DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The most recent claim set submitted on 13 AUGUST 2024 is acknowledged and considered.
In the claim set, Claims 1-20 are presented and are indicated with status identifiers. Claims 1-20 are considered on the merits below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 JANUARY 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 3, reference character are blurry and illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An “integrated system for monitoring and tracking…” in claim 1.
A “system” does not connote any particular structure. The specification is devoid of any description of what this “system” is.
A “tamper element to identify …” in claim 1.
An “element” does not connote any particular structure. The “tamper element is described as a seal, lock, tap, threaded element or microchip. Additional, the tamper element may include at least one of: a tamper-proof element, a tamper resistant element, and a tamper evident element”, [0013].
A “purifying element configured to prevent or reduce contamination…” in claim 3.
An “element” ” does not connote any particular structure. The purifying element “may include at least one of: a seal, a lock, a tape, a threaded element, or any combination thereof”, [0015].
An “application provision system configured to provide a central application…” and “application provision system is further configured to confirm…” in claim 17 and 18.
A “system” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the “application provision system comprise webservers and application servers”, [0076].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “integrated system for monitoring and tracking…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of monitoring and tracking done by just that. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to describe “integrated system for monitoring and tracking…” The use of the term “monitoring and tracking” is not adequate structure for performing the function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of monitoring and tracking in the systems. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent Claims 2-20 are also rejected under 112(b) and112(a) as being dependent upon Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MORHET, US Publication No 2014/0017676 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 JANUARY 2024, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 1
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a kit.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference MORHET discloses a self-use sample collection kit , abstract, collection devices and kits, comprising:
one or more swabs configured to collect a sample, Figure 1 and 2, sample collection device 20 having a soluble and hydrophilic PCL 24 attached to carrier 22, [0004, 0061] ;
one or more sample collection containers configured to receive the one or more swabs, Figure 2, container 38, [0061];
and a unique identifier label affixed to at least a portion of the one or more sample collection containers, Figure 2, label 44, [0061, 0069], and
wherein the unique identifier label uniquely identifies the one or more sample collection containers from a population of sample collection containers, Figure 2, [0058, 0061-0062]wherein the unique identifier label is linked to an integrated system for monitoring and tracking the one or more sample collection containers, [0058, 0061, 0062, 0065].
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 3: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1 further comprising: a purifying element configured to prevent or reduce contamination of the one or more swabs, Figure 2, cap 32, [0061, 0069].; Claim 4: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the one or more swabs is substantially free of DNA, [0007, 0013, 0097].; Claim 5: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the one or more swabs are dry swabs, [0027, 0094-0097].; Claim 6: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the one or more swabs are sterile, [0007, 0011, 0097].; Claim 7: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the one or more swabs comprise a natural fiber, a polymer fiber, or a combination thereof, [0077].; Claim 8: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the one or more swabs comprise flocked fibers, [0011-001, 0071], polyester. ; Claim 9: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier label is located on a sticker attached to the one or more sample collection containers, Figure 2, label 44 connected by glue, [0069].; Claim 10: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier label comprises a barcode, an RFID element, a QRS code, or a combination thereof, [0011, 0013, 0061, 0063].; Claim 11: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier label is configured to communicate with a digital platform or remote user, [0061-0064].; Claim 12: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier label is configured to store data, [0063].; Claim 13: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1 further comprising: an outer packaging material configured to house the sample collection kit, Figure 2, second container 34, [0061].; Claim 14: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1 further comprising: a sample bag, Claim 26, [0012, 0061], Figure 2.; Claim 15: wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1 further comprising: an aqueous solution, Figure 1, solution 28, [0061].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MORHET, US Publication No 2014/0017676 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 JANUARY 2024, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 1, and further in view of SANGHA, US Publication No. 2007/0299364 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 JANUARY 2024, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 2.
Regarding Claim 2, the MORHET reference discloses the kit of Claim 1, but is silent in regards to wherein the sample collection kit of claim 1 further comprising: tape configured to seal the one or more sample collection containers, the tape comprising a tamper element to identify whether the one or more sample collection containers have been opened.
The SANGHA reference discloses a self-use sample collection kit , Figure 1, comprising:
one or more swabs configured to collect a sample, Figure 1 , swab assembly 11, [0030];
one or more sample collection containers configured to receive the one or more swabs, Figure 1, container or bag 12, [0030];
and a unique identifier label affixed to at least a portion of the one or more sample collection containers, Figure 1, see barcode, [0033]
wherein the unique identifier label uniquely identifies the one or more sample collection containers from a population of sample collection containers, [0022, 0033], wherein the unique identifier label is linked to an integrated system for monitoring and tracking the one or more sample collection containers, [0033, 0034, 0042], further comprising: tape configured to seal the one or more sample collection containers, the tape comprising a tamper element to identify whether the one or more sample collection containers have been opened, [0022, 0046, 0047].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the kit include a tape configured to seal the containers to provide tamper evident packaging so that once the tape has been applied, entry to the container can only be achieved by destruction of the tape, [0046].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MORHET, US Publication No 2014/0017676 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 JANUARY 2024, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 1, and further in view of PEREZ, US Publication No. 2009/0023219 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 JANUARY 2024, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 4.
Regarding Claim 16, the MORHET reference discloses the kit of Claim 15, but is silent in regards to wherein the sample collection kit of claim 15, wherein the aqueous solution comprises distilled water.
The PEREZ reference discloses a self-use sample collection kit, abstract, comprising:
one or more swabs configured to collect a sample, Figure 1, swab 12/tip 24/shaft 22, [0040];
one or more sample collection containers configured to receive the one or more swabs, Figure 1, housing 14/16, [0041]; and
a unique identifier label, Figure 13, [0064, 0066], herein the unique identifier label uniquely identifies the one or more sample collection containers from a population of sample collection containers, wherein the unique identifier label is linked to an integrated system for monitoring and tracking the one or more sample collection containers, [0064, 0066], further comprising: an aqueous solution, and the aqueous solution comprises distilled water, [0044], Claim 2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aqueous solution of MORHET to comprise distilled water to have a compatible solution as a preservative, Claim 1, [0011, 0015].
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MORHET, US Publication No 2014/0017676 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 JANUARY 2024, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 1.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a system.
Regarding Claim 17, the MORHET discloses an integrated sample collection system, [0068], comprising:
the sample collection kit of claim 1, See Rejection to Claim 1 above; and
an application provision system configured to provide a central application assigning an identification code to one of a plurality of the sample collection kits, [0064, 0068], the application provision system configured to: receive an identification code related to one of the sample collection kits, [0064, 0065]; record a sample collection kit location and a timestamp, [0065, 0067]; record the sample collection kit location and timestamp in a blockchain system, [0019, 0064, 0068]; and receive the smart contract address and a block Tx Hash to central processor, [0064].
The MORHET reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to specifically teaching a smart contract in a blockchain system and a block Tx Hash.
MORHET discloses and teaches the system and kits are utilized so that data such as authenticity and origin of the samples and, with a clear record of the chain-of-custody for the sample, represent information for the sample to be admitted into evidence in court proceedings may be recorded and stored. MORHET discloses using conventional methods, sample/specimen identification is either by written record accompanying the sample collection device or by a barcode present on the container in which the device is stored awaiting analysis, [0065].
While MORHET does not specifically disclose a ‘smart contract’ or a ‘block Tx Hash’ to a central processor, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of MORHET so that what MORHET already performs such as verifying data and recording chain of custody of sample, a ‘smart contract’ or a ‘block Tx Hash’ to a central processor so that transactions may be executed automatically, lower costs by removing intermediaries, increases transparency and increase security. In addition, the process of automating a manual activity accomplishes the same result and would not distinguish it over the prior art. In reVenner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 18: wherein the sample collection system of claim 17, wherein the application provision system is further configured to confirm the received identification code, [0065]. ; Claim 19: wherein the sample collection system of claim 17, wherein the identification code comprises a numeric code, a letter-based code, an alphanumeric code, a bar code, a QR code, an image, or any combination thereof, [0010, 0011, 0012, 0061, 0062]. ; and Claim 20: wherein the sample collection system of claim 17, wherein the identification code comprises a kit identification code, a container identification code, or both, [0010, 0011, 0012, 0061, 0062].
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797