DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-X is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winzer (Publication No.: US 2023/0176304 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Winzer teaches An optical device comprising: a host device (reference numeral 12500 in Figure 126A) having an optical engine (e.g. “CPO Module” as illustrated in Figure 125B, Figure 126A) and an internal optical connector (e.g. the optical connector on the face of “CPO Module” as illustrated in Figure 125B, 126A; e.g. the internal connectors as illustrated in Figures 62, 63) optically connected to the optical engine via one or more internal fibers; and an optical fiber module (reference numeral 12502 in Figure 125B, 126A) attached to and detached from the host device, wherein the optical fiber module includes: a housing having a first surface (reference numeral 12406 in Figure 125B, reference numeral 12506 in Figure 126A) exposed in a state of being attached to the host device and a second surface (e.g. the surface of reference numeral 12386 to which reference numeral 12408 is connected as illustrated in Figure 125B and/or the surface of reference numeral 12502 to which reference numeral 12504 is connected as illustrated in Figure 126A) facing an opposite side of the first surface; at least one first optical connector (reference numeral 12406 in Figure 125B; reference numeral 12506 in Figure 126A; reference numeral 868a in Figure 43) provided on the first surface; a second optical connector (reference numeral 868b, 868c in Figure 43; reference numeral 1012 in Figure 62, 63) provided on the second surface and capable of being optically connected to the internal optical connector (e.g. the optical connector on the face of “CPO Module” as illustrated in Figure 125B, 126A, 62, 63); and first optical fibers (reference numeral 12508 in Figure 126A) optically connecting the first optical connector and the second optical connector to each other, and the number of first optical fibers being the same as the number of internal fibers (e.g. as illustrated in Figures 62, 63; matching “matrix of fibers” as in paragraph [0672]; e.g. “nested fiber optic cable” and/or “MTP/MPO (Multi-fiber Termination Push-on/Multi-fiber Push On) compatible” as in paragraph [0691]).
Regarding claim 2, Winzer teaches The optical device according to claim 1, wherein the optical device includes a light source module (reference numeral 12800 in Figure 128) , and wherein the optical device includes at least one supply optical fiber optically (reference numeral 12802 in Figure 28) connecting the optical engine and the light source module to each other and supplying light from the light source module to the optical engine.
Regarding claim 3, Winzer teaches The optical device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one supply optical fiber includes a polarization maintaining fiber (e.g. “polarization maintaining fiber” as in paragraph [0998]).
Regarding claim 4, Winzer teaches The optical device according to claim 1, wherein the optical fiber module includes an optical multiplexer/demultiplexer multiplexing and demultiplexing light passing through the first optical fiber (e.g. “multiplexing unit” as in paragraph [0459] and throughout).
Regarding claim 5, Winzer teaches The optical device according to claim 1,wherein the optical fiber module includes a plurality of the first optical connectors (reference numeral 12506, 12508 in Figure 126A) .
Regarding claim 6, Winzer teaches The optical device according to claim1, wherein the optical fiber module includes a plurality of the second optical connectors (reference numeral 12506, 12508 in Figure 126A).
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635