DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on March 25, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claim 1 has been amended.
4. Claims 24 has been cancelled.
5. Claim 31 has been added.
6. Claims 1-23 and 25-31 are currently pending.
Statement of Substance of Interview
7. Applicant’s representative requested to initiate the interview prior to filing the official response and attempted to explain how the claims differs from the cited prior art as stated in applicant remarks filed in the Response (Applicant initiated interview dated March 03, 2026). Examiner contacted the applicant’s representative according to the interview agreement and discussed the subject matter related to dependent claim 11. No specific agreement was reached. (Examiner initiated interview dated April 14, 2026).
Response to Arguments
8. The applicant's arguments filed on March 25, 2026 regarding claims 1-23 and 25-31 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection has been revised and set forth below. A response is considered necessary for applicant’s arguments/remarks since the cited references, Zhang in view of Zhu will continue to be used to meet the amended limitations.
Regarding claims 1, 16, 25 and 29, the applicant argued that Choi does not disclose the claim feature “receive a second configuration of the SRS resource for one or more frequency hops indicated by the BWP frequency hopping configuration” (Applicant, page 10-14, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated March 25, 2026).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. [Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well].
As a support of evidence, Choi discloses:
“the BS may transmit information about multiple BWPs (e.g., information about a first BWP and a second BWP) for SRS transmission of the UE to the UE. Here, it is assumed that there are priorities between the first BWP and the second BWP and the first BWP has a higher priority than the second BWP. The BS determines a frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP. The BS determines whether the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP having a lower priority than the first BWP is within the first BWP (or overlaps with the first BWP). Upon determining that the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP is within the first BWP or overlaps with the first BWP, the BS changes an SRS BW position related to the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP to allocate a different SRS BW position from the SRS BW position related to the frequency start position to the UE and transmits allocation information to the UE. Next, the BS may receive the SRS at the different SRS BW position from the UE” (paragraph [0182]).
“The BS may allocate/determine, as the different SRS BW position, an SRS BW position to be allocated in an immediately next SRS transmission instance or an SRS BW position to be allocated in the immediately next SRS transmission instance. Alternatively, the BS may calculate a new SRS transmission frequency start position for SRS transmission by applying a predetermined frequency start position offset value to the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP and allocate/determine an SRS BW position related to the new SRS transmission frequency start position as the different SRS BW position. The BS may transmit information about the predetermined frequency start position offset value to the UE” (paragraph [0183]).
“SRS transmission collision may occur during frequency hopping between UEs having different CSRS and/or CSRS_NR (particularly, UEs having PRBs which may partially or completely collide during hopping due to an SRS BW table rather than a tree-like structure). To avoid such collision, the BS may configure the UEs with different parameter sets (e.g., different transmission combs (TCs), different TC offsets, or different cyclic shifts (CSs))” (paragraph [0122]).
“if a BWP is configured for UE(s), UE(s) connected to a corresponding cell may receive, from the BS, information as to BWPs allocated to the UE during initial access partially or totally overlap with other BWPs and information about an overlapping region or may be implicitly aware of whether BWPs partially or totally overlap through a BWP configuration of the BS” (paragraph [0134]).
“Option 4: For UEs performing sounding in a greater BWP (i.e., BWP A), the BS may determine or search for the SRS frequency start position for SRS transmission through the frequency hopping pattern (or based on the frequency hopping pattern). If the SRS frequency start position k 0 (p) is within a region overlapping with BWP B, the BS searches for the SRS start position at/in the SRS transmission timing/instance nSRS=l and then changes the SRS transmission frequency start position to a position obtained by applying a predetermined frequency position offset value Δ to k 0 (p) (i.e., a position k0 (p)±Δ obtained by adding or subtracting Δ to or from k 0 (p)). The BS may allocate an SRS BW corresponding to the changed position k0 (p)±Δ to the UEs (i.e., first UE(s)). The BS may transmit the predetermined frequency position offset value Δ to the UE through L3 (RRC), L2 (MAC-CE), or L1 (DCI)” (paragraph [0140]).
Accordingly, Fig. 13 and above cited paragraphs ([0122], [0134], [0140], [0182]-[0183]) illustrates the following:
(1) first, the BS transmits a first configuration of a SRS resource (information about a first BWP and a second BWP) for SRS transmission of the UE to the UE;
(2) second, upon determining that the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP is within the first BWP or overlaps with the first BWP, the BS determines a new SRS transmission frequency start position for SRS transmission through the frequency hopping pattern (or based on the frequency hopping pattern); and
(3) third, the BS transmits the second configuration which is the update of the first configuration of the SRS resource to the UE.
Clearly, cited prior art-Choi teaches the claim feature.
The dependent claims 2-15, 17-23 26-28 and 30-31 are not patentable according to the solid prior art teachings. Newly added claim 31 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over cited prior art-Choi.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-13 and 15-23 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 2020/0280421 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 18, 2024), hereinafter “Choi” in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2023/0189232 A1), hereinafter “Rastegardoost”.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig.1, a wireless communication system for implementing the present disclosure), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Fig.1, memory coupled to the processor to store a variety of information for operating the processor), configured to:
receive a first configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (paragraphs [0157], [0182], multiple BWPs for SRS transmission);
receive a second configuration of the SRS resource (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0140], [0182]-[0183], BS changes an SRS BW position related to the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP to allocate a different SRS BW position from the SRS BW position related to the frequency start position to the UE and transmits allocation information to the UE) for one or more frequency hops indicated by the BWP frequency hopping configuration (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0140], [0182]-[0183], SRS transmission through the frequency hopping pattern (or based on the frequency hopping pattern)); and
transmit one or more SRSs based at least in part on the second configuration of the SRS resource (paragraphs [0185]-[0186], UE may transmit the SRS in the second BWP at the different SRS BW position).
While Choi implicitly refers to “receive a bandwidth part (BWP) frequency hopping configuration”, Rastegardoost from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses one or more processors, coupled to the memory configured to: receive a bandwidth part (BWP) frequency hopping configuration (paragraphs [0254], [0258], frequency hopping for transmission/reception via a channel in a bandwidth part (BWP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receive a bandwidth part (BWP) frequency hopping configuration” as taught by Rastegardoost, in the system of Choi, so that it would provide dynamic configuration of a relatively small active bandwidth for smaller data packets, which allows power saving for the UE relates to frequency hopping in NR (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0255]).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the second configuration resolves a partial overlap of the SRS resource with an SRS resource of a second UE in the one or more frequency hops (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0157], if a frequency start position for SRS transmission, determined based on a frequency hopping pattern, is within a second BWP that overlaps with the first BWP at least in a partial frequency band).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the one or more processors, to transmit the one or more SRSs based at least in part on the second configuration of the SRS resource, are configured to transmit the one or more SRSs in a non-overlapping SRS resource (paragraphs [0140], [0183], Option 4: For UEs performing sounding in a greater BWP (i.e., BWP A), the BS may determine or search for the SRS frequency start position for SRS transmission through the frequency hopping pattern (or based on the frequency hopping pattern); if the SRS frequency start position k 0 (p) is within a region overlapping with BWP B, the BS searches for the SRS start position at/in the SRS transmission timing/instance nSRS=l and then changes the SRS transmission frequency start position to a position obtained by applying a predetermined frequency position offset value Δ to k 0 (p) (i.e., a position k0 (p)±Δ obtained by adding or subtracting Δ to or from k 0 (p)); the BS may allocate an SRS BW corresponding to the changed position k0 (p)±Δ to the UEs (i.e., first UE(s)); the BS may transmit the predetermined frequency position offset value Δ to the UE through L3 (RRC), L2 (MAC-CE), or L1 (DCI)).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses wherein the non-overlapping SRS resource does not overlap with the SRS resource of the second UE (paragraphs [0140], [0183], a position obtained by applying a predetermined frequency position offset value Δ to k 0 (p) ).
Regarding claim 5, Choi in view of Rastegardoost disclose the first UE of claim 2.
Rastegardoost further discloses the first UE has a reduced capability compared to the second UE (paragraph [0280], the first UE may support reduced bandwidth (RedCap) and the second UE may support normal/full system bandwidth (normal/legacy UE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first UE has a reduced capability compared to the second UE” as taught by Rastegardoost, in the system of Choi, so that it would provide dynamic configuration of a relatively small active bandwidth for smaller data packets, which allows power saving for the UE relates to frequency hopping in NR (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0255]).
Regarding claim 6, Choi in view of Rastegardoost disclose the first UE of claim 2.
Rastegardoost further discloses a BWP bandwidth of the first UE is smaller than a BWP bandwidth of the second UE (paragraphs [0238], [0241], [0276], RedCap UE and NR legacy UE i.e. BWP bandwidth of the first UE is smaller than a BWP bandwidth of the second UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a BWP bandwidth of the first UE is smaller than a BWP bandwidth of the second UE” as taught by Rastegardoost, in the system of Choi, so that it would provide dynamic configuration of a relatively small active bandwidth for smaller data packets, which allows power saving for the UE relates to frequency hopping in NR (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0255]).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses a bandwidth of the SRS resource is smaller than a bandwidth of the SRS resource of the second UE (paragraphs [0091], [0100], table based on SRS sounding capability of UE).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses in the first configuration, the SRS resource partially overlaps with the SRS resource of the second UE in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0157], BWPs configured for SRS transmissions and based on the pattern that overlaps BWPS in partial frequency band).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the one or more processors, to transmit the one or more SRSs based at least in part on the second configuration of the SRS resource, are configured to skip at least one SRS transmission in the one or more frequency hops of the BWP frequency hopping configuration (paragraphs [0157], [0140], SRS transmission through frequency hopping pattern or based on frequency hopping pattern).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the second configuration comprises at least one of a shift in time of the SRS resource or a shift in frequency of the SRS resource (paragraphs [0140], [0157], time and frequency of the SRS transmission based on frequency hopping pattern).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the second configuration further comprises at least one of an update to a comb structure of the SRS resource, an update to a number of symbols of the SRS resource, an update to a sequence parameter of the SRS resource, or a skip of an SRS transmission on the SRS resource (paragraph [0122], to avoid such collision, the BS may configure the UEs with different parameter sets (e.g., different transmission combs (TCs), different TC offsets, or different cyclic shifts (CSs))).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the second configuration is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraphs [0140], [0143], frequency position offset value through L3(RRC)).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses the one or more processors are further configured to update the configuration of the SRS resource based at least in part on receiving the RRC message (paragraphs [0185], [0186], new SRS transmission frequency start position for SRS transmission may be determined by applying a predetermined frequency start position offset value to the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses the second configuration of the SRS resource is received in one of downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) message (paragraphs [0140], [0143], to UE through L3(RRC), L2 (MAC-CE) or L1 (DCI)).
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses a base station for wireless communication (Fig.1, a wireless communication system for implementing the present disclosure), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Fig.1, memory coupled to the processor to store a variety of information for operating the processor), configured to:
transmit, to the first user equipment (UE), a first configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (paragraphs [0157], [0182], multiple BWPs for SRS transmission);
transmit a second configuration of the SRS resource (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0140], [0182]-[0183], BS changes an SRS BW position related to the frequency start position for SRS transmission in the second BWP to allocate a different SRS BW position from the SRS BW position related to the frequency start position to the UE and transmits allocation information to the UE) for one or more hops indicated by the BWP frequency hopping configuration (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0140], [0182]-[0183], SRS transmission through the frequency hopping pattern (or based on the frequency hopping pattern)); and
receive one or more SRSs based at least in part on the second configuration of the SRS resource (paragraphs [0185]-[0186], UE may transmit the SRS in the second BWP at the different SRS BW position).
While Choi implicitly refers to “transmit a bandwidth part (BWP) frequency hopping configuration”, Rastegardoost from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses one or more processors, coupled to the memory configured to: transmit a bandwidth part (BWP) frequency hopping configuration (paragraphs [0254], [0258], frequency hopping for transmission/reception via a channel in a bandwidth part (BWP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receive a bandwidth part (BWP) frequency hopping configuration” as taught by Rastegardoost, in the system of Choi, so that it would provide dynamic configuration of a relatively small active bandwidth for smaller data packets, which allows power saving for the UE relates to frequency hopping in NR (Rastegardoost, paragraph [0255]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the one or more processors are further configured to: configure the BWP bandwidth of the first UE; and configure the BWP bandwidth of the second UE (paragraphs [0122], [0134], [0157], BWP configured for UEs).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 10 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 11 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 10 (from perspective of the base station).
Regarding claim 31, Choi discloses the second configuration comprises an indication to update the first configuration of the SRS resource for the one or more frequency hops indicated by the BWP frequency hopping configuration (paragraphs [0140], [0182], SRS transmission through the frequency hopping pattern (or based on the frequency hopping pattern)).
11. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 2020/0280421 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 18, 2024), hereinafter “Choi” in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2023/0189232 A1), hereinafter “Rastegardoost” in view of Rong et al. (US 2023/0198714 A1), hereinafter “Rong”.
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Rastegardoost disclose the first UE according to claim 12.
Neither Choi nor Rastegardoost explicitly discloses “the message indicates a mapping between the BWP frequency hopping configuration and the second configuration of the SRS resource” .
However, Rong from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the RRC message indicates a mapping between the BWP frequency hopping configuration and the second configuration of the SRS resource (Fig. 6B, paragraph [0100], mapping between the BWP frequency hopping configuration and SRS resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the RRC message indicates a mapping between the BWP frequency hopping configuration and the second configuration of the SRS resource” as taught by Rong, in the combined system of Choi and Rastegardoost, so that it would provide implementation form of the method according to multiple input multiple output transmissions to estimate uplink channel quality over a wide bandwidth, and perform communication with UEs based on the uplink channel estimation (Rong, paragraph [0003]).
Conclusion
12. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414