DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the preliminary amendment filed on 18 January 2024, having claims 7-11 (claims 1-6 were cancelled) and drawing figures 1-10.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. The current title “Terminal and Communication Method” broadly describes most inventions in the Telecommunications field. A new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in line 10. The word “certain” is a term of degree. The specification does not define a specific value to the word “certain” to reasonably convey to one or ordinary skill in the art how to make or use the claimed invention. It is suggested that the word “certain” be deleted from the claim or replaced with acceptable alternatives such as “predetermined” or “predefined.” Any amendment to the claim must be supported by the original specification.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in line 10. The word “certain” is a term of degree. The specification does not define a specific value to the word “certain” to reasonably convey to one or ordinary skill in the art how to make or use the claimed invention. It is suggested that the word “certain” be deleted from the claim or replaced with acceptable alternatives such as “predetermined” or “predefined.” Any amendment to the claim must be supported by the original specification.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in lines 12 and 23. The word “certain” is a term of degree. The specification does not define a specific value to the word “certain” to reasonably convey to one or ordinary skill in the art how to make or use the claimed invention. It is suggested that the word “certain” be deleted from the claim or replaced with acceptable alternatives such as “predetermined” or “predefined.” Any amendment to the claim must be supported by the original specification.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in line 10. The word “certain” is a term of degree. The specification does not define a specific value to the word “certain” to reasonably convey to one or ordinary skill in the art how to make or use the claimed invention. It is suggested that the word “certain” be deleted from the claim or replaced with acceptable alternatives such as “predetermined” or “predefined.” Any amendment to the claim must be supported by the original specification.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in line 10. The limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite. The word “certain” is a term of degree. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot objectively assess a value to the word “certain” from reading the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in line 10. The limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite. The word “certain” is a term of degree. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot objectively assess a value to the word “certain” from reading the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in lines 12 and 23. The limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite. The word “certain” is a term of degree. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot objectively assess a value to the word “certain” from reading the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a certain processing time” in line 10. The limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite. The word “certain” is a term of degree. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot objectively assess a value to the word “certain” from reading the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1).
For claims 7 and 11, Park discloses a terminal (Fig 1, UE 10 or Fig 22, device 100) comprising: a reception unit (Fig 22, communication unit 110) configured to receive, from a base station (Fig 1, eNB 20 or Fig 22, device 200), an indication for activating SPS (Semi-persistent scheduling) - PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) ([0300] the UE receives a DCI from the base station wherein the DCI indicates activation of the SPS PDSCH for a specific HARQ process);
a control unit (Fig 22, control unit 120) configured to determine whether HARQ (Hybrid automatic repeat request) feedback corresponding to the SPS-PDSCH is enabled or disabled for each HARQ process ([0298] the DCI indicates whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for the SPS PDSCH that is activated); and
a transmission unit (Fig 22, transceiver 114) configured to transmit HARQ feedback to the base station in a case where HARQ feedback is enabled ([0314] last 7 lines, the base station receives HARQ feedback from the UE).
For claims 7 and 11, Park does not expressly disclose the control unit does not assume that an SPS-PDSCH is to be received in a HARQ process until a time point at which a certain processing time elapses from a time point of an end of a last PDSCH reception in the HARQ process in which HARQ feedback is disabled. However, Park discloses that HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for a predetermined time period ([0298] and a timing indicator field included in the DCI indicates to the UE the time period between a PDSCH reception and a HARQ feedback (PDSCH-to-HARQ_FEEDBACK timing indicator) [0321]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to configure the UE to not assume PDSCH reception based on the timing indicator indicating the time interval between PDSCH reception and the last time point when the HARQ feedback was disabled.
For claim 9, Park discloses a base station (Fig 1, eNB 20 or Fig 22, device 200) comprising: a transmission unit (Fig 22, transceiver 114) configured to transmit, to a terminal (Fig 1, UE 10 or Fig 22, device 100), an indication for activating SPS (Semi-persistent scheduling)-PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) ([0300] the UE receives a DCI from the base station wherein the DCI indicates activation of the SPS PDSCH for a specific HARQ process);
a control unit (Fig 22, control unit 120) configured to configure whether HARQ (Hybrid automatic repeat request) feedback corresponding to the SPS-PDSCH is enabled or disabled for each HARQ process ([0298] the DCI indicates whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for the SPS PDSCH that is activated); and
a reception unit (Fig 22, communication unit 110) configured to receive HARQ feedback from the terminal in a case where HARQ feedback is enabled ([0314] last 7 lines, the base station receives HARQ feedback from the UE when HARQ feedback is enabled).
For claim 9, Park does not expressly disclose the control unit does not transmit an SPS-PDSCH in a HARQ process until a time point at which a certain processing time elapses from a time point of an end of a last PDSCH reception in the HARQ process in which HARQ feedback is disabled. However, Park discloses that HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for a predetermined time period ([0298] and a timing indicator field included in the DCI indicates to the UE the time period between a PDSCH reception and a HARQ feedback (PDSCH-to-HARQ_FEEDBACK timing indicator) [0321]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to configure the UE to not assume PDSCH reception based on the timing indicator indicating the time interval between PDSCH reception and the last time point when the HARQ feedback was disabled.
For claim 10, Park discloses a communication system comprising: a terminal (Fig 1, UE 10 or Fig 22, device 100); and a base station (Fig 1, eNB 20 or Fig 22, device 200), wherein the terminal (Fig 1, UE 10 or Fig 22, device 100) includes:
a reception unit (Fig 22, communication unit 110) configured to receive, from a base station (Fig 1, eNB 20 or Fig 22, device 200), an indication for activating SPS (Semi-persistent scheduling) - PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) ([0300] the UE receives a DCI from the base station wherein the DCI indicates activation of the SPS PDSCH for a specific HARQ process);
a control unit (Fig 22, control unit 120) configured to determine whether HARQ (Hybrid automatic repeat request) feedback corresponding to the SPS-PDSCH is enabled or disabled for each HARQ process ([0298] the DCI indicates whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for the SPS PDSCH that is activated);
a transmission unit (Fig 22, transceiver 114) configured to transmit HARQ feedback to the base station in a case where HARQ feedback is enabled ([0314] last 7 lines, the base station receives HARQ feedback from the UE when HARQ feedback is enabled).,
the base station (Fig 1, eNB 20 or Fig 22, device 200) includes: a transmission unit configured to transmit, to the terminal, an indication for activating the SPS-PDSCH ([0300] the UE receives a DCI from the base station wherein the DCI indicates activation of the SPS PDSCH for a specific HARQ process);
a control unit (Fig 22, control unit 120) configured to configure whether HARQ feedback corresponding to the SPS-PDSCH is enabled or disabled for each HARQ process ([0298] the DCI indicates whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for the SPS PDSCH that is activated); and
a reception unit (Fig 22, communication unit 110) configured to receive HARQ feedback from the terminal in a case where HARQ feedback is enabled ([0314] last 7 lines, the base station receives HARQ feedback from the UE when HARQ feedback is enabled).
For claim 10, Park does not expressly disclose the control unit does not assume that an SPS-PDSCH is to be received in a HARQ process until a time point at which a certain processing time elapses from a time point of an end of a last PDSCH reception in the HARQ process in which HARQ feedback is disabled, and wherein the control unit does not transmit an SPS-PDSCH in a HARQ process until a time point at which a certain processing time elapses from a time point of an end of a last PDSCH reception in the HARQ process in which HARQ feedback is disabled. However, Park discloses that HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for a predetermined time period ([0298] and a timing indicator field included in the DCI indicates to the UE the time period between a PDSCH reception and a HARQ feedback (PDSCH-to-HARQ_FEEDBACK timing indicator) [0321]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to configure the UE to not assume PDSCH reception based on the timing indicator indicating the time interval between PDSCH reception and the last time point when the HARQ feedback was disabled.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471