Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 13-17 and19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2020163674 to Shiozaki In view of US 2016/0009054 to Okunaka.
Regarding Claims 10, 13-17 and19-20
Shiozaki teaches an integrally molded body comprising a laminate and a structure, the laminates including a core layer of porous substrate including a discontinuous carbon fiber and a thermoplastic resin or a foamed molded body made of foamed resin (Shiozaki, abstract, paragraph [0096]), [0106], [0112]) Shiozaki teaches the core layer is sandwiched by prepregs comprising continuous carbon fibers (Id.). Shiozaki teaches that a continuous fiber fabric substrate may be disposed on a further outer side of at least one of the outermost layers (Id., paragraph [0047]). Shiozaki teaches that the molded body is useful as an electronic device housing (Id., paragraph [0001]). Shiozaki teaches that the molded body may include a thermoplastic resin substrate may be at least partially disposed between the laminate and the structure (Id., paragraphs [0056]-[0057], [0098]).
Shiozaki does not appear to teach the thermal conductivity of the continuous carbon fibers. However, Okunaka teaches an integrally molded body comprising a laminate and a structure the laminate including prepregs that are laminated and made of a continuous carbon fiber (Okunaka, abstract, paragraph [0032], [0051], [0056], fig. 1-3) and the structure being made of a thermoplastic resin and a reinforcing fiber and disposed on a periphery of the laminate (Id., paragraph [0118]). Okunaka teaches that the first prepreg constituting an outermost layer of the laminate being disposed on both sides of the core layer, and has a continuous carbon fiber with a thermal conductivity of between 20 and 600 W/(m*K) which overlaps the claimed range of between 100 and 800 W/(m*K) in the fiber direction (Id., paragraphs [0019] and [0047]). Okunaka teaches that this thermal conductivity provides good diffusion of heat (Id., paragraph [0008]). Okunaka teaches that a layer including a different continuous carbon with a thermal conductivity is 3-20 w/(m*K) which provides a ratio of 0.05 to 1, overlapping the claimed ratio of between 0 and 1.0 (Id., paragraph [0019]). Okunaka teaches that the density of the continuous carbon fiber in the first prepreg may be 2.12 g/cm3 which is withing the claimed range of between 2.0 and 2.5 g/cm3 (Id., paragraph [0126]). Okunaka teaches that the integrally molded body can be used as an electronic device housing (Id., paragraph [0116]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the integrally molded body of Shiozaki and to utilize the continuous carbon fiber prepregs of Okunaka motivated by the desire to form a conventional integrally molded body having improved heat dissipation in an electronic device housing, while maintaining high stiffness.
Shiozaki teaches the same materials for use as the porous substrate and/or foam cores such as carbon fiber reinforced polypropylene resin and/or polypropylene foam (Shiozaki, paragraphs [0096]-[0117]). Regarding the ratio of the thermal conductivity of the core to the thermal conductivity of the continuous carbon fiber, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. Products of identical structure and composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786