Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8), drawn to a top ring of a polishing apparatus comprising a top ring main body, a retainer member, a pressing mechanism, and at least one of the retainer member and the pressing mechanism is provided with a dovetail groove, and further, Species A, figs. 4-5B, drawn to both the outer peripheral wall of the retainer member and the outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism comprising the groove in the reply filed on 05/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8 are being examined. Claim 4, 6, and 9-10 are withdrawn.
Claims 4 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 4 and 6 are directed towards the embodiment of fig. 6 (Species B from restriction requirement), wherein only one of the retainer member and the pressing mechanism includes a dovetail groove for a fitting portion of one end of the band to insert through, while the other end of the band is sandwiched between an upper member and the retainer member or pressing mechanism.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence of the abstract recites, “Provided is…” and the abstract exceeds 150 words (e.g. 203 words). Further, the Examiner suggests reference numbers included in the abstract being in parentheticals. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The amendment filed 01/18/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The amended statement of incorporation by reference to the international patent application no. PCT/JP2022/026170, and of the Japanese Patent Application No. 2021-118470, is ineffective as it was added after the date of entry into the national phase, which is after the filing date of the instant application. The filing date of the national stage application is the filing of the associated PCT, in this case, 06/30/2022, see MPEP 1893.03(b). Therefore, the specification amendment of 01/18/2024 to include the incorporation by reference is new matter, per MPEP 608.01(p).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter incorporation by reference statement in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a retainer member…to hold an outer edge of the substrate” in claim 1.
“a pressing mechanism…configured to press the retainer member downward” in claim 1.
Fig. 4 and p. [0038] discloses the sufficient structure of “a retainer member” is ring(s) disposed around the wafer or equivalence thereof.
Fig. 4 and pp. [0039] discloses the sufficient structure of “a pressing mechanism” is a cylinder and piston or equivalence thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima (US 2013/0196573).
Regarding claim 1, Fukushima (US 2013/0196573) discloses a top ring (item 1; fig. 1) of a polishing apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a top ring main body (item 10 which includes items 41, 42, 43, 45; pp. [0104-0105]; fig. 2; similar to applicant’s disclosure, fig. 3 in instant disclosure) having a substrate support surface (item 45; fig. 2) supporting an upper surface of a substrate (pp. [0106]; substrate support surface 45 is secured to upper surface of substrate W; fig. 2);
a retainer member (includes items 20, 30; pp. [0104]; fig. 2) disposed so as to surround an outer periphery of the substrate support surface (both rings 20, 30 of retainer member surround outer periphery of substrate support surface 45; fig. 8) to hold an outer edge of the substrate (pp. [0107]; figs. 2 and 8);
a pressing mechanism (includes items 60, 80; pp. [0108] and [0114]; figs. 2 and 8) disposed above the retainer member (fig. 8) and configured to press the retainer member downward (pp. [0108] and [0114]; pressing mechanism is capable of pressing portions of retainer member downward onto polishing pad); and
a band (item 123 that mounts to outer peripheral wall(s); annotated figs. 8 and 16 below) disposed extending from an outer peripheral wall of the retainer member (pp. [0141]; band extends over entire circumference of outer peripheral wall 32 of a portion of the retainer member, i.e. item 30 of retainer member) to an outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism (pp. [0141; bands extend over entire circumference of outer peripheral wall 83 of a portion of the pressing mechanism, i.e. item 80 of pressing mechanism), the band having at least one fitting portion (designated in annotated fig. 8 below), wherein
First Annotated Fig. 8.
at least one of the outer peripheral wall of the retainer member and the outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism is provided with a groove in which the fitting portion of the band is fitted (both outer peripheral wall 32 and outer peripheral wall 83 include groove, i.e. opening, in which band inserts into; fig. 8),
the groove is a dovetail groove configured to have a groove opening (defined as outermost left edge of opening in view of figs. 8 and 16, i.e. in which fitting portion is first inserted through), a groove bottom (designated in annotated fig. 16 below) opposed to the groove opening (groove bottom is on opposed end of groove, i.e. along left-right direction in view of figs. 8 and 16), a first groove side wall connecting the groove opening to the groove bottom (designated in annotated fig. 16 below), and a second groove side wall connecting the groove opening to the groove bottom (designated in annotated fig. 16 below) and opposed to the first groove side wall (first and second side walls are opposed along up-down direction in view of figs. 8 and 16), in cross-sectional view (view of figs. 8 and 16), and the dovetail groove is configured such that an interval between the first groove side wall and the second groove side wall widens as the interval approaches the groove bottom (groove is smaller at groove opening and widens, i.e. dovetail shape, when moving towards groove bottom; annotated fig. 16 below), and
First Annotated Fig. 16.
the fitting portion is configured to be in contact with the first groove side wall and the second groove side wall in a state where the fitting portion of the band is fitted in the dovetail groove (in a state in which fitting portion of band 123 inserts into groove, i.e. state of figs. 8 and 16, the fitting portion is capable of contact both first and second side walls).
Second Annotated Fig. 16.
Regarding claim 3, Fukushima discloses the top ring of the polishing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein
a part of the band is provided with an expansion and contraction portion (defined as middle portion of band 123 between both fitting portions, i.e. bellow-shaped portion; fig. 8) expandable and contractable in a vertical direction (pp. [0141]; band 123 extends in vertical direction via bellows).
Regarding claim 5, Fukushima discloses the top ring of the polishing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the groove is provided on both the outer peripheral wall of the retainer member (groove is provided on outer peripheral wall 32 of a portion of retainer member, i.e. item 30 of retainer member; fig. 8) and the outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism (groove is also provided on outer peripheral wall 83 of a portion of pressing mechanism, i.e. item 80 of pressing mechanism; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Fukushima discloses the top ring of the polishing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the groove opening is provided with a depressed portion (designated in second annotated fig. 16 below).
Second Annotated Fig. 16.
The recitations “for a processing tool for processing the groove to pass through when the processing tool is inserted from the groove opening into the groove" is considered to be an intended use limitation. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the depressed portion of the groove opening is able to receive a processing tool in order to process, i.e. produce, the groove prior to the fitting portion being inserted into the groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima (US 2013/0196573) in view of Kobayashi (US 2020/0039024).
Regarding claim 2, Fukushima discloses the top ring of the polishing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the fitting portion of the band has a first projecting portion (designated in third annotated fig . 16 below) in contact with the first groove side wall (first annotated fig. 16 above) and a second projecting portion (designated in third annotated fig. 16 below) in contact with the second groove side wall (first annotated fig. 16 above).
Third Annotated Fig. 16.
Fukushima does not explicitly disclose a v-shaped groove in a cross-sectionally v shape is provided between the first projecting portion and the second projection portion.
However, Kobayashi (US 2020/0039024) teaches a top ring (item 302; fig. 4) for a polishing apparatus (fig. 4) comprising a retainer member (includes items 412, 416; fig. 10), a pressing mechanism (item 404; fig. 10), and a band (item 414; fig. 10) disposed extending from an outer peripheral wall of the retainer member to an outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism (fig. 10), the band including a fitting portion (designated in annotated fig. 10 below), and wherein the fitting portion has a first projecting portion (designated in annotated fig. 10 below), a second projecting portion (designated in annotated fig. 10 below), and a v-shaped groove (defined by gray highlighted space between the projection portions in annotated fig. 10 below) provided between the projection portions.
Annotated Fig. 10.
Both Fukushima and Kobayashi disclose a band with fitting portion(s) including projecting portions to insert within a groove on a corresponding outer peripheral wall. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second projecting portion, as disclosed in Fukushima, with the first and second projecting portion having a v-shaped groove between the projecting portions, as taught in Kobayashi, to achieve the predictable result of inserting the fitting portion(s) of the band onto the outer peripheral wall of the retainer member and pressing mechanism in order for the gap to be sealed between the retainer member and pressing mechanism, and thereby prevent polishing liquid or the like from entering into the space between the pressing mechanism and retainer member.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima (US 2013/0196573) in view of Loebmann (US 2013/0316620).
Regarding claim 8, Fukushima discloses the top ring of the polishing apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Fukushima discloses the substrate is a circular shape (fig. 1), and does not explicitly disclose the substrate is a polygonal substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate to be polygonal in shape since it has been held that unless a new and unexpected result is produced, a change of shape of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.IV-B). Loebmann (US 2013/0316620) teaches a top ring for a polishing apparatus (fig. 1), wherein the top ring includes a retainer member (item 1; figs. 2a-2b) for holding an outer edge of a substrate (pp. [0032-0033]; figs. 2a-2b), wherein an inner surface of the retainer ring may be other shapes, i.e. non-circular shapes, for retaining wafers of different sizes and shapes (pp. [0033]). Therefore, absent any new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to change the shape of the inner surface of the retainer ring to be polygonal for a polygonal substrate, in view of the teachings of Loebmann, since such a modification would yield the same results of securing the substrate in place during use, and in view of Loebmann, there are reasonable expectations of success. Please note that in the instant application, pp. [0027], the application has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (“the shape of the substrate Wf, however is not limited to such a polygon, and may, for example, be a circular shape…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yasuda (US 2008/0318499) discloses a top ring for a polishing apparatus comprising a top ring main body, a retainer member to hold a substrate, a pressing mechanism to press the retainer member downward, and a band extending from an outer peripheral wall of the retainer member.
Nabeya (US 2009/0111362) discloses a top ring for a polishing apparatus comprising a top ring main body, a retainer member to hold a substrate, a pressing mechanism to press the retainer member downward, and a band extending from an outer peripheral wall of the retainer member to an outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism.
Fukushima (US 2010/0273405) discloses a top ring for a polishing apparatus comprising a top ring main body, a retainer member to hold a substrate, a pressing mechanism to press the retainer member downward, and a band extending from an outer peripheral wall of the retainer member to an outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism, wherein both peripheral walls of the retainer member and the pressing mechanism comprise a groove in which a fitting portion of the band is inserted within.
Yashuda (US 10,092,992) discloses a top ring for a polishing apparatus comprising a top ring main body, a retainer member to hold a substrate, a pressing mechanism to press the retainer member downward, and the top ring may include a band extending from an outer peripheral wall of the retainer member to an outer peripheral wall of the pressing mechanism, wherein both peripheral walls of the retainer member and the pressing mechanism comprise a groove in which a fitting portion of the band is inserted within.
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723