DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 12-13, in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-11 and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/31/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 6 recites inter alia “wherein ceramic of the ceramic precursor” which appears to contain a typographical error. It is interpreted as “wherein a ceramic of the ceramic precursor.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “…to obtain ceramic nanoparticles having controlled cohesion.” The term “controlled” is relative since one skilled in the art would not be able to ascertain, upon possessing the claimed invention, whether the level of “controlled cohesion” is infringed upon. Claims 2-9 and 12-13 depend upon but do not rectify the issue so are similarly rejected for indefiniteness. To proceed with examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation will be applied of any level of cohesion.
Claims 9 and 13 recite an indefinite range, since the bounds of the range are written with the “±” symbol which is read as “plus or minus,” therefore the limitation reads as “plus or minus 20 mV to plus or minus 50 mV.” Such a range is not definite since it is unclear if the range is from negative 50 mV to positive 50 mV which encompasses negative 20 mV and positive 20 mV, or if it is limiting the invention to the ranges of either positive 20 mV to positive 50 mV, or negative 50 mV to negative 20 mV, or any other combinations of the range endpoints. The broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art is the latter interpretation, of the two ranges -50mV ≤ x ≤ -20mV or 20mV ≤ x ≤ 50mV; therefore this interpretation will be used to proceed with examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bouchoucha et al. Size-Controlled Functionalized Mesoporous Silica Nanoparticles for Tunable Drug Release and Enhanced Anti-Tumoral Activity, Chem. Mater. 2016, 28, 4243−4258. Furthermore, Sigma-Aldrich, Millipore Sigma, Ethanol Safety Data Sheet, is provided in evidentiary support of claim 3.
Regarding claim 1, Bouchoucha teaches a method of manufacturing (‘Experimental Section,’ p. 4255) pore-structured (mesoporous, title) ceramic nanoparticles (silica nanoparticles, title), the method comprising a step (S100) of adding a surfactant (CTAB, Pluronic F127, p. 4255 ‘Experimental Section’) to a solvent (EtOH and water, p. 4255) to produce a first mixed solution (overnight stirring, p. 4255); a step (S200) of adding a ceramic precursor (TEOS, p. 4255) to the first mixed solution to produce a second mixed solution (“the obtained translucent, colloidal suspension,” p. 4255 col. 1 ‘Small-sized MSNs’); and a step (S300) of adding a surface modification additive (THMP, p. 4255 ‘Functionalization of MSNs with Fluorophores’) to the second mixed solution (“was added to the pure MSNx suspension,” p. 4255 col. 2) to obtain ceramic nanoparticles having controlled cohesion (the particles have controlled redispersability, p. 4245 col. 2 pp. 2; this is interpreted to meet the limitation of “controlled cohesion” since Bouchoucha teaches that previous efforts have led to aggregates and/or fused nanoparticles, p. 4245 col. 1 ‘Synthesis and Characterization of Different-Sized MSNs’).
Regarding claim 2, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1, and further teaches that the solvent comprises alcohol and water (p. 4255).
Regarding claim 3, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1, and further teaches that the molar ratio of ethanol to water is 84:605 (p. 4245, col. 2 pp. 2), which is equivalent to a mass ratio of (84 * 46): (605 * 18) = 3864:10890, or 0.35, and, given that the density of ethanol is about 0.79 g/mL, as evidenced by Sigma-Aldrich (p. 7), this yields a volume ratio of (3864/0.79):(10890/1.0) = 4891:10890, or 0.45. This anticipates the claimed range of a volume ratio of alcohol to water between 0.30 to 0.80.
Regarding claim 4, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1, and further teaches the presence of CTAB and Pluronic F127 (p. 4255).
Regarding claim 5, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1, and further teaches the presence of TEOS (p. 4255).
Regarding claim 6, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1, and further teaches that the ceramic nanoparticle formed of the ceramic precursor TEOS is silica (title, p. 4245, p. 4255).
Regarding claim 12, Bouchoucha teaches pore-structured ceramic nanoparticles having controlled cohesion, manufactured according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouchoucha, as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1. Bouchoucha does not teach that the surface modification additive (THMP, p. 4255) is a polymer comprising a polar functional group, wherein the polar functional group is one selected from the group consisting of a sulfonyl group, an amino group, an amide group, an ether group, a carboxyl group, and a hydroxyl group. However, Bouchoucha teaches that the THMP performs similarly to the use of polyethylene glycol (PEG) as a surface modifier (grafting on the surface of the nanoparticles, p. 4248-4249); Bouchoucha therefore teaches that THMP is a known equivalent in the art to PEG. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the THMP taught by Bouchoucha with the PEG suggested by Bouchoucha, and therefore arrive at the claimed invention since PEG is a polymer with a polar functional group, the polar functional group being a hydroxyl group, since the courts have held that the substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious; see MPEP 2143(I)(B), In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). In the instant case, since Bouchoucha teaches that the PEG and THMP exhibit similar performance as grafting materials onto the nanoparticles (p. 4248), one skilled in the art would reasonably expect predictable results by substituting the THMP with PEG and would therefore arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 8, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 7, wherein Bouchoucha, modified as applied to claim 7, teaches PEG (p. 4249 col. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 1, and further teaches that the zeta potential for the nanoparticles falls below -20 mV at pH values of about 4 or higher (Fig. 5e), which is interpreted to meet the claim limitation as previously stated. Therefore, Bouchoucha teaches a range of zeta potential values which overlap with the claimed range of ± 20 mV to ±50 mV. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform a method for manufacturing pore-structured ceramic nanoparticles as suggested by Bouchoucha where the zeta potential of the nanoparticles is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with lower than -20 mV as taught by Bouchoucha including the claimed range in order to obtain a zeta potential effective for electrostatic binding, as Bouchoucha suggests (p. 4249 col. 1 pp, 3).
Regarding claim 13, Bouchoucha teaches the invention as applied to claim 12, and further teaches that the zeta potential for the nanoparticles falls below -20 mV at pH values of about 4 or higher (Fig. 5e), which is interpreted to meet the claim limitation as previously stated. Therefore, Bouchoucha teaches a range of zeta potential values which overlap with the claimed range of ± 20 mV to ±50 mV. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform a method for manufacturing pore-structured ceramic nanoparticles as suggested by Bouchoucha where the zeta potential of the nanoparticles is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with lower than -20 mV as taught by Bouchoucha including the claimed range in order to obtain a zeta potential effective for electrostatic binding, as Bouchoucha suggests (p. 4249 col. 1 pp, 3).
Conclusion
/Eileen Moudou/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/Liesl C Baumann/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 4100