DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on April 22, 2026.
Restrictions/Elections.
Applicant election of the following species: COPD, as the condition requiring an anti-inflammatory agent, is acknowledged.
Since the above species is free of prior art, the examination was expanded to melanoma cancer.
Status of Claims
Claims 9-18 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
The elected species (COPD) s encompassed by claims 9-18.
The expanded species (melanoma) is encompassed by claims 9-17.
The combined set of claims that reads on one or both species, and as a consequence are under examination, are claims 9-18.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/25336 filed on 07/20/2022 and claims priority to foreign application ITALY IT102021000019355 filed on 07/21/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claim(s) 9-10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banciu et. al. (Journal of Steroid Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2008) 111:101-110, cited by Applicant).
For claim 9, Banciu teaches (see section 2.6) a method of treating melanoma (a condition requiring an anti-inflammatory agent, see discussion below) comprising the administration to mice suffering from melanoma (see section 2.3) a composition comprising an effective amount of BUP (Budesonide 21-phosphate disodium salt).
The authors conclude: “The differences in antitumor activity correlate with their inhibitory activity towards the production of pro-angiogenic/pro-inflammatory factors involved in tumor angiogenesis and inflammation, among the four GC (Glucocorticoid) compounds studies, BUP show the highest antitumor activity, which is likely related to the strong potency of this GC to reduce the production of pro-angiogenic and pro-inflammatory factors in tumors” (see page 109, left column, last paragraph). This means that BUP is considered an anti-inflammatory agent and melanoma is, therefore, a condition requiring an anti-inflammatory agent (BUP).
For claim 10, Banciu teaches that the BUP compound was formulated in long-circulated liposomes (LCL, which is considered a physiologically acceptable excipient) (see abstract and entire document and in particular section 2.1).
For claims 14-15, Banciu teaches that the formulation was administered intravenously (i.e. parenteral route, see section 2.6, second paragraph).
2) Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banciu et. al. (Journal of Steroid Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2008) 111:101-110, cited by Applicant) as evidenced by Ben Neriah et. al. (WO 2005/123772, 12/29/2005)
Melanoma is considered a chronic inflammatory disease as evidenced by Ben Neriah (see page 4, line 19 from the top)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banciu et. al. (Journal of Steroid Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2008) 111:101-110, cited by Applicant) in view of Hu et. al. (US 6,482,802).
Banciu teaches all the limitations of claims 11-12 (see 102(a)(1) above), except for the co-administration of an antibiotic. However, Hu teaches a method of treating angiogenic-related diseases comprising the administration of the antibiotic neomycin (see title for example), wherein the angiogenic related disease can be cancer (see column 16, last line), and more specifically melanoma (see column 17, line 23).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat melanoma combining two compositions (BUP and the antibiotic neomycin) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (treating melanoma), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.06). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See also: Inre Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 53 C.C.P.A. 1172, 149 U.S.P.Q. 562 (C.C.P.A. 1966).
All this would result in the practice of claims 11-12 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art is silent regarding the sequence of administration. However, there are only three possible options: 1-simultaneous administration, 2- separate administration and 3- sequential administration, thus resulting in the practice of claim 13 with a reasonable expectation of success.
2) Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banciu et. al. (Journal of Steroid Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2008) 111:101-110, cited by Applicant).
Banciu teaches all the limitations of claim 16 (see above 102(a)(1) rejection), except for the composition being a metered dose inhalation aerosol formulated as a suspension or solution. However, aerosol formulations are standard practice in the pharmaceutical art, thus resulting in the practice of claim 16 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to in part as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to recite only the elected species (COPD).
Note that claim 19 is objected to in part herein insofar as it contains non-elected subject matter to which the prior art search has not yet been extended. That part which has been searched, however (consistent with the election of species requirement as previously discussed), would be allowable if the claim was amended in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to remove the currently non-elected subject matter (i.e. all the species except for COPD).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
April 23. 2026.