DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on January 18, 2024. The earliest effective filing date of the application is September 15, 2021.
Priority
The present application is a 371 National Stage Application of PCT/TR2022/050822 which has a filing date of August 4, 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 26, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 20, in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that i) the recitation “adding a chickpea ferment/hazelnut milk proportion between 0.01/1 and 0.05/1 mL/mL is a special technical feature and would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product, and ii) by searching Group II, one must search Group I. This is not found persuasive because there is no disclosure in the instant specification describing the unique structural properties imparted by the precisely claimed proportions of chickpea ferment and hazelnut milk added in the method. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the method that the resulting product comprises chickpea ferment and hazelnut milk. Regarding search burden, as claimed, Group II is a product obtained by the process of Group I, which will be evaluated based on the physical qualities of the product itself, not the process of making said product. Furthermore, the restriction has been made based on a lack of unity of invention, which has been established by the combination of Margolis and Natural Home Remedies.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Application
The amendment filed on January 30, 2026 with the Response to Restriction Requirement has been entered. The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1 – 20
Withdrawn claims: 12 and 13
Claims currently under examination: 1 – 11 and 14 – 20
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 6 – 8, 10, 11, and 17 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “providing separation of galls and rotten from the hazelnuts” which should be rewritten as “separating galls and rotten material from the hazelnuts” to put the language into proper English.
Claim 1 recites “- taking the wet hazelnut particles, removed from water, into mixer, grinder or stirrer devices and after adding water, fragmenting of the hazelnuts by means of the mixer, grinder or stirrer devices” which should be rewritten as “- taking the wet hazelnut particles, removed from water, into a mixer, grinder or stirrer device and after adding water, fragmenting the hazelnuts by means of the mixer, grinder or stirrer device” to put the language into proper English.
Claim 1 recites “- passing the fragmented hazelnuts from milk cloth and obtaining hazelnut milk” which should be rewritten as “ passing the fragmented hazelnuts through a milk cloth and obtaining hazelnut milk” to put the language into proper English.
Claim 1 recites “- adding the chickpeas into water, adding salt and obtaining mixture, wherein the mixture is incubated at a temperature between 40 and 45ºC to obtain chickpea ferment “ which should be rewritten as “adding the chickpeas into water, adding salt and obtaining a mixture, wherein the mixture is incubated at a temperature between 40 and 45ºC to obtain chickpea ferment” to put the language into proper English.
Claim 1 recites “ - bringing the hazelnut milk, obtained in step i), to fermenting temperature” which should be rewritten as “ - bringing the hazelnut milk, obtained in step i), to a fermenting temperature” to put the language into proper English.
Claim 1 recites “- after the incubation process, the chickpea ferment is added into the hazelnut milk brought to the fermenting temperature and yoghurt ferment is obtained” which should be rewritten as “ - after the incubation process, adding the chickpea ferment into the hazelnut milk brought to the fermenting temperature and yoghurt ferment is obtained” because method steps must be in active form.
Claim 1 recites “- yoghurt fermenting process is realized, is waited at an incubation temperature, the temperature of the waiting process has temperature values between 40 and 45ºC” which should be rewritten as “- fermenting by incubating the yoghurt ferment and hazelnut milk at an incubation temperature between 40 and 45ºC” to put the language into proper English, and because method steps must be in active form.
Claim 1 recites “- the hazelnut yoghurt obtained after incubation process is left for cooling at temperature of +4ºC.” which should be rewritten as “- cooling the hazelnut yoghurt obtained after the yoghurt ferment and hazelnut milk incubation process at temperature of +4ºC.” because method steps must be in active form.
Claim 2 recites “wherein hazelnut diameters are at a value between 10 and 12 mm.” which should be rewritten as “wherein the hazelnuts have diameters between 10 and 12 mm.” to put the language into proper English.
Claims 6 – 8, 10, 11, and 17 – 20 recite “realized” which should be “applied”, “conducted”, or some other language to express the active method steps are being further limited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “where high value of foods in hazelnut is pasteurized in a manner destructed at a minimum level” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the hazelnut yogurt is pasteurized, the hazelnut milk is pasteurized, or some other component in the method is pasteurized. For the purpose of examination, the hazelnut milk is considered to be pasteurized during the thermal processing step.
Claims 4, 5, 15, and 16 recite “the milk cloth is at a maximum value” which renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear what value is being limited by the claim language. For the purpose of examination, the “value” is considered to be the “micro rating” of the milk cloth.
Claims 3, 4, 6 – 11, 14, and 17 – 20 are rejected as dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 6, 9 – 11, 16, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margolis et al. (US 20190274324 A1 – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024) in view of Brown et al. (2013010037 A1 – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024), IDRO (30-33-42-50-52-55-60-75 micron(µm) NMO Monofilament Nylon Mesh Filter Bags. IDRO Filter Workshop. (2020). Retrieved from: https://www.filterworkshop.com/products/30-33-42-50-52-55-60-75-micronm-nmo-monofilament-nylon-mesh-filter-bags), Free Your Fork (How to Make Hazelnut Milk. Free your Fork. (July 24, 2019). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20190724041441/https://www.freeyourfork.com/how-to-make-hazelnut-milk/), Natural Home Remedies (Use CHICKPEAS as a STARTER to Make Thick Creamy Indian Dahi / Yogurt, 2020, Retrieved from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POehRwRwetE – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024), Zhang et al. (CN 102613381 A – Clarivate Machine Translation), Tori Avey (How to soak and cook chickpeas. Tori Avey. (July 28, 2017). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20170728192310/http://toriavey.com/how-to/2012/10/how-to-soak-and-cook-chickpeas), The Pioneer Woman (How to Make Yogurt – and Greek Yogurt! The Pioneer Woman (2017). Retrieved from: https://www.thepioneerwoman.com/food-cooking/cooking-tips-tutorials/a93141/how-to-make-yogurt-and-greek-yogurt/), and Healthline (Can You Freeze Yogurt? Healthline. (July 3, 2021). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20210703203254/https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/can-you-freeze-yogurt).
Regarding claim 1, Margolis teaches a method of preparing a food product (i.e., a production method for hazelnut yoghurt – Abstract). Margolis teaches the food product does not require the addition of lactose (i.e., animal products – [0015]). Because the food product of Margolis does not comprise any animal products, it is necessarily absent of animal taste or odor. Margolis teaches the unexpected result that neither sucrose nor glucose is necessary for yogurt culture metabolism has major positive nutritional implications since it should now be possible to manufacture “sugar-free” plant-based yogurt ([0065]). Therefore, the yogurt of Margolis has a high nutrient value. Margolis teaches the method comprises:
i) Obtaining hazelnut milk from hazelnuts
Margolis teaches preparing hazelnut milk from hazelnuts (i.e., obtaining hazelnut milk from hazelnuts ([0023]).
Margolis does not teach the method by which the hazelnut milk is made from hazelnuts.
Brown teaches a method of making cheese replicas (Abstract). Brown further teaches a method of making hazelnut milk for use in producing cheese replicas ([0052]; [0055]). Brown teaches the method of making hazelnut milk comprises:
- washing the hazelnuts prior to use to remove any contaminants on the surface which would make a non-dairy milk unsafe or unpalatable (i.e., applying pre-cleaning processes to obtain cleaned hazelnuts – [0057]),
- blanching, then submerging the hazelnuts in cold water at 5°C or 10 °C (i.e., adding the cleaned hazelnuts into water at a temperature between 5 and 15 °C, and waiting to obtain wet hazelnut particles – [0057]; [0058]),
- blending the hazelnuts by placing them in a blender (i.e., mixer device), adding clean, fresh water, then blending (i.e., taking the wet hazelnut particles, removed from water, into mixer, grinder, or stirrer devices and after adding water, fragmenting of the hazelnuts by means of the mixer, grinder, or stirrer devices – ([0061]),
- filtering the blended hazelnuts to remove the undesirable solids (i.e., passing the fragmented hazelnuts from filter and obtaining hazelnut milk – [0066]), and
- pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]).
Margolis and Brown are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, methods of making plant-based dairy product analogs. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the method of making hazelnut milk of Brown in the method of Margolis because Brown provides that it was known for the above method of making hazelnut milk was used and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the disclosed method of making hazelnut milk to produce the hazelnut milk for the method of Margolis, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach separating galls and rotten portions from the hazelnuts during the washing step, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably removed the galls and rotten portions of any hazelnuts during the washing step because galls and rotten portions are considered to be any contaminants on the surface which would make a non-dairy milk unsafe or unpalatable.
The modified method of Margolis is silent with respect to the hazelnut/water proportion being ½ and ¼ grams/ml by volume in the blending step.
Free Your Fork teaches blending 2 ½ c raw hazelnuts and 6 c water to produce hazelnut milk (p. 12, Ingredients). While Free Your Fork is silent with respect to the precise grams/mL of hazelnut/water in the resulting milk, assuming hazelnuts have the density of water, the resulting milk would comprise about 0.41grams hazelnut/mL.
Margolis and Free Your Fork are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, methods of making plant-based dairy product analogs. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the proportions of hazelnuts to water for making hazelnut milk as taught by Free Your Fork in the method of Margolis because Free Your Fork provides that it was known for the above method of making hazelnut milk was used and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the disclosed proportions of hazelnuts to water to produce the hazelnut milk for the method of Margolis, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
The modified method of Margolis does not teach the hazelnut milk is filtered through a milk cloth.
IDRO teaches a monofilament mesh filter bag, which is useful for nut milk (i.e., it is a milk cloth- p. 2, 3. Applications).
Margolis and IDRO are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, processing nut milks. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the monofilament mesh filter bag (i.e., milk cloth), as taught by IDRO in the modified method of Margolis because the monofilament mesh filter bag (i.e., milk cloth) is known to be useful for filtering nut milks.
ii) Obtaining herbal ferments from chickpeas and obtaining yoghurt ferment
Margolis teaches providing a yogurt culture to ferment the hazelnut milk ([0016]). Margolis teaches after combining the hazelnut milk and yogurt culture, the fermentation was then carried out at a temperature of 105° F (40.5 °C) for the length of time necessary for the cultured mass to reach a pH of 4.6 (i.e., the yogurt ferment is added into the hazelnut milk brough to the fermenting temperature and yogurt ferment is obtained – [0059]).
Margolis does not teach the yogurt culture is boiled chickpea (i.e., herbal ferments from chickpeas).
Natural Home Remedies teaches chickpeas may be used as a yogurt starter (i.e., yogurt culture – Time Stamp 0:00 – 4:39).
Margolis and Natural Home Remedies are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, yogurt production. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected chickpeas as the effective amount of yogurt culture, as taught by Natural Home Remedies, in the method of Margolis because Natural Home Remedies provides that it was known for chickpeas to be successfully used and published as a yogurt starter (i.e., yogurt culture) at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the chickpea as an effective amount of yogurt culture in the composition of Margolis, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Margolis does not teach the method by which the chickpea starter is obtained.
Zhang teaches a chickpea fermentation method ([0001]). Zhang teaches the method comprises:
- soaking chickpeas in a nutrient liquid comprising water until the beans are fully expanded and their skin is soft ([0009]), then
- inoculating by lactic acid amine, microzyme and bacillus natto, and fermenting wherein the culture temperature is 35 to 42 degrees centigrade, and the fermentation time is 18 to 36h (i.e., a mixture comprising chickpea and water is incubated between 40 and 45 °C to obtain chickpea ferment – [0015]; [0016]).
Margolis and Zhang are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, fermenting plant-based materials. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the method of making chickpea probiotic, as taught by Zhang in the method of Margolis because Zhang provides that it was known for the above method of making chickpea probiotic was used and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the disclosed method of making chickpea probiotic to produce the probiotic chickpeas in the modified method of Margolis, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
The modified method of Margolis does not teach the chickpeas are boiled instead of soaked.
Tori Avey teaches a quick soak method for chickpeas, which may replace soaking chickpeas overnight, comprising the steps of:
- Placing chickpeas into the bottom of a large pot and covering with water (p. 3, paragraph 3);
- Bringing the chickpeas to a boil and boiling for 5 minutes (p. 4, paragraph 1); then
- Removing the chickpeas from heat, then allowing the beans soak in the hot water for 1 hour (p. 4, paragraph 2).
Margolis and Tori Avey are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, processing plant-based materials. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the method of quick soaking the chickpeas instead of soaking the chickpeas, as taught by Tori Avey in the modified method of Margolis because Tori Avey provides that it was known for the above method of soaking chickpeas was used and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the disclosed method of soaking chickpeas to produce the soaked chickpeas in the modified method of Margolis, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
While the modified method of Margolis is silent regarding the volume of water boiled and the number of chickpeas boiled in the water, Tori Avey teaches the water must cover the chickpeas in order for them to quick soak (p. 3, paragraph 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected 200 mL of water to cover 15 to 20 chickpeas. While the modified method of Margolis is silent with the number of chickpeas needed for the present method, MPEP § 2144.04.IV.A states “mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled”. In this case, the scaling of the number of chickpeas and the water which covers it for quick soaking does not make patentable the instant invention absent unexpected results. Therefore, the combination of 200 mL of water and 15 to 20 chickpeas is rendered obvious by Tori Avey.
The modified method of Margolis does not teach adding salt during the inoculation step (i.e., adding chickpeas into water, and obtaining mixture, wherein the mixture is incubated between 40 and 45 °C to obtain chickpea ferment).
Tori Avey teaches adding salt, if desired, about 1/4 teaspoon of salt per 2 quarts of water/2 cups of soaked beans, after soaking (p. 5, paragraph 2).
Therefore, while the modified method of Margolis does not teach adding salt during the inoculation (i.e., adding chickpeas into water, and obtaining mixture, wherein the mixture is incubated between 40 and 45 °C to obtain chickpea ferment), MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C states selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C also states the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added salt, as taught by Tori Avey, during the inoculation (i.e., adding chickpeas into water, and obtaining mixture, wherein the mixture is incubated between 40 and 45 °C to obtain chickpea ferment).
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach adding the nutrient liquid comprising water to the chickpeas after boiling, MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C states selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C also states the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the nutrient liquid to the chickpeas (i.e., adding the chickpeas into water and obtaining mixture) after boiling.
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach the hazelnut milk is brought to the fermentation temperature before mixing with the chickpeas, MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C states selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C also states the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have brought he hazelnut milk to the fermentation temperature of temperature of 105° F (40.5 °C) prior to combining with the chickpea yogurt starter.
The modified method of Margolis does not teach the proportion of chickpea ferment to hazelnut milk added to produce a yogurt.
The Pioneer Woman investigates what ratio of yogurt to milk produces the best yogurt results. The Pioneer Woman made a batch of yogurt with 1 tablespoon of yogurt per 2 cups of milk, and another batch with 2 tablespoons of yogurt (p. 12, paragraph 1). The Pioneer Woman teaches the yogurt made with only 1 tablespoon of yogurt was slightly more runny and milder (p. 12, paragraph 1). Therefore, the ratio of yogurt starter (i.e., chickpea ferment) to milk (i.e., hazelnut milk) has a predictable effect on the final yogurt texture and flavor, and as such, the ratio of yogurt starter (i.e., chickpea ferment) to milk (i.e., hazelnut milk) is a result-effective variable.
While modified method of Margolis does not teach the chickpea ferment/hazelnut milk proportion is a value between 0.01/1 and 0.05/1 mL/mL by volume, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the proportion of yogurt starter (i.e., chickpea ferment) to milk (i.e., hazelnut milk) during routine optimization to find the yogurt with the desired texture and flavor. MPEP §2144.05(II) states where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The claimed chickpea ferment/hazelnut milk proportion, 0.01/1 and 0.05/1 mL/mL by volume, would thus be obvious.
iii) Obtaining the hazelnut yoghurts as a result of fermenting of the hazelnut milks, obtained in step i), by the chickpea ferments obtained in step ii)
Margolis teaches fermenting a mixture of hazelnut milk; yogurt cultures; and an effective amount of soluble fiber to obtain a yogurt (i.e., obtaining the hazelnut yoghurts as a result of fermenting of the hazelnut milks, obtained in step i), by the chickpea ferments obtained in step ii) – [0016]; [0023]; [0024]). Margolis teaches
- combining the hazelnut milk and yogurt culture (i.e., adding the yoghurt ferment, obtained in step ii), into the hazelnut milks obtained in step i), wherein during the adding process, the yoghurt ferment and the hazelnut milks have temperature values between 40 and 45°C – [0059]),
- carrying out a fermentation at a temperature of 105° F (40.5 °C) for the length of time necessary for the cultured mass to reach a pH of 4.6 (i.e., yoghurt fermenting process is realized, is waited at an incubation temperature, the temperature of the waiting process has temperature values between 40 and 45°C – [0059]).
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach adding hazelnut milk to the chickpea and hazelnut milk yogurt produced in step ii) above, MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C states selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C also states the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added more hazelnut milk to the yogurt produced by step ii) because Margolis provides combining hazelnut milk and yogurt culture produces more yogurt, and the duplication of steps is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results.
Margolis does not teach cooling the hazelnut yogurt at 4 °C.
Healthline teaches yogurt can be stored safely in the refrigerator in a closed container at 40°F (4°C) for 1–2 weeks (p. 2, paragraph 1).
Margolis and Healthline are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, handling yogurt. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cool the yogurt of the modified method of Margolis to 4 °C for storage, as taught by Healthline because cooling the hazelnut yogurt to 4 °C for storage ensures it is safe to consume for 1 – 2 weeks.
While Margolis is silent with respect to whether the yogurt has a long shelf lifetime without deteriorating purity, taste, odor and color, Margolis teaches the yogurt has a nice and creamy texture, and pleasant taste ([0061]; [0076]). Given the term “long” is a subjective term, any shelf lifetime without deteriorating purity, taste, odor and color may be considered long. In this case, the fact that the yogurt of Margolis has a pleasant texture and taste indicates is has a long shelf lifetime without deteriorating purity, taste, odor, and color.
In summary, by applying the obvious modifications as described above to the method of Margolis, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the following method before the effective filing date of the instant invention:
A method of preparing a food product (i.e., a production method for hazelnut yoghurt – Abstract), wherein the food product does not require the addition of lactose (i.e., the hazelnut yoghurt does not comprise any animal products – [0015]), and is absent of animal taste or odor, and has a high nutrient value and long shelf lifetime, wherein the method comprises:
i) Obtaining hazelnut milk from hazelnuts
- washing the hazelnuts prior to use to remove any contaminants on the surface which would make a non-dairy milk unsafe or unpalatable (i.e., applying pre-cleaning processes for providing separation of galls and rotten to obtain cleaned hazelnuts – [0057]),
- blanching, then submerging the hazelnuts in cold water at 5°C or 10 °C (i.e., adding the cleaned hazelnuts into water at a temperature between 5 and 15 °C, and waiting to obtain wet hazelnut particles – [0057]; [0058]),
- blending the hazelnuts by placing them in a blender (i.e., mixer device), adding clean, fresh water, then blending (i.e., taking the wet hazelnut particles, removed from water, into mixer, grinder, or stirrer devices and after adding water, fragmenting of the hazelnuts by means of the mixer, grinder, or stirrer devices, wherein the hazelnut/water proportion is configured to be ½ and ¼ grams/ml by volume – ([0061]),
- filtering the blended hazelnuts through a milk cloth to remove the undesirable solids (i.e., passing the fragmented hazelnuts from milk cloth and obtaining hazelnut milk – [0066]), and
- pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]),
ii) Obtaining herbal ferments from chickpeas and obtaining yoghurt ferment
- bringing 15 to 20 chickpeas to a boil in 200 mL of water, and boiling for 5 minutes, then removing the chickpeas from heat and allowing the beans soak in the hot water for 1 hour (i.e., boiling water with scale of at most 200 mL for the chickpeas between 15 and 20 in number and cooling),
- adding a nutrient liquid comprising water and salt to the chickpeas and inoculating a second time by lactic acid amine, microzyme and bacillus natto, then fermenting a second time wherein the culture temperature is 35 to 42 degrees centigrade, and the fermentation time is 18 to 36h (i.e., adding the chickpeas into water, adding salt and obtaining mixture, wherein the mixture is incubated at a temperature between 40 and 45ºC to obtain chickpea ferment),
- bringing the hazelnut milk, obtained in step i), to fermenting temperature, wherein the fermenting temperature is a temperature value between 40 and 45ºC,
- combining the hazelnut milk and yogurt culture in a proportion of 0.01/1 and 0.05/1 mL/mL by volume, then fermenting at a temperature of 105° F (40.5 °C) for the length of time necessary for the cultured mass to reach a pH of 4.6 (i.e., after the incubation process, the chickpea ferment is added into the hazelnut milk brought to the fermenting temperature and yoghurt ferment is obtained, wherein a chickpea ferment/hazelnut milk proportion is a value between 0.01/1 and 0.05/1 mL/mL by volume),
iii) Obtaining the hazelnut yoghurts as a result of fermenting of the hazelnut milks, obtained in step i), by the chickpea ferments obtained in step ii)
- combining the hazelnut milk and yogurt culture (i.e., adding the yoghurt ferment, obtained in step ii), into the hazelnut milks obtained in step i), wherein during the adding process, the yoghurt ferment and the hazelnut milks have temperature values between 40 and 45°C),
- carrying out a fermentation at a temperature of 105° F (40.5 °C) for the length of time necessary for the cultured mass to reach a pH of 4.6 (i.e., yoghurt fermenting process is realized, is waited at an incubation temperature, the temperature of the waiting process has temperature values between 40 and 45°C),
- cooling the hazelnut yogurt at 4 °C.
Regarding claim 3, Brown teaches the nuts or seeds can be hydrated, for example by immersion in water at a constant cool temperature for 24 hours ([0059]).
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach the hazelnuts are held in the post-blanching water at a temperature between 5 and 15 °C for 24 hours, MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C states selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C also states the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have held the hazelnuts in the post-blanching water at a temperature between 5 and 15 °C for 24 hours to hydrate the hazelnuts in water at a constant cool temperature.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, IDRO teaches the monofilament mesh filter bag (i.e., milk cloth) has a size of 30 microns (p. 1, Micro rating).
Regarding claim 6, Brown teaches pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F (73.3 – 75 °C) for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified method of Margolis does not teach adding between 1 and 1.5 grams of salt during the chickpea incubation step.
Tori Avey teaches you may like more salt to taste, or none at all to keep them "au naturel” (p. 5, paragraph 2).
Therefore, while Tori Avey does not teach the precisely claimed amount of salt, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of salt added during the secondary inoculation during routine optimization to find the chickpea ferment with the desired flavor. MPEP §2144.05(II) states where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The claimed salt amount added during the chickpea incubation step, between 1 and 1.5 grams, would thus be obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the fermentation time is 18 to 36h ([0016]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified method of Margolis does not teach the incubation of step iii) occurs for 12h.
The Pioneer Woman investigates how much faster yogurt would “set” if placed in a crockpot rather than just letting it sit on the counter. The Pioneer Woman teaches the jar in the crock pot began to set in about 4 hours, and was fully set in 6 hours (p. 11, paragraph 1). The Pioneer Woman teaches the jar on the counter took about 24-36 hours to fully set (p. 11, paragraph 1). The Pioneer Woman found that the yogurt made in the crockpot was thicker and more tart, so if you prefer a milder yogurt, you might consider a longer incubation time (p. 11, paragraph 2). Therefore, the fermentation time has a predictable effect on the final yogurt flavor, and as such, the yogurt fermentation time is a result-effective variable.
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach the incubation of step iii) occurs for at least 12h, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the incubation time in step iii) during routine optimization to find the yogurt with the desired flavor. MPEP §2144.05(II) states where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The claimed incubation time in step iii), at least 12h, would thus be obvious.
Regarding claim 16, IDRO teaches the monofilament mesh filter bag (i.e., milk cloth) has a size of 30 microns (p. 1, Micro rating).
Regarding claim 18, Brown teaches pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F (73.3 – 75 °C) for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]).
Regarding claim 19, Brown teaches pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F (73.3 – 75 °C) for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]).
Regarding claim 20, Brown teaches pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F (73.3 – 75 °C) for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]).
Claims 2, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margolis et al. (US 20190274324 A1 – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024) in view of Brown et al. (2013010037 A1 – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024), IDRO (30-33-42-50-52-55-60-75 micron(µm) NMO Monofilament Nylon Mesh Filter Bags. IDRO Filter Workshop. (2020). Retrieved from: https://www.filterworkshop.com/products/30-33-42-50-52-55-60-75-micronm-nmo-monofilament-nylon-mesh-filter-bags), Free Your Fork (How to Make Hazelnut Milk. Free your Fork. (July 24, 2019). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20190724041441/https://www.freeyourfork.com/how-to-make-hazelnut-milk/), Natural Home Remedies (Use CHICKPEAS as a STARTER to Make Thick Creamy Indian Dahi / Yogurt, 2020, Retrieved from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POehRwRwetE – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024), Zhang et al. (CN 102613381 A – Clarivate Machine Translation), Tori Avey (How to soak and cook chickpeas. Tori Avey. (July 28, 2017). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20170728192310/http://toriavey.com/how-to/2012/10/how-to-soak-and-cook-chickpeas), The Pioneer Woman (How to Make Yogurt – and Greek Yogurt! The Pioneer Woman (2017). Retrieved from: https://www.thepioneerwoman.com/food-cooking/cooking-tips-tutorials/a93141/how-to-make-yogurt-and-greek-yogurt/), and Healthline (Can You Freeze Yogurt? Healthline. (July 3, 2021). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20210703203254/https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/can-you-freeze-yogurt), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muehlbauer (Choosing Plants for a Hazelnut Orchard in New Jersey. Rutgers New Jersey Experiment Station. (2021). Retrieved from: https://njaes.rutgers.edu/e368/).
Regarding claim 2, the modified method of Margolis does not teach the diameters of the hazelnut kernels.
Muehlbauer teaches certain hazelnut strains, such as the European hazelnut, naturally have a kernel diameter of 11 – 13 mm (p. 6, paragraph 3).
Margolis and Muehlbauer are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely, hazelnut processing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected European hazelnuts as the hazelnuts from which to make hazelnut milk, as taught by Muehlbauer, in the method of Margolis because Muehlbauer provides that it was known for European hazelnuts, which have a diameter of 11 – 13 mm, to be successfully used and published as a hazelnut at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the European hazelnut in the method of Margolis, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
The range of European hazelnut diameters, 11 – 13 mm, as disclosed by Muehlbauer, overlaps with the claimed range of 10 – 12 mm. MPEP § 2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 14, Brown teaches the nuts or seeds can be hydrated, for example by immersion in water at a constant cool temperature for 24 hours ([0059]).
While the modified method of Margolis does not teach the hazelnuts are held in the post-blanching water at a temperature between 5 and 15 °C for 24 hours, MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C states selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C also states the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have held the hazelnuts in the post-blanching water at a temperature between 5 and 15 °C for 24 hours to hydrate the hazelnuts in water at a constant cool temperature.
Regarding claim 15, IDRO teaches the monofilament mesh filter bag (i.e., milk cloth) has a size of 30 microns (p. 1, Micro rating).
Regarding claim 17, Brown teaches pasteurizing the hazelnut milk at 164 – 167 °F (73.3 – 75 °C) for 16 seconds (i.e., applying thermal processes to the hazelnut milk separated from the filter – [0070]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margolis et al. (US 20190274324 A1 – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024) in view of Brown et al. (2013010037 A1 – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024), IDRO (30-33-42-50-52-55-60-75 micron(µm) NMO Monofilament Nylon Mesh Filter Bags. IDRO Filter Workshop. (2020). Retrieved from: https://www.filterworkshop.com/products/30-33-42-50-52-55-60-75-micronm-nmo-monofilament-nylon-mesh-filter-bags), Free Your Fork (How to Make Hazelnut Milk. Free your Fork. (July 24, 2019). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20190724041441/https://www.freeyourfork.com/how-to-make-hazelnut-milk/), Natural Home Remedies (Use CHICKPEAS as a STARTER to Make Thick Creamy Indian Dahi / Yogurt, 2020, Retrieved from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POehRwRwetE – IDS Filed on January 31, 2024), Zhang et al. (CN 102613381 A – Clarivate Machine Translation), Tori Avey (How to soak and cook chickpeas. Tori Avey. (July 28, 2017). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20170728192310/http://toriavey.com/how-to/2012/10/how-to-soak-and-cook-chickpeas), The Pioneer Woman (How to Make Yogurt – and Greek Yogurt! The Pioneer Woman (2017). Retrieved from: https://www.thepioneerwoman.com/food-cooking/cooking-tips-tutorials/a93141/how-to-make-yogurt-and-greek-yogurt/), and Healthline (Can You Freeze Yogurt? Healthline. (July 3, 2021). Retrieved from Wayback Machine Archive - https://web.archive.org/web/20210703203254/https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/can-you-freeze-yogurt), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andersen et al. (Thermal Treatment. In: Food Safety Management - A Practical Guide for the Food Industry (1st Edition). Elsevier. (2014)).
Regarding claim 7, the modified method of Margolis does not teach pasteurizing the hazelnut milk between 80 and 85 °C (i.e., the thermal process is realized at a fixed temperature between 80ºC and 85°C).
Andersen teaches the general objective of pasteurization is to extend product shelf-life by inactivating all non-spore-forming pathogenic bacteria and the majority of vegetative spoilage microorganisms, as well as inhibiting or stopping microbial and enzyme activity (p. 435, paragraph 3). Andersen teaches rapid, high or flash pasteurization uses pasteurization temperatures of about 85 to 90°C or more for a time only in the order of seconds (p. 435, paragraph 4). Andersen teaches typical temperature–time combinations can be 88°C (190°F) for 1 minute; 100°C for 12 seconds; 121°C for 2 seconds (p. 435, paragraph 4). Andersen teaches since heating applied to destroy microorganisms may also exert adverse effects on the quality of foods, in practice a minimum possible heat treatment is to be used that can guarantee destruction of pathogens and toxins and give the desired storage life, but also retain the characteristic organoleptic properties of food products (p. 437 paragraph 2). By adjusting the time and temperature of pasteurization, the degree of inactivation of heat-resistant pathogens is changed. Therefore, the time and temperature of pasteurization are result effective variables.
Therefore, while the modified method of Margolis does not teach the precisely claimed pasteurization (i.e., thermal process) temperature, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the pasteurization (i.e., thermal process) temperature during routine optimization to find the hazelnut milk with the desired degree of pathogen deactivation while maintaining quality. MPEP §2144.05(II) states where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The claimed thermal process temperature of the hazelnut milk, 80 and 85 °C, would thus be obvious.
Regarding claim 8, the modified method of Margolis does not teach pasteurizing the hazelnut milk between 8 and 10 minutes (i.e., the thermal process is realized for duration between 8 and 10 minutes).
Andersen teaches the general objective of pasteurization is to extend product shelf-life by inactivating all non-spore-forming pathogenic bacteria and the majority of vegetative spoilage microorganisms, as well as inhibiting or stopping microbial and enzyme activity (p. 435, paragraph 3). Andersen teaches rapid, high or flash pasteurization uses pasteurization temperatures of about 85 to 90°C or more for a time only in the order of seconds (p. 435, paragraph 4). Andersen teaches typical temperature–time combinations can be 88°C (190°F) for 1 minute; 100°C for 12 seconds; 121°C for 2 seconds (p. 435, paragraph 4). Andersen teaches since heating applied to destroy microorganisms may also exert adverse effects on the quality of foods, in practice a minimum possible heat treatment is to be used that can guarantee destruction of pathogens and toxins and give the desired storage life, but also retain the characteristic organoleptic properties of food products (p. 437 paragraph 2). By adjusting the time and temperature of pasteurization, the degree of inactivation of heat-resistant pathogens is changed. Therefore, the time and temperature of pasteurization are result effective variables.
Therefore, while the modified method of Margolis does not teach the precisely claimed pasteurization (i.e., thermal process) time, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the pasteurization (i.e., thermal process) time during routine optimization to find the hazelnut milk with the desired degree of pathogen deactivation while maintaining quality. MPEP §2144.05(II) states where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The claimed thermal process time of the hazelnut milk, 8 and 10 minutes, would thus be obvious.
In summary, the claims are merely recipes for making food, which do not amount to a novel invention because all the claimed ingredients were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the ingredients as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
The prior art included each element claimed although not necessarily in a single reference, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods of making nutritional foods, and in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Further, a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to achieve a predictable result is prima facie obvious. See KSR Int'l Inc. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S Ct. 1727, 1741, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Further, the claims are toward a formula/recipe for making a nutritional food composition that uses common ingredients, and does not amount to invention in the constantly developing art of preparing food because there is no specific showing that establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected and useful function. It is long and commonly known that the object of for people of skill for cooking (e.g. cooks, chefs, and bakers) is to use or eliminate common ingredients to formulate food that is palatable. Such an act, the formulation or creation a food recipe, is not patentable because it does not make a scientific advancement in the field unless a new/novel reaction, coaction or cooperative relationship is made evident by such a creation. In other words, the act of making food or food recipes that taste good, even if the combination of the ingredients is not known or has not been done before, is not patentable subject just because it was done.
Further, attention is invited to In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 and the cases cited therein, which are considered in point in fact situation of this specific instant case.
At page 234, the Court stated as follows: This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention, merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected and useful function.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The prior art included each element claimed although not necessarily in a single reference, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known (insert type of method i.e. etching) methods, and in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further, a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to achieve a predictable result is prima facie obvious. See KSR Int'l Inc. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S Ct. 1727, 1741, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/L.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793