DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities, and should be:
“…the non-metalloid elements include elements from a group of:
“hydrogen, helium, nitrogen, oxygen, fluorine, neon, chlorine, argon, krypton, xenon, radon, bromine, carbon, phosphorous, sulfur, selenium, and iodine; and wherein the
“boron, silicon, germanium, arsenic, antimony, and tellurium.
(the claimed elements have been transposed between the correct groupings)
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “in order to the surface modifications” appears to be missing a word after “in order to”.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 26 is missing a period at the end of the sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 26, the limitation “the surface modification is performed on existing quartz crystals” does not further limit claim 15 because the quartz crystal is positively claimed in claim 11 (from which claims 14, 15, and 26 depend), and therefore the quartz crystal must already be an “existing quartz crystal” (making it unclear how claim 26 adds a further limitation).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13, 16-17, 19, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rinzan et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0176291).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 16, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) a method for fabricating (see pars. [0005] and [0029]) a Quartz Crystal Microbalance (QCM) sensor 40 [0025] used for monitoring semiconductor processes (see pars. [0025] and [0028]), comprising the steps of:
providing a quartz crystal 40 configured to measure a mass deposited on a surface of the quartz crystal (see pars. [0006] and [0034]), the mass difference registered as a consequence of a change in resonance frequency of the quartz crystal (see pars. [0006] and [0034]);
modifying the surface of the quartz crystal (by adding/modifying a getter: see pars. [0029]-[0032]);
wherein the step of modifying the surface increases a quantity of surface defects for rapid capturing of mass (i.e. the addition/modification/refreshing of the getter increases the quantity of surface defects for rapid capturing of mass: see pars. [0029]-[0032] and [0085]), thereby augmenting a registration response of the QCM sensor (i.e. the addition/modification/refreshing of the getter improves the detection of an air leak: [0034]) when exchanging a consumed QCM sensor in-situ in the semiconductor manufacturing processes (see pars. [0096]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 16, Rinzan further discloses increasing the area percentage of defects of the QCM surface (i.e. the addition/modification/refreshing of the getter increases the area percentage of surface defects for rapid capturing of mass: see pars. [0029]-[0032] and [0085]).
Regarding claims 2, 13, and 17, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) attaching non-metalloid elements to the modified surface (i.e. when O2 adsorbs to the Ti of the getter: see pars. [0071] and [0081]).
Regarding claims 4, and 19, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) the non-metalloid elements are nitrogen and oxygen [0071].
Regarding claim 6, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) the step of attaching non-metalloid elements is performed by adsorption (see pars. [0071] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) the step of modifying the surface includes the step of increasing the quantity of defects to the sub-micrometer scale (i.e. the roughness is controlled so the 50A level: [0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) the step of modifying the surface includes a surface modification on the order of angstroms (i.e. the roughness is controlled so the 50A level: [0085]).
Regarding claim 24, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) removing/detaching materials from the quartz crystal surface [0032] in order to produce the surface modifications [0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinzan et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0176291).
Regarding claim 10, Rinzan is applied as above, but does not disclose the step of modifying the surface includes a surface modification on the order of tenths of nano-meters.
However, such a modificaiton would be merely a change in size/proportion of the device, which is obvious – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rinzan’s method so that the step of modifying the surface includes a surface modification on the order of tenths of nano-meters.
Claims 3, 5, 7, 12-15, 18, 20-22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinzan et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0176291) in view of Ding (U.S. Pub. 2004/0061207).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 12, 14-15, 18, and 20-21, Rinzan is applied as above, and discloses (regarding claims 14-15 and 21) attaching non-metalloid elements to the modified surface (i.e. when O2 adsorbs to the Ti of the getter: see pars. [0071] and [0081]); and the non-metalloid elements are nitrogen and oxygen [0071].
Rinzan does not disclose attaching metalloid elements to the modified surface; the metalloid elements are from a group comprising: boron, silicon, germanium, arsenic, antimony, and tellurium; and a combination of non- metalloid and metalloid elements attached to the modified surface of the quartz crystal.
Ding discloses attaching metalloid elements to the modified surface (i.e. a getter material can be monocrystalline silicon: [0015]; the metalloid elements is silicon [0015]; and a combination of non- metalloid and metalloid elements attached to the modified surface of the quartz crystal (i.e. silicon doped with Ti etc.: [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rinzan’s method/device to include attaching metalloid elements to the modified surface; the metalloid elements are from a group comprising: boron, silicon, germanium, arsenic, antimony, and tellurium; and a combination of non- metalloid and metalloid elements attached to the modified surface of the quartz crystal, as taught by Ding.
Such a modification would be either a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(B); or a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Rinzan is applied as above, but does not disclose the step of attaching metalloid elements is performed by adsorption; and the step of treating the QCM surface includes thin film deposition from the group of: atomic layer deposition, chemical vapor deposition, atomic or ion beam bombardment, and high-voltage sputtering.
However, the Examiner takes official notice that forming a getter layer by adsorption, atomic layer deposition, chemical vapor deposition, atomic or ion beam bombardment, or high-voltage sputtering was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed. See MPEP 2144.03.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rinzan’s method so that the step of attaching metalloid elements is performed by adsorption, atomic layer deposition, chemical vapor deposition, atomic or ion beam bombardment, or high-voltage sputtering.
Regarding claim 25, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) precursors/reagents needed to achieve the surface adsorption can be in one of a chemical and a physical form including atoms (i.e. Ti: see pars. [0029]-[0031] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 26, Rinzan discloses (Figs. 1-6) the surface modification is performed on existing quartz crystals (see pars. [0029]-[0031] and [0079]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinzan et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0176291) in view of DeBoer et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0193800).
Regarding claim 23, Rinzan is applied as above, and discloses the step of increasing the percentage of defects to the QCM surface is accomplished within a reaction environment including gas and plasma phase environments [0097]-[0098].
Rinzan does not disclose the step of increasing the percentage of defects to the QCM surface is accomplished within a reaction environment including liquid.
DeBoer discloses that the sensor can be used in both a gaseous and liquid environment (see par. [0050] – therefore, Rinzan’s sensor which refreshes the getter could be used in an environment that includes liquid).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rinzan’s method so that the step of increasing the percentage of defects to the QCM surface is accomplished within a reaction environment including liquid, as taught by DeBoer.
Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852