Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “receiving section” and “control section” in claims 1-4, and “transmitting section” and “control section” in claim 6.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For examination purposes the claim limitation “receiving section” in claims 1-4 is construed as receiving circuit (see ¶ [0285] of the present application), the claim limitation “control section” in claims 1-4 is construed as control circuit (see ¶ [0283] of the present application), the claim limitation “transmitting section” in claim 6 is construed as transmitting circuit (see ¶ [0266] of the present application), and the claim limitation “control section” in claim 6 is construed as control circuit (see ¶ [0264] of the present application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (WO 2020/194760 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda teaches “[a] terminal comprising: a receiving section that receives at least one of configuration information of a pattern of resources unavailable for a DL in certain time resources and indication information related to the pattern of the resources” (see ¶¶ [0028], [0030], [0031], [0040]; base station transmits signaling notifying UL/DL resource allocation pattern to the user apparatus (i.e., terminal), and the user apparatus performs puncturing or excluded rate matching based on the received UL/DL resource allocation pattern; the puncturing or excluded rate matching of the indicated DL resources allocation pattern makes the corresponding DL resources unavailable; thus, the received UL/DL resource allocation pattern is configuration information of a pattern of resources unavailable for a DL in certain time resources and indication information related to the pattern of the resources); and
Takeda further teaches “a control section that performs control to perform DL reception in resources other than the resources unavailable for the DL, and performs control not to perform the DL reception in the resources unavailable for the DL, based on at least one of the configuration information and the indication information” (see ¶ [0042] and FIG. 17; the puncturing or excluded rate matching of DL resources results in the configured DL resources and the user apparatus (terminal) communicates with the base station based on the configured DL resources (i.e., perform DL reception in resources other than the resources unavailable for the DL and performs control not to perform the DL reception in the resources unavailable for the DL); since the configured DL resources are based on the received UL/DL resource allocation pattern (i.e., at least one of the configuration information and the indication information), the terminal is performing DL reception in resources other than the resources unavailable for the DL and performs control not to perform the DL reception in the resources unavailable for the DL based on at least one of the configuration information and the indication information).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda teaches the terminal of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the certain time resources are resources in which the DL and an uplink may be configured in an overlapping manner in terms of time” (see ¶ [0031] and FIG. 13; punctured slot #2 to slot #4, DL in LTE (i.e., the certain time resources are resources in which the DL) overlap UL in NR (i.e., uplink resource) in TDD (i.e., in terms of time); thus, the certain time resources are resources in which the DL and an uplink may be configured in an overlapping manner in terms of time).
Regarding claim 4, Takeda teaches the terminal of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the configuration information is separately configured for each DL channel or DL signal” (see ¶ [0031] and FIG. 13; TDD UL/DL allocation pattern includes NR DL resource allocation pattern (i.e., one DL channel or signal) that is different from the LTE DL resource allocation (i.e., another DL channel or signal) as shown in FIG. 13; thus, the configuration information is separately configured for each DL channel or DL signal).
Regarding claim 5, it is a method claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 5 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 6, Takeda teaches “[a] base station comprising: a transmitting section that transmits at least one of configuration information of a pattern of resources unavailable for a DL in certain time resources and indication information related to the pattern of the resources” (see ¶¶ [0028], [0030], [0031], [0040]; base station transmits signaling notifying UL/DL resource allocation pattern to the user apparatus (i.e., terminal), and the user apparatus performs puncturing or excluded rate matching based on the UL/DL resource allocation pattern; the puncturing or excluded rate matching of the indicated DL resources allocation pattern makes the corresponding DL resources unavailable; thus, the transmitted UL/DL resource allocation pattern is configuration information of a pattern of resources unavailable for a DL in certain time resources and indication information related to the pattern of the resources); and
Takeda teaches “a control section that performs indication to perform DL reception in resources other than the resources unavailable for the DL, and performs indication not to perform the DL reception in the resources unavailable for the DL, using at least one of the configuration information and the indication information” (see ¶ [0042] and FIG. 17; the puncturing or excluded rate matching of DL resources results in the configured DL resources and the user apparatus (terminal) communicates with the base station based on the configured DL resources (i.e., perform DL reception in resources other than the resources unavailable for the DL and performs control not to perform the DL reception in the resources unavailable for the DL); since the configured DL resources are based on the received UL/DL resource allocation pattern (i.e., at least one of the configuration information and the indication information), the base station and terminal are performing DL reception in resources other than the resources unavailable for the DL and performs control not to perform the DL reception in the resources unavailable for the DL based on at least one of the configuration information and the indication information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Hosseini et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0321444 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda teaches the terminal of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “wherein number of bits of a parameter included in the configuration information is equal to number of bits of the parameter included in the configuration information related to a rate match pattern of a DL shared channel” of claim 3. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
For example, Hosseini teaches “wherein number of bits of a parameter included in the configuration information is equal to number of bits of the parameter included in the configuration information related to a rate match pattern of a DL shared channel” (see ¶¶ [0042] and [0043]; rate matching indicator may be zero, one, or two bits (i.e., number of bits of a parameter included in the configuration information) according to the higher layer parameters rateMatchPatternGroup1 and rateMatchPatternGroup2; and a bitmap pair included in one or both of the first and second rate matching pattern groups, the dynamic indication of resource availability for the PDSCH may apply to a set of slots where the parameter rateMatchPatternToAddModList is present among the slots (i.e., the parameter included in the configuration information related to a rate match pattern) for the scheduled PDSCH (i.e., a DL shared channel); thus, number of bits of a parameter included in the configuration information is equal to number of bits of the parameter included in the configuration information related to a rate match pattern of a DL shared channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Takeda to incorporate the teaching so Hosseini to include number of bits of a parameter in the configuration information related to a rate match pattern of a DL shared channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance reliability according to telecommunication standards.
Conclusion
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/ supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475