DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “an enzymatic paper strength agent has been acted on the toilet paper” in claim 6 is deemed indefinite. It is not clear what is meant by “acted on”. Is the enzymatic paper strength agent on the toilet paper or in the toilet paper? Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okago et al. (JP2020179013A) [hereinafter Okago].
Regarding claim 1, Okago discloses a toilet paper roll comprising a paper core and
2-ply toilet paper wound thereon, the 2-ply toilet paper having two plies adhered
together by way of recesses formed by embossing (Figs. 1-2; claim 1), wherein the toilet paper roll has a roll diameter of 120 mm or smaller (paragraph [0022]), and a roll length of 34.5 to 50 m (paragraphs [0022-0023]), wherein the toilet paper has first and second plies (Fig. 2), the first ply having first and second recesses of different depths formed by embossing (embossments 2a and 2b), wherein the depth of the first recesses is 0.17 to 0.23 mm (paragraph [0030]), and the depth of the second recesses is smaller than the depth of the first recesses (Fig. 2; paragraph [0030]), and wherein the toilet paper has been wound on the paper core with the first ply facing externally with respect to the paper core (Figs. 1-2, front side 1a).
Regarding claim 2, Okago discloses the depth of the second recesses is 0.050 to 0.090 mm (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Okago discloses wherein the second ply has recesses formed by embossing, which have a smaller depth compared to the depth of the first recesses in the first ply (Fig. 2; paragraph [0030-0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Okago discloses wherein the toilet paper roll has a roll winding density of 0.74 to 1.30 m/cm², and a roll density of 0.12 to 0.18 g/cm³ (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Okago discloses a degree of compaction of the toilet paper roll is 0.66 to 1.50 (Table 2, Example 13).
Regarding claim 7, Okago discloses the toilet paper is free of starch and cationized starch, since it is not included (paragraphs [0050-0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okago in view of Scherb et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0266487A1) [hereinafter Scherb].
Okago discloses the claimed toilet paper roll as shown above, but fails to teach an enzymatic paper strength agent in the toilet paper.
Scherb teaches that it is well known in the tissue paper art to include an enzymatic paper strength agent in the tissue paper for the purpose of increasing the dry strength and to further reduce the refining degree in the pulp suspension while retaining tear resistance (paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toilet paper in Okago to include an enzymatic paper strength agent as suggested by Scherb in order to increase the dry strength and to reduce the refining degree in the pulp suspension while retaining tear resistance.
Conclusion
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781