DETAILED ACTION
The claims dated 5/22/2026 are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
The election of species requirement is withdrawn upon search and consideration of the elected species.
Priority
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/US2022/037938 (filed 7/21/2022), which claims benefit of US provisional application 63/224,380 (filed 7/21/2021).
Priority is recognized.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834 because it does not contain a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure. A “Sequence Listing XML” is required because multiple nucleic acid sequences as disclosed in the specification (e.g., p. 359, 360, 361, etc.)..
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2.; together with
o A statement that indicates the basis for the amendment, with specific references to particular parts of the application as originally filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(3);
o A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(4)
AND
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
o A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The use of terms, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the determined quantity classifies a subject as having or being susceptible to prostate cancer when the determined quantity is elevated relative to a reference threshold”. It is unclear if the claim further requires an active method step of “classifying” a subject as having or being susceptible to prostate cancer or “determining” an elevated quantity relative to a reference threshold. Further, it is unclear if the claim is limited to biomarkers associated with prostate cancer and the sample being one obtained from a subject, as the active method steps themselves to do not specify those details.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 depend from claim 1 and are rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 7, based on the use of the passive voice, it is unclear if the claim requires an active method step of “determining the reference threshold by levels of target biomarker signature-expressing extracellular vesicles observed in comparable samples from a population of non-cancer subjects”.
Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Routenberg (WO 2020/086751 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Routenberg teaches a method as depicted in Figures 1, 2, 7, 19, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 and 48. Figure 48C is reproduced below with Examiner’s annotations for mapping of claim elements:
Routenberg teaches capturing an “extracellular vesicle” or EV from a sample with the “capture agent” Antibody 4: Capture Antibody that binds a “first biomarker” on the EV.
Routenberg teaches binding the Antibody 1 with Primer Oligo as a “first probe comprising a first oligonucleotide” to a “second target biomarker” of the “captured” EV.
Routenberg teaches binding the Antibody 2 with Splint Oligo as a “second probe comprising a second oligonucleotide” to a “third target biomarker” of the “captured” EV.
Routenberg teaches determining the quantity of the EV that are captured and bound by the antibodies through a nucleic acid-based assay involving a Detection Region of a Circular DNA template.
The claim concludes with a “wherein” clause stating “the determined quantity classifies a subject as having or being susceptible to prostate cancer when the determined quantity is elevated relative to a reference threshold”. The clause does not set forth any additional active method steps and does not further element any of the positively recited active method steps of claim 1. The clause is broadly interpreted as setting forth an intended use of the claimed method and does not further limit the scope of the active method steps.
Regarding claim 2, as depicted above, Routenberg teaches the second and third biomarkers are two different polypeptides on the surface of the EV. See also, para. 269 and 589 referring to 4-marker combination.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Routenberg teaches detecting multiple types of EVs, e.g., EV Type A or EV Type B, using different combinations of antibodies targeting different surface biomarkers, which produce multiple different signatures. See, e.g., Fig. 36.
Regarding claim 6, Routenberg teaches biomarkers that are surface and intravesicular biomarkers (para. 268 and 526-528).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the claims do not further limit the positively recited, active method steps of claim 1.
Routenberg anticipates claims 7 and 8 for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Routenberg teaches the sample is subjected to size exclusion chromatography to purify EVs (para. 66, 150, 208 and 223).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Routenberg teaches a solid substrate in the form of magnetic beads (para. 170, 269, 270).
Regarding claim 14, as noted above, Routenberg teaches a “target-capture moiety” or “capture agent” in the form of an antibody.
Regarding claim 15, as noted above, Routenberg teaches performing a “detection assay” that is a nucleic acid-based assay involving a Detection Region of a Circular DNA template.
Regarding claim 16, Routenberg teaches a “capture assay” prior to the “detection assay” (see, e.g., para. 427-433).
Regarding claim 18, Routenberg teaches the “second target biomarker” is intravesicular and fixation and/or permeabilization of the EVs prior to detection (para. 39, 268, 526-528).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, as depicted above, the “detection assay” is a “proximity ligation assay”.
Regarding claim 115, Routenberg teaches PD-L1 (or “CD274”) (para. 129, 138), CD38 (para. 116-117) or EPCAM (para. 111), as one of the biomarkers on the surface.
Regarding claim 116, Routenberg teaches CD24 may be the biomarker (para. 112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 115 and 116 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Routenberg (WO 2020/086751 A1) in view of Overbye (Oncotarget. 2015. 6(30):30357-30376 and Supplementary Material).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Routenberg teaches a method as depicted in Figures 1, 2, 7, 19, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 and 48. Figure 48C is reproduced above with Examiner’s annotations for mapping of claim elements.
Routenberg teaches capturing an “extracellular vesicle” or EV from a sample with the “capture agent” Antibody 4: Capture Antibody that binds a “first biomarker” on the EV.
Routenberg teaches binding the Antibody 1 with Primer Oligo as a “first probe comprising a first oligonucleotide” to a “second target biomarker” of the “captured” EV.
Routenberg teaches binding the Antibody 2 with Splint Oligo as a “second probe comprising a second oligonucleotide” to a “third target biomarker” of the “captured” EV.
Routenberg teaches determining the quantity of the EV that are captured and bound by the antibodies through a nucleic acid-based assay involving a Detection Region of a Circular DNA template.
The claim concludes with a “wherein” clause stating “the determined quantity classifies a subject as having or being susceptible to prostate cancer when the determined quantity is elevated relative to a reference threshold”. The clause does not set forth any additional active method steps and does not further element any of the positively recited active method steps of claim 1. The clause is broadly interpreted as setting forth an intended use of the claimed method and does not further limit the scope of the active method steps.
Routenberg does not specifically teach the second and third target biomarkers required by claim 4 and encompassed by independent claim 1 in an alternative embodiment.
However, Overbye teaches prostate cancer biomarkers found in urinary exosomes.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Overbye teaches CLDN3/Claudin-3 and RAB3B/Ras-related protein Rab-3B (Table 1) as biomarkers
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of invention to have modified the method of Routenberg by detecting the prostate cancer biomarkers of Overbye. One would have been motivated to make such a modification as it renders the method of Routenberg a prostate cancer specific assay. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it simply involves replacing the detection reagents of Routenberg with reagents that detect the prostate cancer biomarkers of Overbye.
Regarding claim 115, Overbye teaches prostate cancer biomarkers include RAB3B or RAB3D (Table 1).
Regarding claim 116, Overbye teaches prostate cancer biomarkers include Plastin-2/LCP1 (Table 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/580,422 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘422 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-16, 19-20 and 115 of copending Application No. 18/580,444 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘444 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/580,427 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘427 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/580,440 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘440 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/580,445 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘445 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/580,412 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘412 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 120-122, 125-127, 130-131, 134-143 of copending Application No. 17/435,697 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘697 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 120, 128, 131-133, 135-138 and 233 of copending Application No. 17/204,773 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘773 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 115 and 116 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,085,089.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic assay with dependent claims involving specific biomarkers, which encompass and/or are rendered obvious the methods of the ‘089 patent.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682