DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filed on 1/18/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024, 5/21/2024, 11/19/2024, 5/20/2025, 11/3/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoux (US20160187432A1) in view of DIVEKAR (US20220185115A1).
In regards to claim 1, Marcoux teaches A computing system comprising:
at least one processor operatively coupled to a battery management system (BMS) for managing a battery of a vehicle (Marcoux: Fig. 1 Element 5; Para 33 “a motor vehicle 1, for example a motor vehicle of the electric type or hybrid type, is equipped with a motor 3 capable of driving the wheels of the vehicle and with an electric power supply system 2 capable of supplying the motor 3. The electric power supply system 2 includes, in particular, an electric storage battery 4, an electronic control unit 5 configured to manage the battery 4 and designated by the BMS acronym as “battery management system”), the at least one processor configured to:
execute a second program providing one or more energy management services for the vehicle(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”);
acquire battery data from the BMS(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”);
generate, according to the second program, energy management data based on the acquired battery data(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”); and
at least one of:
provide at least a portion of the generated energy management data to the BMS(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”).
Yet Marcoux do not explicitly teach execute a first program controlling autonomous driving of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Marcoux teaches execute a first program controlling autonomous driving of the vehicle(DIVEKAR: Para 34 “Processor 304 is arranged to send instructions to and to receive instructions from or for various components such as propulsion system 308, navigation system 312, sensor system 324, power system 332, and control system 336. Propulsion system 308, or a conveyance system, is arranged to cause autonomous vehicle 101 to move, e.g., drive. For example, when autonomous vehicle 101 is configured with a multi-wheeled automotive configuration as well as steering, braking systems and an engine, propulsion system 308 may be arranged to cause the engine, wheels, steering, and braking systems to cooperate to drive. In general, propulsion system 308 may be configured as a drive system with a propulsion engine, wheels, treads, wings, rotors, blowers, rockets, propellers, brakes, etc. The propulsion engine may be a gas engine, a turbine engine, an electric motor, and/or a hybrid gas and electric engine”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the computing system of Marcoux with the feature of execute a first program controlling autonomous driving of the vehicle disclosed by DIVEKAR. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “efficiently providing low voltage power to components of an autonomous vehicle” (DIVEKAR: Para 2).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 1, and Marcoux further teaches wherein the energy management data includes at least one of battery state diagnosis data, battery lifetime prediction data, battery operation control data, battery charging/discharging control data, or vehicle control data(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 1, and Marcoux further teaches wherein the one or more energy management services includes at least one of a service for providing a diagnosis result obtained by diagnosing state of the battery of the vehicle, or a service for providing a life analysis result of the battery of the vehicle. (Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 1, and Marcoux further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the first program to:
generate first BMS control data for controlling battery data transmission of the BMS based on the acquired battery data(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”); and
provide the generated first BMS control data to the BMS(Marcoux: Para 36 “The BMS system 5 can be configured to calculate values such as a level of charge (SOC: state of charge) of the battery 4, an SOHE value characterizing a state of deterioration of the battery, and a maximum charge capacity Qmax of the battery, corresponding substantially to the maximum energy the battery can store at its current measured level. The BMS can use these values to adjust the operational limits within which it authorizes the operation of the battery (the minimum voltage across the battery before prohibiting the drawing of energy from the battery, maximum voltage across the battery at the end of recharging of the battery, maximum instantaneous power authorized to be drawn from the battery, etc.)”)..
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 1, and Marcoux further teaches wherein the at least one processor is included in the vehicle(Marcoux: Fig. 1; Para 33 “As illustrated in FIG. 1, a motor vehicle 1, for example a motor vehicle of the electric type or hybrid type, is equipped with a motor 3 capable of driving the wheels of the vehicle and with an electric power supply system 2 capable of supplying the motor 3. The electric power supply system 2 includes, in particular, an electric storage battery 4, an electronic control unit 5 configured to manage the battery 4 and designated by the BMS acronym as “battery management system””).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 14, and DIVEKAR further teaches wherein the at least one processor is included in a system-on-a-chip that is configured to execute both the first and second programs(DIVEKAR: Para 34 “Processor 304 is arranged to send instructions to and to receive instructions from or for various components such as propulsion system 308, navigation system 312, sensor system 324, power system 332, and control system 336. Propulsion system 308, or a conveyance system, is arranged to cause autonomous vehicle 101 to move, e.g., drive. For example, when autonomous vehicle 101 is configured with a multi-wheeled automotive configuration as well as steering, braking systems and an engine, propulsion system 308 may be arranged to cause the engine, wheels, steering, and braking systems to cooperate to drive. In general, propulsion system 308 may be configured as a drive system with a propulsion engine, wheels, treads, wings, rotors, blowers, rockets, propellers, brakes, etc. The propulsion engine may be a gas engine, a turbine engine, an electric motor, and/or a hybrid gas and electric engine”; Para 35 “Navigation system 312 may control propulsion system 308 to navigate autonomous vehicle 101 through paths and/or within unstructured open or closed environments”; Para 37 “Power system 332 is arranged to provide power to autonomous vehicle 101”; Para 85 “The SDA 1240 may comprise processors, systems on chip (SoCs), or systems on module (SOMs) to implement the aforementioned functionalities”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux and DIVEKAR as in Claim 1 above.
Claim 5-11, 13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoux (US20160187432A1) in view of DIVEKAR (US20220185115A1) further in view of Cho (US20190006724A1).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 4.
Yet the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR do not explicitly teach wherein the first BMS control data controls a battery data transmission period of the BMS, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the first program to generate the first BMS control data for controlling the battery data transmission period of the BMS based on a temperature of the battery identified through the acquired battery data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho teaches wherein the first BMS control data controls a battery data transmission period of the BMS, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the first program to generate the first BMS control data for controlling the battery data transmission period of the BMS based on a temperature of the battery identified through the acquired battery data(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”; Para 21 “the setting of the next wake-up time of the second slave BMS may include setting a time equivalent to a sum of a current time and a first set time period as a next wake-up time of the second slave BMS, when the temperature of the first battery module is lower than a first set temperature”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The computing system of the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR with the feature of wherein the first BMS control data controls a battery data transmission period of the BMS, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the first program to generate the first BMS control data for controlling the battery data transmission period of the BMS based on a temperature of the battery identified through the acquired battery data disclosed by Cho. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “power consumption that occurs when a BMS unnecessarily enters the wake-up mode may be reduced” (Cho: Para 23).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 1, and Cho further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: execute the first program to acquire driving data from at least one component of the vehicle, wherein the energy management data is generated by the second program further based on the acquired driving data(Cho: Para 53 “The controller 300 is configured to generate driving data notifying a driving status of the electric vehicle 1. For example, the driving data may include information indicating driving velocity, a geographical location, outside temperature, rotating speed of the motor 10, location of an accelerator pedal, location of a brake pedal, and whether there is a passenger in the electric vehicle 1. The M-BMS 220 may receive the driving data from the controller 300 via the communication network”; Para 54 “The M-BMS 220 may determine whether a predetermined event is happening based on the driving data. The event is determined in advance through a preliminary experiment, etc., to be appropriate for the S-BMS 210 to enter the wake-up mode. For example, a state in which the rotation of the motor 10 is completely stopped or the electric vehicle 1 is turned off may be one example of the event. The M-BMS 220 may identify whether the electric vehicle 1 is turned off based on the driving data. The M-BMS 220 may generate the setting data during the predetermined event is happening”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The computing system of claim 6, and Cho further teaches wherein the at least one component of the vehicle is at least one of: a sensor configured to collect data related to a driving situation of the vehicle(Cho: Para 53 “The controller 300 is configured to generate driving data notifying a driving status of the electric vehicle 1. For example, the driving data may include information indicating driving velocity, a geographical location, outside temperature, rotating speed of the motor 10, location of an accelerator pedal, location of a brake pedal, and whether there is a passenger in the electric vehicle 1”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The computing system of claim 6, and Cho further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
execute the first program to generate component control data for controlling transmission of the driving data from the at least one component of the vehicle based on the acquired battery data(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”; Para 21 “the setting of the next wake-up time of the second slave BMS may include setting a time equivalent to a sum of a current time and a first set time period as a next wake-up time of the second slave BMS, when the temperature of the first battery module is lower than a first set temperature”); and
transmit the generated component control data to the at least one component of the vehicle(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The computing system of claim 8, and Cho further teaches wherein the component control data controls a driving data transmission period of the at least one component of the vehicle and is based on a temperature of the battery identified through the acquired battery data(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”; Para 21 “the setting of the next wake-up time of the second slave BMS may include setting a time equivalent to a sum of a current time and a first set time period as a next wake-up time of the second slave BMS, when the temperature of the first battery module is lower than a first set temperature”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The computing system of claim 6, and Cho further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: execute the first program to generate second BMS control data for controlling battery data transmission of the BMS based on the acquired driving data; and transmit the generated second BMS control data to the BMS(Cho: Para 53 “The controller 300 is configured to generate driving data notifying a driving status of the electric vehicle 1. For example, the driving data may include information indicating driving velocity, a geographical location, outside temperature, rotating speed of the motor 10, location of an accelerator pedal, location of a brake pedal, and whether there is a passenger in the electric vehicle 1. The M-BMS 220 may receive the driving data from the controller 300 via the communication network”; Para 54 “The M-BMS 220 may determine whether a predetermined event is happening based on the driving data. The event is determined in advance through a preliminary experiment, etc., to be appropriate for the S-BMS 210 to enter the wake-up mode. For example, a state in which the rotation of the motor 10 is completely stopped or the electric vehicle 1 is turned off may be one example of the event. The M-BMS 220 may identify whether the electric vehicle 1 is turned off based on the driving data. The M-BMS 220 may generate the setting data during the predetermined event is happening”; Para 68 “at a certain time point during the predetermined event occurs, a next wake-up time of one (210-1) of the S-BMSs 210-1 to 210-3 is set in advance whereas next wake-up times for the other S-BMSs 210-2 and 210-3 are not set yet, the M-BMS 220 may determine the next wake-up time of at least one of the S-BMSs 210-2 and 210-3 based on first temperature data transmitted from the first S-BMS 210-1”).. The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The computing system of claim 6, and Cho further teaches wherein the second BMS control data controls at least one of: a battery data transmission period of the BMS(Cho: Para 68 “at a certain time point during the predetermined event occurs, a next wake-up time of one (210-1) of the S-BMSs 210-1 to 210-3 is set in advance whereas next wake-up times for the other S-BMSs 210-2 and 210-3 are not set yet, the M-BMS 220 may determine the next wake-up time of at least one of the S-BMSs 210-2 and 210-3 based on first temperature data transmitted from the first S-BMS 210-1”).The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 13, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The computing system of claim 6, and Cho further teaches wherein the BMS is included in the battery of the vehicle(Cho: Para 61 “FIG. 1 shows that the battery pack 100 only includes the plurality of battery modules 110-1 to 110-n, but the battery pack 100 may include the managing device 200 and/or the cooling device 400”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 16, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches A vehicle (Marcoux: Fig. 1) comprising: the computing system of claim 1(Marcoux: Fig. 1) and Cho further teaches a battery including a battery management system (BMS) (Cho: Para 61 “FIG. 1 shows that the battery pack 100 only includes the plurality of battery modules 110-1 to 110-n, but the battery pack 100 may include the managing device 200 and/or the cooling device 400”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 17, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The vehicle of claim 16, and Cho further teaches further comprising:
a sensor configured to collect data related to a driving situation of the vehicle Cho: Para 53 “The controller 300 is configured to generate driving data notifying a driving status of the electric vehicle 1. For example, the driving data may include information indicating driving velocity, a geographical location, outside temperature, rotating speed of the motor 10, location of an accelerator pedal, location of a brake pedal, and whether there is a passenger in the electric vehicle 1. The M-BMS 220 may receive the driving data from the controller 300 via the communication network”),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the first program to:
acquire driving data from the sensor Cho: Para 53 “The controller 300 is configured to generate driving data notifying a driving status of the electric vehicle 1. For example, the driving data may include information indicating driving velocity, a geographical location, outside temperature, rotating speed of the motor 10, location of an accelerator pedal, location of a brake pedal, and whether there is a passenger in the electric vehicle 1. The M-BMS 220 may receive the driving data from the controller 300 via the communication network”); and
generate the energy management data further based on the acquired driving data(Cho: Para 54 “The M-BMS 220 may determine whether a predetermined event is happening based on the driving data. The event is determined in advance through a preliminary experiment, etc., to be appropriate for the S-BMS 210 to enter the wake-up mode. For example, a state in which the rotation of the motor 10 is completely stopped or the electric vehicle 1 is turned off may be one example of the event. The M-BMS 220 may identify whether the electric vehicle 1 is turned off based on the driving data. The M-BMS 220 may generate the setting data during the predetermined event is happening”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 18, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The vehicle of claim 17, and Cho further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
execute the first program to generate sensor control data for controlling transmission of the driving data from the sensor based on the acquired battery data(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”); and
transmit the generated sensor control data to the sensor(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”).. The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 19, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The vehicle of claim 18, and Cho further teaches wherein the at the sensor control data controls a driving data transmission period of the sensor based on a temperature of the battery identified through the acquired battery data(Cho: Para 20 “the master BMS setting a next wake-up time of a second slave BMS based on the first temperature data; the second slave BMS switching from the sleep mode to the wake-up mode when a wake-up time set thereto by the master BMS is reached; and the second slave BMS measuring a temperature of a second battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, during a wake-up period that is defined as a period from a latest time point of switching to the wake-up mode to a time point of re-switching to the sleep mode”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho as in Claim 5 above.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoux (US20160187432A1) in view of DIVEKAR (US20220185115A1) further in view of Robbins (US20200171960A1).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR teaches The computing system of claim 1.
Yet the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the second program to:
transmit the generated energy management data to a data management server; and
receive an energy management software update from the data management server, wherein the energy management software update is based on energy management data from computing systems of other autonomous vehicles.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the second program to:
transmit the generated energy management data to a data management server (Robbins: Para 19 “The external device 24 can be any type of device that allows data to be inputted or outputted from the vehicle control system 14. To set forth just a few non-limiting examples, the external device 24 can be a handheld device, another computer, a server, a printer, a display, an alarm, an illuminated indicator, a keyboard, a mouse, mouse button, or a touch screen display”; Para 51 “The vehicle control system monitors various voltages reported over CAN from the BMS and Motor Controller”); and
receive an energy management software update from the data management server, wherein the energy management software update is based on energy management data from computing systems of other autonomous vehicles(Robbins: Para 43 “the Visage system is able to perform Over the Air (OTA) updates of vehicle components. In particular, the BMS can be updated, which has internal software rules that prevent updating when the pack main output is connected”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The computing system of the combination of Marcoux and DIVEKAR with the feature of wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the second program to: transmit the generated energy management data to a data management server; and receive an energy management software update from the data management server, wherein the energy management software update is based on energy management data from computing systems of other autonomous vehicles disclosed by Robbins. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “permits over the air communication, such as but not limited to software updates for the various devices of the vehicle 12” (Robbins: Para 27).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoux (US20160187432A1) in view of DIVEKAR (US20220185115A1) and Cho (US20190006724A1) further in view of Robbins (US20200171960A1).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho teaches The vehicle of claim 16.
Yet the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho do not explicitly teach a communication module configured to communicate with an external electronic device,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the second program to:
transmit the generated energy management data to a data management server using the communication module; and
receive an energy management software update from the data management server, and wherein the energy management software update is based on energy management data from computing systems of other autonomous vehicles.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Robbins teaches a communication module configured to communicate with an external electronic device(Robbins: Para 18 “the vehicle control system 14 includes a processing device 16, an input/output device 18, a memory 20, and an operating logic 22. Furthermore, as illustrated, the vehicle control system 14 can communicate with one or more external devices 24, as discussed below. The input/output device 18 can be any type of device that allows the vehicle control system 14 to communicate with the external device 24 and/or to otherwise receive/communicate instructions and/or information”),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the second program to:
transmit the generated energy management data to a data management server using the communication module(Robbins: Para 19 “The external device 24 can be any type of device that allows data to be inputted or outputted from the vehicle control system 14. To set forth just a few non-limiting examples, the external device 24 can be a handheld device, another computer, a server, a printer, a display, an alarm, an illuminated indicator, a keyboard, a mouse, mouse button, or a touch screen display”; Para 51 “The vehicle control system monitors various voltages reported over CAN from the BMS and Motor Controller”); and
receive an energy management software update from the data management server, and wherein the energy management software update is based on energy management data from computing systems of other autonomous vehicles(Robbins: Para 43 “the Visage system is able to perform Over the Air (OTA) updates of vehicle components. In particular, the BMS can be updated, which has internal software rules that prevent updating when the pack main output is connected”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The vehicle of the combination of Marcoux, DIVEKAR, and Cho with the feature of a communication module configured to communicate with an external electronic device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the second program to: transmit the generated energy management data to a data management server using the communication module; and receive an energy management software update from the data management server, and wherein the energy management software update is based on energy management data from computing systems of other autonomous vehicles disclosed by Robbins. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “permits over the air communication, such as but not limited to software updates for the various devices of the vehicle 12” (Robbins: Para 27).
Conclusion
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667