DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Claims 1—10 & 13—22 & 48—51 have been examined in this application. Claims 11—14 & 23—47 have been canceled. Claims 48—51 are newly added. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 04/07/2026. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 04/07/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49—51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2007/0294828 A1 to Hornbach et. al (Hornbach hereafter) in view of U.S Patent Application 2010/0223728 A1 to Hutchison (Hutchison hereafter).
As per claim 49, Hornbach teaches :
A patient support apparatus (10-Fig.1; para [0022]) comprising:
a base (12-Fig.1; para [0022]); an elevation mechanism mounted to the base (30-Fig.1; para [0024]), the elevation mechanism including a head portion and a foot portion longitudinally spaced from the head portion (30-Fig.1; para [0024]);
a patient support surface including a plurality of adjacent body surfaces for supporting various parts of a patient's body (16 & 18-Fig.1; para [0022]); and
a frame assembly supported by the elevation mechanism(14-Fig.1; para [0022]), the elevation mechanism raising and lowering the frame assembly relative to the base (para [0024]), the frame assembly supporting the patient support surface and including: a head sliding portion (78-Fig.2; para [0028]);
a foot sliding portion (228-Fig.3; para [0031]); and a pair of spaced-apart sleeves (229-Fig.3), each sleeve extending longitudinally between a head end and a foot end of the patient support apparatus (229-Fig.3;) and the foot sliding portion such that the sleeves are longitudinally translatable relative to the head and foot sliding portions (para [0039]), the foot portion of the elevation mechanism being slidably mounted to the sleeves (200-Fig.3; para [0031]).
Hornbach does not teach, the head portion of the elevation mechanism being connected to the head sliding portion, the sleeves slidingly engaging the head sliding portion.
Hutchinson teaches: the head portion of the elevation mechanism being connected to the head sliding portion (36 & 62-Fig.6; para [0020]), the sleeves slidingly engaging the head sliding portion (64-Fig.6; para [0030]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hornbach (directed to a patient support provided with an elevation mechanism provided to raise and lower the patient support) and Hutchinson (directed to a patient support provided with an elevation mechanism provided to raise and lower the patient support including a head sliding portion and sleeves slidingly engaging the head sliding portion) and arrived at a patient support provided with an elevation mechanism provided to raise and lower the patient support including a head sliding portion and sleeves slidingly engaging the head sliding portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide motion of the elevateable frame relative to the crossbar about a longitudinally translatable pivot axis as taught in Hutchinson (para [0020]).
As per claim 50, Hornbach (as modified) teaches:
The patient support apparatus of claim 49, wherein: the head sliding portion protrudes from respective head ends of the sleeves (78 & 80-Fig.2; para [0029]: head sliding portion 80 protrude from sleeve 78); and the foot sliding portion protrudes from respective foot ends of the sleeves (227-Fig.4; para [0031]).
As per claim 51, Hornbach (as modified) teaches:
The patient support apparatus of claim 50, wherein the patient support surface includes a backrest support panel (32-Fig.10; para [0026]), a core support panel adjacent to the backrest support panel(34-Fig.10; para [0026]), a thigh support panel adjacent to the core support panel(36-Fig.10; para [0026]), and a foot support panel adjacent to the thigh support panel (38-Fig.10; para [0026]), the core support panel being fixedly attached to the frame assembly (34-Fig.3: core panel attached to frame).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1—10,15—22 and 48 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding dependent claims 1, the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application 2007/0136949 A1 to Richards teaches a patient support apparatus with an extension deck driven by linear actuators however there is no teaching suggestion or motivation in the prior art of record presented above which would reasonably permit a combination of Richards (as modified) which would arrive at the combination of elements presented in independent claim 1. Specifically, the limitation with respect to the foot support panel including a main section pivotally connected to the thigh support panel and an extension section slidably connected to the main section so as to be movable in the longitudinal direction;- an extension frame movably mounted to the foot support panel in combination with the first and second actuators coupled to the main section of the foot support panel and at least one extension plate coupled to an extension section coplanar with the main sheet of the main section and moving relative to the first and second actuators.
While Richards as modified by the following teaches:
(U.S Patent Application 2017/0281438 A1 to Elku) a patient support provided with actuators slidably coupled to an extension frame and pivotably coupled to the patient support the reference does no teach a main sheet of the main section moving relative to the first and second actuators in combination with an extension section slidably connected to the main section movable in a longitudinal direction.
(U.S Patent Application 2002/0170115 A1) to Borders teaches a patient support provided with an extension support member configured to raise and lower supported by pivoting links. However the combination of Richards and Borders does not teach the foot support panel including a main section pivotally connected to the thigh support panel and an extension section slidably connected to the main section so as to be movable in the longitudinal direction;- an extension frame movably mounted to the foot support panel in combination with the first and second actuators coupled to the main section of the foot support panel and at least one extension plate coupled to an extension section coplanar with the main sheet of the main section and moving relative to the first and second actuators.
Regarding dependent claims 16, the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application 2007/0136949 A1 to Richards teaches a patient support apparatus with an extension deck driven by linear actuators extending parallel relative to one another. Richards fails to teach an elevation mechanism mounted to the base, the elevation mechanism including a head portion and a foot portion longitudinally spaced from the head portion; and a frame assembly supported by the elevation mechanism in combination with each sleeve comprising an open head end and an open foot end;- a head sliding assembly attached to the head portion of the elevation mechanism and allowing a longitudinal translation movement of the sleeves relative to the head portion of the elevation mechanism;- a foot sliding assembly comprising foot sliding members, each foot sliding member having a head end and a foot end, each foot sliding member being slidably received into the foot end of a corresponding sleeve, from the head end of the foot sliding member to an intermediate location between the head end and the foot end thereof, each foot sliding member being capable of translation relative to its corresponding sleeve, the foot sliding assembly further comprising a stopper for stopping sliding movement of the foot sliding members into their corresponding sleeves;- a sliding mechanism connected to the sleeves proximal to the foot end thereof, the sliding mechanism attaching the sleeves to the foot portion of the elevation mechanism, the sliding mechanism comprising a spring element for biasing the foot portion of the elevation mechanism towards the foot end of the sleeves.
While the teachings of U.S Patent 2019/0029906 A1 to Konsin teaches a patient rest support provided with a lift mechanism provided with a pully mechanism configured to assist tension on the load applied Konsin fails to teach: an elevation mechanism mounted to the base, the elevation mechanism including a head portion and a foot portion longitudinally spaced from the head portion; and a frame assembly supported by the elevation mechanism in combination with each sleeve comprising an open head end and an open foot end;- a head sliding assembly attached to the head portion of the elevation mechanism and allowing a longitudinal translation movement of the sleeves relative to the head portion of the elevation mechanism.
The teachings of U.S Patent Application 2009/0044332 A1 to Parsell disclose a sliding mechanism provided with a spring element for biasing the foot portion Parsell fails to teach an elevation mechanism mounted to the base, the elevation mechanism including a head portion and a foot portion longitudinally spaced from the head portion; and a frame assembly supported by the elevation mechanism in combination with each sleeve comprising an open head end and an open foot end;- a head sliding assembly attached to the head portion of the elevation mechanism and allowing a longitudinal translation movement of the sleeves relative to the head portion of the elevation mechanism. Parsell further does not teach each head sliding member being capable of translation relative to its corresponding sleeve, the head end of the head sliding members protruding outwardly from the head end of the sleeves and attaching the head portion of the elevation mechanism, wherein when the actuator is moved from the extended position towards the retracted position, the actuator forces the foot sliding members of the foot assembly into their corresponding sleeves. Therefor upon exhausting the art, it is concluded by the examiner for those reasons stated above that inconsideration with deficiencies of the prior art, that applicant’s invention would be considered non-obvious in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2011/0030142 A1 teaches A mobility assist assembly, consisting of a transportable patient support module including a support surface which is modifiable by at least a plurality of upwardly extending and individually height adjustable and articulate-able posts integrated into a supporting carriage. A power transport module can be docked to the carriage.
U.S Patent 11,963,918 B2 A patient support apparatus may include a frame and an articulated deck coupled to the frame. The articulated deck may include a head section, a seat section, a thigh section, and a foot section. The seat section may include a stationary frame coupled to the frame and a moveable frame that moves relative to the stationary frame. The moveable frame may move between a retracted position and an extended position.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 06/23/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673