Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (2019/3877446).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Figure 12, processing unit which inherently contains both a processor and memory, note network device Figure 11 shows both a CPU and memory) and configured to cause the UE to: access a base station (BS) via a Uu link (para 94, 95);in response to a channel quality of the Uu link being less than a threshold, access the BS via a relay node (para 106, 156); and stop at least one of a physical layer timer or a timer associated with measurement report triggering if the at least one of the physical layer timer or the timer associated with the measurement report triggering is running (para 162, 164).
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses a method performed by a user equipment (para 93) comprising, initiating a re-establishment procedure (para 124, 144), starting a re-establishment initiation timer in response to initiation of the reestablishment procedure (149, 151, 162 – setting a timer during the process), and selecting a relay node cell for reestablishment (para 144, 164).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses a relay node comprising at least one memory and processor coupled to the memory (relay UE, Figure 12, processing unit which inherently contains both a processor and memory, note network device Figure 11 shows both a CPU and memory) configured to cause the relay node to transmit a release request to a user equipment that accesses a base station via the relay node (para 160 and RRC configuration complete message S407), and the release request indicates one of a radio failure link or a handover of the relay node from the BS (Figure 7, reconfiguration complete states eRelay has completed handover between first BS and second BS).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses a processor for wireless communications comprising: at least one controller coupled with a memory(Figure 12, processing unit which inherently contains both a processor and memory, note network device Figure 11 shows both a CPU and memory) and configured to cause the processor to initiate a re-establishment procedure (para 124, 144), start a re-establishment initiation timer in response to initiation of the reestablishment procedure (149, 151, 162 – setting a timer during the process), and select a relay node cell for reestablishment (para 144, 164).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 20, Xu discloses wherein to stop the timer associated with the measurement report is in response to one of: the UE has connected to the BS via the relay node (Figure 4, Steps 407-409, para 21).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a release request from the relay node (para 160 and RRC configuration complete message S407), wherein the release request indicates one of a radio failure link (para 208-210) or a handover of the relay node from the BS (Figure 7, reconfiguration complete states eRelay has completed handover between first BS and second BS).
Regarding claims 4-5, 16-17, Xu discloses wherein response to receiving the release request, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a response message to the relay node, indicating to release (para 210, based on failure, the UE releases in step s611) or keep a PC5 link between the UE or relay node (Para 197-204, based on connection/keeping a relay node connection).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Xu discloses the selected relay noted is a relay node for which a radio measurement at the UE fulfills a relay selection criterion (para 107-109, relay UE selection based on a condition being met).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ji (WO 2021/204989).
Regarding claims 9, 14, and 21, Xu fails to disclose the use of the system information block (SIB) to denote whether a relay function is supported.
However, Ji teaches in a sidelink communications system, the use of the system information block (SIB) to denote whether relay function is supported (para 44-45, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the invention to include SIB information in order to reduce the amount of control signaling by stating capabilities in the RRC level signaling.
Regarding claim 10, Ji further teaches that the SIB of interest indicates that the service cell supports at least one of L2 relay feature or a V2X service (para 13-19, 74-83 and para 43- V2X services). Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasoning as above.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Fujishiro (2018/0302779).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses all the particulars of the claim except retaining a configuration configured by a source cell of the UE in response to a serving cell of the selected relay node.
However, Fujishiro teaches a sidelink process in which the configuration configured by the source cell of the UE in response to a serving cell of the selected relay node (Steps 430, 450, configuration information shared between the serving/neighbor cells and the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the configuration in order to properly communicate between all the portions of the wireless system.
Regarding claims 12-13, Xu discloses all the particulars of the claim except releasing the configuration as well as the configuration being either a second configuration for a secondary cell of a master cell group or DRX preference associated with an MCG.
However, Fujishiro teaches in an analogous art, the releasing of configuration information (step 480) in response to a sidelink handover/discovery process. Fujishiro also teaches that the second configuration for a secondary cell (enB) of a master cell group (service and neighbor cell enB0 and the preference of a DRX preference (para 174, UEs can use DRX depending on RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a release or further configuration information to accurately provide connection between the UE and the eNB’s in the wireless network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paladugu (2023/0247513) discloses handover in PC5 and Uu connections
Cheng (2020/0351707) discloses sidelink communications with radio link failure notification.
Jung (10,440,730) disclose D2D communications with cell selection.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641