Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 102 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues on pgs. 10-11 of the Remarks,
“The Office indicates that Bayesteh in FIG. 5: "sensing capability report 502"; [0076] discloses the claim feature: (1) "transmitting, to a network entity, a capability message including one or more capability parameters indicating one or more capabilities of the network node to participate in bistatic or multistatic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) radar sensing operations" (See Office Action, page 3, paragraph 6, lines 4-8). The Applicant respectfully disagrees. I [0076] of Bayesteh is reproduced:…
… The cited portion of Bayesteh fails to disclose capability parameters indicating bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar participation capability. 1 [0076] of Bayesteh instead describes a "tight synchronization request (TSR)" sent to the UE, which is network-initiated signaling, not a capability message transmitted from the network node. There is no disclosure of the network node advertising its sensing capabilities to a network entity as required.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bayesteh discloses that a UE may first report its sensing hardware and capabilities to a base station. See Bayesteh pg. 5, paragraph 0062,
“Initially, the UE 110 transmits (step 502), to the BS 170, a sensing capability report indicating the sensing capability of the UE 110. The sensing capability report may include an indication of supported sensing types (including RF, imaging, LIDAR and camera) and the details of capability for each of supported sensing types. For example, for RF sensing, the sensing capability report may indicate a supported frequency bands and bandwidth, supported sensing signals and supported duplexing mode (full duplex or half duplex).”
The language of “one or more capability parameters indicating one or more capabilities of the network node to participate in bistatic or multistatic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) radar sensing operations” may include supported frequency bands, bandwidth, and duplexing modes. Bayesteh discloses these parameters in the capability report, and these parameters contribute to the UE’s ability to participate in bistatic or multistatic MIMO communications.
Applicant further argues on pgs. 11-12 of the Remarks,
“The Office indicates that Bayesteh in FIG. 5: "sensing configuration step 508"; [0074] discloses the claim feature: (2) "receiving, from the network entity, a configuration message including one or more configuration parameters configuring the network node to participate in a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation" (See Office Action, page 3, paragraph 6, lines 9-16). The Applicant respectfully disagrees…
… The cited portion of Bayesteh fails to disclose configuration parameters that configure the network node for participation in a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation. That is [0074] of Bayesteh discloses that signaling "may include" timing allocation, sensing period, and channel resource. These are execution-level parameters, not configuration parameters that configure participation in a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation. There is no disclosure of configuring network node roles (e.g., transmitter/receiver) or participation in a MIMO radar framework…
…Hence, [0074] merely describes that sensing configuration signaling "may include an indication of a UE-specific sensing timing allocation, an indication of a sensing period and an indication of a channel resource," which are scheduling parameters as explained, not configuration parameters that configure participation in a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bayesteh discloses that a UE may receive a sensing configuration message from a base station. See Bayesteh Fig. 5, step 508. Bayesteh also further discloses on pg. 7, paragraph 0082,
“a semi-static sensing configuration (a.k.a., a pre-configured sensing configuration), wherein the BS 170 specifies all detailed configurations, including the transmission resources,”
It is reasonable to believe that the “transmission resources” as disclosed in Bayesteh include configuration parameters. The configuration message tells the UE configuration details, including transmission resources, for sensing operations. It is also reasonable to believe that the timing and scheduling parameters disclosed in Bayesteh paragraph 0074 may be considered “configuration parameters”, such as an adjustable software parameter, as these are parameters that may be configured in order to achieve successful sensing operations. Bayesteh, claim 16, further describes transmission resources included in the configuration message,
“the configuration message further indicates resources to use when transmitting the sensing results and the method further comprises employing the resources when receiving the sensing results.”
See also Bayesteh Abstract,
“the transmission point may configure the user equipment to use specific resources to report sensing results to the transmission point.”
In accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language of Applicant’s clam 1, Bayesteh does disclose a configuration message including configuration parameters configuring a network node to participate in sensing operations. The transmission resources, as well as the scheduling parameters, qualify as configuration parameters.
Applicant further argues on pg. 12 of the Remarks,
“The Office indicates that Bayesteh in FIG. 5: "sensing operation step 522"; [0076] discloses the claim feature: (3) performing the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation based on the one or more configuration parameters (See Office Action, page 3, paragraph 6, lines 16-17). The Applicant respectfully disagrees.
The cited portion of Bayesteh fails to disclose performing a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation. Instead, [0076] indicates that the UE uses timing allocation and sensing period when carrying out sensing. This merely shows execution using allocated resources, not performing a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation based on configuration parameters that define such participation. The required causal relationship is missing.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bayesteh discloses performing bistatic radar sensing based on a configuration message. See Bayesteh pg. 7, paragraph 0087,
“After receiving (step 504) a sensing capability report from multiple UEs 110, report, the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report.”
Bayesteh discloses a UE transmitting a sensing capability report to a base station, then the base station transmitting a sensing configuration indication to a UE for active bi-static sensing based on the capability report.
For at least these reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains previous rejections corresponding to the USC § 102 rejection. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Bayesteh et al. (US 20220155435 A1) discloses each and every limitation of independent claim 1 based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1. The same cited sections and rationale are applied to independent claims 18, 22, and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayesteh et al. (US 20220155435 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bayesteh discloses
A method of wireless environment sensing performed by a network node (see pg. 1, paragraph 0009, “there is provided a method of assisting sensing of an environment. The method includes a sensing assisting device, such as a UE”), comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity, a capability message including one or more capability parameters indicating one or more capabilities of the network node to participate in bistatic or multistatic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) radar sensing operations (see Fig. 5, sensing capability report 502; pg. 6, paragraph 0076, device is capable of bi-static sensing; pg. 3, paragraph 0040, UEs and base stations may include transceiver MIMO technology; pg. 5, paragraph 0062, “Initially, the UE 110 transmits (step 502), to the BS 170, a sensing capability report indicating the sensing capability of the UE 110. The sensing capability report may include an indication of supported sensing types (including RF, imaging, LIDAR and camera) and the details of capability for each of supported sensing types. For example, for RF sensing, the sensing capability report may indicate a supported frequency bands and bandwidth, supported sensing signals and supported duplexing mode (full duplex or half duplex).”);
receiving, from the network entity, a configuration message including one or more configuration parameters configuring the network node to participate in a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see Fig. 5, sensing configuration step 508; pg. 6, paragraph 0074, “The details of the sensing signal may include an indication of a UE-specific sensing timing allocation, an indication of a sensing period and an indication of a channel resource that the UE 110 is to use when transmitting (step 524) sensing results to the BS 170. The details of the sensing signal may be communicated to the UE 110 through sensing configuration signaling that is sent to the UE”; pg. 7, paragraph 0081, “In a “Semi-Static” sensing configuration, the sensing operation (step 522, FIG. 5) to be carried out by the UE 110 is pre-configured. It follows that “Semi-Static” sensing may also be referred to as “pre-configured sensing.” In pre-configured sensing, detailed sensing configurations are specified by the BS 170 and communicated, by the BS 170, to the UE 110.”; pg. 7, paragraph 0082, “a semi-static sensing configuration (a.k.a., a pre-configured sensing configuration), wherein the BS 170 specifies all detailed configurations, including the transmission resources,”; pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “After receiving (step 504) a sensing capability report from multiple UEs 110, report, the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report.”; see Abstract, “the transmission point may configure the user equipment to use specific resources to report sensing results to the transmission point.”; see Claim 16, “the configuration message further indicates resources to use when transmitting the sensing results and the method further comprises employing the resources when receiving the sensing results.”); and
performing the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation based on the one or more configuration parameters (see Fig. 5, carry out sensing operation step 522; pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “After receiving (step 504) a sensing capability report from multiple UEs 110, report, the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report.”).
Regarding claim 2, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more transmission parameters for MIMO radar signals to be transmitted during the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see pg. 6, paragraph 0074, “The details of the sensing signal may include an indication of a UE-specific sensing timing allocation, an indication of a sensing period and an indication of a channel resource that the UE 110 is to use when transmitting (step 524) sensing results to the BS 170. The details of the sensing signal may be communicated to the UE 110 through sensing configuration signaling that is sent to the UE”; pg. 6, paragraph 0072, “The details of the sensing signal may include an indication of a particular sensing type along with indications of various sensing signal parameters, including sensing signal bandwidth, sensing signal duration, etc”).
Regarding claim 3, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 2, wherein the one or more transmission parameters comprise:
a type of orthogonality of the MIMO radar signals,
a type of the MIMO radar signals,
one or more parameters defining a waveform of each of the MIMO radar signals (see pg. 6, paragraph 0069, “The request to sense indication may include an indication of detailed sensing signal configuration, which, in the case of RF sensing, may include a sensing waveform indication and its associated parameters”), or
any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 3, wherein the type of the MIMO radar signals comprises:
frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) MIMO radar signals, or
orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) MIMO radar signals (see pg. 3, paragraph 0041, “the communication system 100 may implement one or more orthogonal or non-orthogonal channel access methods, such as… orthogonal FDMA (OFDMA)”).
Regarding claims 5-13, the limitations recited are not required to be part of the claimed invention. Parent claim 3 teaches alternative limitations, i.e., “a type of orthogonality of the MIMO radar signals, a type of the MIMO radar signals, one or more parameters defining a waveform of each of the MIMO radar signals, or any combination thereof”. If a parent claim includes alternative limitations, and the references teaches one of them, further limitations to the other alternative(s) in the dependent claims are not required limitations. See Ex parte Werner, Appeal 2019-001448, Application No. 15/109,888, March 23, 2020, 15 pages. Here, Bayesteh teaches “one or more parameters defining a waveform of each of the MIMO radar signals”, as detailed in the rejection of claim 3. Claims 5-13 are based on another alternative/other alternatives, i.e., “a type of orthogonality of the MIMO radar signals”.
Regarding claim 14, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise:
a network identifier for each of one or more second network nodes involved in the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see pg. 5, paragraph 0065, “In a group-cast example, the BS 170 may transmit (step 510) the request to sense indication to a group of UEs 110. When transmitting (step 510) to a group of UEs 110, the BS 170 may employ the known PDSCH or the known PDCCH. In other examples, the BS 170 may broadcast the transmission (step 510) of the request to sense indication to all UEs 110”; pg. 5, paragraph 0066, “The BS 170 may also use a logical channel, such as the known dedicated control channel (DCCH) to transmit (step 510) the request to sense indication to the UE 110”; pg. 7, paragraph 0076, “The UE 110 uses the specified channel resource when transmitting (step 524) sensing results to the BS 170. The sensing results may include reference information (for example, for non-camera-based sensing) such as an object identifier, e.g., a tag identifier. The object identifier may have an implicit association with an indication of a particular BS 170. The sensing results may also include further information, e.g., an image, which may be a map”; pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report”), and
an association, for each second network node of the one or more second network nodes, between the network identifier of the second network node and an indication of whether the second network node is a MIMO radar receiver network node or a MIMO radar transmitter network node for the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see pg. 6, paragraph 0070, “the UE 110 may provide, to the BS 170, an indication of availability for a sensing operation”; pg. 7, paragraph 0076, “the UE 110 uses the UE-specific sensing timing allocation and the specified sensing period when carrying out (step 522) the sensing operation”; pg. 7, paragraph 0081, “In pre-configured sensing, detailed sensing configurations are specified by the BS 170 and communicated, by the BS 170, to the UE 110”; Fig. 7; pg. 8, paragraph 0097, “After receiving (step 512) the indication, the first UE 110A, configured for active sensing, carries out (step 522) active sensing operations and the second UE 110B, configured for passive sensing, carries out (step 522) passive sensing operations”).
Regarding claim 15, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more configuration parameters comprise an indication that the network node is expected to transmit MIMO radar signals for the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see Fig. 7; pg. 8, paragraph 0097, “After receiving (step 504) the sensing capability report from the UEs 110A, 110B, the BS 170 configures (step 506) the first UE 110A (or a group of UEs 110 that includes the first UE 110A) for active sensing and the BS 170 configures (step 506) the second UE 110B (or a group of UEs 110 including the second UE 110B) for passive sensing. The configuring of the UEs 110A, 110B may be based on the capability and the availability reported by the UEs 110A, 110B”), and
performing the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation comprises transmitting MIMO radar signals to at least one MIMO radar receiver network node (see Fig. 5, carry out sensing operation 522; pg. 7, paragraph 0084, “Responsive to receiving (step 512) the request to sense indication, the particular UE 110 carries out (step 522) active and passive sensing based on configuration details in a configuration message that the particular UE 110 has previously received (step 508)”).
Regarding claim 16, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more configuration parameters comprise an indication that the network node is expected to receive MIMO radar signals for the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see Fig. 7; pg. 8, paragraph 0097, “After receiving (step 504) the sensing capability report from the UEs 110A, 110B, the BS 170 configures (step 506) the first UE 110A (or a group of UEs 110 that includes the first UE 110A) for active sensing and the BS 170 configures (step 506) the second UE 110B (or a group of UEs 110 including the second UE 110B) for passive sensing. The configuring of the UEs 110A, 110B may be based on the capability and the availability reported by the UEs 110A, 110B”), and
performing the bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation comprises receiving the MIMO radar signals from at least one MIMO radar transmitter network node (see Fig. 5, carry out sensing operation 522; pg. 7, paragraph 0084, “Responsive to receiving (step 512) the request to sense indication, the particular UE 110 carries out (step 522) active and passive sensing based on configuration details in a configuration message that the particular UE 110 has previously received (step 508)”).
Regarding claim 17, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the network node is a user equipment (UE), or
the network node is a base station (see Fig. 5, base station 170 and UE 110).
Regarding claim 18, Bayesteh discloses
A method of environment sensing performed by a network entity (see pg. 1, paragraph 0009, “there is provided a method of assisting sensing of an environment. The method includes a sensing assisting device, such as a UE”), comprising:
receiving, from each network node of a plurality of network nodes, a capability message including one or more capability parameters indicating one or more capabilities of the network node to participate in bistatic or multistatic multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) radar sensing operations (see Fig. 5, sensing capability report 504; pg. 6, paragraph 0076, device is capable of bi-static sensing; pg. 3, paragraph 0040, UEs and base stations may include transceiver MIMO technology; pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “After receiving (step 504) a sensing capability report from multiple UEs 110, report, the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report.”; pg. 5, paragraph 0062, “Initially, the UE 110 transmits (step 502), to the BS 170, a sensing capability report indicating the sensing capability of the UE 110. The sensing capability report may include an indication of supported sensing types (including RF, imaging, LIDAR and camera) and the details of capability for each of supported sensing types. For example, for RF sensing, the sensing capability report may indicate a supported frequency bands and bandwidth, supported sensing signals and supported duplexing mode (full duplex or half duplex).”); and
transmitting, to each network node of the plurality of network nodes, a configuration message including one or more configuration parameters configuring the network node to participate in a bistatic or multistatic MIMO radar sensing operation (see Fig. 5, sensing configuration step 506; pg. 6, paragraph 0074, “The details of the sensing signal may include an indication of a UE-specific sensing timing allocation, an indication of a sensing period and an indication of a channel resource that the UE 110 is to use when transmitting (step 524) sensing results to the BS 170. The details of the sensing signal may be communicated to the UE 110 through sensing configuration signaling that is sent to the UE”; pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “After receiving (step 504) a sensing capability report from multiple UEs 110, report, the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report.”; pg. 7, paragraph 0081, “In a “Semi-Static” sensing configuration, the sensing operation (step 522, FIG. 5) to be carried out by the UE 110 is pre-configured. It follows that “Semi-Static” sensing may also be referred to as “pre-configured sensing.” In pre-configured sensing, detailed sensing configurations are specified by the BS 170 and communicated, by the BS 170, to the UE 110.”; pg. 7, paragraph 0082, “a semi-static sensing configuration (a.k.a., a pre-configured sensing configuration), wherein the BS 170 specifies all detailed configurations, including the transmission resources,”; pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “After receiving (step 504) a sensing capability report from multiple UEs 110, report, the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report.”; see Abstract, “the transmission point may configure the user equipment to use specific resources to report sensing results to the transmission point.”; see Claim 16, “the configuration message further indicates resources to use when transmitting the sensing results and the method further comprises employing the resources when receiving the sensing results.”)).
Regarding claim 19, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 18, further comprising:
selecting at least one network node of the plurality of network nodes as a MIMO radar transmitter network node based on the one or more capability parameters indicating the one or more capabilities of the at least one network node (see pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report”),
wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise an indication that the at least one network node is expected to transmit MIMO radar signals (see pg. 7, paragraph 0084, “Responsive to receiving (step 512) the request to sense indication, the particular UE 110 carries out (step 522) active and passive sensing based on configuration details in a configuration message that the particular UE 110 has previously received (step 508)”).
Regarding claim 20, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 18, further comprising:
selecting at least one network node of the plurality of network nodes as a MIMO radar receiver network node based on the one or more capability parameters indicating the one or more capabilities of the at least one network node (see pg. 7, paragraph 0087, “the BS 170 may transmit (step 506) a sensing configuration indication to a particular UE 110 (or to a group of UEs 110) for active bi-static sensing based on the capability and availability indicated in the received (step 504) sensing capability report”),
wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise an indication that the at least one network node is expected to receive MIMO radar signals (see pg. 7, paragraph 0084, “Responsive to receiving (step 512) the request to sense indication, the particular UE 110 carries out (step 522) active and passive sensing based on configuration details in a configuration message that the particular UE 110 has previously received (step 508)”).
Regarding claim 21, Bayesteh further discloses
The method of claim 18, wherein:
the network entity is an entity in a radio access network (RAN) (see Fig. 1, RANs 120A and 120B),
the network entity is an entity in a core network, or
the network entity is an entity external to the core network.
Regarding claims 22-27, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 1-3 and 14-16 are applied. The only difference between claims 1-3 and 14-16 and claims 22-27 is that claims 22-27 refer to an apparatus while claims 1-16 refer to a method. The examiner considers Bayesteh Figs. 2 and 3 to show transceiver, memory, and processor components, and Bayesteh pg. 2, paragraph 0023, “there is provided a device. The device includes a memory storing instructions and a processor. The processor is configured, by executing the instructions, to perform a method in accordance with any previous aspect or embodiment thereof” to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 1-3 and 4-16.
Regarding claims 28-30, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 18-20 are applied. The only difference between claims 18-20 and claims 28-30 is that claims 28-30 refer to an apparatus while claims 18-20 refer to a method. The examiner considers Bayesteh Figs. 2 and 3 to show transceiver, memory, and processor components, and Bayesteh pg. 2, paragraph 0023, “there is provided a device. The device includes a memory storing instructions and a processor. The processor is configured, by executing the instructions, to perform a method in accordance with any previous aspect or embodiment thereof” show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 18-20.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Manolakos et al. (US 20220116886 A1); In an aspect, a first base station (e.g., Rx gNB) receives, from a radar controller, a configuration of UL T-F resources for the first base station to receive at least one radar signal from a second base station. The first base station further determines power control parameter(s) associated with the at least one radar signal, at least one UL transmission, or a combination thereof. The first base station performs, based on the power control parameter(s), action(s) to mitigate impact by the at least one radar signal to the at least one UL transmission, or by the at least one UL transmission to the at least one radar signal, or a combination thereof. The first base station measures the at least one radar signal on the set of UL T-F resources in accordance with the configuration.
Wu et al. (US 20200300965 A1); A distributed radar system, apparatus, architecture, and method is provided for coherently combining physically distributed radars to jointly produce target scene information in a coherent fashion without sharing a common local oscillator (LO) reference by configuring a first (slave) radar to apply fast and slow time processing steps to target returns generated from a second (master) radar, to compute an estimated frequency offset and an estimated phase offset between the first and second radars based on information derived from the fast and slow time processing steps, and to apply the estimated frequency offset and estimated phase offset to generate a bi-static virtual array aperture at the first radar that is coherent in frequency and phase with a mono-static virtual array aperture generated at the second radar, thereby achieving better sensitivity, finer angular resolution, and low false detection rate.
Wu (US 20200300995 A1); A distributed aperture bi-static radar system, apparatus, architecture, and method is provided for coherently combining physically distributed radars to jointly produce target scene information in a coherent fashion by alternately selecting first and second small aperture devices to operate as the master unit so that radar signals are sequentially transmitted from every transmit antenna in the first and second small aperture devices, thereby enabling the radar control processing unit to coherently combine mono-static and bi-static virtual array apertures from the first and second small aperture radar devices to construct an extended bi-static MIMO virtual army aperture that is larger than the bi-static MIMO virtual array apertures produced by the first and second small aperture radar devices.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLA A EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648