DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 16, 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ahmad (US20190349951A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses a method of wireless communication (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4, remote WTRU can be equated to UE, par 0102) from a base station (BS) (Fig. 4, network entity (base station), par 0081, 0102), a first information set (discovery filters or ProSe solicitation codes, par 0102) associated with a candidate cooperative UE (see, Fig. 4, remote WTRU receives from network entity the allocation information of discovery filters or ProSe solicitation codes used by remote WTRU for Model A or Model B discovery scenario with relay WTRU, par 0099-0100, 0102. Noted, relay WTRU can be equated to candidate cooperative UE, par 0100);
discovering, by the UE (remote WTRU can be equated to UE, par 0100), the candidate cooperative UE (relay WTRU can be equated to candidate cooperative UE, par 0100) based on the first information set (see, remote WTRU applies discovery filters for Model A discovery scenario and ProSe solicitation codes in Model B discovery scenario with relay WTRU, par 0100);
connecting, by the UE (Fig. 5, remote WTRU can be equated to UE, par 0103) to the candidate cooperative UE (see, Fig. 5, remote WTRU establishes connection with relay UE through connection request message, par 0103. Noted, relay WTRU can be equated to candidate cooperative UE, par 0103); and
communicating, by the UE (Fig. 3, remote WTRU can be equated to UE, par 0074) with the BS (Fig. 3, BS can be equated to BS, par 0074), through the candidate cooperative UE (see, Fig. 3, remote WTRU communicates Data and/or control signaling with BS through relay WTRU, par 0074. Noted, relay WTRU can be equated to candidate cooperative UE, par 0074).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074), further comprising:
communicating, by the UE (Fig. 4, remote WTRU can be equated to UE, par 0084) to the BS (Fig. 4, network entity (base station), par 0081, 0084), a request (Fig. 4, discovery request message can be equated to request, par 0084) for the first information set (see, Fig. 4, remote WTRU sends discovery request message to network entity for discovery response including discovery filters or ProSe solicitation codes, par 0084, 0102), wherein the receiving of the first information set is in response to the request (see, Fig. 4, remote WTRU receives discovery filters or ProSe solicitation codes in discovery response message in response to discovery request message, par 0102).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074), further comprising:
communicating, by the UE (Fig. 4, remote WTRU can be equated to UE, par 0084) to the BS (Fig. 4, network entity can be equated to BS, par 0084), a second information set (information of network slices can be equated to second information set, par 0084) associated with the UE (see, Fig. 4, remote WTRU sends network entity the discovery request message including information of network slices UE wants to access through a relay WTRU, par 0084).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses the method of claim 7 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074), wherein the second information set (multiple solicitation codes per network slice of multiple network slices in discovery response from network entity to remote WTRU can be equated to second information set, par 0099) comprises a same type of information as the first information set (see, remote WTRU sends network entity the discovery request message including information of network slices UE wants to access through a relay WTRU, and network entity response with multiple solicitation codes per network slice of multiple network slices in discovery response, par 0099. Noted, both discovery request and response comprises configuration information of network slices (through relay UE), par 0099).
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Claim 16 encompass limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 1, except
a transceiver configured to;
and a processor configured to.
Ahmad’951 discloses
a transceiver configured to (see, Fig. 1B, transceiver of WTRU, par 0029);
and a processor configured to (see, Fig. 1B, processor of WTRU, par 0029).
Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Claim 20 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 22 (Original), Claim 22 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Claim 23 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10, 12, 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Wei et al (US20230309004A1, Priority Date: Aug 5, 2021).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Wei’004 discloses a method of wireless communication (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082), comprising:
receiving, by a base station (BS) from a candidate cooperative user equipment (UE) (relay UE can be equated to candidate cooperative UE, par 0142), a first information set (provided services (application ID), par 0142) associated with the candidate cooperative UE (see, BS receives from relay UE the services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) that relay UE provided, par 0135, 0142);
communicating, by the BS to a target UE (remote UE can be equated to target UE, par 0148), at least a portion of the first information set (see, remote UE receives application mask (pattern indicates available service) from base station, par 0148. Noted, available service through relay is portion of the provided services and can be equated to portion of the first information set, par 0142-0148); and
receiving, by the BS from the target UE (remote UE can be equated to target UE, par 0195), a cooperative UE update request (notification that no relay can support service required by remote UE (and thus relay UE update request), par 0195) based on the at least a portion (see, remote UE receives application mask (pattern indicates available service) from base station can be equated to portion of the first information set, par 0148. Noted, available service through relay is portion of the provided services and can be equated to portion of the first information set, par 0142-0148) of the first information set (see, BS receives notification that no relay can support service required by remote UE (and thus relay UE update request) determined by application mask (pattern indicates available service) from base station, par 0148,0195).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 9 (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082), wherein the first information set (see, supported services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) by relay UE, par 0135, 0142) comprises at least one of:
UE capability information of the candidate cooperative UE (see, supported services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) by relay UE, par 0135, 0142), UE availability information of the candidate cooperative UE, UE link status information of the candidate cooperative UE, or UE configuration information of the candidate cooperative UE.
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 9 (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082), wherein the communicating comprising broadcasting by the BS (see, BS broadcasts remote UE the reserved resources of supported required services, par 0121-0122. Noted, supported services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) by relay UE can be equated to first information set, par 0135, 0142. Noted further, BS schedule transmissions on the sidelink, par 0121).
Regarding claim 24 (Original), Claim 24 encompass limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 9, except
a transceiver configured to.
Wei’004 discloses
a transceiver configured to (see, Fig. 3, wireless transmitter and wireless receiver, par 0042).
Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 25 (Original), Claim 25 recites a BS performing the steps recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 27 (Original), Claim 27 recites a BS performing the steps recited in claim 12 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 12
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad’951 in view of Wei’004.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074).
Ahmad’951 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first information set comprises at least one of:
UE capability information of the candidate cooperative UE, UE availability information of the candidate cooperative UE, UE link status information of the candidate cooperative UE, or UE configuration information of the candidate cooperative UE.
However Wei’004 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station, par 0048, 0082) discloses:
wherein the first information set (see, supported services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) by relay UE, par 0135, 0142) comprises at least one of:
UE capability information of the candidate cooperative UE (see, supported services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) by relay UE, par 0135, 0142), UE availability information of the candidate cooperative UE, UE link status information of the candidate cooperative UE, or UE configuration information of the candidate cooperative UE.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wei’004 into that of Ahmad’951. The motivation would have been to solve the issue when current relay can’t support a service or slice for the terminal (par 0193).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074).
Ahmad’951 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the receiving is from a broadcast signal by the BS.
However Wei’004 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station, par 0048, 0082) discloses: wherein the receiving is from a broadcast signal by the BS (see, BS broadcasts remote UE the reserved resources of supported required services, par 0121-0122, 0157. Noted, supported services (application ID/S-NSSAIs) by relay UE can be equated to first information set, par 0135, 0142).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wei’004 into that of Ahmad’951. The motivation would have been to solve the issue when current relay can’t support a service or slice for the terminal (par 0193).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Ahmad’951 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074), wherein.
Ahmad’951 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
the BS comprises a first BS and a second BS, and
the receiving is from the first BS and the communicating is with the second BS.
However Wei’004 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station, par 0048, 0082) discloses:
the BS comprises a first BS and a second BS (see, serving BS and target BS for handover, par 0195), and
the receiving is from the first BS (remote UE receives application mask (pattern indicates service) from serving BS (originally from ProSe function), par 0148) and the communicating is with the second BS (see, remote UE receives application mask (pattern indicates service) from serving BS (originally from ProSe function) and remote UE handover to target BS if remote UE can’t find a relay to support its required service, par 0148, 0195-0196. Noted, target BS can be equated to second BS, par 0195).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wei’004 into that of Ahmad’951. The motivation would have been to solve the issue when current relay can’t support a service or slice for the terminal (par 0193).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Claim 17 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Claim 19 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 21 (Original), Claim 21 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad’951 in view of Wei’004 as applied to claims 2 and 17 respectively above, and further in view of Xu et al (US20190174411A1).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Ahmad’951 modified by Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074).
The combination of Ahmad’951 and Wei’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the UE availability information comprises discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the candidate cooperative UE.
However Xu’411 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 5, SL-DRX configuration for relay node and remote node configured by network control terminal (base station), par 0041, 0057) discloses: wherein the UE availability information (SL-DRX including timers can be equated to UE availability information, par 0046) comprises discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the candidate cooperative UE (see, remote node receives configured SL-DRX for relay node from network control terminal (base station), par 0041, 0045, 0057. Noted, Fig. 4, relay node performs relay transmission during DRX active cycle between network node and remote node and thus available, par 0007, 0049)
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Xu’411 into that of Ahmad’951 modified by Wei’004. The motivation would have been to relay transmission between the network node and the one or more other network nodes (par 0007).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Claim 18 recites a UE performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Claims 11 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei’004 in view of Xu’411.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 10 (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082),
Wei’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the UE availability information comprises discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the candidate cooperative UE.
However Xu’411 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 5, SL-DRX configuration for relay node and remote node configured by network control terminal (base station), par 0041, 0057) discloses: wherein the UE availability information (SL-DRX including timers can be equated to UE availability information, par 0046) comprises discontinuous reception (DRX) information of the candidate cooperative UE (see, remote node receives configured SL-DRX for relay node from network control terminal (base station), par 0041, 0045, 0057. Noted, Fig. 4, relay node performs relay transmission during DRX active cycle between network node and remote node and thus available, par 0007, 0049)
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Xu’411 into that of Wei’004. The motivation would have been to relay transmission between the network node and the one or more other network nodes (par 0007).
Regarding claim 26 (Original), Claim 26 recites a BS performing the steps recited in claim 11 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 11
Claims 13-15 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei’004 in view of Ahmad’951.
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 9 (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082), further comprising.
Wei’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receiving, from the target UE, a request for at least a portion of the first information set, wherein the communicating is in response to the request.
However Ahmad’951 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074) discloses:
receiving, from the target UE (Fig. 4, remote WTRU can be equated to target UE, par 0084), a request (Fig. 4, discovery request message can be equated to request, par 0084) for at least a portion of the first information set (see, Fig. 4, remote WTRU sends discovery request message to network entity for discovery response including discovery filters or ProSe solicitation codes, par 0084, 0102), wherein the communicating is in response to the request (see, Fig. 4, remote WTRU receives discovery filters or ProSe solicitation codes in discovery response message in response to discovery request message, par 0102).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ahmad’951 into that of Wei’004. The motivation would have been to establish connection between a remote WTRU and a relay WTRU (par 0003).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 9 (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082), further comprising.
Wei’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receiving, by the BS from the target UE, a second information set associated with the target UE.
However Ahmad’951 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074) discloses: receiving, by the BS (Fig. 4, network entity can be equated to BS, par 0084) from the target UE (Fig. 4, remote WTRU can be equated to target UE, par 0084), a second information set (information of network slices can be equated to second information set, par 0084) associated with the target UE (see, Fig. 4, network entity receives from remote WTRU the discovery request message including information of network slices UE wants to access through a relay WTRU, par 0084).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ahmad’951 into that of Wei’004. The motivation would have been to establish connection between a remote WTRU and a relay WTRU (par 0003).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Wei’004 discloses the method of claim 14 (see, Fig. 4, relay UE acting as relay node between UEs and base station in wireless communication network, par 0048, 0082), further comprising.
Wei’004 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the second information set comprises the same type of information as the first information set.
However Ahmad’951 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, relay WTRU relays data and/or control signaling between remote WTRU and the base station, par 0074) discloses: wherein the second information set (multiple solicitation codes per network slice of multiple network slices in discovery response from network entity to remote WTRU can be equated to second information set, par 0099) comprises the same type of information as the first information set (see, remote WTRU sends network entity the discovery request message including information of network slices UE wants to access through a relay WTRU, and network entity response with multiple solicitation codes per network slice of multiple network slices in discovery response, par 0099. Noted, both discovery request and response comprises configuration information of network slices (through relay UE), par 0099).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ahmad’951 into that of Wei’004. The motivation would have been to establish connection between a remote WTRU and a relay WTRU (par 0003).
Regarding claim 28 (Original), Claim 28 recites a BS performing the steps recited in claim 13 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 13.
Regarding claim 29 (Original), Claim 29 recites a BS performing the steps recited in claim 14 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 30 (Original), Claim 30 recites a BS performing the steps recited in claim 15 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aminaka et al (US20180049260A1) discloses: when a relay service is activated, relay UE 204 and remote UE 206 may provide their sidelink capabilities to base station 202, for example, through dedicated signaling (e.g., sidelinkUEinformation). The sidelink capability information may include: (1) frequency band(s) in which a UE can operate; (2) role of the UE (e.g., relay UE or remote UE); (3) ID of the requested relay network slice. Based on a request of the ID of relay network slice coming from the UE, the CN may find the target network function on the CN/RAN/relay UE/remote UE of the “relay network slice” and help the remote UE/relay UE connect with the CN part of the relay network slice (par 0040) ; switch from the pre-configured radio parameter to the radio parameter specified by the eNodeB 31 may be performed in accordance with an instruction from the eNodeB 31 or another network node (par 0089).
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473