DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-13, 16, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US PGPub 2019/0339783) in view of Tachi et al. (US PGPub 2020/0356176), Aurongzeb et al. (US PGPub 2022/0176240) and Modarres et al. (US PGPub 2016/0004309).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses an operation device (figs. 1-5, tactile sensation presenting device 10) comprising:
an operation member (figs. 1-5, a pressure detecting unit 24) configured to receive an operation performed by a user ([0050], “The pressure detecting unit 24 includes a substrate of a resin film attached on the Peltier element 23. As the substrate of the resin film, a thin material is used to facilitate thermal conduction. The pressure detecting unit 24 is an electrostatic detecting unit and has a configuration in which two electrodes are provided to be arranged on the substrate so as to face each other in the vertical direction (Z direction). A finger as an operating part contacts the upper electrode that is the tactile sensation presentation surface. With respect to the pressure detecting unit 24, when a finger as an operating part contacts the upper electrode, the distance between the electrodes is changed by a contact pressure as a pressure corresponding to the contact state. In response to this change amount, the electrostatic capacity between the electrodes changes. The electrostatic capacity detected by the pressure detecting unit 24 is output to the control unit 15 (FIG. 5) and the change amount of the contact pressure of the finger is calculated based on the change amount of the electrostatic capacity”); and
a temperature sensation presentation unit (figs. 1-5, a Peltier element 23 and [0047], “the Peltier element 23, which serves as a warmth/coldness presenting element” where fig. 5, element 10 is a tactile sensation presenting device 10 which includes the Peltier element 23, the Peltier element drive circuit 26 and the control unit 15) comprising a source circuit ([0047], “The current as a drive signal applied from the Peltier element drive circuit 26 to the Peltier element 23 is generated based on a control signal applied from the control unit 15”), a thermoelectric element section ([0053], Peltier element 23), and a temperature sensor ([0053], temperature sensor in the contact detecting unit 24), the temperature sensor being configured to measure in real-time a temperature based on an operation of the thermoelectric element section ([0053], “a temperature sensor in the contact detecting unit 24 to measure a surface temperature of the Peltier element 23”), wherein a desired temperature is presented as a desired temperature as measured by the temperature sensor ([0053], “a temperature sensor in the contact detecting unit 24 to measure a surface temperature of the Peltier element 23 to adjust, based on the difference between the measured temperature and a set temperature, a control signal that is applied to the Peltier element 23”);
that is disposed on a surface of the operation member ([0049] and fig. 1, “the pressure detecting unit 24 is fixed to the surface 23a of the Peltier element 23” where Examiner notes an element disposed on a surface of another element does not limit which element is above/below) and is configured to present a warm sensation and/or a cold sensation to a part of a body of the user that is operating the operation member ([0047], “By controlling the direction and the amount of current applied to the Peltier element 23, it is possible to cause a finger touching the Peltier element 23 to sense a warm temperature or a cold temperature, and it is possible to present fine warm/cold information”).
While Sato discusses presenting warm/cold information to a user, it has been known to use a memory to store an algorithm for presenting the warm/cold information. In a similar field of endeavor of sensation presentation devices, Tachi discloses based on an instruction described by a rule in a table of rules ([0122]-[0123] and table 1, “the tactile sensation definition file 106a is a tactile sensation definition means for defining the types of two or more tactile stimuli to be presented. The tactile sensation definition file 106a may store a temporal and/or spatial threshold value with respect to a first stimulation point. For example, the tactile sensation definition file 106a may define a first type of tactile stimulus and a second type of tactile stimulus. More specifically, the tactile sensation definition file 106a may define, as the second type of tactile stimulus, a type of tactile stimulus that is more difficult to physiologically discriminate temporally or spatially than the first type of tactile stimulus. This allows the second type of tactile stimulus to be perceived at the first stimulation point through the processes performed by the output control unit 102c”).
In view of the teachings of Sato and Tachi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the memory files for defining the tactile sensations of Tachi, within the system of Sato, to further improve user experience by allowing a more detailed heat/coldness profile through use of instructions described by rules in a table which would improve the realism of the tactile experience.
While the combination of Sato and Tachi teaches a temperature sensation unit, it has been known to include a plurality of temperature sensation units within a single device. In a similar field of endeavor of thermo-haptics, Aurongzeb discloses a plurality of temperature sensation presentation units ([0026], “a plurality of thermoelectric drivers for each of the array of thermoelectric generators”), each temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units comprising a source circuit ([0026], “the thermo-haptic feedback pointing device may include a dedicated printed circuit board including a plurality of thermoelectric drivers for each of the array of thermoelectric generators to render a thermo-haptic feedback across a plurality of arrays of thermoelectric generators”) and a heat dissipation member ([0025], “The thermo-haptic feedback pointing device may also include, in an embodiment, a thermoelectric driver operatively coupled to an array of thermoelectric generator to receive signals from the controller to selectively heat or cool portions of the thermo-haptic feedback pointing device to be felt by the user of the thermo-haptic feedback pointing device”), wherein a member of each temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units is disposed on an exterior surface of the operation member ([0025], “the plurality of thermoelectric generators including a flexible substrate to allow the plurality of thermoelectric generators to contour against an interior surface of the palm rest housing of the thermo-haptic feedback pointing device”).
In view of the teachings of Sato, Tachi and Aurongzeb, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units of Aurongzeb, within the system of Sato and Tachi, for the purpose of improving user experience by individually controlling thermoelectric generators to create a larger variation of temperature in user sensation.
The combination of Sato, Tachi and Aurongzeb further discloses the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units (where Sato teaches tactile sensation presenting devices 10A, 10B and 10C as shown in fig. 7 while Aurongzeb discloses the specific structure of the temperature sensation presentation units as discussed above) include a first set of temperature sensation presentation units configured to align with a right finger of the user and a second set of temperature sensation presentation units configured to align with a left finger of the user (Sato: [0064], “In the second use illustrated in FIG. 7, two input devices 40 and the display device 51B are connected to each other by codes 40B and the input devices 40 are operated by operator's right and left hands” where fig. 7 specifically illustrates tactile sensation presenting devices 10A and 10B aligning with right fingers and tactile sensation presenting devices 10A and 10B aligning with left fingers), wherein the first set of temperature sensation presentation units are disposed aligned on a first area of the operation member and the second set of temperature sensation presentation units are disposed aligned on a second area of the operation member (Sato: fig.7 elements 10A and 10B are along a surface of element 40 where in fig. 7 the left hand aligns with a first area and the right hand aligns with a second area of element 40).
While the combination of Sato, Tachi and Aurongzeb discloses temperature sensation as the desired haptic (Aurongzeb: [0025]-[0026]), it has been known to have each unit independently present haptic feedback. In a similar field of endeavor of touch input devices, Modarres discloses each units is active independently to present a desire ([0125], “Further, in some embodiments, multi-output electrostatic haptic effects may allow for isolated ESF-based haptic effects to be output at multiple contact points on a computing device simultaneously. For example, in some embodiments, multiple ESF devices may be positioned at various contact points around a computing device (e.g., a game controller) and configured to output different, isolated haptic effects upon the occurrence of an event (e.g., an explosion in a game). In some embodiments, the user may be able to perceive each isolated haptic effect independently of, or in combination with, other haptic effects. Some embodiments may provide a more realistic and immersive haptic experience for a user”).
In view of the teachings of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to independently control sensation presentation units of Modarres, within the system of Sato, Tachi and Aurongzeb, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience by independently controlling an isolated haptic effect which provides a more realistic and immersive haptic experience for a user (Modarres: [0125]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres discloses the plurality of temperature sensation units as discussed in claim 1, Sato further discloses wherein the temperature sensation presentation unit is configured to present the warm sensation and/or the cold sensation based on details of an operation performed by the user on the operation member ([0052], “The detection result by the pressure detecting unit 24 is output to the control unit 15, and the control unit 15 applies, based on the detection result, (1) a control signal to the vibrating element drive circuit 25 for presenting vibration information, and (2) a control signal to the Peltier element drive circuit 26 for presenting warm/cold information”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres discloses the plurality of temperature sensation units as discussed in claim 1, Sato further discloses wherein
the operation member includes a pressure-sensitive sensor configured to measure a pressure caused by the part of the body of the user ([0050], “The pressure detecting unit 24 is an electrostatic detecting unit and has a configuration in which two electrodes are provided to be arranged on the substrate so as to face each other in the vertical direction (Z direction). A finger as an operating part contacts the upper electrode that is the tactile sensation presentation surface. With respect to the pressure detecting unit 24, when a finger as an operating part contacts the upper electrode, the distance between the electrodes is changed by a contact pressure as a pressure corresponding to the contact state. In response to this change amount, the electrostatic capacity between the electrodes changes. The electrostatic capacity detected by the pressure detecting unit 24 is output to the control unit 15 (FIG. 5) and the change amount of the contact pressure of the finger is calculated based on the change amount of the electrostatic capacity”), and
the temperature sensation presentation unit is configured to present the warm sensation and/or the cold sensation based on the pressure measured by the pressure-sensitive sensor ([0052], “The detection result by the pressure detecting unit 24 is output to the control unit 15, and the control unit 15 applies, based on the detection result, (1) a control signal to the vibrating element drive circuit 25 for presenting vibration information, and (2) a control signal to the Peltier element drive circuit 26 for presenting warm/cold information”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses, while Sato teaches using a Peltier element to serve as a warmth/coldness presenting element ([0047]) and teaches that other elements could be used, such as a thermoelectric element or a heater ([0048]), it has been known to include a plurality of temperature presenting elements. In a similar field of endeavor of sensation presentation devices, Tachi discloses wherein,
on a surface of the operation member, a plurality of temperature sensation presentation units is disposed adjacent to each other ([0112], “In an integrated-type tactile presentation module shown as an example of the external output device 140 in FIG. 7, a distribution-type pressure presentation unit 140a based on 32-point electrical tactile stimulation is disposed on a surface layer and a high-speed driving-type warm/cold feeling presentation unit 140b formed of a matrix of four Peltier elements is disposed in an intermediate layer below the surface layer”), and
the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units disposed adjacent to each other present a pseudo pain sensation to the part of the body of the user, by presenting sensation in different temperatures ([0110], “tactile sensation is considered as a synthesis of elements: a pressure sensation/a shear force (perceived by Merkel cells and Ruffini endings)/a low frequency vibration sensation (perceived by Meissner's corpuscles)/a high frequency vibration sensation (perceived by Pacinian corpuscles)/a cold sensation/a warmth sensation/a pain sensation (each perceived by free nerve endings), based on spatiotemporal relationships between the elements so as to achieve decomposition and synthesis of the tactile sensation. As shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, the inventors of the present invention have developed modules capable of integrally acquiring and presenting each of elements: force, a vibration sensation, and a coldness and warmth sensation, based on this haptic primary color principle”).
In view of the teachings of Sato and Tachi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the plurality of tactile presentation modules of Tachi, within the system of Sato, to further improve user experience by allowing a more detailed heat/coldness profile which would improve the realism of the tactile experience.
Aurongzeb further discloses each temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units is disposed adjacent to another temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units ([0025], “an array of thermoelectric generator” where an array is elements arranged adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses wherein the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units present sensation in different temperatures with a temperature difference that is decided depending on details of an operation performed by the user on the operation member (Tachi: [0110], “In the haptic primary color principle, tactile sensation is considered as a synthesis of elements: a pressure sensation/a shear force (perceived by Merkel cells and Ruffini endings)/a low frequency vibration sensation (perceived by Meissner's corpuscles)/a high frequency vibration sensation (perceived by Pacinian corpuscles)/a cold sensation/a warmth sensation/a pain sensation (each perceived by free nerve endings), based on spatiotemporal relationships between the elements so as to achieve decomposition and synthesis of the tactile sensation. As shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, the inventors of the present invention have developed modules capable of integrally acquiring and presenting each of elements: force, a vibration sensation, and a coldness and warmth sensation, based on this haptic primary color principle. Both modules have a length of 24 mm, a width of 12 mm, and a height of 6 mm, which are suitable for contact with the finger pad”).
Claim 7 is a device claim drawn to the apparatus of claims 1 and 2 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claim 8 is a method claim drawn to the apparatus of claims 1 and 2 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
.
Claim 9 is a computer-readable storage medium claim drawn to the apparatus of claims 1 and 2 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to acquire the details (Tachi: [0132], “the control unit 102 has a control program such as an OS (Operating System), a program prescribing various processing procedures and the like, and an internal memory for storing required data and is a processor such as a CPU that performs information processing for executing various processes by these programs and the like. The control unit 102 is formed being provided with a presentation tactile feeling setting unit 102a, generation unit 102b, and an output control unit 102c in a functionally conceptual manner”).
Claims 12-13 are within the scope of claims 4-5 and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claim 16 is a method claim drawn to the device of claim 4 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses wherein the warm sensation and/or the cold sensation is presented based on a predetermined temperature (Tachi: [0013], “a generation unit that selects at least two or more of the physical quantities according to a tactile feeling to be presented and also generates tactile information for presenting the predetermined tactile feeling based on the physical quantities that have been selected”).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses wherein:
a first temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units is disposed adjacent to a second temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units (Modarres: fig. 5, ESF cell 406a-406c), and
the first temperature sensation presentation unit and the second temperature sensation presentation unit are each individually activated to present a measured temperature difference between the first temperature sensation presentation unit and the second temperature sensation presentation unit to the part of the body of the user (Modarres: [0061], “For example, in some embodiments, multiple ESF devices can be used alone or in concert to provide different haptic effects. In some embodiments, the haptic output device 318 may be configured to output a static ESF effect or a confirmation ESF effect” where Aurongzeb discloses temperature presentation).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses wherein the heat dissipation member is in physical contact with the thermoelectric element section to conduct heat (Sato: [0047], “the heat can be efficiently conducted from the back surface (lower surface in the Z direction) of the Peltier element 23 particularly to the metal case of the vibrating element 21, and the heat dissipation efficiency can be enhanced by using the metal case as a heat sink”).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses wherein the operation device is configured to perform feedback control of temperature generated by the thermoelectric element section, the feedback control comprising:
measuring, by the temperature sensor, a temperature during an operation of the thermoelectric element section (Sato: [0053], “a temperature sensor in the contact detecting unit 24 to measure a surface temperature of the Peltier element 23”);
determining a difference between the measured temperature and a target temperature (Sato: [0053], “based on the difference between the measured temperature and a set temperature”); and
executing a heating control and/or a cooling control based on the difference (Sato: [0053], “to adjust, based on the difference between the measured temperature and a set temperature, a control signal that is applied to the Peltier element 23”).
Claim 3, 11, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further in view of Nakamura et al. (US PGPub 2017/0220111).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres further discloses the member of each temperature sensation presentation unit of the plurality of temperature sensation presentation units is configured to present the warm sensation and/or the cold sensation (Aurongzeb: [0025], “an array of thermoelectric generator to receive signals from the controller to selectively heat or cool portions of the thermo-haptic feedback pointing device to be felt by the user of the thermo-haptic feedback pointing device”), Sato further discloses wherein
the operation member is a button ([0057], “in a case where the tactile sensation generating unit 20 is configured to function as a pushbutton, upon the pushbutton being pushed, a switch or a sensor on the support 33 side may operate to detect that the pushbutton is pushed”)
the temperature sensation presentation unit is configured to present the warm sensation and/or the cold sensation based on the push-in ([0058], “This pressure corresponds to the contact pressure of the finger as an operating part contacting the tactile sensation presentation surface, and based on this detection result, it is possible to adjust the presentation condition of the tactile sensation”).
While the combination of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb and Modarres teaches the tactile sensation generating unit acting as a pushbutton and teaches presenting the warm/cold sensation based on the finger being sensed, it has been known to measure a push-in amount and vary the feedback to the user based on the measurement. In a similar field of endeavor of haptic information presentation systems, Nakamura discloses an operation member including a push-in amount measurement mechanism that is configured to measure a push-in amount ([0215], “The haptic sense actuator has a sensor function and a presentation function of a panel type and a display type, in the controller, measures displacement, momentum, vibration amplitude, displacement stimulation, vibration stimulation, time change of stimulation intensity, and the like accompanying movement of the body such as of a finger or a palm, controls the position, speed, acceleration, form, displacement, deformation, amplitude, rotation, vibration, force, torque, pressure, humidity, temperature, viscosity, elasticity” where [0206] discussions a button), the presentation unit presents a sensation corresponding to the push-in amount measured by the push-in amount measurement mechanism ([0215], “the like of the tactile force sense actuator to match movement, pressure, and the like of the body such as the finger or the palm that is monitored by the sensor based on a control algorithm, and presents tactile force sense information such as a pressure sensation, a tactile sensation, and a sense of force to a person or the like”).
In view of the teachings of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb, Modarres and Nakamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the haptic sense actuator of Nakamura, in the system of Sato, Tachi, Aurongzeb, Modarres, to further improve the user experience by providing a sensation that is altered based on displacement.
Claim 11 is within the scope of claim 3 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claim 15 is a method claim drawn to the device of claim 3 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claim 18 is a computer readable medium claim drawn to the device of claim 3 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 as amended have been considered but are moot due to new ground of rejection responsive to the amendment. Specifically, Sato teaches “a temperature sensor in the contact detecting unit 24 to measure a surface temperature of the Peltier element 23 to adjust, based on the difference between the measured temperature and a set temperature, a control signal that is applied to the Peltier element 23” at [0053]. Further arguments on the same basis used for claim 1 are similarly addressed under the same response grounds. As a result, applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive towards overcoming the rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 5,709,219) discloses a computerized system for obtaining and storing sensory information, controlling the displays, and communicating with other computers involved in the application (fig. 1A).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629