Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 3, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 2 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the objection to the abstract and the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 3, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,763,911 (Montagne) in view of JP 2013-129427 (Takashi), machine translation attached.
Regarding claim 1, Montagne discloses a tire comprising three or more circumferential main grooves (16, 17, 18, 19), on a tread surface, extending in the tire circumferential direction and having a groove width that prevents two side walls from contacting each other when the tire is grounded (see Figures 1 and 3), wherein
Among the three or more circumferential main grooves at least one of a pair of shoulder main grooves (18, 19) disposed on the outermost side the tire width direction is configured such that inclination angle formed by a groove wall on a tread edge side and the tread surface is greater than 90 degrees (see Figure 1, column 2, lines 28-44 where it is explained that the groove wall angle α1 is about 20 degrees inclining toward the land portion side, yielding an angle of at least 110 degrees (90 + 20 = 110)).
Montagne also discloses that at least one circumferential main groove (16, 17) other than the pair of shoulder main grooves (groove on equator) is configured such that a maximum groove width position in the groove depth direction is located on a groove bottom side than a tread surface position (see Figure 1, column 2, lines 28-37).
Montagne also discloses that the tire comprises a first width direction groove (20) that is connected to the shoulder main groove, extends in the width direction, and opens at the tread edge (see Figures 1 and 3), and
All of the width direction grooves on the tread surface are the first width direction grooves (see Figure 3).
Montagne does not disclose that the first width direction groove has a greater groove width on the tread edge side than on the side connecting to the shoulder main groove; however, Takashi discloses an analogous heavy duty tire comprising width direction grooves (7) having a groove width that is greater on the tread edge side connecting each shoulder circumferential groove to a tread end (see Figures 1 and 2). Takashi teaches that providing each width direction groove with a wider groove width that is greater on the tread edge side helps to ensure drainage performance and uneven wear resistance (see lines 281-288 machine translation). The width direction grooves of Takashi also have a groove length, along its extending direction, of a first portion of the first width direction groove shorter than a length , along its extending direction, of a second portion of the first width direction groove (see Figure 2 showing L3 and L5 are shorter than L4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide each width direction groove of Montagne with a greater groove width on the tread edge side than on the side connecting to the shoulder main groove, and a first portion shorter than a second portion of the first width direction groove, in order to ensure drainage performance and uneven wear resistance, as taught by Takashi.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-39482 (Okazaki), machine translation previously provided, in view of JP 2013-129427 (Takashi), machine translation attached.
Regarding claim 1, Okazaki discloses a tire comprising three or more circumferential main grooves (5), on a tread surface (7), extending in the tire circumferential direction and having a groove width that prevents two side walls from contacting each other when the tire is grounded (see Figure 1), wherein
Among the three or more circumferential main grooves at least one of a pair of shoulder main grooves disposed on the outermost side the tire width direction is configured such that inclination angle formed by a groove wall on a tread edge side and the tread surface is greater than 90 degrees (see Figure 2, machine translation lines 229-241 where it is explained that angle δ1 is 15 degrees or more inclining toward the land portion side, yielding an angle of at least 105 degrees (90 + 15 = 105)).
Okazaki also discloses at least one circumferential main groove other than the pair of shoulder main grooves (groove on equator), and that angle of the groove side walls 6b may range from -15 degrees to 15 degrees (see machine translation 215-219). While Figures 1 and 2 depict an embodiment where “the sidewall angle ß1 is set to be negative and inclined toward the land portion side, and the other sidewall is inclined to the side opposite to the land portion is set to be positive” (see machine translation 215-219), an embodiment with the opposite configuration where the sidewall angle is set to be positive and inclined away from the land portion side, and the other sidewall is inclined to the side opposite to the land portion is set to be negative is also within the teachings of the disclosure. The resulting groove of such an embodiment would be configured such that a maximum groove width position in the groove depth direction is located on a groove bottom side than a tread surface position.
Okazaki also discloses that the tire may comprise a first width direction groove (10) that is connected to the shoulder main groove, extends in the tire width direction, and opens at the tread edge on at least one of the land portions (see lines 312-314 machine translation) and all the width direction grooves on the tread surface are the first width direction grooves (see Figure 8, lines 312-314 machine translation). This suggests that width direction grooves across the center portion are optional, and an embodiment is envisaged where only the shoulder land portions have width direction grooves.
Okazaki does not disclose that the first width direction groove has a greater groove width on the tread edge side than on the side connecting to the shoulder main groove; however, Takashi discloses an analogous heavy duty tire comprising width direction grooves (7) having a groove width that is greater on the tread edge side connecting each shoulder circumferential groove to a tread end (see Figures 1 and 2). Takashi teaches that providing each width direction groove with a wider groove width that is greater on the tread edge side helps to ensure drainage performance and uneven wear resistance (see lines 281-288 machine translation). The width direction grooves of Takashi also have a groove length, along its extending direction, of a first portion of the first width direction groove shorter than a length , along its extending direction, of a second portion of the first width direction groove (see Figure 2 showing L3 and L5 are shorter than L4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide each width direction groove of Okazaki with a greater groove width on the tread edge side than on the side connecting to the shoulder main groove, and a first portion shorter than a second portion of the first width direction groove, in order to ensure drainage performance and uneven wear resistance, as taught by Takashi.
Regarding claim 2, Okazaki also discloses that the pair of shoulder main grooves are configured such that the inclination angle formed by a groove wall on the tire equatorial plane side and the tread surface is 90 degrees or less (see Figure 2, machine translation lines 200-202 where it is explained that angle α1 is within the range of -6 to 0 degrees, allowing for a range of 90 to 94 degrees (90 - 6 = 94)), which overlaps the claimed range of 90 degrees or less.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENDY L BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781