DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0104444 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a urinary catheter (urinary catheter 100; Figure 3a; Paragraph 0035), comprising:
a catheter tube of a polymeric material (catheter shaft 104 is made of silicone, a polymeric material; Paragraph 0035; Figure 3a);
a lubricious coating over a surface of at least a distal portion of the catheter tube (hydrophilic base coating 154 and pre-hydrated outer coating 156; Figure 3a-3b; Paragraph 0036), the lubricious coating including a hydrophilic coating over the surface of the catheter tube (hydrophilic base coating 154 on the surface of tube 104; Paragraph 0036; Figure 3a-3b) and lubricant over the hydrophilic coating (pre-hydrated outer coating 156 is applied over base coating 154; Figure 3a-3b; Paragraph 0036), wherein water of the lubricant is at least partially absorbed by the hydrophilic coating (lubricant made of LUBRAJEL, consisting of glycerin, water, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol, is in contact with hydrophilic base coating – hydrophilic nature of base coating will absorb a part of the water in the lubricant coat 156; Figure 3B; Paragraph 0036-0037); and
a funnel coupled to a proximal portion of the catheter tube (funnel 106 connected at the proximal end of tube 104; Paragraph 0035’ Figure 3a), the funnel including a funnel opening in a proximal end of the funnel for voiding urine (funnel 106 has opening at proximal end to connect to drain bags; Paragraph 0035; Figure 3a).
Regarding claim 3, Yin discloses the urinary catheter of claim 1. Yin further discloses wherein the lubricant is a combination of glycerin, water, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol (lubricant 156 made of LUBRAJEL, consisting of glycerin, water, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol; Figure 3B; Paragraph 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 4, Yin discloses the urinary catheter of claim 3. The claim limitation “wherein the glycerin, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol limit evaporation of any water from the lubricious coating” is a recitation of an intended use of the lubricant. Although the prior art of Yin does not expressly disclose “wherein the glycerin, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol limit evaporation of any water from the lubricious coating”, since the lubricant of the prior art combination is substantially identical to the claimed pad, it must also necessarily produce the same outcome. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the prior art of Yin. Wherein the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 5, Yin discloses the urinary catheter of claim 1. Yin further discloses wherein the polymeric material is thermoplastic polyurethane ("TPU"), silicone, polyvinyl chloride, or a rubber (catheter shaft 104 is made of silicone, a polymeric material; Paragraph 0035; Figure 3a).
Regarding claim 7, Yin discloses a method of making a urinary catheter (Abstract; Paragraph 0015 and 0036-0038), comprising: applying a hydrophilic coating over a surface of a catheter tube of the urinary catheter (hydrophilic base coating 154 is applied to the surface of tube 104; Paragraph 0015 and 0036; Figure 3b); and dipping at least a distal portion of the catheter tube into a reservoir of a lubricant, thereby disposing the lubricant over the hydrophilic coating (lubricant coating 156 is dipped over the hydrophilic coating 154 so coating 156 is over coating 154; Paragraph 0036-0038; Figure 3b), water of the lubricant at least partially absorbed by the hydrophilic coating (lubricant made of LUBRAJEL, consisting of glycerin, water, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol, is in contact with hydrophilic base coating – hydrophilic nature of base coating will absorb a part of the water in the lubricant coat 156; Figure 3B; Paragraph 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 13, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin further discloses wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes a single dip in the lubricant (Paragraph 0038 – “The catheter (with or without a base coating) may be dipped into the coating solution and left to dwell for between 0.1-10 seconds. The catheter may then be removed from the coating solution and directly placed into packaging without any further drying process.”).
Regarding claim 14, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin further discloses wherein the lubricant is a combination of glycerin, water, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol (lubricant 156 made of LUBRAJEL, consisting of glycerin, water, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol; Figure 3B; Paragraph 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 15, Yin discloses the method of claim 14. The claim limitation “wherein the glycerin, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol limit evaporation of any water from the lubricious coating” is a recitation of an intended use of the lubricant. Although the prior art of Yin does not expressly disclose “wherein the glycerin, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, and propylene glycol limit evaporation of any water from the lubricious coating”, since the lubricant of the prior art combination is substantially identical to the claimed pad, it must also necessarily produce the same outcome. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the prior art of Yin. Wherein the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 16, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin further discloses further comprising packaging the urinary catheter without air drying the urinary catheter after the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant (Paragraph 0038 – “The catheter (with or without a base coating) may be dipped into the coating solution and left to dwell for between 0.1-10 seconds. The catheter may then be removed from the coating solution and directly placed into packaging without any further drying process.”).
Regarding claim 18, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin further discloses wherein the catheter tube is of a polymeric material selected from thermoplastic polyurethane ("TPU"), silicone, polyvinyl chloride, and a rubber (catheter shaft 104 is made of silicone, a polymeric material; Paragraph 0035; Figure 3a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0104444 A1) in view of Steindahl et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0110961 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yin discloses the urinary catheter of claim 1. Yin does not teach wherein the hydrophilic coating is a polyvinylpyrrolidone- or hyaluronic acid-based coating.
However, Steindahl teaches wherein the hydrophilic coating is a polyvinylpyrrolidone- or hyaluronic acid-based coating (shaft 12 has a hydrophilic surface coating made of polyvinylpyrrolidone; Paragraph 0046).
Since the prior art of Steindahl recognizes polyvinylpyrrolidone as a hydrophilic coating and is analogous to the claimed invention in the field of urinary catheters, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hydrophilic coating of Yin to be the polyvinylpyrrolidone coating of Steindahl, as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent hydrophilic coatings recognized in the art, with the function of providing a frictionless surface for the insertion of the catheter into the urethra, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of doing so. The simple substitution of one known element for another, substituting the hydrophilic coating of Yin to be the polyvinylpyrrolidone coating of Steindahl, is obvious when predictable results are achieved, with the results of providing blood treatment within the blood vessels. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 19, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin does not teach wherein the hydrophilic coating is a polyvinylpyrrolidone- or hyaluronic acid-based coating.
However, Steindahl teaches wherein the hydrophilic coating is a polyvinylpyrrolidone- or hyaluronic acid-based coating (shaft 12 has a hydrophilic surface coating made of polyvinylpyrrolidone; Paragraph 0046).
Since the prior art of Steindahl recognizes polyvinylpyrrolidone as a hydrophilic coating and is analogous to the claimed invention in the field of urinary catheters, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hydrophilic coating of Yin to be the polyvinylpyrrolidone coating of Steindahl, as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent hydrophilic coatings recognized in the art, with the function of providing a frictionless surface for the insertion of the catheter into the urethra, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of doing so. The simple substitution of one known element for another, substituting the hydrophilic coating of Yin to be the polyvinylpyrrolidone coating of Steindahl, is obvious when predictable results are achieved, with the results of providing blood treatment within the blood vessels. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0104444 A1) in view of Whitbourne (Patent No. US 5,001,009 A).
Regarding claim 6, Yin discloses the urinary catheter of claim 1. Yin does not teach wherein the surface of the catheter tube is a plasma-treated surface with a surface energy that promotes adhesion of the hydrophilic coating.
However, Whitbourne teaches wherein the surface of the catheter tube is a plasma-treated surface with a surface energy that promotes adhesion of the hydrophilic coating (Column 4, lines 60-68).
Yin and Whitbourne are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of catheters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yin to incorporate the teachings of Whitbourne to have the surface of the catheter tube of Yin to be plasma-treated, as taught by Whitbourne. This allows for the surface of the device to allow for the hydrophilic lubricant to adhere onto the surface (Whitbourne; Column 4, lines 60-68).
Regarding claim 17, Yin discloses the urinary catheter of claim 7. Yin does not teach further comprising treating at least the distal portion of the catheter tube with a plasma treatment to modify the surface of the catheter tube before the applying of the hydrophilic coating over the surface of the catheter tube.
However, Whitbourne teaches further comprising treating at least the distal portion of the catheter tube with a plasma treatment to modify the surface of the catheter tube before the applying of the hydrophilic coating over the surface of the catheter tube (Column 4, lines 60-68).
Yin and Whitbourne are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of catheters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yin to incorporate the teachings of Whitbourne to have the at least distal portion of the surface of the catheter tube of Yin to be plasma-treated, as taught by Whitbourne. This allows for the surface of the device to allow for the hydrophilic lubricant to adhere onto the surface (Whitbourne; Column 4, lines 60-68).
Claim(s) 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0104444 A1) in view of Matsumoto et al. (Publication No. US 2015/0018962 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin does not expressly teach wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes immersing the catheter tube in the lubricant with an immersion speed from about 0.15 in/s to about 0.50 in/s.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes immersing the catheter tube in the lubricant with an immersion speed from about 0.15 in/s to about 0.50 in/s (tube was dipped into lubricant and pulled out at a constant speed of 10 mm/sec, or 0.39 in/s; Paragraph 0165).
Yin and Matsumoto are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of catheters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yin to incorporate the teachings of Matsumoto to have the immersion speed of Matsumoto in the method of dipping the catheter tube in the lubricant of Yin. This allows for the adherence of the lubricant layer to the surface of the tube (Matsumoto; Paragraph 0165).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the immersion speed of about 0.15 in/s to about 0.5 in/s since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). In the instant case, the catheter of Yin would not operate differently with the claimed immersion speed since the urinary catheter is constructed with similar components, structure, and material characteristics (see disclosed above) and is intended to be inserted into the urethra of the user for draining of urine. Further, it appears that the applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the immersion speed is “about” the claimed ranges (claim 8; specification; paragraphs 0011 and 0053).
Regarding claim 9, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin does not expressly teach wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes immersing the catheter tube in the lubricant with an immersion speed of about 0.33 in/s.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes immersing the catheter tube in the lubricant with an immersion speed of about 0.33 in/s (tube was dipped into lubricant and pulled out at a constant speed of 10 mm/sec, or 0.39 in/s; Paragraph 0165).
Yin and Matsumoto are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of catheters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yin to incorporate the teachings of Matsumoto to have the immersion speed of Matsumoto in the method of dipping the catheter tube in the lubricant of Yin. This allows for the adherence of the lubricant layer to the surface of the tube (Matsumoto; Paragraph 0165).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the immersion speed of about 0.33 in/s since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). In the instant case, the catheter of Yin would not operate differently with the claimed immersion speed since the urinary catheter is constructed with similar components, structure, and material characteristics (see disclosed above) and is intended to be inserted into the urethra of the user for draining of urine. Further, it appears that the applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the immersion speed is “about” the claimed ranges (claim 9; specification; paragraphs 0012 and 0053).
Regarding claim 10, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin does not expressly teach wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes withdrawing the catheter tube from the lubricant with a withdrawal speed from about 0.05 in/s to about 0.20 in/s.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes withdrawing the catheter tube from the lubricant with a withdrawal speed from about 0.05 in/s to about 0.20 in/s (tube was dipped into lubricant and pulled out at a constant speed of 5 mm/sec, or 0.2 in/s; Paragraph 0173).
Yin and Matsumoto are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of catheters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yin to incorporate the teachings of Matsumoto to have the withdrawal speed of Matsumoto in the method of dipping the catheter tube in the lubricant of Yin. This allows for the adherence of the lubricant layer to the surface of the tube (Matsumoto; Paragraph 0173).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the withdrawal speed from about 0.05 in/s to about 0.20 in/s since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). In the instant case, the catheter of Yin would not operate differently with the claimed immersion speed since the urinary catheter is constructed with similar components, structure, and material characteristics (see disclosed above) and is intended to be inserted into the urethra of the user for draining of urine. Further, it appears that the applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the withdrawal speed is “about” the claimed ranges (claim 10; specification; paragraphs 0013 and 0053).
Regarding claim 11, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin does not expressly teach wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes withdrawing the catheter tube from the lubricant with a withdrawal speed of about 0.12 in/s.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes withdrawing the catheter tube from the lubricant with a withdrawal speed of about 0.12 in/s.
(tube was dipped into lubricant and pulled out at a constant speed of 5 mm/sec, or 0.2 in/s; Paragraph 0173).
Yin and Matsumoto are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of catheters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yin to incorporate the teachings of Matsumoto to have the withdrawal speed of Matsumoto in the method of dipping the catheter tube in the lubricant of Yin. This allows for the adherence of the lubricant layer to the surface of the tube (Matsumoto; Paragraph 0173).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the withdrawal speed of about 0.12 in/s since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). In the instant case, the catheter of Yin would not operate differently with the claimed immersion speed since the urinary catheter is constructed with similar components, structure, and material characteristics (see disclosed above) and is intended to be inserted into the urethra of the user for draining of urine. Further, it appears that the applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the withdrawal speed is “about” the claimed ranges (claim 11; specification; paragraphs 0014 and 0053).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (Publication No. US 2018/0104444 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Yin discloses the method of claim 7. Yin further teaches wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes dwell time in the lubricant between 0.1-10 seconds (Paragraph 0038). Yin does not expressly teach wherein the dipping of the catheter tube into the reservoir of the lubricant includes substantially no dwell time in the lubricant.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dwell time of Yin to be substantially no dwell time in the lubricant since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). In the instant case, the catheter of Yin would not operate differently with the claimed dwell time since the urinary catheter is constructed with similar components, structure, and material characteristics (see disclosed above) and is intended to be inserted into the urethra of the user for draining of urine. Further, it appears that the applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the dwell time is “substantially no dwell time” (specification; paragraphs 0015 and 0052).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781