DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on April 22, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1, 34, 40 and 44 have been amended.
4. Claims 1-49 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
5. The applicant's arguments filed on April 22, 2026 regarding claims 1-49 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims. A response is considered necessary for applicant’s arguments/remarks since the cited references, Zhou will continue to be used to meet amended limitations.
Regarding claims 1, 34, 40 and 44, applicant argued that Zhou in view of Bagheri fail to teach the amended features of the claim i.e. “determine a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (Applicant, page 15-17, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated April 22, 2026).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
A clear interpretation of the limitation (i.e. determine a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) is that which states the following alternatives:
…determine a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on:
(a) whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal;
(b) whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS; or
(c) whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) .
According to the claim structure (according to claim language “or”), the claim requires only one alternative and in a case that the cited prior art has been disclosed the teaching of only one from the choice, the claim limitation(s) is/are still met.
As a support of evidence, Zhou discloses:
“The wireless device may determine a first priority value for the CSI report and a second priority value for the uplink beam/power report. The wireless device may determine the first priority value based on at least one of: a CSI report configuration index of the CSI report, a cell index associated with the CSI report, whether the CSI report comprise L1-RSRP (or L1-SINR) or not comprise L1-RSRP (or L1-SINR), whether the CSI report is periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic report, whether the CSI report is via a PUCCH resource or via a PUSCH resource. The wireless device may determine the second priority value based on at least one of: an uplink beam/power report configuration index of the uplink beam/power report, a cell index associated with the uplink beam/power report, whether the uplink beam/power report is periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic report, whether the uplink beam/power report is via a PUCCH resource or a PUSCH resource” (paragraph [0358]).
“In an example, the wireless device may determine the first priority value for the CSI report based on the first command and the configuration parameters. The wireless device may determine the first priority value as PriiCSI(y, k, c, s)=2·Ncells·Ms·y+Ncells·Ms·k+Ms·c+s. In an example, y=0 if the CSI report is aperiodic CSI report via PUSCH, y=1 if the CSI report is SP CSI report via PUSCH, y=2 if the CSI report is SP CSI report via PUCCH, and y=3 if the CSI report is periodic CSI report via PUCCH. In an example, k=0 if the CSI report carries L1-RSRP or L1-SINR. k=1 if the CSI report does not carry L1-RSRP or L1-SINR (e.g., the CSI report comprising CQI/PMI/CRI/SSBRI/LI/RI). In an example, c is a serving cell index and Ncells is a value of a higher layer parameter maxNrofServingCells. In an example, s is a reportConfigID of the CSI report and Ms is a value of a higher layer parameter maxNrofCSI-ReportConfigurations” (paragraph [0359]).
“In an example, the wireless device may determine the second priority value for the uplink beam/power report based on at least one of: an uplink beam/power report configuration index of the uplink beam/power report, a cell index associated with the uplink beam/power report, whether the uplink beam/power report is periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic report, whether the uplink beam/power report is via a PUCCH resource or a PUSCH resource. The wireless device may determine the second priority value as PriiCSI(y, k, c, s)=2·Ncells·Ms·y+Ncells·Ms·k+Ms·c+s.” (paragraph [0360]).
“In an example, the wireless device may not be required to transmit the CSI report if the first priority value associated with the CSI report is higher than the second priority value associated with the uplink beam/power report, when the uplink beam/power report collides with the CSI report. The wireless device may transmit the uplink beam/power report if the second priority value of the uplink beam/power report is lower than the first priority value of the CSI report. The wireless device may not be required to transmit the CSI report if: the first priority value associated with the CSI report is higher than the second priority value associated with the uplink beam/power report, y values associated with the CSI report and the uplink beam/power report are different, and the CSI report and the uplink beam/power report are not both carried on PUCCH” (paragraph [0362]).
Bagheri further discloses:
“CSI is reported by the UEs to the network, and the reporting can be in a periodic, semipersistent, or a-periodic manner. In periodic reporting, a UE reports CSI to the network periodically with a configured periodicity. Semipersistent CSI reporting is similar to the periodic reporting with a difference that CSI reporting can be activated/deactivated by Downlink Control Information (DCI). A-periodic CSI (A-CSI) reporting is triggered by DCI. In existing NR specifications, a-periodic reporting is triggered by an Uplink (UL) DCI, such as a DCI format including UL grant information, and the CSI report is transmitted on a dedicated UL data channel, such as PUSCH. CSI-RS can be transmitted periodically/a-periodically, such as from a set of configured CSI-RS resources” (paragraph [0005]).
“DMRS-based CSI estimation can also be provided. To reduce the processing at the UE, the CSI reporting delay, such as compared to the periodic report, PUCCH resources, and CSI-RS transmissions, such as when aperiodic/periodic CSI resources can be less frequent in time to achieve the same CSI accuracy satisfying the CSI reliability target, DMRS associated with PDSCH/PDCCH or PDSCH, such as PDSCH channel bit Log-Likelihood Ratios (LLRs)/input Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) to decoder, can be used along with CSI-RS to perform CSI estimation. For example, input SNR to the PDSCH decoder, or other things like DMRS associated with PDCCH/PDSCH, channel bit LLRs, etc., can be used in addition to the CSI-RS, such as a reference signal” (paragraph [0021]).
In the context of the pending limitation is reasonable interpreted to paragraphs [0358]-[0361], [0366]-[0370] of cited prior art Zhou as “determine a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. Accordingly, it is clear that Zhou in combination with Bagheri teach amended claim feature.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive. The dependent claims 2-33, 35-39, 41-43 and 45-49 are not patentable according to the solid prior art teachings [Examiner’s note: Examiner contacted the Applicant to inquire additional clarifications related to objections under minor informalities and did not result in specific agreement].
Claim Objections (minor informalities)
6. Claims 1, 34, 40 and 44 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “…receive, from a base station, via the transceiver, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration …” in line 7-8 and
“determine… whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” in line 17-19.
According to the claim structure, it appears that “the CSI” in line17, 18 and 19 are referring back to “a channel state information (CSI)” in the report configuration from line 7-8.
In order to avoid antecedent basis issue, it is suggested to amend “the CSI” from line 17, 18 and 19 to “the CSI in the report configuration” (for e.g. “…determine… whether the CSI in the report configuration is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI in the report configuration is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI in the report configuration is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”.
If applicant is of the opinion that “the CSIs” from line 17, 18 and 19 are not referring back to “a channel state information (CSI)” in the report configuration from line 7-8, further clarification is requested and it is suggested to fix antecedent basis issues.
Regarding claims 34, 40 and 44, the claims are objected based on the same reasoning as presented in the objection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites:
“An apparatus…comprising:…”.
…determine a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)…”.
A clear interpretation of the limitation is that which states the following alternatives:
a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on:
(a) whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal;
(b) whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS; or
(c) whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)).
According to the above claim structure (according to claim language “or”), claim 1 requires only one alternative and in a case that the cited prior art has been disclosed the teaching of only one from the choice, the claim limitation(s) is/are still met.
As such, questions are raised about the inconsistencies noted herein and that its respectfully observed applicant’s objective for the claim limitation i.e. further clarification is requested whether the remaining limitation of claim 1 is optional in case the cited prior arts only discloses (a) or (b) or (c).
Regarding claims 34, 40 and 44, the claims are objected based on the same reasoning as presented in the objection of claim 1.
For the purpose of examinations, the examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Further clarification is requested to understand what applicant is trying to accomplish.
35 USC § 112 (f) Claim Limitations Analysis
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
10. Claims 40-43 have been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph or 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Regarding claims 40-43, the limitations that recite(s) “means for receiving…”, “means for determining…”, “means for transmitting….”,“means for prioritizing…”, and “means for monitoring…” are being treated in accordance with 112(f) because the functions of “receiving”, “determining”, “transmitting”, “prioritizing”, and “monitoring” are modified by the term “means” which is a word that serves as a generic placeholder for structure that performs the recited functions.
Regarding the above claim limitations, the corresponding structures can be found on Specification- Figs. 3, 11-13, paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0059]-[0068], [0117], [0148]-[0149], [0157]-[0159], [0161], [0164]-[0167], [0170]-[0178], [0180]-[0188], [0199], [0205], [0210]-[0217] (By way of example, an element, or any portion of an element, or any combination of elements may be implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. Examples of processors include microprocessors, microcontrollers, graphics processing units (GPUs), central processing units (CPUs), application processors, digital signal processors (DSPs), reduced instruction set computing (RISC) processors, systems on a chip (SoC), baseband processors, field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), programmable logic devices (PLDs), state machines, gated logic, discrete hardware circuits, and other suitable hardware configured to perform the various functionality described throughout this disclosure), algorithms disclosed in Figs. 3, 11-13, that can be used to configure a general-purpose processor to become a special-purpose computer corresponding to the claimed subject matter.
If Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office Action.
If the Applicant does not intend to have the claimed limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1, 4-9, 12-13, 18, 22-26, 29-34, 37-44 and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095 A1; continuation of application no. PCT/US2021/026514, filed on April 9, 2021), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0112419 A1), hereinafter “Bagheri”.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 26-2, 33, CSI-RS configuration and CSI report framework and prioritization of uplink beam/power report for multiple panels), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; a transceiver; and a memory, coupled to the at least one processor and the transceiver, storing instructions thereon, which when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 15, example of a wireless device in communication with a base station in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure), cause the apparatus to:
determine that the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS that is implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], DCI indicating a triggering of aperiodic transmission of CSI report via PUSCH) is scheduled to be transmitted on a same uplink resource (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], one or more CSI reports overlaps in time) as one or more of the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], DCI indicating an activation of a semi-persistent transmission of the CSI report via a PUSCH resource) or the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], based on the first command the configuration parameters of the CSI report, determine an uplink radio resource (e.g., a PUCCH resource or a PUSCH resource));
determine a priority of the first CSI report, the second CSI report, or the third CSI report based at least in part on whether the CSI is measured based on the first CSI-RS triggered implicitly by the downlink control signal, whether the CSI is measured based on periodic, aperiodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS, or whether the CSI is measured based on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (paragraphs [0349], [0358]-[0361], [0366]-[0370], priority values based on CSI report configuration index of the CSI report, a cell index associated with the CSI report, whether the CSI report comprise L1-RSRP (or L1-SINR) or not comprise L1-RSRP (or L1-SINR), whether the CSI report is periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic report); and
transmit, via the transceiver (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], one or more CSI reports in an uplink transmission), a plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report multiplexed (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], determine whether to multiplex the one or more CSI reports in an uplink transmission (e.g., a PUCCH resource or a PUSCH resource), or drop one of the one or more CSI reports based on priority values of the one or more CSI reports and available uplink radio resources) on the same uplink resource (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], one or more CSI reports overlaps in time) based on the priority (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], when configured (or activated) with multiple CSI reports, a wireless device may determine a transmission priority for each of the multiple CSI reports based on a priority value).
While Zhou implicitly refers to “receive, from a base station, via the transceiver, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration that configures the UE to transmit a first CSI report associated with a first CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) that is implicitly triggered by a downlink control signal, a second CSI report associated with a second CSI-RS, or a third CSI report associated with a downlink data signal” (Fig.26, contents of RRC message for CSI report configuration), Bagheri from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, via the transceiver, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (Fig.4, paragraphs[0061]-[0063],[0089]-[0091], plurality of CSI report configurations) that configures the UE to transmit a first CSI report associated with a first CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) that is implicitly triggered by a downlink control signal (Fig.4,paragraphs [0061]-[0063],[0089]-[0091], CSI-ReportConfig – higher layer parameter reportCOnfigType), a second CSI report associated with a second CSI-RS (Fig.4,paragraphs [0061]-[0063],[0089]-[0091], CSI-ReportConfig – higher layer parameter reportCOnfigType), or a third CSI report associated with a downlink data signal (Fig.4, paragraphs[0061]-[0063],[0089]-[0091], plurality of CSI report configurations can include a DMRS based CSI measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receive, from a base station, via the transceiver, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration that configures the UE to transmit a first CSI report associated with a first CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) that is implicitly triggered by a downlink control signal, a second CSI report associated with a second CSI-RS, or a third CSI report associated with a downlink data signal” as taught by Bagheri, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide measurement and reporting of reliability for Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication operation using downlink channels directed to generating a Channel State Information report (Bagheri, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration that configures one or more of uplink resources, the first CSI-RS, a first time measurement between the second CSI-RS and the downlink control signal, a second time measurement between the second CSI-RS and a transmission of at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report, or a third time measurement between the downlink control signal and the transmission of the at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report (Fig.26, paragraphs [0158], [0262]-[0263], contents of RRC message for CSI report configuration as shown in the figure as the configuration parameters).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Bagheri further discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, via the transceiver, a downlink grant scheduling the downlink data signal, wherein the downlink data signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig.4, paragraphs [0061]-[0063], DCI format scheduling received PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, via the transceiver, a downlink grant scheduling the downlink data signal, wherein the downlink data signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” as taught by Bagheri, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide measurement and reporting of reliability for Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication operation using downlink channels directed to generating a Channel State Information report (Bagheri, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 5.
Bagheri further discloses to receive the downlink grant comprises to receive the downlink control signal, wherein the downlink control signal comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message (Fig.4, paragraphs [0061]-[0063], PDCCH containing DCI format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “to receive the downlink grant comprises to receive the downlink control signal, wherein the downlink control signal comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message” as taught by Bagheri, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide measurement and reporting of reliability for Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication operation using downlink channels directed to generating a Channel State Information report (Bagheri, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is configured to transmit both the first CSI report based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal and the second CSI report based on the second CSI-RS on the same uplink resource (Fig.33, paragraphs [0343], [0349], [0357], DCI indicating a triggering aperiodic transmission of CSI report via PUSCH resource).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to prioritize between the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS and the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS based on corresponding report configuration identifiers (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], multiple CSI reports based on priority value).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to monitor for a particular CSI report trigger event to occur by determining whether the CSI report configuration indicates that a first report configuration identifier associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal and a second report configuration identifier associated with the second CSI-RS are scheduled to use same uplink resources, wherein the second CSI-RS corresponds to one of an aperiodic CSI-RS, a periodic CSI- RS or a semi-persistent CSI-RS (Fig.33, paragraphs [0343], [0349], [0357], two CSI reports are said to collide if a time occupancy of the physical channels scheduled to carry the two CSI reports overlap in at least one OFDM symbol and the physical channels are transmitted on a same carrier).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, a CSI report for each of a plurality of report configuration identifiers (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], plurality of report configuration indicators) based on the UE configured to support sending the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report associated with respective ones of the plurality of report configuration identifiers within a same time interval (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], one or more CSI reports overlaps in time).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit a separate report for each of the plurality of report configuration identifiers (paragraphs [0263]-[0264], [0343], [0349], [0357], plurality of report configuration indicators).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to merge the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report together into a merged CSI report by using measurements based on a channel resource indication as if the merged CSI report is associated with a single resource having a plurality of CSI-RS resources, wherein the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit the merged CSI report indicating a corresponding report configuration identifier and corresponding CSI measurements (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], when configured (or activated) with multiple CSI reports, a wireless device may determine a transmission priority for each of the multiple CSI reports based on a priority value).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to transmit, via the transceiver, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report on the same uplink resource, wherein the HARQ feedback is transmitted in a first-stage uplink control information (UCI) and the at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report is transmitted in a second-stage UCI (paragraphs [0208], [0329[, [0365]-[0366], UCI (e.g., HARQ acknowledgements (HARQ-ACK), CSI report, SR, and the like) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou discloses the first-stage UCI indicates a report configuration identifier that corresponds to measurements associated with a merged CSI report (paragraph [0357], based on the first command the configuration parameters of the CSI report, determine an uplink radio resource (e.g., a PUCCH resource or a PUSCH resource)).
Regarding claim 24, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to order report configuration identifiers based on timing of corresponding CSI-RS resources within a resource set and to indicate a new index corresponding to an ordered report configuration ID (Fig.26, paragraph [0263], configuration parameters of a CSI report may comprise at least one of: a report configuration ID, a serving cell index, a report configuration type indicator, a report quantity indicator, and/or one or more report frequency configuration parameters; the configuration parameters may further comprise: an indication of a time restriction for channel and/or interference measurement, a codebook configuration, a group-based beam reporting indication, a CQI table and one or more CSI-RS resource configuration index).
Regarding claim 25, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Bagheri further discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to report each of the first CSI report based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal, the second CSI report based on the second CSI- RS and the third CSI report based on the downlink data signal (paragraphs [0054], [0060], [0090]-[0091], CSI reporting configurations and CSI-RS resource configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to report each of the first CSI report based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal, the second CSI report based on the second CSI- RS and the third CSI report based on the downlink data signal” as taught by Bagheri, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide measurement and reporting of reliability for Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication operation using downlink channels directed to generating a Channel State Information report (Bagheri, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 26, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal has a periodicity and is scheduled to at least partially overlap with an activation of the first CSI report measured based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal, wherein the first CSI report and the third CSI report are multiplexed and transmitted on a same physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (paragraphs [0342], [0344], [0349], determine whether to multiplex the one or more CSI reports in an uplink transmission (e.g., a PUCCH resource or a PUSCH resource), or drop one of the one or more CSI reports based on priority values of the one or more CSI reports and available uplink radio resources).
Regarding claim 29, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS with a length of Y bits, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal with a length of X bits (paragraphs [0344], [0346]-[0347], CSI reports bits based on: total bits of HARQ-ACK, SR, Part 1 CSI reports and CRC bit, and available PUCCH resources; according to respective priority value(s), for transmission together with the HARQ-ACK, SR and NCSI total Part 1 CSI reports based on Part 2 CSI bits and Part 1 CSI bits).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal along with different CSI content measured based on the first CSI-RS or the second CSI- RS with a length of X + Y', where Y'< Y bits (paragraphs [0344], [0346]-[0347], CSI reports bits based on: total bits of HARQ-ACK, SR, Part 1 CSI reports and CRC bit, and available PUCCH resources; according to respective priority value(s), for transmission together with the HARQ-ACK, SR and NCSI total Part 1 CSI reports based on Part 2 CSI bits and Part 1 CSI bits).
Regarding claim 31, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to merge the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS and the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal into a merged CSI report with a total length of X + Y bits (paragraphs [0344], [0346]-[0347], CSI report quantities of the two CSI reports, and/or available uplink radio (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH) resources).
Regarding claim 32, Zhou discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to select one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report when the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report have similar CSI content and to generate a final CSI report with a corresponding payload of a selected CSI report (paragraphs [0344], [0346]-[0347], CSI report quantities of the two CSI reports, and/or available uplink radio (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH) resources).
Regarding claim 33, Zhou discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to transmit, via the transceiver, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report on the same uplink resource, wherein the HARQ feedback is transmitted in a first-stage uplink control information (UCI) and the at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report is transmitted in a second-stage UCI, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to indicate a type of CSI report as part of the HARQ feedback in the first-stage UCI (paragraphs [0344], [0346]-[0347], if a wireless device determines a PUCCH resource with PUCCH format 3 or PUCCH format 4 for transmission of HARQ-ACK, SR and sub-band CSI reports, the wireless device may select the first NCSI-port2 reported Part 2 CSI reports, according to respective priority value(s), for transmission together with the HARQ-ACK, SR and NCSI total Part 1 CSI reports based on Part 2 CSI bits and Part 1 CSI bits. The wireless device may drop all Part 2 CSI reports and selects NCSI-part1 reported Part 1 CSI report(s), from the NCSI total CSI reports in ascending priority value, for transmission together with the HARQ-ACK and SR information bits based on Part 2 CSI bits and Part 1 CSI bits).
Regarding claim 34, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 40, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 41, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 42, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 43, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 44, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 47, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 48, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 49, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
13. Claims 2-3, 27, 35-36 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095 A1; continuation of application no. PCT/US2021/026514, filed on April 9, 2021), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0112419 A1), hereinafter “Bagheri” in view of LI et al. (US 2024/0179585 A1), hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, via the transceiver, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) comprising a command that activates a measurement window having a predetermined length that corresponds to when the UE expects to receive the first CSI-RS after receiving the downlink control signal, wherein the predetermined length of the measurement window is configured via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration or the MAC-CE”.
However, Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, via the transceiver, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) comprising a command that activates a measurement window having a predetermined length (paragraphs [0148]-[0149], [0162], [0164], [0166], MAC-CE includes report setting group ID and activation/deactivation flag bit) that corresponds to when the UE expects to receive the first CSI-RS after receiving the downlink control signal (paragraphs [0148]-[0149], [0162], [0164], [0166], aperiodic measurement reporting for the report setting through another signaling, such as downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)), wherein the predetermined length of the measurement window is configured via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration or the MAC-CE (paragraphs [0148]-[0149], [0162], [0164], [0166], time window configured by the base station, and the base station configures the length of the time window and offset value (offset) of the measurement window relative to the starting time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to receive, via the transceiver, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) comprising a command that activates a measurement window having a predetermined length that corresponds to when the UE expects to receive the first CSI-RS after receiving the downlink control signal, wherein the predetermined length of the measurement window is configured via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration or the MAC-CE” as taught by Li, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide inter-cell measurement reporting, which improve the flexibility of measurement reporting configuration relates to the field of mobile communication technology (Li, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Bagheri and Li disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Li further discloses the measurement window having the predetermined length is activated via a first MAC-CE and deactivated via a second MAC-CE (paragraphs [0162], [0164], Examples 1-4, the base station activates and deactivates the reference signal measurement by transmitting two MAC-CEs; for example, when the flag bit in the MAC-CE is set to 1, it indicates the reference signal measurement is activated; when the flag bit in the MAC-CE is set to 0, it indicates that the reference signal measurement is deactivated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the measurement window having the predetermined length is activated via a first MAC-CE and deactivated via a second MAC-CE” as taught by Li, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide inter-cell measurement reporting, which improve the flexibility of measurement reporting configuration relates to the field of mobile communication technology (Li, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration indicates that the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal has a periodicity and is scheduled to at least partially overlap with an activation of the first CSI report measured based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal, wherein the first CSI report and the third CSI report are multiplexed and transmitted on a same physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource”.
However, Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal has a periodicity and is scheduled to at least partially overlap with an activation of the first CSI report measured based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal, wherein the first CSI report and the third CSI report are multiplexed and transmitted on a same physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (paragraphs [0148]-[0149], [0162], [0164], [0166], MAC-CE includes report setting group ID and activation/deactivation flag bit; aperiodic measurement reporting for the report setting through another signaling, such as downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI); time window configured by the base station, and the base station configures the length of the time window and offset value (offset) of the measurement window relative to the starting time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration indicates that the third CSI report associated with the downlink data signal has a periodicity and is scheduled to at least partially overlap with an activation of the first CSI report measured based on the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal, wherein the first CSI report and the third CSI report are multiplexed and transmitted on a same physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource” as taught by Li, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide inter-cell measurement reporting, which improve the flexibility of measurement reporting configuration relates to the field of mobile communication technology (Li, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 35, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 45, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 46, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
14. Claims 10, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095 A1; continuation of application no. PCT/US2021/026514, filed on April 9, 2021), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0112419 A1), hereinafter “Bagheri” in view of MANOLAKO et al. (US 2021/0091910 A1), hereinafter “Manolako”.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 9.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, a CSI report based on a report configuration identifier corresponding to one of the first CSI-RS or the second CSI-RS that is received last in time at the UE”.
However, Manolako from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, a CSI report based on a report configuration identifier corresponding to one of the first CSI-RS or the second CSI-RS that is received last in time at the UE (Figs. 4A-4D, paragraphs [0040], [0046], [0047], CSI reporting prioritization; prioritize transmitting the second CSI report based at least in part on the second CSI RSs for the second CSI report occurring after the first CSI RSs for the first CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, a CSI report based on a report configuration identifier corresponding to one of the first CSI-RS or the second CSI-RS that is received last in time at the UE” as taught by Manolako, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide improvements applicable to multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ channel state information reporting prioritization (Manolako, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou in view of Bagheri and Manolako disclose the apparatus according to claim 10.
Manolako further discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to measure channel state information based on the second CSI-RS, wherein the second CSI-RS is received subsequent to the first CSI-RS (Figs. 4A-4D, paragraphs [0040], [0046], [0047], CSI reporting prioritization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to measure channel state information based on the second CSI-RS, wherein the second CSI-RS is received subsequent to the first CSI-RS” as taught by Manolako, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide improvements applicable to multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ channel state information reporting prioritization (Manolako, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 12.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize between the first CSI report and the second CSI report based on which of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS is received at the UE first in time”.
However, Manolako from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize between the first CSI report and the second CSI report based on which of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS is received at the UE first in time (Figs. 4A-4D, paragraphs [0040], [0046], [0047], CSI reporting prioritization; prioritize transmitting the second CSI report based at least in part on the second CSI RSs for the second CSI report occurring after the first CSI RSs for the first CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize between the first CSI report and the second CSI report based on which of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS is received at the UE first in time” as taught by Manolako, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide improvements applicable to multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ channel state information reporting prioritization (Manolako, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 12.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize between the first CSI report and the second CSI report based on which of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS is received at the UE last in time”.
However, Manolako from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize between the first CSI report and the second CSI report based on which of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS is received at the UE last in time (Figs. 4A-4D, paragraphs [0040], [0046], [0047], CSI reporting prioritization; prioritize transmitting the second CSI report based at least in part on the second CSI RSs for the second CSI report occurring after the first CSI RSs for the first CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize between the first CSI report and the second CSI report based on which of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS is received at the UE last in time” as taught by Manolako, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide improvements applicable to multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ channel state information reporting prioritization (Manolako, paragraph [0004]).
15. Claims 14-15 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095 A1; continuation of application no. PCT/US2021/026514, filed on April 9, 2021), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0112419 A1), hereinafter “Bagheri” in view of YING et al. (US 2023/0189278 A1), hereinafter “Ying”.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 12.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal prior to the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS based on the first CSI report having a higher priority than the second CSI report”.
However, Ying from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal (paragraphs [0150], [0187]-[0189], [0202]-[0205], decoding of DCI formats) prior to the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS based on the first CSI report having a higher priority than the second CSI report (paragraphs [0150], [0187]-[0189], [0202]-[0205], combination(s) of the priority handling between A-CSI and SP-CSI and the priority handling between SP-CSI and UL-SCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal prior to the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS based on the first CSI report having a higher priority than the second CSI report” as taught by Ying, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide expanded areas of coverage and increased functionality in order to meet consumer needs and to improve portability and convenience beneficial for improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 12.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS prior to the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal based on the second CSI report having a higher priority than the first CSI report”.
However, Ying from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS prior to the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal based on the second CSI report having a higher priority than the first CSI report (paragraphs [0150], [0187]-[0189], [0202]-[0205], combination(s) of the priority handling between A-CSI and SP-CSI and the priority handling between SP-CSI and UL-SCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS prior to the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal based on the second CSI report having a higher priority than the first CSI report” as taught by Ying, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide expanded areas of coverage and increased functionality in order to meet consumer needs and to improve portability and convenience beneficial for improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 9.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, one of the first CSI or the second CSI report based on a report configuration identifier that corresponds to one of the first CSI-RS or the second CSI-RS that is received at the UE first in time”.
However, Ying from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, one of the first CSI or the second CSI report based on a report configuration identifier that corresponds to one of the first CSI-RS or the second CSI-RS that is received at the UE first in time (paragraphs [0150], [0187], gNB 160 may configure the information (i.e., the information for identifying the priority of the CSI reporting) which is set to “0” for a first configuration of the CSI reporting (e.g., a CSI configuration-1, a corresponding configuration of the CSI reporting); gNB 160 may configure the information (i.e., the information for identifying the priority of the CSI reporting) which is set to “1” for a second configuration of the CSI reporting (e.g., a CSI configuration-2, a corresponding configuration of the CSI reporting)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to transmit, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, one of the first CSI or the second CSI report based on a report configuration identifier that corresponds to one of the first CSI-RS or the second CSI-RS that is received at the UE first in time” as taught by Ying, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide expanded areas of coverage and increased functionality in order to meet consumer needs and to improve portability and convenience beneficial for improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 9.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to drop, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS relative to the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize the second CSI-RS over the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal”.
However, Ying from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to drop, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS relative to the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize the second CSI-RS over the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal (paragraphs [0150], [0187]-[0189], [0202]-[0205], combination(s) of the priority handling between A-CSI and SP-CSI and the priority handling between SP-CSI and UL-SCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal prior to the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS based on the first CSI report having a higher priority than the second CSI report” as taught by Ying, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide expanded areas of coverage and increased functionality in order to meet consumer needs and to improve portability and convenience beneficial for improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 9.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to drop, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS relative to the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal over the second CSI-RS”.
However, Ying from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to drop, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS relative to the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal over the second CSI-RS (paragraphs [0150], [0187]-[0189], [0202]-[0205], combination(s) of the priority handling between A-CSI and SP-CSI and the priority handling between SP-CSI and UL-SCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the CSI report configuration indicates that the UE is to drop, when the particular CSI report trigger event occurs, the second CSI report associated with the second CSI-RS relative to the first CSI report associated with the first CSI-RS, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to prioritize the first CSI-RS implicitly triggered by the downlink control signal over the second CSI-RS” as taught by Ying, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide expanded areas of coverage and increased functionality in order to meet consumer needs and to improve portability and convenience beneficial for improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, paragraph [0002]).
16. Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095 A1; continuation of application no. PCT/US2021/026514, filed on April 9, 2021), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0112419 A1), hereinafter “Bagheri” in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 2023/0097142 A1), hereinafter “Alfarhan”.
Regarding claim 28, Zhou in view of Bagheri disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Neither Zhou nor Bagheri explicitly discloses “the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: obtain one or more measurements of received downlink signals at the UE; and determine one or more of a block error rate (BLER) or a bit error rate (BER) from the one or more measurements, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report based on one or more of an amount of interference indicated by the one or more measurements, the BLER or the BER”.
However, Alfarhan from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: obtain one or more measurements of received downlink signals at the UE; and determine one or more of a block error rate (BLER) or a bit error rate (BER) from the one or more measurements, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report based on one or more of an amount of interference indicated by the one or more measurements, the BLER or the BER (paragraphs [0188]-[0189], [0216], BLER level for the reporting resource, based on the configured MCS (e.g., semi-statically configured MCS) for the CG and/or link-level mappings corresponding to the configured MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: obtain one or more measurements of received downlink signals at the UE; and determine one or more of a block error rate (BLER) or a bit error rate (BER) from the one or more measurements, wherein the CSI report configuration configures the UE to transmit at least one of the plurality of the first CSI report, the second CSI report or the third CSI report based on one or more of an amount of interference indicated by the one or more measurements, the BLER or the BER” as taught by Alfarhan, in the combined system of Zhou and Bagheri, so that it would provide channel state information reporting (e.g., reliably) based on one or more measurements on the determined measurement time/frequency resources and reporting CSI (Alfarhan, paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
17. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414