DETAILED ACTION
This Office action restarts the 3-month response period.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment made to the specification as filed on 8/12/2026 has been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-29, and 34-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2014/0113202 A1).
With respect to claims 21 and 39, Sun teaches a liquid electrolyte composition for an electrochemical cell, comprising the following components:
(A) sulfur dioxide (para. [0106]) – Sun et al. teaches wherein sulfur dioxide can be used as a solvent additive, among other additives; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to choose sulfur dioxide as the solvent additive of choice in order to provide a lower cost option; and
(B) at least one salt, wherein the salt (para. [0109]) comprises an anionic complex having at least one bidentate ligand and the salt corresponds to Formula (I), Formula (II) [para. [0095] formula (10c) reads on instant Formula (II)], or Formula (III), and combinations thereof,
wherein
M is a metal/(lithium) (para. [0031]) cation selected from the group consisting of the alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, and metals of group 12 of the periodic table;
m is 1 or 2;
Z is a central ion/(boron) (para. [0095]) selected from the group consisting of elements of group 2 to 16 of the periodic table, and lanthanides;
A₁ to A12 each represent a coordination element that bonds to the central ion Z, wherein A1 to A12 are (oxygen) (as in formula (10c)) - each independently selected from the group consisting of elements of group 15 and 16 of the periodic table;
R₁ and R₂ each represent a monovalent and terminal radical and are independently selected from the group consisting of a fluorine-substituted hydrocarbon radical, triflyl radical, triflate radical, and fluorosulfonate radical; and
L¹ to L⁶ each independently represent an aliphatic or aromatic bridging group, wherein the bridging group forms a five- to eight-membered ring with the central ion Z and with two coordination elements bonded to the central ion Z and the bridging group (as illustrated in formula (10c)), and wherein the ring comprises a sequence of 2 to 5 carbon atoms (as illustrated in formula (10c)).
With respect to claim 22, Sun teaches wherein the metal cation M is lithium and the component (B) is a lithium salt (para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 23, Sun teaches wherein the central ion is selected from the group consisting of B (as illustrated in formula (10c)), Al, Ga, In, P, Ti, Nb, Zn, V and La.
With respect to claim 24, Sun teaches wherein at least one coordination element comprises oxygen (as illustrated in formula (10c)).
With respect to claim 25, Sun teaches wherein the salt corresponds to Formula (I), wherein R₁ and R₂ each independently comprise a hydrocarbon radical selected from the group consisting of C1-C₈ alkyl, C2-C10 alkenyl, C2-C10 alkinyl, C₆-C₁₂ cycloalkyl and C₆-C₁₂ aryl, and wherein the hydrocarbon radical is at least partly fluorine-substituted (as illustrated in Figure 1).
With respect to claim 26, Sun teaches wherein the ring comprises a continuous sequence of 2 to 5 carbon atoms (as illustrated in formula (10c)).
With respect to claim 27, Sun teaches wherein the ring comprises a sequence of 2 to 5 carbon atoms interrupted by a heteroatom (as illustrated in formula (10c)).
With respect to claim 28, Sun teaches wherein the ring comprises at least one carbonyl group selected from the group consisting of an imide group, carboxylic acid ester group, carboxylate group, ketone group (para. [0025]), carboxylic anhydride group, carbonic acid ester group, and carbamate ester group.
With respect to claim 29, Sun teaches wherein L¹ to L⁶ each independently comprise a linear, branched or cyclic, saturated, fluorine-substituted hydrocarbon skeleton, and wherein the hydrocarbon skeleton comprises 3 to 16 carbon atoms, and the hydrocarbon skeleton being at least partly fluorine-substituted (as illustrated in formula (10c)).
With respect to claim 34, Sun teaches wherein the salt
of the component (B) is a salt of Formula (XXI) / (Formula (I)) (para. [0007]-[0008] – R1 & R2 are alkoxyl groups -OR) wherein Z is a central ion selected from the group consisting of aluminum and boron (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 35, Sun teaches wherein the component (B) of the liquid electrolyte composition comprises at least
one lithium salt of Formula (XXII)/(para. [0095] formula (10c)), and
wherein the lithium salt is selected from the group consisting of
B(O₂C₂(CF₃)₄)₂ (LiBPFPB) of Formula (XXIV) (para. [0069] and [0072], [0109]),
Al(O2C2(CF₃)4CF₂)₂ (LiOTA) of Formula (XXV),
(XXV) Al(O2C3(CF3)6)2 (LiHTTDA) of Formula (XXVI),
CF₃ (XXVI) and combinations thereof.
With respect to claim 36, Sun teaches wherein the
liquid electrolyte composition comprises the component (B) in a concentration of 0.1 to 3 M (para. [0112]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of 0.01 to 15 mol/L, based on the total volume of the liquid electrolyte composition – it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try CF.sub.3 various concentrations in order to optimize performance and cost.
With respect to claim 37, Sun teaches wherein the liquid electrolyte composition comprises at least one further additive in an amount of 0-10 wt.%, based on the total weight of the liquid electrolyte composition, and
wherein the further additive is selected from the group consisting of vinylene
carbonate (VC), 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC) (para. [0106]), lithium hexafluorophosphate, cis-4,5-difluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (cDFEC), 4-(trifluoromethyl)-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, bis-(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI), bis-(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), and combinations thereof – Sun et al. contains 0 wt.% of the recited “at least one further additive”, which reads on the instantly claimed range of 0-10 wt. %.
With respect to claim 38, Sun discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the liquid electrolyte composition comprises at least one further additive in an amount of 0.1-2 wt.%, based on the total weight of the liquid electrolyte composition (graph plotting charge/discharge capacities and coulombic efficiencies of the NG||Li half cells using 1.0M LiPF₆/PC (para. [0012]) - which falls within the instantly claimed range of a concentration of 0.01-15 mol/L, based on the total volume of the liquid electrolyte, wherein the salt is a lithium salt selected from the group consisting of the compounds of Formulas (IV-XX), Formulas
(XXIV-XXVI), and combinations thereof (para. [0069] and [0072], [0095], [0109]); and the liquid electrolyte composition further comprises:
(C) 0-10 wt.% of at least one additive, wherein the additive is selected from the group
consisting of vinylene carbonate (VC), 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC), lithium
hexafluorophosphate, cis-4,5-difluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (cDFEC), 4-(trifluoromethyl)-1,3- dioxolan-2-one, bis-(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI), bis-(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), and combinations thereof, bis-(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI), and combinations thereof, based on the total weight of the liquid electrolyte composition – Sun et al. contains 0 wt.% of the recited “at least one additive”, which reads on the instantly claimed range of 0-10 wt. %.
Claims 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US20140113202), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Xu (US
20120276445).
With respect to claims 30-33, Sun discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the component (B) of the liquid electrolyte composition comprises at least one lithium salt of Formula (II) (para. [0095] – Formula 10(c)) but fails to teach wherein the lithium salt is selected from the group consisting of the formulas of instant claims 30-33, respectively.
Xu teaches an electrolyte solution incorporating a purified lithium borate salt in
concentrations of from about 0.01 M to about 2.0 M is provided; and wherein the purified lithium borate salt comprises a boron core coordinated by four (4) ligands; further comprising LiBOB, LiDFOB, LiBF.sub.4, LiBMB or LiBPFPB, and mixtures thereof [0013] in order to provide an electrolyte that delivers superior performances that include negligible irreversible capacity upon cell formation, low impedance on both cathode and anode, and excellent stability when operated at high temperatures (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the electrolyte of Sun comprise a lithium salt selected from the group consisting of formulas recited in instant claims 30-33, respectively, as taught by Xu, in order to provide an electrolyte that delivers superior performances that include negligible irreversible capacity upon cell formation, low impedance on both cathode and anode, and excellent stability when operated at high temperatures.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sun et al. (US20140113202), as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210135291).
With respect to claim 40, Sun discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the electrochemical cell is a lithium-ion cell, and the liquid electrolyte composition further comprises:
(C) 2 wt.% LiPF₆/PC (para. [0013]), which touches the instantly claimed range of 0.1-2 wt.% of lithium hexafluorophosphate and 0.1-2 wt.% of 4-fluoro-1,3-
dioxolan-2-one (FEC), each based on the total weight of the liquid electrolyte composition - graph plotting charge/discharge capacities and
coulombic efficiencies of the NG||Li half cells using 1.0M LiPF₆/PC with 2 wt %
[0013]), wherein the further additive is selected from the group consisting of vinylene
carbonate (VC) (The invention is also directed to electrolyte compositions in
which an ionic liquid of the general formula Y+X- or Y+Z- is admixed with a non-
ionic solvent additive, such as vinylene carbonate (VC) [0009]).
Sun fails to teach wherein the component (B) of the liquid electrolyte composition has a salt of Formula (XXV) in a concentration of 0.5-2 mol/L, based on the total volume of the liquid electrolyte composition.
Kim teaches an electrolyte wherein lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) salt is dissolved at a concentration of 1.2 mol/L in a mixed solvent [0270], which falls within the instantly claimed range of 0.5-2 mol/L; wherein the electrolyte composition according to Clause 4 comprises a fluorinated cyclic carbonate selected from 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one [0335]; wherein the fluorinated cyclic carbonate is present in the electrolyte composition in an amount ranging from 0.5% to 10% [0336], which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0.5-2 in order to improve the electrochemical performance at high operating voltages [0001].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the liquid electrolyte composition of Sun et al. comprise a salt of Formula (XXV) in a concentration of 0.5-2 mol/L, based on the total volume of the liquid electrolyte composition, as taught by Kim, in order to improve the electrochemical performance at high operating voltages.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-26, 29-30, and 34-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-18, 21-22, 25-26 of copending Application No. 18/580,245. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to instant claims 21, 23-24 and 39, claims 11 and 13-16 of the copending application above encompass instant claims 21, 23-24 and 39.
With respect to instant claim 22, claim 17 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 22.
With respect to instant claim 25, claims 11 and 16 of the copending application above encompass instant claim 25.
With respect to instant claim 26, claim 15 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 26.
With respect to instant claim 29, claims 12 and 16 of the copending application above encompass instant claim 29.
With respect to instant claim 30, claim 17, formula IV, of the copending application above encompasses formula V of instant claim 30.
With respect to instant claim 34, claim 25 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 34.
With respect to instant claim 35, claim 11 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 35.
With respect to instant claim 36, claim 18 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 36.
With respect to instant claim 37, claim 21 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 37.
With respect to instant claim 38, claim 22 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 38.
With respect to instant claim 40, claim 26 of the copending application above encompasses instant claim 26.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 9/14/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725