DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations means for observing, means for applying, means for determining, and means for taking in claim 30 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-15, 19, 22-25, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated , by Jha et al. (WO 2020257642 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jha et al. teach A method for wireless communication by a sidelink user equipment (UE) ([0049] CPMs are broadcast in the ITS network between ITS-Ss to share the presence of road users (e.g., VRUs) and other objects that have been detected and recognized by ITS-Ss. Note: a user equipment (UE) is interpreted as an ITS station (ITS-S)), comprising:
observing, via one or more sensors, a set of objects in an environment in which the sidelink UE is operating ([0027] the sensor system of a V-ITS-S may provide sensor data for each detected object (and its attributes), [0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss with the objective of increasing traffic safety. ... Objects need to be located on the driving lanes or adjacent to lanes (e.g., pedestrian walks));
applying one or more redundancy mitigation rules to the set of objects ([0049] The current CPS also specifies selected redundancy mitigation techniques to reduce duplication of CPM content sent by different ITS-Ss by checking CPMs sent by other stations, [0209] I.C.5. REDUNDANCY MITIGATION OF PERCEIVED OBJECTS IN PERCEIVED OBJECT CLUSTER CONTAINER);
determining, from the set of objects, a number of objects to be shared with one or more other sidelink UEs after the one or more redundancy mitigation rules have been applied to the set of objects ([0212] if the number of new such perceived objects is greater than or equal to a threshold (NMinoCModify such as 1, 2,3, or some other number), then only CPM generation or ObjectCluster modification is triggered);
determining, based on the determined number of objects to be shared, whether to transmit a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) ([0187]-[0194] The CPS element checks updates about existing object cluster(s) such as whether an existing object cluster is still valid (e.g., updated number of objects in objectcluster > Nmin objectduster), a change in the number of perceived objects in the PerceivedObjectCluster, and/or a change in object cluster area’s center offset … At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM) to the one or more other sidelink UEs indicating the objects to be shared from the set of objects that were observed via the one or more sensors of the sidelink UE ([0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss); and
taking one or more actions based on the determination of whether to transmit the SDSM ([0194] At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Regarding claim 2, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether to transmit the SDSM is based further on a minimum number of objects threshold ([0183]-[0185] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster)... At operation 808, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Regarding claim 3, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 2, wherein:
determining whether to transmit the SDSM comprises determining to transmit the SDSM when the number of objects to be shared is greater than or equal to the minimum number of objects threshold ([0183]-[0185] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster)... At operation 808, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM), and
taking the one or more actions comprises transmitting the SDSM to the one or more other sidelink UEs based on the determination to transmit the SDSM ([0185] At operation 808, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Regarding claim 4, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 2, wherein:
determining whether to transmit the SDSM comprises determining not to transmit the SDSM ([0211] N1 then stops reporting OC1) when the number of objects to be shared is less than the minimum number of objects threshold ([0211] N2 can detect more number of objects with higher confidence level in the reported ObjectCluster area of OC1 than reported by N1), and
taking the one or more actions comprises not transmitting the SDSM to the one or more other sidelink UEs based on the determination not to transmit the SDSM ([0211] N1 then stops reporting OC1).
Regarding claim 8, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 2, wherein determining the number of objects to be shared with one or more other sidelink UEs comprises periodically determining the number of objects to be shared with one or more other sidelink UEs within a time window ([0194] The CPS module may periodically check for one or more new ObjectCluster(s) possibilities and consider some objects (excluded in updated ObjectCluster) for transmission as individual Object Container of CPM.).
Regarding claim 11, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more redundancy mitigation rules comprise at least one of:
an object self-announcement redundancy mitigation rule,
a frequency-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a distance-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a dynamics-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a confidence-based redundancy mitigation rule ([0211] If an ITS-S N2 finds that it has better information about the Object Cluster OC1 reported by another ITS-S Nl, N2 may start reporting OC1 in some cases. N1 then stops reporting OC1. For example, N2 can detect more number of objects with higher confidence level in the reported ObjectCluster area of OC1 than reported by N1), or
an entropy-based redundancy mitigation rule.
Regarding claim 12, Jha et al. teach An apparatus for wireless communication (compute Node 1400 in Fig. 14), comprising:
a memory comprising executable instructions ([0280] The main memory 1406 may store various software and data); and
one or more processors (processor Circuitry 1404 in Fig. 14) configured to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
observe, via one or more sensors, a set of objects in an environment in which the sidelink UE is operating ([0027] the sensor system of a V-ITS-S may provide sensor data for each detected object (and its attributes), [0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss with the objective of increasing traffic safety. ... Objects need to be located on the driving lanes or adjacent to lanes (e.g., pedestrian walks));
apply one or more redundancy mitigation rules to the set of objects ([0049] The current CPS also specifies selected redundancy mitigation techniques to reduce duplication of CPM content sent by different ITS-Ss by checking CPMs sent by other stations, [0209] I.C.5. REDUNDANCY MITIGATION OF PERCEIVED OBJECTS IN PERCEIVED OBJECT CLUSTER CONTAINER);
determine, from the set of objects, a number of objects to be shared with one or more other sidelink UEs after the one or more redundancy mitigation rules have been applied to the set of objects ([0212] if the number of new such perceived objects is greater than or equal to a threshold (NMinoCModify such as 1, 2,3, or some other number), then only CPM generation or ObjectCluster modification is triggered);
determine, based on the determined number of objects to be shared, whether to transmit a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) ([0187]-[0194] The CPS element checks updates about existing object cluster(s) such as whether an existing object cluster is still valid (e.g., updated number of objects in objectcluster > Nmin objectduster), a change in the number of perceived objects in the PerceivedObjectCluster, and/or a change in object cluster area’s center offset … At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM) to the one or more other sidelink UEs indicating the objects to be shared from the set of objects that were observed via the one or more sensors of the sidelink UE ([0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss); and
take one or more actions based on the determination of whether to transmit the SDSM ([0194] At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Regarding claim 13, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein determining whether to transmit the SDSM is based further on a minimum number of objects threshold ([0183] determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster)).
Regarding claim 14, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
determining whether to transmit the SDSM comprises determining to transmit the SDSM when the number of objects to be shared is greater than or equal to the minimum number of objects threshold ([0183]-[0185] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster)... At operation 808, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM), and
taking the one or more actions comprises transmitting the SDSM to the one or more other sidelink UEs based on the determination to transmit the SDSM ([0185] At operation 808, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Regarding claim 15, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
determining whether to transmit the SDSM comprises determining not to transmit the SDSM ([0211] N1 then stops reporting OC1) when the number of objects to be shared is less than the minimum number of objects threshold ([0211] N2 can detect more number of objects with higher confidence level in the reported ObjectCluster area of OC1 than reported by N1), and
taking the one or more actions comprises not transmitting the SDSM to the one or more other sidelink UEs based on the determination not to transmit the SDSM ([0211] N1 then stops reporting OC1).
Regarding claim 19, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13, wherein determining the number of objects to be shared with one or more sidelink UEs comprises periodically determining the number of objects to be shared with one or more sidelink UEs within a time window([0194] The CPS module may periodically check for one or more new ObjectCluster(s) possibilities and consider some objects (excluded in updated ObjectCluster) for transmission as individual Object Container of CPM.).
Regarding claim 22, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more redundancy mitigation rules comprise at least one of:
an object self-announcement redundancy mitigation rule,
a frequency-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a distance-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a dynamics-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a confidence-based redundancy mitigation rule ([0211] If an ITS-S N2 finds that it has better information about the Object Cluster OC1 reported by another ITS-S Nl, N2 may start reporting OC1 in some cases. N1 then stops reporting OC1. For example, N2 can detect more number of objects with higher confidence level in the reported ObjectCluster area of OC1 than reported by N1), or
an entropy-based redundancy mitigation rule.
Regarding claim 23, Jha et al. teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium instructions ([0280] The main memory 1406 may store various software and data) for wireless communication, comprising:
executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus ([0281] the compute circuitry 1402 (e.g., with the processor 1404)), cause the apparatus to:
observe, via one or more sensors, a set of objects in an environment in which the sidelink UE is operating ([0027] the sensor system of a V-ITS-S may provide sensor data for each detected object (and its attributes) along with a confidence level (e.g., 1-100%) of the detection/perception, [0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss with the objective of increasing traffic safety. ... Objects need to be located on the driving lanes or adjacent to lanes (e.g., pedestrian walks));
apply one or more redundancy mitigation rules to the set of objects ([0049] The current CPS also specifies selected redundancy mitigation techniques to reduce duplication of CPM content sent by different ITS-Ss by checking CPMs sent by other stations, [0209] I.C.5. REDUNDANCY MITIGATION OF PERCEIVED OBJECTS IN PERCEIVED OBJECT CLUSTER CONTAINER);
determine, from the set of objects, a number of objects to be shared with one or more other sidelink UEs after the one or more redundancy mitigation rules have been applied to the set of objects ([0212] if the number of new such perceived objects is greater than or equal to a threshold (NMinoCModify such as 1, 2,3, or some other number), then only CPM generation or ObjectCluster modification is triggered);
determine, based on the determined number of objects to be shared, whether to transmit a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) ([0187]-[0194] The CPS element checks updates about existing object cluster(s) such as whether an existing object cluster is still valid (e.g., updated number of objects in objectcluster > Nmin objectduster), a change in the number of perceived objects in the PerceivedObjectCluster, and/or a change in object cluster area’s center offset … At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM) to the one or more other sidelink UEs indicating the objects to be shared from the set of objects that were observed via the one or more sensors of the sidelink UE ([0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss); and
take one or more actions based on the determination of whether to transmit the SDSM ([0194] At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Regarding claim 24, Jha et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the executable instructions that cause the apparatus to determine whether to transmit the SDSM based further on a minimum number of objects threshold ([0183] determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster)).
Regarding claim 25, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 24, wherein:
the executable instructions that cause the apparatus to determine whether to transmit the SDSM further include executable instructions that cause the apparatus to determine not to transmit the SDSM when the number of objects to be shared is less than the minimum number of objects threshold ([0183]-[0185] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster)... At operation 808, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM), and
the executable instructions that cause the apparatus to take the one or more actions further include executable instructions that cause the apparatus to not transmit the SDSM to the one or more sidelink UEs based on the determination not to transmit the SDSM ([0211] N1 then stops reporting OC1).
Regarding claim 27, Jha et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 24, wherein:
the executable instructions that cause the apparatus to determine the number of objects to be shared with one or more sidelink UEs further include executable instructions that cause the apparatus to periodically determine the number of objects to be shared with one or more sidelink UEs within a time window ([0194] The CPS module may periodically check for one or more new ObjectCluster(s) possibilities and consider some objects (excluded in updated ObjectCluster) for transmission as individual Object Container of CPM.).
Regarding claim 29, Jha et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the one or more redundancy mitigation rules comprise at least one of:
an object self-announcement redundancy mitigation rule,
a frequency-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a distance-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a dynamics-based redundancy mitigation rule,
a confidence-based redundancy mitigation rule ([0211] If an ITS-S N2 finds that it has better information about the Object Cluster OC1 reported by another ITS-S Nl, N2 may start reporting OC1 in some cases. N1 then stops reporting OC1. For example, N2 can detect more number of objects with higher confidence level in the reported ObjectCluster area of OC1 than reported by N1), or
an entropy-based redundancy mitigation rule.
Regarding claim 30, Jha et al. teach An apparatus for wireless communication ([0277] Figure 14 depicts an example edge compute node 1400 that may be employed as any of the computing devices/systems discussed herein such as, for example, a mobile device, an in-vehicle system), comprising:
means for observing, via one or more sensors, a set of objects in an environment in which the sidelink UE is operating ([0027] the sensor system of a V-ITS-S may provide sensor data for each detected object (and its attributes) along with a confidence level (e.g., 1-100%) of the detection/perception, [0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss with the objective of increasing traffic safety. ... Objects need to be located on the driving lanes or adjacent to lanes (e.g., pedestrian walks));
means for applying one or more redundancy mitigation rules to the set of objects ([0049] The current CPS also specifies selected redundancy mitigation techniques to reduce duplication of CPM content sent by different ITS-Ss by checking CPMs sent by other stations, [0209] I.C.5. REDUNDANCY MITIGATION OF PERCEIVED OBJECTS IN PERCEIVED OBJECT CLUSTER CONTAINER);
means for determining, from the set of objects, a number of objects to be shared with one or more other sidelink UEs after the one or more redundancy mitigation rules have been applied to the set of objects ([0212] if the number of new such perceived objects is greater than or equal to a threshold (NMinoCModify such as 1, 2,3, or some other number), then only CPM generation or ObjectCluster modification is triggered);
means for determining, based on the determined number of objects to be shared, whether to transmit a sensor data sharing message (SDSM) ([0187]-[0194] The CPS element checks updates about existing object cluster(s) such as whether an existing object cluster is still valid (e.g., updated number of objects in objectcluster > Nmin objectduster), a change in the number of perceived objects in the PerceivedObjectCluster, and/or a change in object cluster area’s center offset … At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM) to the one or more other sidelink UEs indicating the objects to be shared from the set of objects that were observed via the one or more sensors of the sidelink UE ([0131] Objects to be included in the CP message should be shared with other ITS-Ss); and
means for taking one or more actions based on the determination of whether to transmit the SDSM ([0194] At operation 908, the CPS entity transmits or broadcasts the generated CPM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 20-21, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha et al. in view of Back et al. (US 20220217513 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 8, further comprising:
determining that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is less than the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window([0183] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster), [0194] The CPS module may periodically check for one or more new ObjectCluster(s) possibilities and consider some objects (excluded in updated ObjectCluster) for transmission as individual Object Container of CPM.). ).
Jha et al. do not teach
increasing a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM based on the determination that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is below the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window.
In a similar endeavor, Back et al. teach
increasing a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM based on the determination that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is below the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window (Back [0195] A V2X message generated as illustrated in FIG. 9 may be periodically transmitted in an RF channel... The transmission period may be fixedly determined, and for example, adjusted according to a channel load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Jha et al. by incorporating Back et al. period adjustment based on the load to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have improved the efficiency of transmitting the SDSM.
Regarding claim 10, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 9, wherein taking the one or more actions comprises transmitting the SDSM according to the increased periodicity (Back [0105] The transmission period may be fixedly determined, and for example, adjusted according to a channel load).
The motivation of doing so would have improved the efficiency of transmitting the SDSM.
Regarding claim 20, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 19, further comprising:
determining that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is less than the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window ([0183] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster), [0194] The CPS module may periodically check for one or more new ObjectCluster(s) possibilities and consider some objects (excluded in updated ObjectCluster) for transmission as individual Object Container of CPM.). ).
Jha et al. do not teach
increasing a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM based on the determination that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is below the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window.
In a similar endeavor, Back et al. teach
increasing a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM based on the determination that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is below the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window (Back [0195] A V2X message generated as illustrated in FIG. 9 may be periodically transmitted in an RF channel... The transmission period may be fixedly determined, and for example, adjusted according to a channel load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Jha et al. by incorporating Back et al. period adjustment based on the load to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have improved the efficiency of transmitting the SDSM.
Regarding claim 21, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 20, wherein taking the one or more actions comprises transmitting the SDSM according to the increased periodicity (Back [0105] The transmission period may be fixedly determined, and for example, adjusted according to a channel load).
The motivation of doing so would have improved the efficiency of transmitting the SDSM.
Regarding claim 28, Jha et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 27, wherein:
the executable instructions further include executable instructions that cause the apparatus to:
determine that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more sidelink UEs is less than the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window ([0183] Before each CPM generation event, at operation 802, the CPS element may determine whether a number of perceived objects is greater than or equal to a minimum number of objects that are permitted to be in a cluster (Nmin_objectduster), [0194] The CPS module may periodically check for one or more new ObjectCluster(s) possibilities and consider some objects (excluded in updated ObjectCluster) for transmission as individual Object Container of CPM.).
Jha et al. do not teach
increase a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM based on the determination that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more sidelink UEs is below the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window, and
the executable instructions that cause the apparatus to take the one or more actions further include executable instructions that cause the apparatus to transmit the SDSM according to the increased periodicity.
In a similar endeavor, Back et al. teach
increase a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM based on the determination that the periodically determined number of objects to be shared with the one or more other sidelink UEs is below the minimum number of objects threshold within the time window (Back [0195] A V2X message generated as illustrated in FIG. 9 may be periodically transmitted in an RF channel... A transmission period at which the V2X message is transmitted may be represented by Tinterval. The transmission period may be fixedly determined, and for example, adjusted according to a channel load), and
the executable instructions that cause the apparatus to take the one or more actions further include executable instructions that cause the apparatus to transmit the SDSM according to the increased periodicity (Back [0105] The transmission period may be fixedly determined, and for example, adjusted according to a channel load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Jha et al. by incorporating Back et al. period adjustment based on the load to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have improved the efficiency of transmitting the SDSM.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 16-18, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 2, but fail to teach or suggest
wherein the minimum number of objects threshold is at least one of:
configured in memory of the sidelink UE by a manufacturer of the sidelink UE,
received by the sidelink UE from a base station, or
determined by the sidelink UE based on at least one criterion.
Regarding claim 6, Jha et al. teach the method of claim 2, but fail to teach or suggest
wherein the minimum number of objects threshold and a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM depend on an autonomous driving reliability requirement associated information about the environment in which the sidelink UE is operating.
Regarding claim 7, Jha et al. fail to teach or suggest the method of claim 6, or suggest
wherein:
when the autonomous driving reliability requirement is a first value, the minimum number of objects threshold is a second value and the periodicity for transmitting the SDSM is a third value, and
when the autonomous driving reliability requirement is a fourth value that is less than the first value, the minimum number of objects threshold is a fifth value that is greater than the second value and the periodicity for transmitting the SDSM is a sixth value that is greater than the third value.
.
Regarding claim 16, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13, but fail to teach or suggest
wherein the minimum number of objects threshold is at least one of:
configured in memory of the sidelink UE by a manufacturer of the sidelink UE,
received by the sidelink UE from a base station, or
determined by the sidelink UE based on at least one criterion
Regarding claim 17, Jha et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13, but fail to teach or suggest
wherein the minimum number of objects threshold and a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM depend on an autonomous driving reliability requirement associated information about the environment in which the apparatus is operating.
Regarding claim 18, Jha et al. fail to teach or suggest the apparatus of claim 17, wherein:
when the autonomous driving reliability requirement is a first value, the minimum number of objects threshold is a second value and the periodicity for transmitting the SDSM is a third value, and
when the autonomous driving reliability requirement is a fourth value that is less than the first value, the minimum number of objects threshold is a fifth value that is greater than the second value and the periodicity for transmitting the SDSM is a sixth value that is greater than the third value.
Regarding claim 26, Jha et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 24, but fail to teach or suggest
wherein the minimum number of objects threshold and a periodicity for transmitting the SDSM depend on an autonomous driving reliability requirement associated information about the environment in which the apparatus is operating.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644