DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As result of the Amendment filed on October 27, 2025, claims 8-14 are pending. Claim 8 is amended. Claims 9-14 are added. Claims 1-7 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is contended by Applicant that the previously cited reference of Matsumoto (US 2017/0220197 A1) does not disclose the amended aspects of claims 8-14, including particularly the features of “the tactile panel having a long side longer than the long side of the display panel, and having portions protrusion beyond other components” and “a piezoelectric actuator that is disposed on the third principal surface at the protruding portion”. (Applicant Remarks at pgs. 6-7). Specifically, Applicant appears to be arguing the cited embodiments of Matsumoto at Figs. 2-3, which show the vibration panel 12 and piezoelectric vibrators 11 being narrower than the display panel 15 in a plan view. Thus, Applicant is concluding that Matsumoto does not teach the structural and relational aspects of the long side and the protruding portions claimed above. (Remarks at pgs. 6-9, generally).
The Office respectfully disagrees with the above assertions. While Figs. 2-3 of Matsumoto show one possible structural configuration of the vibration panel in relation to the display panel, Figs. 11-13 show other structural and relational embodiments. Specifically, Figs. 11-13 show the panel unit 10 being longer than the display unit 20’ in a plan view (See Fig. 11, Fig. 11 depicts the panel unit 10 being longer than the display unit, 20’ underneath). Furthermore, it is noted that the configurations of Figs. 11-13 of panel unit also involve the piezoelectric actuators of Figs. 2-3 (See Figs. 11-13; Detailed Description, [0134-0153], “The input device 10′ and the display unit 20′ are arranged so that the operation surface 11a′ of the operation unit 11′ included in the input device 10′ faces a display region of the display unit 20′. …The constitutional elements of the operation unit 11′ shown in FIGS. 13A and 13B, which are the same or similar as or to the constitutional elements of the operation unit 11′ shown in FIGS. 9, are denoted with the same reference numerals as those of FIG. 9, and the descriptions thereof are omitted or simplified. Also, in the example shown in FIGS. 13A and 13B, the first vibrating element 13a′ and the second vibrating element 13b′ are also shown for convenience of descriptions.”). With the vibrating elements being on the periphery of the operation unit similar to the other embodiments, it would be disposed in the “protruding portion” as claimed. Thus, Matsumoto continues to teach the amended aspects as issue of “the tactile panel having a long side longer than the long side of the display panel, and having portions protrusion beyond other components” and “a piezoelectric actuator that is disposed on the third principal surface as the protruding portion”, as recited in independent claims 8 and 14.
For the foregoing reasons, the rejection grounds are maintained for all pending claims 8-14 with the Matsumoto reference. An updated search was conducted but no new art is cited or relied on at this time. However, it is noted by the Examiner that the additional previously cited references within the Non-Final Office Action could be relied upon at a later stage in prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0220197 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Matsumoto discloses a display device (Fig. 1-10, generally, display device, #1; Background and Summary), comprising:
a display panel having a rectangular shape with a long side and a short side (Fig. 2-3, display pane, #15; Detailed Description, [0042-0045]);
a touch panel that is disposed on the display panel and has a first principal surface facing the display panel and a second principal surface on a side opposite to the first principal surface (Fig. 1-3, support panel [touch pane], #14; Detailed Description, [0048]; support panel 14 is above 15 and has upper surface opposite from lower surface which contacts 15);
a spacer having a strip-like shape arranged along the long side on the second principal surface (Figs. 2-4, spacer, #13; Detailed Description, [0049-0052], “The spacer 13 is a member for securing the interval between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14. That is, the spacer 13 is interposed between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14, so that the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14 are fixed in substantially parallel with each other with the interval corresponding to a thickness of the spacer 13”);
a tactile panel that is disposed on the spacer and has a third principal surface and a fourth principal surface, and the tactile panel having a longer long side than the display panel and the touch panel, and having portions protruding beyond other components (Figs. 2-4, vibration panel, #12; [0046-0052], “The vibration panel 12 is a first plate configured to be vibrated by the vibrators 11 and to provide a predetermined tactile sense to a user who is performing a touch operation. The vibration panel 12 is positioned at a side (outer side) of the panel unit 10 closest to the user, and a surface of the user-side is configured as an operation surface configured to receive a user's touch operation...The spacer 13 is a member for securing the interval between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14. That is, the spacer 13 is interposed between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14, so that the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14 are fixed in substantially parallel with each other with the interval corresponding to a thickness of the spacer 13.”; See next Figs. 11-13 for embodiments showing a longer long side and protruding portion, Detailed Description, [0134-0153]; Examiner’s note-- Fig. 11 depicts the panel unit 10 being longer than the display unit 20’ underneath and thereby would have portions protruding beyond the components of the display unit); and
a piezoelectric actuator that is disposed on the third principal surface at the protruding portion and generates vibration, wherein (Figs. 2-4, vibrators, #11; Detailed Description, [0046-0047], “The vibration panel 12 is a first plate configured to be vibrated by the vibrators 11 and to provide a predetermined tactile sense to a user who is performing a touch operation. The vibration panel 12 is positioned at a side (outer side) of the panel unit 10 closest to the user, and a surface of the user-side is configured as an operation surface configured to receive a user's touch operation...The vibrator 11 is an element such as a piezo element configured to vibrate the vibration panel 12, in response to a driving signal from the control unit 20.”; See next Figs. 11-13; Detailed Description, [0134-0153], “The input device 10′ and the display unit 20′ are arranged so that the operation surface 11a′ of the operation unit 11′ included in the input device 10′ faces a display region of the display unit 20′. …The constitutional elements of the operation unit 11′ shown in FIGS. 13A and 13B, which are the same or similar as or to the constitutional elements of the operation unit 11′ shown in FIGS. 9, are denoted with the same reference numerals as those of FIG. 9, and the descriptions thereof are omitted or simplified. Also, in the example shown in FIGS. 13A and 13B, the first vibrating element 13a′ and the second vibrating element 13b′ are also shown for convenience of descriptions.”; Examiner’s note—the vibrating elements 13 within Figs. 11-13 are disposed at the periphery which would be at the protruding portions based on the structural configuration of Fig. 11.),
when a thickness from the second principal surface to the fourth principal surface is a first thickness and a thickness from the second principal surface to the third principal surface is a second thickness, the first thickness is 0.5 to 1.5 mm (Fig. 2, Detailed Description, [0046], “The plate thickness of the vibration panel 12 is 0.1 to 1 mm or 0.1 to 0.5 mm, for example, and is 0.3 mm, in the first illustrative embodiment”; See next Detailed Description, [0048], “The spacer 13 is a member for securing the interval between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14. That is, the spacer 13 is interposed between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14, so that the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14 are fixed in substantially parallel with each other with the interval corresponding to a thickness of the spacer 13. In the meantime, the interval is 0.1 to 2 mm or 0.1 to 1 mm, for example, and is 0.4 mm, in the first illustrative embodiment.”; Examiner’s note—first thickness is the sum of the thickness of the spacer with the tactile panel), is equal to or greater than a thickness obtained by adding 0.3 mm to the second thickness, and is equal to or less than a thickness obtained by adding 1 mm to the second thickness (See Detailed Description, [0048], “Detailed Description, [0048], “The spacer 13 is a member for securing the interval between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14. That is, the spacer 13 is interposed between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14, so that the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14 are fixed in substantially parallel with each other with the interval corresponding to a thickness of the spacer 13. In the meantime, the interval is 0.1 to 2 mm or 0.1 to 1 mm, for example, and is 0.4 mm, in the first illustrative embodiment.”; Examiner’s note—second thickness is the thickness of the spacer; See also anticipation of ranges on MPEP 2131).
Regarding claim 9 Matsumoto discloses a display device further comprising:
a drive unit that supplies the piezoelectric actuator with an ultrasonic drive signal that causes the piezoelectric actuator to generate vibration in an ultrasonic band and a low frequency drive signal that causes the piezoelectric actuator to generate vibration in a low frequency band (Detailed Description, [0075-0076][0118-0120], “The vibration control unit 12b′ can vibrate the first vibrating element 13a′ and the second vibrating element 13b′ with an ultrasonic frequency band, for example…n the meantime, although the vibration control unit 12b′ is configured to vibrate the first vibrating element 13a′ and the second vibrating element 13b′ with the ultrasonic frequency band, the vibration control unit 12b′ may be configured to vibrate the first vibrating element 13a′ and the second vibrating element 13b′ with a frequency lower than the ultrasonic frequency band. In this case, the input device 10′ can present the user with the tactile sense of the vibration.”).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumoto discloses wherein the second thickness is 0.05 to 0.8 mm (See Detailed Description, [0048], “Detailed Description, [0048], “The spacer 13 is a member for securing the interval between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14. That is, the spacer 13 is interposed between the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14, so that the vibration panel 12 and the support panel 14 are fixed in substantially parallel with each other with the interval corresponding to a thickness of the spacer 13. In the meantime, the interval is 0.1 to 2 mm or 0.1 to 1 mm, for example, and is 0.4 mm, in the first illustrative embodiment.”; Examiner’s note—second thickness is the thickness of the spacer; See also anticipation of ranges on MPEP 2131).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumoto discloses wherein the tactile panel includes resin or glass (Detailed Description, [0153], “As a material of the vibration plate 11e′, a transmitting material such as glass, organic glass or polycarbonate may be used, for example. However, the material of the vibration plate 11e′ is not limited to the transmitting material. For example, as the material of the vibration plate 11e′, polyvinyl chloride resin, silicon resin or silicon rubber may also be used.”).
Regarding claim 14, Matsumoto disclose an electronic device (Figs. 1-4, generally, Technical Field, Background and Summary) comprising the elements of claim 1. Thus, claim 8 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto discloses every element of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the spacer includes an elastic material (Detailed Description, [0050-0052], “For example, the spacer 13 may have a configuration where the spacer is configured by an elastic member and absorbs the vibration to suppress the vibration to be transmitted to the support panel 14.”).
Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the spacer includes a material having an elastic modulus of 1.0 x 106 to 6.0 x 106 Pa. (Emphasis Added).
However, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elastic modulus of the spacer within Matsumoto to be set between 1.0 x 106 to 6.0 x 106 Pa. Matsumoto discloses the spacer as being an elastic material, and setting a particular elastic modulus of such a elastic material is a matter of design choice and is obvious to try (if not inherent), since there is a limited number of options of elastic moduli, and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art without any further undue experimentation. (See also MPEP 2144.04 and MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto discloses every element of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the tactile panel has a rectangular shape (See Figs. 3-4, generally, vibration panel, #12; Deatiled Description, [0053], “As shown in FIG. 4, the vibrators 11 and the vibration panel 12 have a rectangular shape, as seen from above, respectively, and are arranged so that long sides of the vibrators 11 follow short sides of the vibration panel 12. A rectangular part of a surface of the vibration panel 12, which is located at inner sides of the vibrators 11, is configured as an operation region 18. When the user touches the operation region 18, the touch position is detected by the support panel (touch panel) 14. For example, one (a left-upper apex in FIG. 4) of apexes of the operation region 18 is set as an origin, and the touch position is detected as coordinates in a longitudinal direction (an X-axis direction in FIG. 4) of the vibration panel 12 and in a width direction (a Y-axis direction in FIG. 4) of the vibration panel 12.”).
Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the tactile panel has a rectangular shape having a width of a long side that is 1 time to 2.5 times larger than a width of a short side. (Emphasis Added).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (if not inherent) to have modified the dimensions of the rectangular vibration panel within Matsumoto wherein a width of a long side that is 1 time to 2.5 times larger than a width of a short side. Setting a particular relative width ratio of rectangular tactile panel is a matter of design choice and is a modification based on changing size/proportion, and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art without any further undue experimentation. (See also MPEP 2144.04 Part IV).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626