DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 2 in the reply filed on 07/22/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/24 and 03/06/24 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-12 and 13A-B are not described in the specification (See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74). Note that each one of Figures 13A and 13B must be described. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
That is to say, the following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification does not contain a brief description of Figures 1-12 and 13A-B (See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74). Appropriate correction is required. Note that each one of Figures 13A and 13B must be described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-12 and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the publication “Separation of the Electrolyte-Solvent Extraction” (In: “Recycling of Lithium-ion Batteries”, 12/13/2017 – Springer International Publishing, Cham, XP055968936) by Haas Paul et al.
As to claims 2-7, 11-12, 18-20:
Haas Paul et al disclose a process/method for recovering lithium salt from a wasted lithium battery mass (see Section 9.2.2-Experimental Setup; Section 9.3.3-Single-Stage Extractions with Water; Section 9.3.4-Multi-Stage Extractions with DMC and Water; see Table 9.8; see Figures 9.1/9.3/9.4/9.5/9.10) including the steps of: dissolving/treating the lithium salt such as LiPF6 in the lithium battery waste mass at a temperature lower than 50 °C wherein the weight/content of the solvent is 100 to 0.1 times that of the lithium battery waste mass; evaporating/drying the solvent solution; and working up/processing the dry residue with a solvent comprising water and/or organic solvents such as dimethyl/ethyl methyl/propylene carbonate solvents and/or an ether solvent so as to purify/cleanse the electrolyte salt (see Section 9.2.2-Experimental Setup; Section 9.3.3-Single-Stage Extractions with Water; Section 9.3.4-Multi-Stage Extractions with DMC and Water; see Table 9.8; see Figures 9.1/9.3/9.4/9.5/9.10)
As to claims 8-10:
Haas Paul et al teach the lithium battery waste includes black mass containing at least 80 wt% of the dried lithium battery waste mass or dried/wasted lithium battery material (see Section 9.2.2-Experimental Setup; Section 9.3.3-Single-Stage Extractions with Water; Section 9.3.4-Multi-Stage Extractions with DMC and Water; see Table 9.8; see Figures 9.1/9.3/9.4/9.5/9.10).
As to claims 16-17:
Haas Paul et al teach the dissolving/dissolution step being a dynamic step wherein the mass ratio of water to lithium battery waste mass satisfies the requirement of 10 to 0.5:1 (see Section 9.2.2-Experimental Setup; Section 9.3.3-Single-Stage Extractions with Water; Section 9.3.4-Multi-Stage Extractions with DMC and Water; see Table 9.8; see Figures 9.1/9.3/9.4/9.5/9.10).
As to claims 21-23:
Haas Paul et al disclose the use of pure water and/or an aqueous solution as solvents in the dissolving step A; and that water contacts the lithium ion battery mass/material for less than 5 hours (see Section 9.2.2-Experimental Setup; Section 9.3.3-Single-Stage Extractions with Water; Section 9.3.4-Multi-Stage Extractions with DMC and Water; see Table 9.8; see Figures 9.1/9.3/9.4/9.5/9.10).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art references teach subject matter related to the claimed invention: Lipson’350 and/or Bhatt et al’589.
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752