Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 AND 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dempsey et al. (PG Pub. 2018/0313001) in view of Makino et al. (TW 201806863) in view of Steiner III (PG Pub. 2019/0062517).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-9, Dempsey teaches a preparation method of an aerogel composite fiber comprising the steps of preparing the claimed amount of polymer micro-aerogel powder and the claimed amount of fiber material, mixing the polymer micro-aerogel powder and the fiber material to form a homogenized composite mixture and heating the composite mixture up to the melting point of the fiber material to disperse the polymer micro-aerogels throughout the molten fiber material and extruding the composite to form aerogel composite fibers [Abstract, 0059, 0064, 0071 and 0105]. Dempsey is silent regarding the claimed further steps. However, Makino et al. teach the steps of making a micro-aerogel powder comprising dissolving of a polymer in the claimed amount in a suitable solvent for form a polymer solution, gelling the polymer solution in a non-solvent bath, ball-milling the polymer solution into microgels for the claimed time period, washing the ball-milled polymer solution and freeze drying the washed polymer in order to provide excellent heat insulation properties and flexibility [Example 12]. Urea is taught as the non-solvent and is a chemical that causes the polymer material to precipitate when added in excess. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the further steps of Makino et al. in Dempsey in order to provide excellent heat insulation properties and flexibility and arrive at the claimed invention. The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed tert-butanol. However, Steiner III et al. teaches using tert-butanol in freeze-drying in a refrigerator in order to provide improved pore preservation, less shrinkage and to carry out free drying [Examples]. Given Makino et al. teach butanol as the solvent and Steiner III et al. teach tert-butanol as the solvent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the tert-butanol for both the washing and drying for efficiencies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the tert-butanol of Steiner III et al. in order to provide improved pore preservation, less shrinkage and to carry out free drying and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the polymer micro-aerogel powder has an average particle size in the claimed range and a porous structure with an average pore size in the claimed range [Abstract and 0055]. Dempsey and Makino et al. are silent regarding the claimed thermal conductivity. However, Steiner III et al. teach thermal conductivity of the polymer micro-aerogel powder is in the claimed range in order to provide desired thermal insulation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the thermal conductivity of Steiner III et al. in the previous combination in order to provide desired thermal insulation and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, the polymer is aramid [0059].
Regarding claim 5, the solvent is a chemical that can dissolve 0 up to 30% (w/w) of the polymer material and can accept up to 0 - 30% of non-solvent without the polymer material precipitating.
Regarding claim 10, the fiber material(s) are polyethylene terephthalate, polylactic acid, and/or nylon [0059-0060].
Regarding claim 11, the composite mixture is molten and formed into a fiber with melt spinning or melt extrusion [0071].
Regarding claim 12, the fiber diameter is 10 - 200 µm [0009 and 0039].
Regarding claim 13, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed properties. However, given the previous combination teach similar preparation method using such similar materials in such similar amounts, the claimed properties are necessarily inherent to the fiber prepared by the method and inherent to the previous combination.
Regarding claim 14, Dempsey teaches a textile product comprising the aerogel composite fibers manufactured by the method of claim 1 [0019].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789