DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 05/12/2026, with respect to claims 1-19, have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the number of pedestrians can be obtained from the number of faces and the number of standing figures of the pedestrians in the images captured by the camera 14. At this time, for example, a moving person who is walking may be excluded from the counting target, as described in Paragraph [0017] in the specification, also please see Fig. 1, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing “measure, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection”
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is measuring a retention amount using only pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk.
Claim 3, along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling in the information providing system, the retention amount measuring means estimates a direction of the pedestrian based on the images from the camera, and measures the retention amount of pedestrians in each transverse direction based on the estimated direction of the pedestrian, as described in Page 29-30 Supplementary note 3 in the specification, also please see Fig. 1, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing “group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated directions of each of the pedestrians”
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is grouping of pedestrians based on the intended crossing direction and direction of the pedestrians.
Claim 9, along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling the number of pedestrians can be obtained from the number of faces and the number of standing figures of the pedestrians in the images captured by the camera 14. At this time, for example, a moving person who is walking may be excluded from the counting target, as described in Paragraph [0017] in the specification, also please see Fig. 1, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing “measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection”
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is measuring a retention amount using only pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk.
Claim 10, along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling the number of pedestrians can be obtained from the number of faces and the number of standing figures of the pedestrians in the images captured by the camera 14. At this time, for example, a moving person who is walking may be excluded from the counting target., as described in Paragraph [0017] in the specification, also please see Fig. 1, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing “a process of measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection”
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is measuring a retention amount using only pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk.
The office respectfully requests the Applicant to indicate where in the specification teaches the amended limitation in claims 1, 3, and 9-10 or amend in order to overcome the rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-11, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing.
Regarding claim 1, Chao teaches an information providing system comprising (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0010]- Chao discloses an apparatus for determining pedestrian traffic is offered. The apparatus includes a memory and a processor(s) coupled to the memory.):
at least one memory configured to store instructions (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0041]- Chao discloses the server 290 includes a memory 270 for storing instructions for pedestrian traffic determination and a processor 280 for executing those instructions.);
and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0041]- Chao discloses the server 290 includes a memory 270 for storing instructions for pedestrian traffic determination and a processor 280 for executing those instructions.):
and output the first map to a predetermined output destination (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0042]- Chao discloses the pedestrian traffic service 260, through the annotation database 264 or otherwise, may communicate with a position computing service 268 which may provide location information to a mobile device 108.).
Chao fails to explicitly teach measure, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
However, Shang explicitly teaches measure, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0011]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector detection information, the pedestrian track gs related to the actual analysis area β, the surrounding parked pedestrian n0, the pedestrian parking position e, the parking time t, whether is the pedestrian crossing b, the pedestrian crossing direction wk, the pedestrian total number n information waiting for crossing the street is input into the pedestrian crossing characteristic identification module),
a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0010]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector is installed at the intersection position);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang measure, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein measure, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Chao in view of Shang fails to explicitly teach create a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
However, Ng-Thow-Hing explicitly teaches create a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0046]- Ng-Thow-Hing the target 3D mapping 342 can spatially overlay indicia 704 and 706 for the corresponding detected pedestrians 708 and 710 on the augmented reality indicator 120 projected by the volumetric head-up display 106 in the form of corresponding dots. In one embodiment, when a large number of pedestrians are detected, the dots 704 and 706 can be grouped together to form larger indicia.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Ng-Thow-Hing create a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein create a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate mapping of an intersection, since both Chao and Ng-Thow-Hing are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ng-Thow-Hing’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the mapping of an intersection. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) Paragraph [0034].
Regarding claim 2, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: group the pedestrians according to intended crossing directions of crossing the road intersection by each of the pedestrians; measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions.
However, Shang explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: group the pedestrians according to intended crossing directions of crossing the road intersection by each of the pedestrians (Fig. 1, Page 5, paragraph [0007]- SHANG discloses the output information comprises the total number nk of pedestrian waiting for street crossing in different directions, and the total waiting time tk of pedestrian waiting for street crossing in each direction.);
measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions (Fig. 1, Page 5. Paragraph [0007]- SHANG discloses the output information comprises the total number nk of pedestrian waiting for street crossing in different directions, and the total waiting time tk of pedestrian waiting for street crossing in each direction.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: group the pedestrians according to intended crossing directions of crossing the road intersection by each of the pedestrians; measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: group the pedestrians according to intended crossing directions of crossing the road intersection by each of the pedestrians; measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Chao in view of Shang fails to explicitly teach and create, as the first map, a map in which the plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions is represented by sizes of markers, including the marker, on the map of the road intersection.
However, Ng-Thow-Hing explicitly teaches and create, as the first map, a map in which the plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions is represented by sizes of markers, including the marker, on the map of the road intersection (Fig. 7, paragraph [0046]- Ng-Thow-Hing the target 3D mapping 342 can spatially overlay indicia 704 and 706 for the corresponding detected pedestrians 708 and 710 on the augmented reality indicator 120 projected by the volumetric head-up display 106 in the form of corresponding dots. In one embodiment, when a large number of pedestrians are detected, the dots 704 and 706 can be grouped together to form larger indicia.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Ng-Thow-Hing and create, as the first map, a map in which the plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions is represented by sizes of markers, including the marker, on the map of the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein create, as the first map, a map in which the plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians for each of the intended crossing directions is represented by sizes of markers, including the marker, on the map of the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate mapping of an intersection, since both Chao and Ng-Thow-Hing are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ng-Thow-Hing’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the mapping of an intersection. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) Paragraph [0034].
Regarding claim 4, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 2, Chao fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate positions of each of the pedestrians in a region of the sidewalk at the road intersection and based on the images from the camera; and group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated positions of each of the pedestrians in the region of the sidewalk.
However, Shang explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate positions of each of the pedestrians in a region of the sidewalk at the road intersection and based on the images from the camera (Fig. 2, Page 4, paragraph [0002]- SHANG discloses carrying out traffic investigation of other information to the parking pedestrians entering the preliminary division area, wherein the investigation includes the pedestrian parking position e, the parking time t, whether it is the pedestrian crossing b, the pedestrian crossing direction wk, the total number n of the pedestrian waiting for crossing, and the pedestrian lights f in different directions.);
and group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated positions of each of the pedestrians in the region of the sidewalk (Fig. 1, Page 2, paragraph [0007]- SHANG discloses counting the pedestrian in the preliminary dividing area α pedestrian parking before stopping; taking the centre of the pedestrian grid as the origin O to establish the coordinate system; respectively the number of the pedestrian in the four quadrants in the preliminary dividing area of the pedestrian; counting the quadrant of each pedestrian grid centre).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate positions of each of the pedestrians in a region of the sidewalk at the road intersection and based on the images from the camera; and group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated positions of each of the pedestrians in the region of the sidewalk.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate positions of each of the pedestrians in a region of the sidewalk at the road intersection and based on the images from the camera; and group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated positions of each of the pedestrians in the region of the sidewalk.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 9, Chao teaches an information providing method comprising (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0077]- Chao discloses as shown in FIG. 6, a device may perform a method for determining pedestrian traffic.):
and outputting the first map to a predetermined output destination (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0042]- Chao discloses the pedestrian traffic service 260, through the annotation database 264 or otherwise, may communicate with a position computing service 268 which may provide location information to a mobile device 108.).
Chao fails to explicitly teach measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
However, Shang explicitly teaches measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0011]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector detection information, the pedestrian track gs related to the actual analysis area β, the surrounding parked pedestrian n0, the pedestrian parking position e, the parking time t, whether is the pedestrian crossing b, the pedestrian crossing direction wk, the pedestrian total number n information waiting for crossing the street is input into the pedestrian crossing characteristic identification module),
a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0010]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector is installed at the intersection position);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing method comprising: and outputting the first map to a predetermined output destination with the teachings of Shang measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Chao in view of Shang fails to explicitly teach creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
However, Ng-Thow-Hing explicitly teaches creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0046]- Ng-Thow-Hing the target 3D mapping 342 can spatially overlay indicia 704 and 706 for the corresponding detected pedestrians 708 and 710 on the augmented reality indicator 120 projected by the volumetric head-up display 106 in the form of corresponding dots. In one embodiment, when a large number of pedestrians are detected, the dots 704 and 706 can be grouped together to form larger indicia.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang of an information providing method comprising: and outputting the first map to a predetermined output destination with the teachings of Ng-Thow-Hing creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate mapping of an intersection, since both Chao and Ng-Thow-Hing are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ng-Thow-Hing’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the mapping of an intersection. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) Paragraph [0034].
Regarding claim 10, Chao teaches a non-transitory program recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]- Chao discloses the computer program product includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium having non-transitory program code recorded thereon.):
and a process of outputting the first map to a predetermined output destination (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0042]- Chao discloses the pedestrian traffic service 260, through the annotation database 264 or otherwise, may communicate with a position computing service 268 which may provide location information to a mobile device 108.),
Chao fails to explicitly teach a process of measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
However, Shang explicitly teaches a process of measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0011]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector detection information, the pedestrian track gs related to the actual analysis area β, the surrounding parked pedestrian n0, the pedestrian parking position e, the parking time t, whether is the pedestrian crossing b, the pedestrian crossing direction wk, the pedestrian total number n information waiting for crossing the street is input into the pedestrian crossing characteristic identification module),
a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0010]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector is installed at the intersection position);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of a non-transitory program recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: a process of outputting the first map to a predetermined output destination with the teachings of Shang a process of measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein a process of measuring, based on images from a camera and by counting a number of pedestrians standing stationary for a predetermined time at a sidewalk of a road intersection, a retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection, wherein a crosswalk is provided at the road intersection, and the camera is installed at the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Chao in view of Shang fails to explicitly teach a process of creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
However, Ng-Thow-Hing explicitly teaches a process of creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0046]- Ng-Thow-Hing the target 3D mapping 342 can spatially overlay indicia 704 and 706 for the corresponding detected pedestrians 708 and 710 on the augmented reality indicator 120 projected by the volumetric head-up display 106 in the form of corresponding dots. In one embodiment, when a large number of pedestrians are detected, the dots 704 and 706 can be grouped together to form larger indicia.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang of a non-transitory program recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: a process of outputting the first map to a predetermined output destination with the teachings of Ng-Thow-Hing a process of creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein a process of creating a first map in which the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection is represented by a marker on a map of the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate mapping of an intersection, since both Chao and Ng-Thow-Hing are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ng-Thow-Hing’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the mapping of an intersection. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) Paragraph [0034].
Regarding claim 11, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao fails to explicitly teach wherein measuring of the retention amount includes counting the pedestrians as waiting for a traffic light at the road intersection.
However, Shang explicitly teaches wherein measuring of the retention amount includes counting the pedestrians as waiting for a traffic light at the road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 5, Paragraph 0006]- SHANG discloses using the binocular vision detector to detect the pedestrian track gs related to the actual analysis area beta, the peripheral parked pedestrian n0, the pedestrian parking position e, the parking time t, whether it is the pedestrian crossing b, the pedestrian crossing direction wk and the pedestrian total number n waiting for crossing.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang wherein measuring of the retention amount includes counting the pedestrians as waiting for a traffic light at the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein measuring of the retention amount includes counting the pedestrians as waiting for a traffic light at the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 16, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao fails to explicitly teach wherein the road intersection includes a plurality of crosswalks, including the crosswalk, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians as at ones of a plurality of sidewalk areas located at corners of the road intersection.
However, Shang explicitly teaches wherein the road intersection includes a plurality of crosswalks, including the crosswalk, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians as at ones of a plurality of sidewalk areas located at corners of the road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 3, paragraph [0011]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision pedestrian detector detection information, the pedestrian track gs related to the actual analysis area β, the surrounding parked pedestrian n0, the pedestrian parking position e, the parking time t, whether is the pedestrian crossing b, the pedestrian crossing direction wk, the pedestrian total number n information waiting for crossing the street is input into the pedestrian crossing characteristic identification module);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang wherein the road intersection includes a plurality of crosswalks, including the crosswalk, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians as at ones of a plurality of sidewalk areas located at corners of the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the road intersection includes a plurality of crosswalks, including the crosswalk, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure a plurality of second retention amounts of the pedestrians as at ones of a plurality of sidewalk areas located at corners of the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Chao in view of Shang fails to explicitly teach and create the first map as representing the plurality of second retention amounts as at the ones of the plurality of sidewalk areas and by respective markers.
However, Ng-Thow-Hing explicitly teaches and create the first map as representing the plurality of second retention amounts as at the ones of the plurality of sidewalk areas and by respective markers (Fig. 7, paragraph [0046]- Ng-Thow-Hing the target 3D mapping 342 can spatially overlay indicia 704 and 706 for the corresponding detected pedestrians 708 and 710 on the augmented reality indicator 120 projected by the volumetric head-up display 106 in the form of corresponding dots. In one embodiment, when a large number of pedestrians are detected, the dots 704 and 706 can be grouped together to form larger indicia.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Ng-Thow-Hing and create the first map as representing the plurality of second retention amounts as at the ones of the plurality of sidewalk areas and by respective markers.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein create the first map as representing the plurality of second retention amounts as at the ones of the plurality of sidewalk areas and by respective markers.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate mapping of an intersection, since both Chao and Ng-Thow-Hing are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ng-Thow-Hing’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the mapping of an intersection. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) Paragraph [0034].
Regarding claim 17, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao fails to explicitly teach wherein the predetermined output destination is a traffic control center configured to adjust traffic light control parameters based on the retention amount.
However, Shang explicitly teaches wherein the predetermined output destination is a traffic control center configured to adjust traffic light control parameters based on the retention amount (Fig. 1, Page 5. Paragraph [0007]- SHANG discloses the binocular vision detector inputs the detection information into the pedestrian crossing characteristic identification module, at the same time, the intersection signal machine inputs the pedestrian light colour state f into the pedestrian crossing characteristic module, based on the above information, the pedestrian crossing characteristic identification module performs waiting for pedestrian crossing and crossing direction identification, and outputting the result to the intersection signal machine, the output information comprises the total number nk of pedestrian waiting for street crossing in different directions, and the total waiting time tk of pedestrian waiting for street crossing in each direction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang wherein the predetermined output destination is a traffic control center configured to adjust traffic light control parameters based on the retention amount.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the predetermined output destination is a traffic control center configured to adjust traffic light control parameters based on the retention amount.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Ikeda et al. (US 20200050873 A1) hereafter referenced as Ikeda.
Regarding claim 3, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 2, Chao fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate directions of each of the pedestrians based on the images from the camera.
However, Shang explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate directions of each of the pedestrians based on the images from the camera (Fig. 1, Page 2, Paragraph [0006]- SHANG discloses analyzing the pedestrian track entering the primary dividing area α; recording the pedestrian walking direction w, speed v, the recorded data is the direction w0 of the pedestrian entering the primary dividing area time, the speed v0 is the standard; when the pedestrian enters the primary dividing area α, then not carrying out track analysis for the pedestrian;);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Shang wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate directions of each of the pedestrians based on the images from the camera.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: estimate directions of each of the pedestrians based on the images from the camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate tracking of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Shang are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Shang’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the pedestrian characteristic and behavior tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A) Page 2, Paragraph [0003].
Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach and group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated directions of each of the pedestrians.
However, Ikeda explicitly teaches and group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions (Fig. 5, paragraph [0153]- Ikeda discloses the display control unit 552 may display, on a screen, a character string expressing a crowd state “a crowd of 4 people looking rightward and remaining unmoving” for the cluster CL2, and may display, on a screen, a character string expressing a crowd state “a crowd of 13 people moving rightward” for the cluster CL3.) and based on the estimated directions of each of the pedestrians (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0142]- Ikeda discloses a cluster direction may be any value other than the above-described values if calculated from a crowd direction related to each partial area belonging to a cluster obtained by clustering.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Ikeda group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated directions of each of the pedestrians.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein group the pedestrians according to the intended crossing directions and based on the estimated directions of each of the pedestrians.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate estimation of people flow, since both Chao and Ikeda are both systems for tracking and analyzing people movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ikeda’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of people flow information. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ikeda et al. (US 20200050873 A1) Paragraph [0014].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Goto et al. (US 20200298884 A1) hereafter referenced as Goto.
Regarding claim 5, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: record, as time-series data, a measurement result of the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection; and create, as the first map and using the time-series data, a map representing a change in the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection.
However, Goto explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: record, as time-series data, a measurement result of the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0053]- Goto discloses the characteristic diagram shown in the lower part of FIG. 4 is a map (a standby time period map for the host vehicle 10 in relation to the number Np of the pedestrians 20p; therefore, also referred to as a pedestrian standby time period map) 154 of a pedestrian standby time period Tp and showing a relationship between the standby time period Tp and the number Np of the pedestrians 20p);
and create, as the first map and using the time-series data, a map representing a change in the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0053]- Goto discloses the characteristic diagram shown in the lower part of FIG. 4 is a map (a standby time period map for the host vehicle 10 in relation to the number Np of the pedestrians 20p; therefore, also referred to as a pedestrian standby time period map) 154 of a pedestrian standby time period Tp and showing a relationship between the standby time period Tp and the number Np of the pedestrians 20p).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Goto wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: record, as time-series data, a measurement result of the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection; and create, as the first map and using the time-series data, a map representing a change in the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: record, as time-series data, a measurement result of the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection; and create, as the first map and using the time-series data, a map representing a change in the retention amount of the pedestrians at the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more control over a traffic situation, since both Chao and Goto are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Goto’s system provides a way to improve control over traffic situations. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Goto et al. (US 20200298884 A1) Paragraph [0004-7].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting et al. (US 20170323448 A1) hereafter referenced as Whiting.
Regarding claim 6, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a positions and movements of passing pedestrians passing through the road intersection; and create a second map of the road intersection in which any of an arrow and a line segment indicates the positions and the movements of at least one of the passing pedestrians.
However, Whiting explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a positions and movements of passing pedestrians passing through the road intersection (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0036]- Whiting discloses the object movement analysis 162 determines the area of the field of view 112 where pedestrians 102 typically enter the roadway, by identifying and differentiating pedestrians 102 from other roadway users and tracking their position as the move through the field of view 112.);
and create a second map of the road intersection in which any of an arrow and a line segment indicates the positions and the movements of at least one of the passing pedestrians (Fig. 7 Paragraph [0027]- Whiting discloses FIG. 7, arrows indicate accumulated tracks 106 of moving objects 107 are shown therein, as are pedestrian tracks 108 in the region of interest 103.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: measure a retention amount of pedestrians around an intersection based on images from a camera installed around the intersection with the teachings of Whiting wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a positions and movements of passing pedestrians passing through the road intersection; and create a second map of the road intersection in which any of an arrow and a line segment indicates the positions and the movements of at least one of the passing pedestrians.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a positions and movements of passing pedestrians passing through the road intersection; and create a second map of the road intersection in which any of an arrow and a line segment indicates the positions and the movements of at least one of the passing pedestrians.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate traffic management system, since both Chao and Whiting are both systems for traffic management. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Whiting’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of traffic management. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Whiting et al. (US 9460613 B1) Column 1 lines [0062-67] and Column 2 lines [0001-6].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, Whiting et al. (US 20170323448 A1) hereafter referenced as Whiting, and Sharifi et al. (Analysis and Modeling of Pedestrian Walking Behaviors Involving Individuals with Disabilities) hereafter referenced as Sharifi.
Regarding claim 7, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a position and a movement of a passing pedestrian passing through the road intersection.
However, Whiting explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a position and a movement of a passing pedestrian passing through the road intersection (Fig. 1, paragraph [0036]- Whiting discloses the object movement analysis 162 determines the area of the field of view 112 where pedestrians 102 typically enter the roadway, by identifying and differentiating pedestrians 102 from other roadway users and tracking their position as the move through the field of view 112.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: measure a retention amount of pedestrians around an intersection based on images from a camera installed around the intersection with the teachings of Whiting wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a position and a movement of a passing pedestrian passing through the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, a position and a movement of a passing pedestrian passing through the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate traffic management system, since both Chao and Whiting are both systems for traffic management. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Whiting’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of traffic management. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Whiting et al. (US 9460613 B1) Column 1 lines [0062-67] and Column 2 lines [0001-6].
Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting fails to explicitly teach create a time distance diagram representing, in time series, a movement situation of the passing pedestrian in a past predetermined period of the crosswalk at the road intersection and based on the marker on the first map being selected and a predetermined operation being performed, output, to the predetermined output destination, the time distance diagram of the crosswalk at a location indicated by the marker.
However, Sharifi explicitly teaches create a time distance diagram representing, in time series, a movement situation of the passing pedestrian in a past predetermined period of the crosswalk at the road intersection (Section 4.4 paragraph [0001]- Sharifi discloses time-space trajectories of pedestrian crowd dynamics are depicted in Fig. 4.2. These time-space diagrams were created by plotting the position of each participant, given at a distance from a reference point (e.g., entrance of the circuit) against time.);
and based on the marker on the first map being selected and a predetermined operation being performed, output, to the predetermined output destination, the time distance diagram of the crosswalk at a location indicated by the marker (Section 5.4 Paragraph [0001]- Sharifi discloses the processing component makes it possible to extract the raw trajectory data for a selective area or selected time duration for all pedestrians or for a selective group of pedestrians (e.g. pedestrians with disabilities).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: measure a retention amount of pedestrians around an intersection based on images from a camera installed around the intersection with the teachings of Sharifi create a time distance diagram representing, in time series, a movement situation of the passing pedestrian in a past predetermined period of the crosswalk at the road intersection and based on the marker on the first map being selected and a predetermined operation being performed, output, to the predetermined output destination, the time distance diagram of the crosswalk at a location indicated by the marker.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein create a time distance diagram representing, in time series, a movement situation of the passing pedestrian in a past predetermined period of the crosswalk at the road intersection and based on the marker on the first map being selected and a predetermined operation being performed, output, to the predetermined output destination, the time distance diagram of the crosswalk at a location indicated by the marker.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate model of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Sharifi are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Sharifi’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the model of pedestrian behavior. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Sharifi et al. (Analysis and Modeling of Pedestrian Walking Behaviors Involving Individuals with Disabilities) Section 7.3.2 Paragraph [0001].
Regarding claim 8, Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, Whiting, and Sharifi teaches the information providing system according to claim 7, Shang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine, based on the images from the camera installed at the road intersection, an attribute of the passing pedestrian passing through the road intersection (Fig. 1, Page 2, Paragraph [0006]- Shang discloses recording the pedestrian walking direction w, speed v, the recorded data is the direction w0 of the pedestrian entering the primary dividing area time, the speed v0 is the standard)
Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting fails to explicitly teach and create the time distance diagram representing the attribute of the passing pedestrian.
However, Sharifi explicitly teaches and create the time distance diagram representing the attribute of the passing pedestrian (Section 4.4 paragraph [0001]- Sharifi discloses it can be observed that 63 individuals without disabilities maintain a more conservative spacing from individuals with disabilities, and the time headway between individuals without disabilities is lower compared to the time headway between individuals without and with disabilities. In addition, the slope of the trajectories represents the speed of participants with the curved portions indicating speed changes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: measure a retention amount of pedestrians around an intersection based on images from a camera installed around the intersection with the teachings of Sharifi and create the time distance diagram representing the attribute of the passing pedestrian.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein and create the time distance diagram representing the attribute of the passing pedestrian.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate model of pedestrian behaviors, since both Chao and Sharifi are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Sharifi’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the model of pedestrian behavior. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Sharifi et al. (Analysis and Modeling of Pedestrian Walking Behaviors Involving Individuals with Disabilities) Section 7.3.2 Paragraph [0001].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Son et al. (US 20210279481 A1) hereafter referenced as Son.
Regarding claim 12, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein measuring of the retention amount excludes counting walking pedestrians walking through a sidewalk area.
However, Son explicitly teaches wherein measuring of the retention amount excludes counting walking pedestrians walking through a sidewalk area (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0119]- Son discloses here, the controller 140 may exclude moving objects other than the vehicle 1, which cannot be a reference for matching, in order to reduce an amount of operation of image processing for performing matching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Son wherein measuring of the retention amount excludes counting walking pedestrians walking through a sidewalk area.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein measuring of the retention amount excludes counting walking pedestrians walking through a sidewalk area.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have reduce the amount of image processing operations, since both Chao and Son are both systems for tracking and analyzing objects at intersections. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Son’s system provides a way to reduce the amount of image processing operations. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Son et al. (US 20210279481 A1) Paragraph [0119].
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Jugel et al. (US 20160260233 A1) hereafter referenced as Jugel.
Regarding claim 13, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the marker is displayed on the map in a form of a bubble chart and indicating the retention amount by a size of a circular marker.
However, Jugel explicitly teaches wherein the marker is displayed on the map in a form of a bubble chart and indicating the retention amount by a size of a circular marker (Fig. 2a Paragraph [0020]- Jugel discloses the chart can be a bubble chart and a graphics primitive can be a bubble where a location of the bubble in an x-y coordinate space can represent two data variables or dimensions for an item (e.g., time of sale and price or cost) and a size of the bubble can represent a third data variable or dimension (e.g., volume or number of items sold) (wherein the markers are the bubbles shown in Fig. 2a as 204 and 208 and the retention amount is the number of items sold being represented by the size of the marker).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Jugel wherein the marker is displayed on the map in a form of a bubble chart and indicating the retention amount by a size of a circular marker.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the marker is displayed on the map in a form of a bubble chart and indicating the retention amount by a size of a circular marker.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have allow for improved visualization, since both Chao and Jugel are both systems for tracking and analyzing objects at intersections. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Jugel’s system provides a way to improve visualization of the graph. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Jugel et al. (US 20160260233 A1) Paragraph [0033-34].
Regarding claim 14, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 2, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the marker indicates at least one of the intended crossing directions by a triangular marker and indicates the retention amount by a size of the triangular marker.
However, Jugel explicitly teaches wherein the marker indicates at least one of the intended crossing directions by a triangular marker and indicates the retention amount by a size of the triangular marker (Fig. 2A Paragraph [0056]- Jugel discloses the graphics primitive may not be a circle or bubble. Example graphics primitives can include, but are not limited to squares, rectangles, triangles, crosses, stars, single pixels, thumbnail images, images, clip-art, pictures, and any type of shape or mark (wherein the markers are the bubbles shown in Fig. 2a as 204 and 208 and the retention amount is the number of items sold being represented by the size of the marker which can be a triangle).).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Jugel wherein the marker indicates at least one of the intended crossing directions by a triangular marker and indicates the retention amount by a size of the triangular marker.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the marker indicates at least one of the intended crossing directions by a triangular marker and indicates the retention amount by a size of the triangular marker.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have allow for improved visualization, since both Chao and Jugel are both systems for tracking and analyzing objects at intersections. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Jugel’s system provides a way to improve visualization of the graph. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Jugel et al. (US 20160260233 A1) Paragraph [0033-34].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Janzen et al. (US 20180096595 A1) hereafter referenced as Janzen.
Regarding claim 15, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the camera is mounted on a pole of a traffic light.
However, Janzen explicitly teaches wherein the camera is mounted on a pole of a traffic light (Fig. 1, paragraph [0048]- Janzen discloses each traffic optimization system can include at least one camera mounted at, near, or on one or more traffic signal poles located at an intersection. One or more sensor processing units within the traffic optimization system can process images captured by the one or more cameras to detect any of a variety of objects including (but not limited to) automobiles (with varying degrees of specificity), busses, cyclists, pedestrians, emergency vehicles, boats, and/or trolleys/light rail trains.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Janzen wherein the camera is mounted on a pole of a traffic light.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the camera is mounted on a pole of a traffic light.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have allow for improved traffic flow tracking, since both Chao and Janzen are both systems for tracking and analyzing intersection data. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Janzen’s system provides a way to improve traffic flow tracking. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Janzen et al. (US 20180096595 A1) Paragraph [0049].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, and Malkes et al. (US 20190333370 A1) hereafter referenced as Malkes.
Regarding claim 18, Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing teaches the information providing system according to claim 1, Chao in view of Shang fails to explicitly teach create the first map further in which the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles in each of the lanes is represented by a vehicle marker on the map of the road intersection; and output, to the predetermined output destination, the first map as representing both the retention amount of the pedestrians and the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles.
However, Ng-Thow-Hing explicitly teaches create the first map further in which the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles in each of the lanes is represented by a vehicle marker on the map of the road intersection (Fig. 3, paragraph [0042]- Ng-Thow-Hing discloses the location of the indicator 120 on the volumetric head-up display 106 can be shown in a semi-transparent form such that other vehicles 404 and 406 can also be seen and not distort the driver's reality. (wherein Fig. 4 shows other vehicle being marked as well as pedestrians).);
and output, to the predetermined output destination, the first map as representing both the retention amount of the pedestrians and the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles (Fig. 3, paragraph [0038]- Ng-Thow-Hing the augmented reality controller 230 can have a target 3D mapping component 342 to three dimensionally map the augmented reality indicator 120 showing the intersection with spatially overlaid pedestrians through the volumetric head-up display 106.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Ng-Thow-Hing create the first map further in which the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles in each of the lanes is represented by a vehicle marker on the map of the road intersection; and output, to the predetermined output destination, the first map as representing both the retention amount of the pedestrians and the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein create the first map further in which the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles in each of the lanes is represented by a vehicle marker on the map of the road intersection; and output, to the predetermined output destination, the first map as representing both the retention amount of the pedestrians and the vehicle retention amount of the vehicles.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate mapping of an intersection, since both Chao and Ng-Thow-Hing are both systems for tracking and analyzing pedestrian movement. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ng-Thow-Hing’s system provides a way to improve accuracy of the mapping of an intersection. Please see Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) Paragraph [0034].
Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure, based on the images from the camera, a vehicle retention amount of vehicles in each of lanes of a road at the road intersection.
However, Malkes explicitly teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure, based on the images from the camera, a vehicle retention amount of vehicles in each of lanes of a road at the road intersection (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0090]- Malkes discloses for pedestrian traffic flow rates of greater than 10 counts in pedestrian zone 1 and vehicular traffic flow rate of greater than 10 vehicles per minute in vehicular zone 1a, the zone setting for pedestrian zone 1 and vehicular zone 1a is to be adjusted according to dimension specified by extended zones for pedestrian zone 1 and vehicular zone 1a in the table 500 of FIG. 5.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Malkes wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure, based on the images from the camera, a vehicle retention amount of vehicles in each of lanes of a road at the road intersection.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure, based on the images from the camera, a vehicle retention amount of vehicles in each of lanes of a road at the road intersection.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have allow for improved detection of traffic conditions and objects, since both Chao and Malkes are both systems for tracking and analyzing intersection data. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Malkes’ system provides a way to improve detection of traffic conditions and objects. Please see Chao et al. (US 20190051167 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Malkes et al. (US 20190051167 A1) Paragraph [0023-24].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (US 20130101159 A1) hereafter referenced as Chao in view of Shang et al. (CN 113239725 A, English Translation) Page 2, Paragraph [0003] hereafter referenced as Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20160260326 A1) hereafter referenced as Ng-Thow-Hing, Whiting et al. (US 20170323448 A1) hereafter referenced as Whiting, and Ghafarianzadeh et al. (US 20200307562 A1) hereafter referenced as Ghafarianzadeh.
Regarding claim 19, Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting teaches the information providing system according to claim 6, Chao in view of Shang, Ng-Thow-Hing, and Whiting fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera, a position and a movement of a vehicle relative to the road intersection; create the second map further in which the position and the movement of the vehicle relative to the road intersection are represented by a second marker on the map of the road intersection; and output the second map to the predetermined output destination.
However, Ghafarianzadeh explicitly teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera, a position and a movement of a vehicle relative to the road intersection (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0049]- Ghafarianzadeh discloses a vehicle context may include, but is not limited to, a velocity, direction, acceleration, bounding box, position (e.g., in the frame of reference 220), distance between the object and the object 124, and the like.);
create the second map further in which the position and the movement of the vehicle relative to the road intersection are represented by a second marker on the map of the road intersection (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0120]- Ghafarianzadeh discloses that is, the maps 924 can be used in connection with the localization component 920, the perception component 922, the prediction component 928, and/or the planning component 936 to determine a location of the vehicle 902, identify objects in an environment, and/or generate routes and/or trajectories to navigate within an environment.);
and output the second map to the predetermined output destination (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0147]- Ghafarianzadeh discloses the localization component 920, the one or more maps 924, the one or more system controllers 926, the prediction component 928, the attribute component 930, the destination prediction component 932, the location prediction component 934, and the planning component 936 can send their respective outputs to the one or more computing device(s) 940 at a particular frequency, after a lapse of a predetermined period of time, in near real-time, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Chao in view of Shang and Ng-Thow-Hing fails of an information providing system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions with the teachings of Ghafarianzadeh the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera, a position and a movement of a vehicle relative to the road intersection; create the second map further in which the position and the movement of the vehicle relative to the road intersection are represented by a second marker on the map of the road intersection; and output the second map to the predetermined output destination.
Wherein having Chao’s system of pedestrian traffic mapping wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect, based on the images from the camera, a position and a movement of a vehicle relative to the road intersection; create the second map further in which the position and the movement of the vehicle relative to the road intersection are represented by a second marker on the map of the road intersection; and output the second map to the predetermined output destination.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have allow for improved prediction on location and trajectories of objects, since both Chao and Ghafarianzadeh are both systems for tracking and analyzing intersection data. Wherein Chao’s system provides a way to improve route planning, while Ghafarianzadeh’s system provides a way to improve prediction on location and trajectories of objects. Please see Chao et al. (US 20190051167 A1) Paragraph [0069] and Ghafarianzadeh et al. (US 20200307562 A1) Paragraph [0029].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Sato et al. (US 20190332856 A1)- A person's behavior monitoring device includes a processor for acquiring a captured image of each of a plurality of cameras, acquiring information relating to a person requiring special attention by analyzing the captured image, and generating a monitoring image including the information, in which the processor determines, for each of the cameras, whether or not a person detected from the captured image is a long-time stayer who stays for a long-time in a capturing area of one of the cameras based on a result of tracking the person, and superimposes and displays a person rectangle that enables identification of a degree of stay on the captured image in correspondence with a person corresponding to the long-time stayer....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Xu et al. (US 20210327086 A1)- The present disclosure relates to a pedestrian event detection method and device, an electronic apparatus, and a storage medium. The method comprises: acquiring coordinates of a target pedestrian in multi-frame to-be-processed images; acquiring coordinates of a preset space; and determining a pedestrian events occurring to the target pedestrian in the preset space according to the coordinates of the target pedestrian in the multi-frame to-be-processed images and the coordinates of the preset space. The embodiments of the present disclosure can improve the accuracy of detecting pedestrian events..........................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Noda et al. (US 20190213886 A1)- An object detection method includes: acquiring three-dimensional data on an area around a host vehicle by use of a distance measurement sensor; based on map data on an area around a current position of the host vehicle, setting a planned travel area where the host vehicle is going to travel in the future; estimating crossing object existence areas where there currently exist objects which are likely to cross the host vehicle in the future in the set planned travel area; and detecting the object by use of the three dimensional data on insides of the estimated crossing object existence areas....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Liu et al. (US 20160328959 A1)- Systems and methods are provided for systematically penalizing drivers who fail to stop at crosswalk on different circumstances. The system and method generally employ a sensor to detect a vehicle approaching the cross walk and ambient conditions. The sensor may collect information about the speed and any changes in speed of the vehicle approaching. An image capture device may be used to identify any passengers waiting to cross or actively crossing within the crosswalk. The analyzer processes the information and determines if a fine should be levied upon the vehicle approaching the cross walk. The analyzer may also determine the magnitude of the fine that is to be issued. An additional camera for sensing vehicle speed may be placed at the cross walk to obtain further information to properly assess a fine......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Powch et al. (US 20190221116 A1)- Traffic control based on sensor data acquired using vehicle-borne sensors. Such sensor data can be used to control right-of-way priority for any one or more of various traffic objects sensed by the vehicle-borne sensors. In some embodiments vehicle-sourced sensor data is used to control traffic signals at one or more signalized roadway intersections. In some embodiments, a traffic-object awareness system utilizes at least one traffic-object-state algorithms to classify objects proximate to an intersection and to determine a current state of each object. The traffic-object-awareness system uses such classification and state information in executing a travel-prioritization algorithm to determine whether travel priority should be given to any one or more traffic objects identified within the classified objects. When the traffic-object-awareness system determines that travel priority should be given, it generates and sends a call signal to a traffic signal controller........................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673