at paragraph [0010] that 0.001 to 0.05 by weight of a radical initiator. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0052] that Perbutyl-P is the initiator, which is a peroxide. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0063] that a filler is included. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0061] that a solvent is included. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0064] that a fiber is included. Cheng discloses each and every element of claims 1-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0390061 A1) to Cheng et al. (hereinafter Cheng).
Cheng is directed toward a crosslinked PPE composite. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0004] that a resin coating of 1.0 to 20.0 (100) parts by weight of a PPE resin with 1.0 (5) parts by weight of a crosslinkable monomer with a biphenyl group, which is adjusted to 100 parts resin reads Applicants range. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0006] that the crosslinkable monomer has the following formula:
Cheng discloses at paragraph [0010] that 0.001 to 0.05 by weight of a radical initiator. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0052] that Perbutyl-P is the initiator, which is a peroxide. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0063] that a filler is included. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0061] that a solvent is included. Cheng discloses at paragraph [0064] that a fiber is included.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Cheng to select each and every element that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-14.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766