DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, it is first noted that the claim should only be one sentence. Furthermore, it is unclear whether or not the second sentence is optional. The language “in embodiments, polyamides may” appears to be optional language.
Claim 13 is rejected for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiyono USPA 2013/0305921 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kiyono discloses a method of manufacturing a hollow fiber carbon membrane (Abstract; paragraph 5), the method comprising: heating a polymeric precursor to a pyrolysis temperature that is greater than or equal to 900 degrees C and less than or equal to 1200 degrees C (paragraph 54); and pyrolyzing the polymeric precursor at the pyrolysis temperature in a pyrolysis atmosphere that comprises oxygen in an amount that is greater than 0 ppm and less than 200 ppm (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 2, Kiyono discloses that the hollow fiber carbon membrane is asymmetric (paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 3, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis temperature is greater than or equal to 900 C and less than or equal to 1000 C (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 4, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis temperature is greater than or equal to 925 C and less than or equal to 975 C (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 5, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis atmosphere comprises oxygen in an amount that is greater than 0 ppm and less than 150 ppm oxygen (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 6, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis atmosphere comprises oxygen in an amount that is greater than 5 ppm and less than 150 ppm oxygen (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 7, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis atmosphere comprises oxygen in an amount that is greater than 0 ppm and less than 100 ppm oxygen (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 8, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis atmosphere comprises an inert gas and oxygen (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 9, Kiyono discloses that the pyrolysis atmosphere comprises argon and oxygen (paragraphs 40 and 54).
Regarding claim 10, Kiyono discloses that the polymeric precursor comprises a polyimide (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 11, Kiyono discloses that the polymeric precursor comprises a polymer formed from one or more monomers selected from the group consisting of 2,4,6-trimethyl-1,3-phenylene diamine (DAM); oxydianaline (ODA);dimethyl-3 ,7-diaminodiphenyl-thiophene-5,5 '-dioxide (DDBT); 3,5 -diaminobenzoic acid (DABA); 2.3 ,5,6-tetramethyl- 1,4-phenylene diamine (durene); meta-phenylenediamine (in- PDA); 2,4-diaminotolune (2,4-DAT); tetramethylmethylenedianaline (TMMDA); 4,4 '-diamino- 2,2 '-biphenyl disulfonic acid (BDSA); 5,5 '- [2,2,2-trifluoro- 1-(trifluoromethyl)ethylidene] -1,3 - isobenzofurandion (6FDA); 3,3 ',4,4'-biphenyl tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA); pyromellitic dianhydride (PMDA); 4,5,8-naphthalene tetracarboxylic dianhydride (NTDA); 4,4'- Oxydiphthalic anhydride (ODPA); and benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA) (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 12, Kiyono discloses that the polymeric precursor comprises a polymer comprising monomers Ax, By, and Cz, wherein X, Y, and Z are a mole fraction of each of A, B, and C,a sum of X + Y + Z is greater than or equal to 1, and A, B, and C are individually 2,4,6- trimethyl- 1,3 -phenylene diamine (DAM) (paragraph 31).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Kiyono does not explicitly disclose a hydrogen to ethylene (H2/C2H4) selectivity that is less than 50, or less than or equal to 30, when treating a stream containing an equal amount of hydrogen and ethylene. Nevertheless, Kiyono discloses a hollow fiber carbon membrane with the same structure and made by the same method as that disclosed and claimed by Applicant (see claims 1-11); therefore, it is inherent that the hollow fiber carbon membrane of Kiyono has a hydrogen to ethylene (H2/C2H4) selectivity that is less than 50, or less than or equal to 30, when treating a stream containing an equal amount of hydrogen and ethylene. See MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyono USPA 2013/0305921 A1 in view of Zhang USPA 2019/0054427 A1.
Kiyono is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 13, Kiyono does not disclose that A is a monomer selected from the group consisting of 6FDA, ODPA, and BTDA;B is DAM; and C is a monomer selected from the group consisting of BPDA and PMDA. However, this combination of precursor is a known effective precursor for such hollow fiber membranes (see Zhang paragraph 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiyono to have the claimed precursor, as taught by Zhang, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776